BAIL FOR SHOOTING?

jaggie

BAIL FOR SHOOTING?

Postby jaggie » August 17th, 2013, 3:48 am

TWO university students charged with shooting a man, causing him grievous bodily harm, have been placed on bail by the court.

University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) students Patrick Ouza, 18, and Marquise Marcano, 20, appeared in the San Fernando First Court on Thursday, facing the allegation that they shot Jameer Braithwaite last Sunday at TarThe two, of La Romaine, were represented by attorney Jason Jackson who asked for bail.

He said neither had matters before the court.

Jackson also said that Ouza claimed he was beaten by the police and was yet to be taken for medical attention.

Deputy Chief Magistrate Mark Wellington placed the friends on $45,000 bail and granted alternative cash bail of $30,000.

Jackson called for the prosecution to provide him with documents to assist in building his clients’ case.

The matter was adjourned to September 12.

Fellars, what am i missing here...bail for a shooting?

Is that a bailable offence?

Re: BAIL FOR SHOOTING?

Postby Morpheus » August 17th, 2013, 4:07 am

Shouldn't be. Time to tighten up dem laws. But the darn overcrowding in jail woul only get worse if they jail every offender.

For me, gun possension should be a non-bailable offense far less for shooting someone :?

jaggie

Postby jaggie » August 17th, 2013, 7:17 am

So, after some research.....

Exceptions to Person Entitled to Bail
Part I
Circumstances in which Persons are not entitled to Bail

Where a person is charged with any of the following offences:
(a) murder;
(b) treason;
(c) piracy or hijacking;
(d) any offence for which death is the penalty fixed by law.

Part II
Circumstances in which Persons MAY BE entitled to Bail

(a) trafficking in narcotics or possession of narcotics for the purpose of trafficking;
(b) possessing and use of firearms or ammunition with intent to injure;
(c) possession of imitation firearms in pursuance of any criminal offence;
(d) rape;
(e) sexual intercourse with a female under fourteen;
(f) buggery;
(g) shooting or wounding with intent to do grievous bodily harm;
(h) robbery, robbery with aggravation, armed robbery;
(i) larceny of a motor vehicle;
(j) burglary and housebreaking;
(k) perverting or defeating the course of public justice;
(l) arson;
(m) [b]an attempt to commit any offence listed in this Part or in Part I[/b](n) receiving stolen goods.

So you attemt to and ent get thru.....you good for bail and come out to finish the job!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 17th, 2013, 7:19 am

Yes bail for shootings, that's why you alwayss hear when police corn them that they were well known or out on bail

Postby rollingstock » August 17th, 2013, 10:24 am

Hahahhaaha and imagine possession of a firearm is still a Minor Offence.

Postby Morpheus » August 17th, 2013, 11:00 am

rollingstock wrote:Hahahhaaha and imagine possession of a firearm is still a Minor Offence.

Madness I tell you. Madness...

Postby 1UZFE » August 17th, 2013, 11:57 am

rollingstock wrote:Hahahhaaha and imagine possession of a firearm is still a Minor Offence.

RS i tawt it had a 50k fine and some mths imprisonment with that. Please exemplify.

Postby rollingstock » August 17th, 2013, 12:16 pm

1UZFE wrote:

RS i tawt it had a 50k fine and some mths imprisonment with that. Please exemplify.

All offences are categorised by the nature into subsets, namely:-

Serious Crimes
Minor Crimes
Minor Offences
Traffic Offences

eg of serious crimes are murder, arson, wounding, larceny (over $2000) etc

Minor Crimes would be other crimes (not of a serious nature) eg Assault occasioning a wound, larceny (under $2000), etc

The distinction is a serious crime is any offence in which a person upon conviction may be sentenced to a period of imprisonment of over 2 years.

Think i got that correct, open to any clarification from others.

Postby Bizzare » August 17th, 2013, 3:24 pm

Possessing a firearm is as dangerous as having a knife, iron bar, cutlass, chainsaw, dildo, etc in your possession. None of those objects lawfully signal intent to carry out a criminal act and each can be used to kill or cause bodily harm. So whats the big deal surrounding firearms when compared to the objects mentioned above anyway? If having a firearm without a licence should be more than a Minor Offence, so should driving a car without a licence. btw, anyone should be able to purchase and carry firearms imo, but that's another topic.

Postby redmanjp » August 18th, 2013, 3:47 am

well cars, knives etc. CAN be used as weapons, but having those things dont imply u intend to use them as such.

a firearm IS by nature a weapon and unless u have a licence then it most likely implies u up to no good by having it in your possession

Postby Morpheus » August 18th, 2013, 3:59 am

^^Well said. Saved me some typing there.

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2013, 7:20 am

I would like to add ILLEGAL possession of a fire arm. One may still be able to possess a fire arm legally

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2013, 7:25 am

Also is there a distinction between consentual and non consentual buggery.

Postby Bizzare » August 18th, 2013, 11:49 am

consensual*

how does a firearm in your possession imply that you're up to no good, and a knife doesn't? A firearm has many applications.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 18th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Biz, quit nah

Postby Morpheus » August 18th, 2013, 1:22 pm

You could peel an orange with a gun? :roll:

Postby Bizzare » August 18th, 2013, 1:49 pm

jaggie

Postby jaggie » August 19th, 2013, 3:58 am

I can't remember, but didn't a bill / ammendment was supposed to passed to make these NON-BAILABLE?

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2013, 9:02 am

1UZFE wrote:

All offences are categorised by the nature into subsets, namely:-

Serious Crimes
Minor Crimes
Minor Offences
Traffic Offences

eg of serious crimes are murder, arson, wounding, larceny (over $2000) etc

Minor Crimes would be other crimes (not of a serious nature) eg Assault occasioning a wound, larceny (under $2000), etc

The distinction is a serious crime is any offence in which a person upon conviction may be sentenced to a period of imprisonment of over 2 years.

Think i got that correct, open to any clarification from others.

so stealing an iPhone is a serious crime then? TTPS should be tracking down that iPhone using d GPS! :|

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2013, 9:04 am

Bizzare wrote:consensual*

how does a firearm in your possession imply that you're up to no good, and a knife doesn't? A firearm has many applications.

ILLEGAL posession

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2013, 9:06 am

jaggie wrote:I can't remember, but didn't a bill / ammendment was supposed to passed to make these NON-BAILABLE?

i think its after 2 convictions- the 3rd offence would be non-bailable

it should be after 2 charges though

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 19th, 2013, 11:14 am

Wasn't kidnapping made a non-bailable offence? Or does that fall under hijacking?