WTF - Snake!

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2016, 8:27 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Forgot to mention the nocturnal part. Its night I does be outside.

Had to walk through some bushes taller than me as a last resort some months back. Everytime I move my feet I just saying in my head I hope one dont bite me. The amount of things ran though my head that night eh

Hoss it have thing call guesthouse.

Why your mind in the gutter so? :lol:

baigan

Re: RE: Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby baigan » June 9th, 2016, 10:25 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Forgot to mention the nocturnal part. Its night I does be outside.

Had to walk through some bushes taller than me as a last resort some months back. Everytime I move my feet I just saying in my head I hope one dont bite me. The amount of things ran though my head that night eh

Hoss it have thing call guesthouse.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 10th, 2016, 9:55 am

rspann wrote:I have a piece of land in Tamana. One day I saw a shed snake skin,so friggin big, that is three years now I haven't gone back there.

Boi, it have a spot in the land home, every year when we cutlass around there we does bounce up a shedded skin about 4 feet. We chop one last year cutlassing doh about 4 feet, also we have killed a few around there. Maybe it is the coolest part of the land. It is a lil flat area with a ravine, all other areas of the land is hill.

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 10:03 am

I not killing no snake, and it's not because of no ecology talk or anything like that. Snake safe around me, because as I see them I gone.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 10th, 2016, 11:09 am

Fer De Lance bite

Postby K74T » June 10th, 2016, 2:11 pm

Gyaaad

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 10th, 2016, 2:56 pm

As Mike Tyson would say: jethus cwithe!

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 10th, 2016, 4:09 pm

where the tree hugging bullahs now?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 10th, 2016, 4:18 pm

Why they didn't amputate that leg sooner though....couldn't have turned that way overnight.

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2016, 5:35 pm

Takes a couple days to get like that. That was what happened to a teenage girl in a rural area in vene some yrs ago. They had no transport & no medical facilities near by.

Sad thing is if envenomated & no major arteries or veins were punctured, & you keep calm, you have roughly 8-10 hrs before the real massive necrosis becomes limb threatening. If an artery is compromised & you panic, time gets cut to about 2 hrs and chances of mortality skyrocket.

Had another case where a womans husband was bitten in d bush. By d time he reach back to d village he was real badly off & the site was already swollen &blistered. His wife was gratin coconut before he arrived & had plenty small scratches on her hands & his envenomated blood got into them. He died by nightfall. They found her dead the next morning.

Postby Redman » June 10th, 2016, 5:41 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:where the tree hugging bullahs now?

tuner sweet to bad yes

:D

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 10th, 2016, 7:59 pm

why is antivenom only available in Sangre Grande hospital?

Postby rspann » June 10th, 2016, 8:18 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why is antivenom only available in Sangre Grande hospital?

Because that is the area snake does live.

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2016, 9:48 pm

cuz its the most centralized point in the country to the regions with high density venomous snake populations.

d real question is how often they change out batch. dem ting does lose potency after a while, not to mention dem ting real expensive.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 10th, 2016, 10:04 pm

Doesn't moruga contain this type of snake also?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » June 11th, 2016, 12:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:why is antivenom only available in Sangre Grande hospital?

Couva dhf had as well...for both map and coral...proly expired by now tho...we never used it

pinks

Postby pinks » June 11th, 2016, 12:17 am

All hospitals carry antivenin..not just sangre grande..i heard the company that manufactures coral antivenin gona stop producing it doh as its not feasable/profitable..so might jus be mappapire antivenin available alone jus now..

It actuall cost alot for the antivenin

Taken from the MoH price listing a couple yrs back

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2016, 1:38 am

Cost a lot more than that today.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 11th, 2016, 4:42 am

What snakes in Moruga and brasso seco?

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2016, 8:02 am

both native pit vipers & most other local species

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 11th, 2016, 9:21 am

Hmmmmmmmm

Postby SMc » June 11th, 2016, 12:30 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:where the tree hugging bullahs now?

*throws on snake-proof-suit*

Present miss!!

Still waiting on the figures that show locally on amount of people they have killed or maimed for life. So far all I have seen is pictures and articles for the South American mainland, and for for people that' living behind god back' (even further than Debe) & another case where 2 people managed to post the same anecdotal story about how poisonous they may be.

Anyway kill them or not its really up to you; reality is prevention is greater than cure in most cases so best thing is educate 'your' pikney , take when you out and about & if you see one close to home think twice about how you want to get rid of it.

Oh and to the 2nr with land in Tamana... last time I went up to the caves,on the way back down there was a small drizzle and about 3-4 were lying on the path near to the road just sitting next to the flow of water coming down from the hill.. GL RIP can I haz your land?

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2016, 5:25 pm

Ok SMc we get it.
U need someone to believe your a nature lover.
As to statistics wrt dis 3rd world nation, stats collected on bites by both global and local bite data collection sources are unreliable at best.
However i do recall a young schoolchild from south being bitten a year or two ago and being rushed to grande hospital.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2016, 6:00 pm

^I think that was a scorpion bite...and they didnt have the antivenom

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2016, 6:20 pm

I stand corrected

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2016, 6:25 pm

lol but I for killing them to once they invade your space though...cuz as much as some of ollyur might want to hesitate killing them when they invade your space...they won't so meem taking no chances...same treatment frogs getting...especially when there are pets involved/around

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » June 11th, 2016, 6:46 pm

Last death locally was about 5 years back I think guy was bathing outside at night and got bitten.They could not identify the culprit and the guy took to long to receive antivenom .

Postby 88sins » June 11th, 2016, 7:03 pm

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 12th, 2016, 11:10 am

SMc, try a lil harder, you jus might convince us

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » June 12th, 2016, 1:12 pm

SMc wrote:So far all I have seen is pictures and articles for the South American mainland, and for for people that' living behind god back' (even further than Debe)

there are mapepires in the northern range. once you get a little distance away from the eastern main road (for example, santa cruz or maracas st joseph) you can find them. hardly behind god's back

SMc wrote:Anyway kill them or not its really up to you; reality is prevention is greater than cure in most cases so best thing is educate 'your' pikney , take when you out and about & if you see one close to home think twice about how you want to get rid of it.

mapepires have a habit of lying on a trail or driveway and waiting for food. it's not that hard to step on them. young children usually don't look where they're going. at some point, a person needs to decide whether family or snake is more important. the snake is not going to lie down next to you and look at tv