Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

kyhamil

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby kyhamil » February 20th, 2016, 10:06 am

Any suggestions to gwt it set up and cycled?

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 20th, 2016, 10:32 am

buy water,live rock and bacteria from raj
and you good to go

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 20th, 2016, 10:49 am

thatlife wrote:Image

How much was the cabinet?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 20th, 2016, 11:06 am

I can't afford to buy 100 gallons of sw homie... im a teacher govn salary doh pay that much...

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 20th, 2016, 11:31 am

how much is saltwater by raj? I bought when i first started up about 30gallons, can't remember how much it cost. Now I mix my own.

reef tank is an expensive hobby too

I paid 3k for the cabinet by bhagwansighs, it was the last display one. Theres one other but it has some damages. I need it because its plastic and I usually wash my garage weekly.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 20th, 2016, 11:40 am

40 per keg which is 5 gallons approximately... for my 75 i bought 40 gallons... i was wondering if i cld start up and cycle thw tank with tap water and then do 30 gallon water changes with rodi for bout 6 weeks... the tank itself is about 90 gallons plus he sump i have is 36x 14x16

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 20th, 2016, 1:23 pm

How much you paid for the tank itself? Only the front panel is starphire ?

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 20th, 2016, 2:14 pm

front alone is starphire, it was close to 3k US
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001CS ... 11&sr=8-11

i wouldn't recommend tap water unless u don't mind algae

i did it before and water changes didn't help
it took me close to a year to get rid of algae

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 20th, 2016, 2:42 pm

I think i have a plan... i set up everything and water test make sure there is no leaks... empty and transfer my current water into the new tank with the fish... do a bare bottom for the while with the live rock from my 2 tanks... and add new water to the system... i should be able to make up around 60 gallons and buy the remaining 40

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 21st, 2016, 3:14 pm

kyhamil wrote:40 per keg which is 5 gallons approximately... for my 75 i bought 40 gallons... i was wondering if i cld start up and cycle thw tank with tap water and then do 30 gallon water changes with rodi for bout 6 weeks... the tank itself is about 90 gallons plus he sump i have is 36x 14x16

:shock: :shock:

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 21st, 2016, 4:07 pm

Yeah honda i realise i calculate that wrong after... 8 kegs $40=$320 Id buy the water...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 21st, 2016, 4:11 pm

not that................... cycle a tank with tap water you say

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 21st, 2016, 5:02 pm

Yeah i have my moments of stupidity just like everyone else... mine just tend to cost more...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2016, 6:00 pm

Haha I know people that did it before, won't encourage it or recommend it lol I've had my fair share once upon a time, hardest thing to recover from imo

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 21st, 2016, 8:46 pm

lol.. :lol: :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » February 22nd, 2016, 7:27 am

How it go Dean, getting back in the hobby after 4 yrs.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 22nd, 2016, 8:52 am

some progress pics, still have lots to do

this is a tank that I set up for a friend yesterday

this morning, all cleared up.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 24th, 2016, 5:16 pm

Drill my tank myself... 2 x 1 1/2" holes 9
1456348559129.jpg

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 24th, 2016, 5:24 pm

Have some minor chips around the rim in a cpl places, but not big enough to cause problems... i have to set up a sump and stuff weekend and plum everything...

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 24th, 2016, 5:26 pm

I need some aquarium safe spray paint... i want to paint internal plumbing parks black

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 26th, 2016, 2:27 pm

Any1 knows how many gallons the white barrels from elsocorro are?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » February 26th, 2016, 2:52 pm

kyhamil wrote:Any1 knows how many gallons the white barrels from elsocorro are?

The one with the little plastic handles? 20 gallons I believe

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 26th, 2016, 3:06 pm

Ok thanks... i got the info... the guy charges 225 per barrel by elsocorro,

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2016, 4:15 pm

225 per barrel?
That's a lot.

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 26th, 2016, 4:48 pm

Yeah... where can I get 1 cheaper?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2016, 7:19 pm

kyhamil wrote:Im lost after you say princess town... but i know where you talking about in el soccorro

alyuh north fellas not easy

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 26th, 2016, 7:51 pm

Who can buy 1 and meet me half way? I really lost in south... i can meet you sunday

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2016, 7:56 pm

did you go rotoplastics and see their 55 gal drums?

kyhamil

Postby kyhamil » February 26th, 2016, 8:07 pm

Nah i didnt go cuz i dont have the space to fit 2 of those... i have space for the 2 20 gallons...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2016, 9:01 pm

Thatlife, you using the float switch for the RODI units.
Looking for one to put in my 200 gal tank.