Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby carluva » February 1st, 2020, 11:18 pm

Postby shogun » February 2nd, 2020, 12:33 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
shogun wrote:Healthier hot-dog frank brand recommendations locally? Or thaz a pipe-dream?

you or a kid?
If it's not big quantity, you can get minced chicken, sneak some vegetables, season to your heart's content in it and form it into a log (might need an egg and a little breadcrumb). Baked in the oven and voila! Should get 8-12 "sausages" from a standard pack.

Can freeze and then warm in microwave or cook in toaster oven to serve.

It's lean protein without nitrates and added fat, so it will be a much better option.

Might try that, when next we need just a few for here. Needed a lot for a get together for a friend coming up. Moms ended up finding a few packs of some uncured beef franks that will have to do. Never even thought of preppin' my own. Thanks man.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 3rd, 2020, 6:55 am

carluva wrote:https://images.app.goo.gl/p57mEzhNmuuFBrRS8

This one

if yuh willing to make a grande run, i can link some for you.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 3rd, 2020, 4:40 pm

I go hit you up. I have a Whitlow on meh finger so I cyah clean crab wid dat. Probably around carnival....

Postby supercharged turbo » February 3rd, 2020, 11:21 pm

Anybody have a recipe for crispy skin pork belly?

Postby shogun » February 3rd, 2020, 11:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

This one

If allyuh catch one like this fella, I payin' top dollar.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 4th, 2020, 6:08 am

shogun wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

This one

If allyuh catch one like this fella, I payin' top dollar.

Padna, if i see a crab that size anywhere, i walking the next direction.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 6th, 2020, 7:40 pm

Hit we the recipe
pugboy wrote:came out pretty good I say, haven't made this in years.
Didn't even have to do any broiler tricks to get the skin fully cripsy.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2020, 8:36 pm

Soon

supercharged turbo wrote:Hit we the recipe
pugboy wrote:came out pretty good I say, haven't made this in years.
Didn't even have to do any broiler tricks to get the skin fully cripsy.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 11th, 2020, 10:23 pm

Tuners I need some guidance on buying lobster. I saw some for sale Saturday close to the roundabout by Price plaza and there were about 8 being displayed for sale on a piece of board.

Like this and many other times i see lobster for sale but they are already dead. Now I know with crab, it's best to buy them alive and then kill them one time. That way you know they are fresh.

I always thought maybe same applies to lobster. So what is advisable and recommended when buying lobster and more importantly, can it be bought fresh and alive and if so, where? Is it similar to shrimp that once it's on ice it'll be ok? And how does one tell if it's going bad or already gone bad?

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 7:59 am

They were selling unrefrigerated, non-iced raw seafood in the hot sun, and the animals already dead god knows how long? Sounds like a severe violation of the laws of TT regarding food safety. That is food poisoning to land you in the hospital for days... if you survive. You have any picture or video of this to alert the Min. Of Health?

Anyway, here are some printed guidelines from the Ministry of Health regarding seafood:
Additionally, the Ministry wishes to remind members of the public of the following general measures to apply when purchasing seafood for consumption:

1. Only buy seafood that is refrigerated or displayed on a thick bed of fresh ice that is not melting.
2. The flesh should be firm to the touch.
3. Fish eyes should be bright and clear, and not cloudy.
4. Fish gills should be a bright red, not brown in colour.
5. There should be no slime under the gills of the fish.
6. Fish scales should be tight and adhering to the fish - not flaking off.
7. Fish should smell fresh and mild. Freshly caught fish has almost no odour.
8. Shrimp flesh should be translucent and shiny with little or no odour.
The Ministry of Health continues to monitor the situation with particular reference to fish and other seafood vendors so as to safeguard the health of the population.
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/ministry ... ll-reports

And the FDA guidelines:
Selecting Shellfish

Follow these general guidelines for safely selecting shellfish:

1. Look for the label: Look for tags on sacks or containers of live shellfish (in the shell) and labels on containers or packages of shucked shellfish. These tags and labels contain specific information about the product, including the processor’s certification number. This means that the shellfish were harvested and processed in accordance with national shellfish safety controls.

2. Discard Cracked/Broken Ones: Throw away clams, oysters, and mussels if their shells are cracked or broken.

3. Do a “Tap Test”: Live clams, oysters, and mussels will close when the shell is tapped. If they don’t close when tapped, do not select them.

4. Check for Leg Movement: Live crabs and lobsters should show some leg movement. They spoil rapidly after death, so only live crabs and lobsters should be selected and prepared.
https://www.fda.gov/food/buy-store-serv ... ood-safely

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2020, 8:12 am

its unlikely you will get a vendor selling live lobster unless they on the east coast where they ketch them
they need to be seriously chilled on ice
you need to look into the cooler and see the condition of the ice and melted water(not murky)

I bought a bunch of lobsters from a guy opp long circular mall xmas time
he had a rotoplastics grey cooler packed full and the ice was still looking good and not melted much.

when I buy shrimp I pickup some and smell them and more importantly the water
the color of the shrimp and texture is easy to tell when not optimal but a few bad ones can mess up the water which messes up all the shrimp.

if you just currying with plenty pepper all this information prob irrelevent though.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2020, 8:26 am

no no! because it's not just the bacteria you worry about. The bacteria will die upon cooking at high temp.
It's the toxins they produce when they respire, the bacterial "excretions" which end up being some very toxic bio-molecules. Example Clostridium tetani produces Tetanus toxin. Clostridium botulinum produces Botulinum toxin (botox is the most lethal toxin in the world). Heat cannot deform some of these toxic proteins. They are very deadly.

Don't play up with this issue!! If you ever get food poisoning you will wish you were dead instead. Please, please don't!!!

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2020, 9:13 am

lol i was just being sarcastic

carluva

Postby carluva » February 12th, 2020, 9:25 am

So FDA guides that crab and lobster should be alive. MinOfHealth guides that it should be on ice.

For those of you who buy lobster regularly, what's the best guidance. On ice no doubt... But how can I determine how fresh it is?

For me, telling the freshness of fish is easy as the colour of the gills tend to be a good indication.

What "test" or visual signs can I look for to tell the freshness of lobster.

And where would you all recommend I buy? Where on East coast would I get fresh/alive?

Postby Chimera » February 12th, 2020, 11:58 am

You get live lobster almost.every sunday morning in tunapuna market. I buy alot there.

Besides that you would easily get to buy live in mayaro.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 12th, 2020, 12:47 pm

Thanks. Will check the market.

Anywhere specifically in Mayaro?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2020, 1:09 pm

Agreed with the above posts
Crabs and lobster should be living or killed and iced immediately.
When i buy lobster, i take them living, freeze to immobilize then dispatch via head cut, then remove the head and intestinal tract.
I would package and freeze for cooking at later time.
With crabs, i freeze the whole bunch alive, and double bag it. Clean them while defrosting.
carluva wrote:So FDA guides that crab and lobster should be alive. MinOfHealth guides that it should be on ice.

For those of you who buy lobster regularly, what's the best guidance. On ice no doubt... But how can I determine how fresh it is?

For me, telling the freshness of fish is easy as the colour of the gills tend to be a good indication.

What "test" or visual signs can I look for to tell the freshness of lobster.

And where would you all recommend I buy? Where on East coast would I get fresh/alive?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2020, 1:09 pm

Anywhere in ortoire. The guys does have right thru.
The fellaz near duckys too, they does have
carluva wrote:Thanks. Will check the market.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2020, 1:11 pm

My padna does ketch lobsters for me up toco
He does freeze them for me 1 time. I does thaw and clean those when i ready to cook.

Postby meccalli » February 12th, 2020, 1:11 pm

carluva wrote:Thanks. Will check the market.

Yes, you'll get live lobster at pt radix very easily but you need to go wait for the boats to come in, and deal with the vendors who are going to be rushing them.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 12th, 2020, 1:14 pm

What's the average price for lobster?

Postby Chimera » February 12th, 2020, 2:07 pm

45 50 a lb

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2020, 2:10 pm

roadside vendors usually 50-55

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2020, 2:14 pm

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xAzBBVuEyGU

this vid by a local shows how to get all the meat in the front and legs out.
with a lil practice it’s not hard, when chilled the meat in legs comes out easy like in the video.

in a lobster medium sized and up there is a sizable amount of meat apart from the tail.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 12th, 2020, 3:00 pm

I does grill the tails and keep the legs and upper body for pepper lobster
pugboy wrote:https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=xAzBBVuEyGU

this vid by a local shows how to get all the meat in the front and legs out.
with a lil practice it’s not hard, when chilled the meat in legs comes out easy like in the video.

in a lobster medium sized and up there is a sizable amount of meat apart from the tail.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 12th, 2020, 7:24 pm

Would you believe me and a coworker were watching that same video while we were in a boring meeting this afternoon?

She really cleans it up good. Not sure what's with her left index finger tho....

carluva

Postby carluva » February 12th, 2020, 7:25 pm

Tell me more about this pepper lobster ....

Anyone ever tried curry lobster and dumplings?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 12th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Maybe she got hooked on one of the spines . First time I cleaned one that thing stick in my finger and hurt like a Mofo
carluva wrote:Would you believe me and a coworker were watching that same video while we were in a boring meeting this afternoon?

She really cleans it up good. Not sure what's with her left index finger tho....