Fire Service's candle costing more than the funeral?

Re: Fire Service's candle costing more than the funeral?

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2013, 1:20 pm

^^^fack you

is we time now

Postby nemisis » June 5th, 2013, 1:34 pm

Rooki3 wrote:^^^fack you

is we time now
quoted for truth

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 5th, 2013, 1:41 pm

lol@ fack! :)

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Habit7 wrote:Where were these e-contractors when Gary Hunt was taking flak for the $2 million flag?

They would have been able to quantify the cost of a permanent 200ft structure just as they are able to quantify the cost of the temporary $6.5 million service for a written off asset .

we were hired under the present government. we time now.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using TriniTuner mobile app

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » June 5th, 2013, 2:51 pm

nemisis wrote:

is we time now
quoted for truth

What a backward patch of bush Trinidad is turning out to be. Is all about who tief more or remember this and remember dat. The allegations against the PNM was made to stick like white on rice but when it comes to the PP the disturbing trend is the parties cannot be reached for comment :|

We have to stay with each issue till we get to the bottom of it, but from day one Princess Margaret set the tone by saying "let's move on".

This effectively means that it cost One Million U.S Dollars to remove a tender from a ditch and us poor people with our little computers are arguing about semantics :evil:

I cannot believe that we taxpayers are being made to watch whilst the rich play both sides as we partition ourselves to PNM/UNC. Does anyone who is in the know actually know how substandard everything in Trinidad is Internationally? Nothing works, everything takes forever, yuh can't dare get sick etc etc but man defending the indefensible with biased, uninformed and sometimes racist logic on these forums.

Trinidad is a paradise for smart-men, con-men and the like but those who come up with psuedo-justifications for their party/government are even worse :|

To paraphrase another thread, let's change the National watchwords, I am sure that is the cure :roll:

Postby toyolink » June 5th, 2013, 2:53 pm

Gov'ts are prone to this kind of nonesense.
I seem to remember,a few years ago the US dept. of defence being caught spending on toilet bowls and normal bolt and nuts with per unit prices in excess of $50,000 each.Forgive me if I didn't get the exact numbers right ,but I do recall mentally being unable to accomodate that reality.
Our administrations have over the years demonstrated similar traits and may suggest prudence is a virtue which vacates the premises where govts make spending decisions.
I question how long the present Minister Of Finance who comes from a world governed by 'cost benefit analysis' could continue when these kinds of things diminish the creditability of his lofty pronouncements...Maybe they should institute corporal punishment for govt ministers who are responsible for this kind of stupidity.

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2013, 3:02 pm

again, to those who saying it too much, plz enlighten me on how much yur multi lift firm wud have charged

the price is justified, u see paramount or anyone else who knows d industry beating up?

allyuh really feel this is another 800-4TOW haulage awah

btw

we time now

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2013, 3:04 pm

if I have the only zaboca tree in Trinidad and you really need a zaboca.

you will pay what I charge.

that aside

perhaps the fire truck had sentimental value.

lol.

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2013, 3:07 pm

yunno if d state did let somebody scrap it dong, dah wudda be a nxt beat up, Habit 7 is jus another cepep ghost gang labourer who missin he lil $70 when d day come

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 5th, 2013, 3:23 pm

Crackpot wrote:
nemisis wrote:

is we time now
quoted for truth

This effectively means that it cost One Million U.S Dollars to remove a tender from a ditch and us poor people with our little computers are arguing about semantics :evil:

I cannot believe that we taxpayers are being made to watch whilst the rich play both sides as we partition ourselves to PNM/UNC. Does anyone who is in the know actually know how substandard everything in Trinidad is Internationally? Nothing works, everything takes forever, yuh can't dare get sick etc etc but man defending the indefensible with biased, uninformed and sometimes racist logic on these forums.

you deserve to go ahead to the front of the class, I dunno why is it so difficult for ppl to understand this. That we the poor ppl at the end of the day loose completely!!! When are ppl of this country going to force government (PPNM) to do the right thing? smh.......

snypaz

Postby snypaz » June 5th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Aren't Fire Fighters trained to go down those distances and save lives? They could've simply gone down, Salvaged what they could, and LEFT IT THERE. Put up a Nice "Arrive Alive" sign that says... "Even the Helpers Sometimes Need Help" pointing down at the truck. Hell even give the men that actually did the job some overtime. Still come out cheaper.

How much for a brand new firetruck in 2013 though?

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2013, 4:04 pm

it is not about the actual job details and competing quotes

no enlightenment is required if cost of job is more than item, you just write it off
that is the logic behind the candle/funeral saying, not about justifying actual job price

Rooki3 wrote:again, to those who saying it too much, plz enlighten me on how much yur multi lift firm wud have charged

the price is justified, u see paramount or anyone else who knows d industry beating up?

allyuh really feel this is another 800-4TOW haulage awah

btw

we time now

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » June 5th, 2013, 4:09 pm

^^ yoooooo.....these guys don't like those kind of logic in these here parts.

Is dem time now so take dat and cool it.

Postby wagonrunner » June 5th, 2013, 4:18 pm

snypaz wrote:How much for a brand new firetruck in 2013 though?

depends on the model year. :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » June 5th, 2013, 4:25 pm

^^^so true Crackpot

By the logic of some of these men, if the gov't hired NASA to remove the wreckage of that 737 and we paid a cool $100-500 million, it is justified and it is we time now.

1partytribalism

Re: Fire Candle costing more than the funeral?

Postby brams112 » June 5th, 2013, 7:53 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
devsingh wrote:Not defending anyone here but these are my estimates as a contractor:

25 men x 4 days @ $300 = 300,000
24 hr security for 4 days ($40/hr x 2 men x 24 hr x 4 days) = 5,760
project management fee = 15,000
lighting towers = 15,000
mobilization = 150,000
police presence = 10,000
equipment rentals = 500,000
Insurances = 40,000
Risk factors = 250,000
contingencies = 120,000
Mark up = 500,000
Who here have a tractor truck willing to take a drive up to that point with a forty foot low boy?That is with load.
Sub total = 1,786,000
VAT = 267,900
Total = 2,053,900

If however i am the best in the business and the competition is small, i'd really make some money

The insurance is actually a $1m bond.
Police for the 4 days is $40,000
Mark up is usually 25% of total quoted price
Mobilisation & Demobilisation - $ 500k +/-

RF should be twice or more for multiple mutli million dollar equipment up that road.

Postby 1UZFE » June 5th, 2013, 8:32 pm

wonder if tradecarview has any cranes for sale???
Anybody knows who bring down used JDM cranes??

devsingh

Postby devsingh » June 5th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Bond is an average rate of 5% of the required value
which is normally 10% of the bid price and that's for a holding period of 1 yr

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2013, 10:34 pm

this was probably a lil deal for jack as sis been getting most of the other under table stuff

he has been rather quiet last week or two though

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2013, 5:41 am

the breakdown is in papers today
only the $150k mobilization matching estimates above,
"meals $65k"

it must cost millions just to feed them paving workers when they paving over a weekend

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 6th, 2013, 7:47 am

pugboy wrote:the breakdown is in papers today
only the $150k mobilization matching estimates above,
"meals $65k"

it must cost millions just to feed them paving workers when they paving over a weekend

Well its prob similar to Govt services in this country:
digging a hole to lay pipe- 2 men digging, 12 sitting on the sidewalk "supporting", but all will be there for Overtime and all will Eat ah food like ah fuking PIG................

Postby nemisis » June 6th, 2013, 8:05 am

^^^ nothing wrong in that. Those on top stealing why vex when those on bottom of ladder does it.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » June 6th, 2013, 9:34 am

The $10 million bill (VAT inclusive) listed:
Supply of equipment—$7,539,000
Supply of manpower—$303,600
Supply of supervisors—$522,500
Transportation of workers—$100,000
Miscellaneous tools (compressor, power tools)—$150,000
Consumables—$115,000
Hygienic facilities—$65,000
Meals—$65,000

Postby nemisis » June 6th, 2013, 9:37 am

^^^ breakdown doesn't matter. Could buy 2 trucks for the price paid to retrieve non working tender

kevcam

Postby kevcam » June 6th, 2013, 9:52 am

snypaz wrote:
How much for a brand new firetruck in 2013 though?

The water tender involved in an accident last November was so badly damaged that it should have been disposed of. Acting deputy chief fire officer Dana Roach made that recommendation in a November 29 letter which also recommended that a replacement should be acquired for approximately $2.7 million.

The inspection was to evaluate its serviceability. The team found damage to the entire rear of the appliance, damage to the water tank and severe damage to the crew cab and the drive train. On this basis Roach wrote: “In this regard the general consensus was that it was too costly to refurbish the vehicle as opposed to purchasing a new appliance for approximately $2.7 million.

Postby RASC » June 6th, 2013, 9:55 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ breakdown doesn't matter. Could buy 2 trucks for the price paid to retrieve non working tender

EXACTLY...no amount of breakdown could justify this.

Postby 16 cycles » June 6th, 2013, 10:11 am

Ministry officials yesterday told T&T Guardian that Cabinet eventually approved a revised price of $6.8 million for retrieving the truck. The approval, however, was granted in December—some weeks after the job had already been done.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-06- ... l-approval

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 6th, 2013, 10:22 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ breakdown doesn't matter. Could buy 2 trucks for the price paid to retrieve non working tender

Habit7, this guy seems like a good candidate for your cabinet.

You guys are the future.

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » June 6th, 2013, 10:27 am

kevcam wrote:The $10 million bill (VAT inclusive) listed:
Supply of equipment—$7,539,000
Supply of manpower—$303,600
Supply of supervisors—$522,500
Transportation of workers—$100,000
Miscellaneous tools (compressor, power tools)—$150,000
Consumables—$115,000
Hygienic facilities—$65,000
Meals—$65,000

:evilbat:

Hitla

Postby Hitla » June 6th, 2013, 10:56 am

its a real sad flippin thing, people out of the service perception will never change for the better and they will always think of fire officers as no-body, sad but true. people ONLY respect and notice fire-officers when they are literally wrapped around a pole, or their property flooded or on fire. Fire officers really try their best at what they do, going on a house fire call maneuvering a 26tonne fire truck through the traffic with jakarsses on the road aint easy, and they dont have magic wands to make the fire disappear, i honestly think they try their best at what they do. However this move that was made with the $6.5 mill, much is to be desired about that, a brand new truck is less than $2 Mill, fully equipped. i and im sure everyone else dont see the maths there. Even more sad is that the recently passes out fire officers dont even have Fire Fighting PPE Fire Fighting kits, Jacket, Pants, Boots, Helmets.......these people not for real...