2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

GOAT

Re: 2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby GOAT » September 28th, 2018, 12:33 pm

Galvatron wrote:Best exercises for legs? Don't plan on working on other parts. Will it make sense taking protein?

Thanks

If you can get over 100 grams of protein through ur diet then no need to take any protein supplement.

And as he said why only legs? Always good to train every muscle to prevent inbalances.

For exercises always start with squats.
After that stuff like lunges, Romanian Deadlifts, Bulgarian split squats, leg press, etc. are all good.

Postby meccalli » September 28th, 2018, 4:59 pm

Q: Do you always do squats first in your leg workouts?

A: No, I mean I used to do squats when I was younger. Of course I bought the magazines and everyone said that's the number one quad exercise, number one for legs, not gonna get good legs without it. So I dedicated myself to it for a few years when I started out. I got some injuries. I got some okay leg development, not great. They were lagging a little bit behind my upper body. It's the little injuries I got around my hips, cause I got quite narrow hips for somebody of my size. That kind of forced me to reassess it a little: maybe it's not the best. Let me try to do leg press and hack squat instead--my legs exploded. Much better. For me, squat was really overrated, wasn't a good quad exercise. Great overall exercise, great if you're doing sports, if you're playing football, or something like that, any kind of sport.

If you ask me what's the best overall single exercise, I would say squats. Great all-around exercise. As far as, if you do high reps, it's great for your cardiovascular system. It's great for overall strength. Is it great for building championship legs? For some people, yes. If their structure means that when they squat they're doing most of the lifting with their quads, it's great. For me it wasn't, 'cause I was doing most of the lifting with my back and my ass; it wasn't great. So I didn't do any freeweight squats as a professional bodybuilder. Not a one single squat. You know, you've got to find if it works for you.

...I got better quad development out of doing leg press, out of doing hack squats. If I do a hack squat, I'm lifting everything with my quads. No lower back, no glutes. So I can go to failure. Can you go to failure, really failure, with a squat? No, because your lower back will give out before your quads do. So for me it's really an overrated exercise. For someone else it might work great.
6x Mr. Olympia Dorian Yates

https://themovementfix.com/the-best-kep ... fferently/
Like I said in a previous post, beginners shouldn't back squat unless they're properly coached to adjust their own form according to their natural structure which varies among individuals. Most trainers or if you look at videos of others squatting are going to force their own idea of the movement on you. Most people end up doing more harm to themselves than good as a result.
If anyone is interested in squatting seriously as a newcomer, I suggest learning and mastering the goblet squat. It teaches you how to sit your torso in between your legs and adjust your stance. Beginners can jump 3 or 5 times consecutively and see how your feet land, it usually will be around the proper stance you want to be squatting with before progressing to a high bar squat.
Other than that, you certainly don't need to back squat free weights to build legs.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2018, 5:29 pm

GOAT wrote:
Galvatron wrote:Best exercises for legs? Don't plan on working on other parts. Will it make sense taking protein?

Thanks

If you can get over 100 grams of protein through ur diet then no need to take any protein supplement.

And as he said why only legs? Always good to train every muscle to prevent inbalances.

After that stuff like lunges, Romanian Deadlifts, Bulgarian split squats, leg press, etc. are all good.

100g isn't enough. If you're weighing 150lbs you need atleast to 150g to repair and grow. Less than that won't do you justice.

car

Postby car » September 28th, 2018, 5:52 pm

Daran wrote:
GOAT wrote:

Thanks

100g isn't enough. If you're weighing 150lbs you need atleast to 150g to repair and grow. Less than that won't do you justice.

Actually you need 1g per pound of lean body weight. Find your body fat percentage and work out your lean body weight. That is the minimum amount of protein to be consumed per day.

Postby meccalli » September 28th, 2018, 6:11 pm

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28698222
Protein supplementation beyond total protein intakes of 1.62 g/kg/day resulted in no further RET-induced gains in FFM. So right about 0.73 g/lb
And yes, lean body mass. Most people are consuming excess protein unnecessarily.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2018, 6:47 pm

meccalli wrote:https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28698222
Protein supplementation beyond total protein intakes of 1.62 g/kg/day resulted in no further RET-induced gains in FFM. So right about 0.73 g/lb
And yes, lean body mass. Most people are consuming excess protein unnecessarily.

Ok I stand corrected, but personally I do notice my muscles recover faster when I'm close to 200grams intake a day. Could also be attributed to just having a higher calorie surplus too.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » September 28th, 2018, 9:42 pm

Bai jus stick with 1gm per lb bodyweight and keep properly hydrated and throw in a good creatine, multi and fish oil combi.

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2018, 1:31 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Bai jus stick with 1gm per lb bodyweight and keep properly hydrated and throw in a good creatine, multi and fish oil combi.

Talk done, also if you're older, consider a good joint care supplement if you do heavy consistent lifting.

GoS

Postby GoS » October 11th, 2018, 9:00 pm

any one notice that supplements are getting hard to get? Went Baghan in south park and they hardly had anything on the shelf

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 11th, 2018, 9:06 pm

Starlite having thing these days... 1% doin we lil good in that dept

GoS

Postby GoS » October 11th, 2018, 9:26 pm

how the prices ? thats the one in south park as well ?

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2018, 9:28 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Starlite having thing these days... 1% doin we lil good in that dept

What exactly do they have if you don't mind? Not really feeling a waste run from Central :|

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 12th, 2018, 12:51 am

Your usual bodybuilding.com brands most of u all swear by. Decent prices on some stuff too.

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2018, 6:03 am

INHUMAN wrote:Your usual bodybuilding.com brands most of u all swear by. Decent prices on some stuff too.

Swear by yuh say :lol: :lol:
Whey is the only thing additional to the basic list that you posted that I use.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » October 12th, 2018, 2:23 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Starlite having thing these days... 1% doin we lil good in that dept

Bought a bottle of creatine powder there, the cheapest and bar value I ever paid, some new vegan brand never saw anywhere before.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 13th, 2018, 11:23 pm

Never study brand when it comes to supplements. Always read the nutrition label. All the bodybuilding stars who are sponsors are paid to do it. They on juice anyways. Learned the hard truth when it was Ronnie vs Jay. BSN vs Muscletech. Total waste of money

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 14th, 2018, 12:35 pm

Ba dum tisss

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 15th, 2018, 9:45 am

Starlite expensive asf, most expensive place I've been too and I been to most places within the Sando area.

As always read the labels, and read it again.

They had a MuscleMilk protein big on the front it had how many scoops so obviously you think thats how many servings but in the back it has 2 scoops per servings.

As always read labels, search brands, check reviews etc.

HeroSupps by C3 gym is decent, pretty good actually. There and Bhagans I'd recommend.

2NR Bodybuilding/Fitness/Diet/ Elite Physique Seekers

Postby MaxPower » October 15th, 2018, 9:53 am

99% of Trini gym “trainers” are pathetic and uneducated.

GOAT

Postby GOAT » October 15th, 2018, 10:26 am

Damn right bro.

Most of them I think do a lil short course and become ISCA Cert.

As always take time to look up the basics.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 16th, 2018, 12:44 am

GOAT wrote:Starlite expensive asf, most expensive place I've been too and I been to most places within the Sando area.

As always read the labels, and read it again.

They had a MuscleMilk protein big on the front it had how many scoops so obviously you think thats how many servings but in the back it has 2 scoops per servings.

As always read labels, search brands, check reviews etc.

HeroSupps by C3 gym is decent, pretty good actually. There and Bhagans I'd recommend.

i take adv of specials as i see fit. Starlite has the essentials at competitive prices, better yet, if it nearing shelf life. I saw they had the Elite Mass bag for $200
with 1mth within expiration...i kicked myself for not buying it to use as lil meal replacements. Fitness Life on the powerseller section has your pharmacy brands at good prices!

MaxPower wrote:99% of Trini gym “trainers” are pathetic and uneducated.

What they do you bai?

GOAT wrote:Damn right bro.

Most of them I think do a lil short course and become ISCA Cert.

As always take time to look up the basics.

Youtube specialist101 :conman:

Postby De Dragon » October 17th, 2018, 3:38 pm

Due to some arseness with suppliers of ON at my regular place, I bought Dymatize ISO 100. Haven't tried it yet, but it is supposed to be good tasting, easy to mix etc. It also cost $50 more than ON Whey. I also bought Dymatize creatine as well.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » October 17th, 2018, 7:01 pm

De Dragon wrote:Due to some arseness with suppliers of ON at my regular place, I bought Dymatize ISO 100. Haven't tried it yet, but it is supposed to be good tasting, easy to mix etc. It also cost $50 more than ON Whey. I also bought Dymatize creatine as well.

ISO 100 was the king long time, pure protein. Tastes a bit watery, but you still getting your worth

Postby De Dragon » October 18th, 2018, 11:15 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Due to some arseness with suppliers of ON at my regular place, I bought Dymatize ISO 100. Haven't tried it yet, but it is supposed to be good tasting, easy to mix etc. It also cost $50 more than ON Whey. I also bought Dymatize creatine as well.

ISO 100 was the king long time, pure protein. Tastes a bit watery, but you still getting your worth

Not creamy like ON Whey then?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 19th, 2018, 1:00 am

I does feel sorry for people who inhaling products but have little clue abt nutritional facts and what they putting in their bodies but rather than be a meathead, imma put my 2c.

Gold Standard is a whey blend , Iso 100 is hydrolyzed...think of premium gas vs racing fuel. Molecular structure (macros) much higher in the G.S so it'll be much thicker, tastier etc. ON Hydrowhey would be a better comparison to the ISO100.

Rule of thumb: the greater the macros in a product, the better it'll taste but not necessarily the best wrt nutri info. Concentrate>Isolate>Hydrolysate

Somehow, the allmax flavoring is superb for a hydrolyzed...then again, supplement quality/grade has deteriorated over the years as monetary greed engulfed these manufacturers. Glanbia is the major processing facility for most of your fav brands (and other food commodities)...inc ON, which has further subdivisions like BSN and ABB. I'm not sure how many manufacturing facilities there are in the US or the World, or how many brands actually have their inhouse manufacturing and processing facility, but they are processed according to brand specifications with the lil additives making X whey diff from Y and Z whey...heck, i don't trust any brands per say since many major brands got caught spiking and faced lawsuits etc.

On the label of products you will see the disclaimer *processed in a facility...*, then *imported/distributed by*. I can't recall when last i saw manufactured, processed and distributed by "X" brand on a supp label. Also, nutritional facts as opposed to supplement facts on a label indicates one or more products are not fda recognized/approved on the latter. Canadian FDA is alot stricter though.

*sips water*

Postby De Dragon » October 19th, 2018, 6:12 am

INHUMAN wrote:I does feel sorry for people who inhaling products but have little clue abt nutritional facts and what they putting in their bodies but rather than be a meathead, imma put my 2c.

Gold Standard is a whey blend , Iso 100 is hydrolyzed...think of premium gas vs racing fuel. Molecular structure (macros) much higher in the G.S so it'll be much thicker, tastier etc. ON Hydrowhey would be a better comparison to the ISO100.

Rule of thumb: the greater the macros in a product, the better it'll taste but not necessarily the best wrt nutri info. Concentrate>Isolate>Hydrolysate

Somehow, the allmax flavoring is superb for a hydrolyzed...then again, supplement quality/grade has deteriorated over the years as monetary greed engulfed these manufacturers. Glanbia is the major processing facility for most of your fav brands (and other food commodities)...inc ON, which has further subdivisions like BSN and ABB. I'm not sure how many manufacturing facilities there are in the US or the World, or how many brands actually have their inhouse manufacturing and processing facility, but they are processed according to brand specifications with the lil additives making X whey diff from Y and Z whey...heck, i don't trust any brands per say since many major brands got caught spiking and faced lawsuits etc.

On the label of products you will see the disclaimer *processed in a facility...*, then *imported/distributed by*. I can't recall when last i saw manufactured, processed and distributed by "X" brand on a supp label. Also, nutritional facts as opposed to supplement facts on a label indicates one or more products are not fda recognized/approved on the latter. Canadian FDA is alot stricter though.

*sips water*

I knew a lot about how the supps companies started watering down their products before, but good information nonetheless. ON Gold is what I started with, and it has never given me any issues like bloat, farts, sheittings etc, so I stuck with it.
In spite of your well documented disdain for supplements, don't assume that people who "inhale" them don't read and educate themselves. Again, not everyone has the time, resources, stomach or ability to get all their nutrition, especially protein from food, so supplementation is useful for these people.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 19th, 2018, 10:25 am

MaxPower wrote:99% of Trini gym “trainers” are pathetic and uneducated.

This.

Good post by inhuman on nutrition as well.
Supplementation has its time and place, but a lot of ppl abuse the thing

Postby X_Factor » October 19th, 2018, 4:00 pm

can u squat relatively light weight but with only one arm holding the bar

Postby A172 » October 19th, 2018, 6:58 pm

started back gym last year Nov for the first time in 5 years

was 6' 185lbs weak af, started back with typical beginner lifts 35 plate a side benchpress etc.

bulked to 230lbs up to june this year where i began my cut
bench went up to 205, can shoulder press 75's, dumbell press 85's all for 6 - 9 clean reps, no spot as i never trained with anyone
decent lifts for your average gym goer i assume

currently down to 205lbs since cutting from june, lifts remained the same, went up slightly in some exercises

from nov last year to now i never used any kind of supplements, just eat whatever and count the calories based on bulk or cut. i do eat beef, pork, fish or chicken breast every single day tho but i doubt i get anything over 80g protein a day

back in 2012/13 i was on the supplement hype and lived on whey etc. and results were nothing like this in strength gains or retaining strength/muscle on a cut

just my experience, ymmv

car

Postby car » October 19th, 2018, 8:24 pm

A172 wrote:started back gym last year Nov for the first time in 5 years

was 6' 185lbs weak af, started back with typical beginner lifts 35 plate a side benchpress etc.

bulked to 230lbs up to june this year where i began my cut
bench went up to 205, can shoulder press 75's, dumbell press 85's all for 6 - 9 clean reps, no spot as i never trained with anyone
decent lifts for your average gym goer i assume

currently down to 205lbs since cutting from june, lifts remained the same, went up slightly in some exercises

from nov last year to now i never used any kind of supplements, just eat whatever and count the calories based on bulk or cut. i do eat beef, pork, fish or chicken breast every single day tho but i doubt i get anything over 80g protein a day

back in 2012/13 i was on the supplement hype and lived on whey etc. and results were nothing like this in strength gains or retaining strength/muscle on a cut

just my experience, ymmv

Watch the African body builders that build their own gym on youtube. Barbell made of pipe, transmission gears and concrete. The bench is a solid pice of wood with no padding. All this under a tree in the open.
I’m sure that they don’t have any protein supplements yet they are huge and lean.
Most supplements are money making gimmicks.