Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2019, 7:51 pm

Somebody told me hearty foods arima

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2019, 12:03 pm

u have to look, in the tunapuna market is a good option if u live around that area
also recently got some at super quality supermarket in trincity

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2019, 3:29 pm

I asked my padna who works at super quality endeavour, he said they do have the large whole smoked herrings
he got the butcher guy there to open a case and check
they opened 12 herrings and found none with eggs

the guy did say earlier this year there were some and its probably seasonal with the fish
so no guarantee unless they constantly checking the fish indivdiually when they open a case

Postby supercharged turbo » April 10th, 2019, 5:44 pm

pugboy wrote:I asked my padna who works at super quality endeavour, he said they do have the large whole smoked herrings
he got the butcher guy there to open a case and check
they opened 12 herrings and found none with eggs

the guy did say earlier this year there were some and its probably seasonal with the fish
so no guarantee unless they constantly checking the fish indivdiually when they open a case
I usually got at the chinese grocery by me but they said they haven't gotton any awhile as well but I feel they checking them individually.The guy in the meat section said they had some earlier with the eggs and he end up taking them out.

Postby maj. tom » April 10th, 2019, 7:39 pm

wait, so they don't cut open the belly and guts the fish before they smoke it? How the smoke and salt reaching inside a closed gut to preserve it? I never knew smoked herring came with eggs nah. Will have to look out for it.

Postby meccalli » April 10th, 2019, 7:48 pm

maj. tom wrote:wait, so they don't cut open the belly and guts the fish before they smoke it? How the smoke and salt reaching inside a closed gut to preserve it? I never knew smoked herring came with eggs nah. Will have to look out for it.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 21st, 2019, 6:48 pm

The guy in the meat section really pull through...more eggs than flesh
20190521_135210.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2019, 7:06 pm

Where you got ?

supercharged turbo wrote:The guy in the meat section really pull through...more eggs than flesh20190521_135210.jpeg

Postby supercharged turbo » May 21st, 2019, 7:11 pm

pugboy wrote:Where you got ?

supercharged turbo wrote:The guy in the meat section really pull through...more eggs than flesh20190521_135210.jpeg
Same chinese grocery by me.Only one pack 1 get

Postby *KRONIK* » May 21st, 2019, 7:44 pm

Lol

Because of that post i went digging thru the stack in the chinee grocery by me, found 2 with eggs in the whole lot. They had them cut in halves to fit in the bag, so it was easy to check.

Lol
supercharged turbo wrote:
pugboy wrote:Where you got ?

Same chinese grocery by me.Only one pack 1 get

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2019, 7:46 pm

Better to go paces that pack in smaller pkg

Postby SMc » May 22nd, 2019, 1:54 pm

Looking at that video about how they make it , its interesting to see its pretty much specifically made for the West Indian countries and how did Canada end up making it. I have never seen it for sale outside of the WI other than in 'specialist' shops far less the boneless version why is that? Anyway ill now be making some on the weekend thanks to this thread

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2019, 2:01 pm

Got a pack with all 3 have eggs
Weekend breakfastes

8A4FFE03-C512-435B-BA0B-633A993C9BEA.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » May 22nd, 2019, 4:05 pm

We need to talk about thai fish sauce. Picked up a bottle of the Roland brand. When I cracked it open, i regretted everything in life based on that smell. ( :lol: it also made me get a very specific memory with some gagging).
I used 1 tablespoon of it in soup and within 10 minutes that awful smell evaporated... into the entire house. I honestly thought I had ruined my pot and was feeling dread and disappointment right through. But when the soup was done, my God what amazing flavour and umami!!!! I have never tasted anything quite like it. All the fresh herbs and vegetables went a long way too to bring everything together.

I used to think that the Lea & Perrins worcestershire was the best thing, but Roland thai fish sauce is the ultimate win in cooking! You all need to try this if you haven't. Very sparingly in dishes and let the smell simmer away!

Happy trailing with the memories as well. You will know what i'm talking about when you open that bottle :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » May 22nd, 2019, 6:08 pm

I bought a bottle recently, but i scared to put that in anything.
Thing smells horrible
I tried it in a dipping sauce and it wasnt bad, but i fraid to spoil a whole pot with it.

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2019, 6:24 pm

Roland’s is not so high on the quality rankings though
Wing sing has a better brand
It is great for making garlic pasta along with oyster sauce

Postby SMc » May 23rd, 2019, 2:43 am

I use Squid Brand fish sauce- I use it weekly as certain dishes I cook you have to use it. I went Thailand a couple years ago and did some cooking classes (nothing too intense), then went Malaysia the year after-> since then almost weekly I do a dish from one of them two countries.

For thai food you really need a balance of sweet-sour-salty-tangy/spicy so tend to use palm sugar-lime-fish sauce-tambrind/hot chill pepper in most dishes

Postby maj. tom » June 1st, 2019, 4:15 pm

So anyone uses Cassareep? Saw a bottle on the grocery shelf. How do you use it? As a meat marinade? Does it work with chicken, or only heavy red meats? What's the flavour like? Or is it an acquired taste? Reading that it's bitter-sweet.

Postby pugboy » June 1st, 2019, 4:56 pm

Good ones have nice spice in it.
Depends who make it.
Better with red meats, them Guyanese put that in everything for stew etc.

maj. tom wrote:So anyone uses Cassareep? Saw a bottle on the grocery shelf. How do you use it? As a meat marinade? Does it work with chicken, or only heavy red meats? What's the flavour like? Or is it an acquired taste? Reading that it's bitter-sweet.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » June 2nd, 2019, 1:13 pm

maj. tom wrote:So anyone uses Cassareep? Saw a bottle on the grocery shelf. How do you use it? As a meat marinade? Does it work with chicken, or only heavy red meats? What's the flavour like? Or is it an acquired taste? Reading that it's bitter-sweet.

Cassareep is used by Guyanese for Pepper Pot.

Pepperpot – a stewed meat dish popular in Guyana and the rest of the Caribbean. A special stew simmered in a rich dark gravy flavored with cinnamon and cassareep that will make a great impression for a lifetime!
Source: https://www.africanbites.com/pepperpot/

Postby SR » June 2nd, 2019, 1:25 pm

8lb beef roast now seasoned and off the marinated for 2 days before going in the smoker.
20190602_101109.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » June 2nd, 2019, 1:48 pm

Going to get some lean pork this week and braise it in the oven for 3 hours like a stew and see how it comes out. Several websites say one can just leave it on the stove for days and just reheat when ready to eat again and it won't spoil, but in fact just taste better. They usually do this a few days before Christmas in Guyana. Will relate my experience with this cassareep antibacterial miracle or die.

pugboy wrote:Good ones have nice spice in it.
Depends who make it.

Postby gastly369 » June 2nd, 2019, 2:13 pm

Made some smoked salmon sandwiches today and jink ah blue waters

Postby SMc » June 2nd, 2019, 2:47 pm

maj. tom wrote:Going to get some lean pork this week and braise it in the oven for 3 hours like a stew and see how it comes out. Several websites say one can just leave it on the stove for days and just reheat when ready to eat again and it won't spoil, but in fact just taste better. They usually do this a few days before Christmas in Guyana. Will relate my experience with this cassareep antibacterial miracle or die.

pugboy wrote:Good ones have nice spice in it.
Depends who make it.

Report back your findings- I willing to donate 1 roll of toilet paper to the cause.

Reference lean pork for the stew- i much prefer a mixture of meat- some fatty, some bony and a bit lean meat- the mix adds to the textures and flavours i feel, did stew pork for food today and used a mix of cuts came out good

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2019, 7:08 am

use bay leaf with the pepper pot
dont forget bones add flavour so beef short rib with the bones bits are good

Postby supercharged turbo » June 5th, 2019, 7:06 pm

Anybody know how to make a dirt oven?I know it have some where you can put the wood both on top and below and one where you can put the wood below alone.Which would be the better one?Never ate food from one and can't remember the last time seeing one so any pics would be greatly appreciated.

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2019, 8:03 am

Got 3 out of 6 smoked herring with eggs

From Hilo
31387CD2-00AA-42AC-917A-5EBBD3656C12.jpeg
Last edited by pugboy on August 11th, 2019, 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2019, 8:05 am

Wah goin on dey?
pugboy wrote:From Hilo
31387CD2-00AA-42AC-917A-5EBBD3656C12.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2019, 8:10 am

The herring caviar