Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby meccalli » January 10th, 2017, 6:53 pm

I could probably reprofile one of my cheaper blades and attempt it. His knives seem to have an edge profile around 12 degrees. That's razor territory, I sharpen around 40, much more durable for heavier work.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2017, 6:56 pm

Go for it, shouldn't be hard to do a couple bottles
Knife holding sharp edge for longer is the catch

Postby meccalli » January 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm

Yeah, that's where the steel quality comes in.

Postby meccalli » January 10th, 2017, 9:53 pm

Preliminary success, don't think it'll manage alot of bottles given how little mass the blade has. Test cut the previous bottle before I recorded it.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2017, 10:23 pm

You ain't waste time
What type of knife is that?

I have a brand new tojiro vg10 steel I might try it with

Postby meccalli » January 10th, 2017, 10:49 pm

A knife probably worth 5 dollars lol. Generic knife set someone bought for me and I just gave em an edge.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 16th, 2017, 11:07 am

Guys
I running a special on extra small eggs
$25/ crate
A crate has 30 eggs
Delivery on the east west corridor with orders over 5 crates.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 25th, 2017, 9:31 am

Any Carinival pelaw and corn soup recipe?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2017, 9:58 am

Check foodie nation on facebook
Lots of local recipes that can be tweaked to your liking

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 25th, 2017, 10:54 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: bwdmc

no man cyar fork rong u & meccali ..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby meccalli » February 25th, 2017, 11:13 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote: bwdmc

I only got through 5 bottles, have to start collecting to reattempt :lol:

Gonna make some pelau sunday, it's pretty standard. I like to brown my sugar to nearly burnt color to get a dark pelau and some dark soy sauce to even it out. I'll also add chopped onions, garlic and chives when it's almost done cooking, the flavour doesn't get lost from all that time boiling. I also hit it some msg and your standard golden ray, makes the flavors pop particularly the coconut and burnt sugar.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 25th, 2017, 11:56 am

eh , ppl avoiding msg but u adding it :shock:

i like to bun my brown sugar too but d bottle browning does be decent as well

try a tiny touch of 5 spice powder , its strong so use a tiny amt

'''''''I'll also add chopped onions, garlic and chives when it's almost done cooking, the flavour doesn't get lost from all that time boiling.''''''''''' ....good man - when u do it cover d pot so d flavor doh escape , plenty ppl doh do dat & it does taste bland like it boil

i use to make a mean pelau long time in fact alot of cooking but i get lazy .... :oops:

Postby SMc » February 25th, 2017, 1:13 pm

want to know how to make fried channa... as in the one you get in the glass/plastic bottle with pepper salt etc. No lie any help would be apppreciated

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2017, 2:29 pm

Postby meccalli » February 25th, 2017, 7:35 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:eh , ppl avoiding msg but u adding it :shock:

i like to bun my brown sugar too but d bottle browning does be decent as well

try a tiny touch of 5 spice powder , its strong so use a tiny amt

'''''''I'll also add chopped onions, garlic and chives when it's almost done cooking, the flavour doesn't get lost from all that time boiling.''''''''''' ....good man - when u do it cover d pot so d flavor doh escape , plenty ppl doh do dat & it does taste bland like it boil

i use to make a mean pelau long time in fact alot of cooking but i get lazy .... :oops:

People misunderstand msg, I own the modernist cuisine set of books and they dedicate a chapter that point out actual scientific studies and not hearsay. I always cover my pelau when it's boiling and with a hot pepper but adding it right before it finish, also leaves the color and crunch of the chives and finely chopped onions. It's prettier :)
I always thought 5 spice was overpowering until I tried an actual chinese blend, there's a grocery around cunupia opposite a bar where I found it (along with sand ginger powder and white peppercorn powder). The flavour is completely different (authentic) and you can really lay it on heavy. I'll take some pics of the packaging when I take it out of storage to refill bottles.

Heres the msg article in Modernist Cuisine.
Hold That MSG?
During the past 40 years, one of the most interesting popular
concerns about a food ingredient has centered on the
common additive monosodium glutamate (MSG)-despite
the fact that scientific research has repeatedly failed to
confirm the concern.
Glutamate is an amino acid that has a savory umamitaste
(see Myths About Taste and Flavor, page 4·341). It mimics
flavors found naturally in tomatoes, soy sauce, and cheese,
among other foods. It was isolated in 1907 from fermented
wheat and patented soon after as a food additive by a Japanese
company formed for the purpose: Ajinomoto. The
company, whose name means "essence of taste," has been
a leading producer of MSG ever since . (More recently, Ajinomoto
commercialized the enzyme transglutaminase; see
page 3·250).
As it was invented in the 20th century, MSG is hardly
a "traditional " food. It is quite tasty, however, and has found
its way into most processed food formulations in both Western
and Asian countries.
Chemically speaking, the safety of MSG ought to be a slam
dunk. The sodium part is also found in common salt. Glutamate,
a salt of glutamic acid, is an amino acid and thus is
found in many foods. Like other amino acids, it is a fundamental
building block of protein; it also acts as a neurotransmitter
in the brain and nervous system . It is so common that Europeans
and Americans get an estimated 1 g a day of glutamate
from natural food sources .
All was fine with MSG until a 19681etter to the editor of Th e
Ne w England journal of Medicin e described "Chinese restaurant
syndrome," whose sufferers complained of numbness,
palpitations, and other symptoms after eating Chinese meals .
By then, MSG had become popular in Asian restaurants. To
this day, most people strongly associate MSG with Asian food,
although it is used in virtually all fast foods and in ketchup and
other condiments.
In the years following the article, MSG has been investigated
many times to uncover harmful health effects; these
studies invariably have found the compound to be safe.
Vindication by science has done little to quell the controversy,
however. It is still common to hear people claim that
they are sensitive to MSG and suffer a raft of pernicious
symptoms when they eat it. Self-diagnosis of MSG intolerance
is so common that many Asian restaurants place notices in
their windows or on their menus that pledge "No MSG."
What makes the case so puzzling is that extensive research
has yet to identify a test subject who can reliably distinguish
food with or without MSG in a double-blind study (i .e., one in
which neither the subject nor the researchers know the
answer in advance). That is true even for studies that have
focused exclusively on people who claim to have MSG sensitivity.
Alas, the bottom line is that science has found no health
effects due to MSG consumption at the levels in which it is
present in food. Self-diagnosed sufferers are mistakenly
blaming MSG for symptoms caused by something else. But
good luck persuading them of that.
The influential food critic Jeffrey Steingarten once tackled
the topic in an article titled "Why doesn 't everyone in China
have a headache?" Steingarten pointed out that the food with
the second-highest concentration of glutamate, the natural
form of MSG, is Parmesan cheese. Sun-dried tomatoes and
tomato paste also have large amounts of glutamate, "and yet
I have never heard of a Parmesan Headache or Tomato-Paste
Syndrome," he writes .
Still, MSG remains non grata in the popular imagination .
Ironically, because it tastes good, it also remains in our diets.

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2017, 8:08 pm

I use a little msg and nobody ever complains

I myself get a bad reaction to places that use too much, which is often the case
I will wake up later in the night with very dry scratchy throat and extremely thirsty.

the issue is folks usually think if a little of something is good then plenty better

Postby meccalli » February 25th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Yeah, too much water will kill you. The dose makes the poison.

Postby Gladiator » February 26th, 2017, 12:02 am

The MSG fable was concocted by the Italians in NYC when the Chinese restaurants began to bloom. There is no scientific evidence that it does anything negative to the body. Too much would raise Sodium in the human body just like normal table salt. We actually have taste buds developed to taste it.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 26th, 2017, 2:10 pm

Who ever tried the typical *beer can* method of doing a whole chicken on the grill???

Looking for new ideas for Tom

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 26th, 2017, 2:11 pm

Who ever tried the typical *beer can* method of doing a whole chicken on the grill???

Postby SMc » February 26th, 2017, 2:16 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Who ever tried the typical *beer can* method of doing a whole chicken on the grill???

I think the real question is whether or not Tom knows what you plan to do to him tomorrow & if you have consent, either way good on you for trying to spice up the relationship

Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2017, 2:37 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Who ever tried the typical *beer can* method of doing a whole chicken on the grill???

There are tons of recipes online. It's easy and you can use all sorts of liquids to change the flavor profile.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 26th, 2017, 2:44 pm

There are tons of recipes online. It's easy but I don't see what the big deal is cause it doesn't come out any more moist than usual.

Oh really, that I didn't know.. I thought it would've added more to it and maybe a nice aftertaste

Thanks

stealth

Postby stealth » April 3rd, 2017, 6:36 am

what is the best "bottled"/commercial seasoning you can get in d grocery? i find all of them taste like crap with plenty starch...

travelling soon and wanna carry a small bottle

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2017, 9:57 am

stealth wrote:what is the best "bottled"/commercial seasoning you can get in d grocery? i find all of them taste like crap with plenty starch...

travelling soon and wanna carry a small bottle

Make your own!

There's a small company that sells in Up Market called Paramin Seasoning, I tried a bottle once to support their venture and it was pretty good. Up Market is this Saturday, I'm sure they will be there.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » May 19th, 2017, 8:30 am

has anyone tried using an Air Fryer....any reviews?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 19th, 2017, 8:33 am

i like to eat palau before it dries down. with the sauce!

Postby X_Factor » May 20th, 2017, 4:57 pm

lookin for ceylon cinnamon
anyone seen the sticks selling locally?
only getting the common cassia which is not safe to use daily

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » May 22nd, 2017, 1:02 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Guys
I running a special on extra small eggs
$25/ crate
A crate has 30 eggs
Delivery on the east west corridor with orders over 5 crates.

Postby X_Factor » May 23rd, 2017, 11:53 pm

got it...lil bag cost me 50$ tho
smells milder but sweeter than hard cinnamon