IMG-20190813-WA0130.jpg
IMG-20190813-WA0133.jpg
IMG-20190813-WA0132.jpg
IMG-20190813-WA0131.jpg

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby SMc » August 13th, 2019, 3:17 pm

seems like its not as deadly as you- plus that is far out the way to be real harm to anyone

I could understand if it snuggling up in the bed or attacking you if you mash it; but to see one and say 'he have venom-must kill' is something I would never understand, especially from a 'hunter' that should know the importance of all the animals along the food chain.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2019, 5:11 pm

I agree...if its not in your way...leave it....looks bushmasterish

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2019, 5:19 pm

Yeah that is the big bushmaster
Hardly seen

Postby meccalli » August 13th, 2019, 5:44 pm

Even the name gives you chills, Lachesis muta

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » August 13th, 2019, 6:01 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2019, 6:02 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah that is the big bushmaster
Hardly seen

One hit from that and doh even call the ambulance...call a funeral home

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2019, 7:02 pm

That Green Anaconda is a beautiful specimen. Hope they called the zoo to take care of it and release it later.

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2019, 9:44 pm

So tell me - if I am walking through the bush and unwittingly step on one - what should I do thereafter?

BTW - That is one nasty-ass looking snake!!!!!

SMc wrote:seems like its not as deadly as you- plus that is far out the way to be real harm to anyone

I could understand if it snuggling up in the bed or attacking you if you mash it; but to see one and say 'he have venom-must kill' is something I would never understand, especially from a 'hunter' that should know the importance of all the animals along the food chain.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 13th, 2019, 9:52 pm

bluefete wrote:So tell me - if I am walking through the bush and unwittingly step on one - what should I do thereafter?

SMc wrote:seems like its not as deadly as you- plus that is far out the way to be real harm to anyone

Pray

Postby 88sins » August 13th, 2019, 9:53 pm

bluefete, where allyuh killed that bushmaster?

Postby bluefete » August 13th, 2019, 10:04 pm

I did not kill it. Shakes put it up and said that it was killed in Arima!!!

That snake has my blood crawling in all kinds of ways.

88sins wrote:bluefete, where allyuh killed that bushmaster?

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2019, 10:27 pm

thats a big bushmaster yo

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2019, 10:41 pm

on the trini hunting fb group a fella have pics of his leg after he get bite from one of them
not nice

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 4:52 am

88sins wrote:bluefete, where allyuh killed that bushmaster?

up blanchisseuse
pugboy wrote:on the trini hunting fb group a fella have pics of his leg after he get bite from one of them
not nice

I know two persons who were bitten by smaller versions to the one in the pic.......every full moon the affected area is swollen so badly that the person has to limit movement because is real pain....the other guy's foot looks like it's rotting away :|

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 14th, 2019, 5:10 am

bluefete wrote:So tell me - if I am walking through the bush and unwittingly step on one - what should I do thereafter?

Hope and pray you didn't get bite. But if you did make peace with your God.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 6:18 am

I could see men like Brady Barr coming here just to go and look for one of those

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2019, 6:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
I know two persons who were bitten by smaller versions to the one in the pic.......every full moon the affected area is swollen so badly that the person has to limit movement because is real pain....the other guy's foot looks like it's rotting away :|

yeah, it eh nice at all. bushmaster venom is slower acting than ampeprie venom, but the downside is they inject more volume. once you make it out d bush within a couple hours after the bite and they administer antivenom yuh chances of recovery are relatively good but for him to have necrosis taking place, he musbe was real deep in d bush. he most likely gonna lose that lower leg.

when in d bush, eyes open, mind sharp & proper gear at all times fellas

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2019, 7:32 am

NSFL image

Extensive Tissue Necrosis of the Lower Limb in an 11-Year-Old Boy Who Had Been Bitten Two Weeks Earlier by a Bothrops asper in Ecuador.
Only antibiotic treatment had been given, so tissue damage was extensive, requiring above-knee amputation. Such pathological alterations are caused by the direct action of locally acting toxins in the venom (mostly metalloproteinases and phospholipases A 2), together with an indirect effect promoted by local inflammatory events and ischemia secondary to venom-induced vascular damage and increased intracompartmental pressure. (Image: D. A. Warrell)
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1472552/

Bothrops asper (aka fer-de-lance) is a highly venomous pit viper species the range of which extends from southern Mexico to northern South America.This is the only Bothrops species that occurs on the island of Trinidad.

I expect that the Lachesis muta (Southern American bushmaster) venom's effects would be quite similar for a bite treated without the antivenin at Sangre Grande Hospital.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 9:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

yeah, it eh nice at all. bushmaster venom is slower acting than ampeprie venom, but the downside is they inject more volume. once you make it out d bush within a couple hours after the bite and they administer antivenom yuh chances of recovery are relatively good but for him to have necrosis taking place, he musbe was real deep in d bush. he most likely gonna lose that lower leg.

Nahhh....wont lose foot, it's just a nasty looking reminder of that encounter...he does not wear short pants to go out again...and this happened years ago, cocoa field biche forest

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Does the bushmaster run away if it hears you coming?

I suppose to go in de bush (Toco side) in a couple weeks and that snake giving me the shakes.

Postby SMc » August 14th, 2019, 3:02 pm

Simple solution- if you not used to walking in the bush dont do it OR let someone who is guide you through

bluefete wrote:Does the bushmaster run away if it hears you coming?

I suppose to go in de bush (Toco side) in a couple weeks and that snake giving me the shakes.

firstly in order to run it would need legs- secondly take the advice below

finally after your remark about scorpions and you being the unlucky 3rd strike I would really reconsider going in the bush as though you are excellent at sharing click-bait information I sometimes wonder if you are all there- no offence but you do worry be from time to time.

Finally-that is a beautiful specimen that should still be alive today- I could bet that the 'attackee' was in no danger when they came across it- probably on the side of the road chilling when a driver saw it and felt a need to deal with the problem

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 3:18 pm

I know hunters who would rub their dogs with either black disinfectant or ammonia...it's 50-50 because this method not only keep away snakes, but the wild animals as well...so feel free to rub down with either

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 14th, 2019, 4:29 pm

Nope, heard it investigates what disturb it...

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2019, 6:09 pm

ADONI wrote:

ADONI, I sorry to tell you this eh but whoever told you that lied to you.

blue, they are not a very fast moving snake, so they are easy to avoid if you spot them early.
they will try to escape interaction with humans if possible, but if startled they won't move any more than it takes them to get into to striking if position if they see or sense you coming. they not as highly aggressive as the mappepire either, but they can strike a lot higher up than a mappepire normally would so getting bitten above the knee is possible.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 6:57 pm

ADONI wrote:

ADONI, I sorry to tell you this eh but whoever told you that lied to you.

blue, they are not a very fast moving snake, so they are easy to avoid if you spot them early.
they will try to escape interaction with humans if possible, but if startled they won't move any more than it takes them to get into to striking if position if they see or sense you coming. they not as highly aggressive as the mappepire either, but they can strike a lot higher up than a mappepire normally would so getting bitten above the knee is possible.

If only tigre coda move so :|

Postby rspann » August 14th, 2019, 7:06 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Said to killed in arima...that there is a deadly mofo

Now that is a good snake!

Postby bluefete » August 14th, 2019, 7:43 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2019, 8:37 pm

bluefete wrote:Thanks: 88sins; SMc; ADONI for the feedback and advice.

If you see a tigre make sure and run it down eh...cuz it will come back for you...serious thing...I can carry you to people and ud hear endless stories