Re: Cat Lover's Thread

Postby *KRONIK* » October 26th, 2017, 9:50 pm

So...update:
We took her to the vet at mt. Hope for an afternoon appointment

They did the blood test and confirmed it was feline leukemia.

Prognosis was poor and we were advised that she may not live long IF she does recover from this current bout of illness.
They advised that the best we can do is to keep her comfortable until she passes.
They also told us that if she does get past this phase, she can still develop lumps in her chest cavity, which can lead to further complications. She is also at extreme risk of infections due to low white blood cells.

Taking all this into consideration, my wife and i decided that if she doesnt make it thru the night, we will put her to "sleep" tomorrow afternoon as she will most likey waste away over the next few days and is as risk of organ failure since she isnt eating or drinking and she keeps moving/ damaging the IV accesses making "drips" hard to administer.

We will keep her comfortable for the night and spend some time with her.
She spent the last hour so asleep on my chest, which is her favourite spot to chill.
I also put her in her favourite spot in a closet where she usually sleeps for the night.

Thanks for those who took the time to wish us well and to those who considered to even bring their cat to give some blood.

AstonMartV

Postby AstonMartV » October 26th, 2017, 9:58 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:So...update:

Prognosis was poor and we were advised that she may not live long IF she does recover from this current bout of illness.
They advised that the best we can do is to keep her comfortable until she passes.
They also told us that if she does get past this phase, she can still develop lumps in her chest cavity, which can lead to further complications. She is also at extreme risk of infections due to low white blood cells.

Taking all this into consideration, my wife and i decided that if she doesnt make it thru the night, we will put her to "sleep" tomorrow afternoon as she will most likey waste away over the next few days and is as risk of organ failure since she isnt eating or drinking and she keeps moving/ damaging the IV accesses making "drips" hard to administer.

She spent the last hour so asleep on my chest, which is her favourite spot to chill.
I also put her in her favourite spot in a closet where she usually sleeps for the night.

Thanks for those who took the time to wish us well and to those who considered to even bring their cat to give some blood.

Sorry to hear this man :( Was really hoping she’d pull through

Postby rollingstock » October 27th, 2017, 12:09 am

Really sad.
Going and hug up my puss

Postby skylinechild » October 27th, 2017, 12:17 am

soo sorry to hear that man.....
best thing u cud do is make the kitty comfortable and prepare yourself..

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 27th, 2017, 2:08 am

Sorry about your cat.. but ah doh understand why men jump on my case when I say put her to sleep... thing like leukemia yuh cant do nun about.. it doh make sense making d animal suffer for yuh own selfish desire... May she rest in peace.

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2017, 7:35 am

*KRONIK* wrote:So...update:

Sorry to hear man. :(

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 27th, 2017, 10:38 am

waysss, sorry to hear that.
Really hope she recovers tho

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2017, 10:42 am

Thanks for the support guys
But right now she is barely responsive and at a real pow point

Just spoke to the vet and they said to bring her in this afternoon.

I just spent the last hour preparing a small grave at the riverbank nearby.

So... right now...my heart is just so heavy....
Its so hard to see her suffer like this.

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2017, 10:56 am

Whey jed.
Condolences.
:(

Postby skylinechild » October 27th, 2017, 10:59 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Thanks for the support guys

dont bother bruh..it go be REL REL hard to buy a pet...what i did was i paid all the prescribed fees and the doc handled the body. they have a furnace.

my last instructions to the doc was make sure he eats and drinks something stay with him.... play with him tell him hes a very smart cat....a very pretty cat....scratch his head till he falls asleep...then inject him with the stuff...

i recommend you do similar.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2017, 11:04 am

skylinechild wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Thanks for the support guys

dont bother bruh..it go be REL REL hard to buy a pet...what i did was i paid all the prescribed fees and the doc handled the body. they have a furnace.

my last instructions to the doc was make sure he eats and drinks something stay with him.... play with him tell him hes a very smart cat....a very pretty cat....scratch his head till he falls asleep...then inject him with the stuff...

i recommend you do similar.

The wife and i decided we will stay with her until she passes completely.

I think it will be best for us to bury her as it will bring us closure.
Leaving her body with the vet to incinerate feels difficult for us.

The hard part over...which was to dig the grave. (Mad respect to grave diggers btw. Them fellas is some rell beast). My wife even pull a few shovel and fork too as we both think its best for us.

I dont want anyone beside my wife force feeding her either as she doesnt like it. And she isnt eating her favourite foods either.
So we will will just pet her until.

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2017, 11:09 am

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2017, 11:45 am

oh boy thats really sad to hear :(

i personally wouldnt prolong d suffering any longer , i wud tell d vet to do d lethal injection & handle d incineration\disposal , went thru this with a dog that had cancer & didnt want to handle d body disposal part so had d vet do it

console ur self with d thought that at least it wont be suffering anymore pain .... :(

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2017, 11:49 am

Thats the plan

We dont want her suffering anymore.
So we gonna do the injection this afternoon.

I chose to bury her. I really think its best that i do that. At least i will know where her body is and i will know that is in a better place now.

Postby 88sins » October 27th, 2017, 1:28 pm

i feels it for yuh bro. it eh ain't easy to know you gonna hadda bury your friend that was loyal for so long.
stay up, & you & your better half, don't let the sorrow/grief turn inwards.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2017, 3:30 pm

So guys...
Final update.

So this afternoon we took her out of the closet for her last hugs and kisses.
After i said a prayer for her she startred acting hysterical.
Eyes wide open, tounge hanging from her mouth and breathing heavy.
We put her in the car and took her to the vet.
We filled out the paperwork etc and took her inside.
While they were looking for the vein, to inject her, she yelped and got calm and passed away on her own.
We just finished burying her.

Thanks to those who gave whatever words of comfort.

88sins wrote:i feels it for yuh bro. it eh ain't easy to know you gonna hadda bury your friend that was loyal for so long.
stay up, & you & your better half, don't let the sorrow/grief turn inwards.

Yea sins...you were one of the few guys here who knew her/met her in person.

Thanks for the support tho.

Postby 88sins » October 27th, 2017, 3:44 pm

no scn bro, just take your time & remember her how she was when she was in her prime, & be grateful for all the good times your family had with her.

ttyl bro.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 27th, 2017, 4:02 pm

be grateful for all the good times your family had with her.

at least she's not suffering anymore and you tried your best.

When you get attached to them, its like a little kid you're dealing with :shock: :( :(

Postby *KRONIK* » October 27th, 2017, 4:07 pm

originalbling wrote:
be grateful for all the good times your family had with her.

at least she's not suffering anymore and you tried your best.

When you get attached to them, its like a little kid you're dealing with :shock: :( :(

She was my baby... she used to take lift up like a baby and hold on to my shoulder when i had to move her around.

She always was my number1 priority.
I would alaways go out of my way to make sure she gets her favourite flavour canned food and chow.
Sometimes i will even stop pricesmart just to buy her litter...

She had a whole bedroom for herself with a queen sized bed.

At least now she isnt sick or feeling ill or in any pain.

Postby RedVEVO » October 27th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Grande man she in " Puss*y Heaven "

* Sigh .. I use to be in Puss*y Heaven *
* Sometimes late on a rainy dark night, I can still hear Hola puss*y good ?, puss*y good ?*

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 27th, 2017, 4:47 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^
Grande man she in " Puss*y Heaven "

* Sigh .. I use to be in Puss*y Heaven *
* Sometimes late on a rainy dark night, I can still hear Hola puss*y good ?, puss*y good ?*

Yuh doesn't have nun better tuh do?

Postby nervewrecker » October 27th, 2017, 9:01 pm

Condolences bro.
Really sorry to hear but at least she at peace.

Postby skylinechild » October 28th, 2017, 12:48 pm

Kronik how you holdin up bruh....??

wen u ready for another kitty cat you cud check rspann he has alot.

i goin to get one tmrw..

Postby rspann » October 28th, 2017, 1:35 pm

Say the word , I delivering too. There is a nice tame grey , a black , a white bushy tailed one , a big old battle scarred Tom . State your preference .

Postby *KRONIK* » October 28th, 2017, 2:46 pm

skylinechild wrote:Kronik how you holdin up bruh....??

wen u ready for another kitty cat you cud check rspann he has alot.

i goin to get one tmrw..

Well i cried a lot.
Especially this morning when she wasnt outside my bedroom door waiting for me.

Not sure if i will get another cat so soon. But i will....eventually.
The thing is ...with her...i wasnt actually looking for a cat when we got her.
We went rio claro to purchase a vehicle and my wife was running down the kittens there to pet them. The owner put 1 in a box when we were leaving and told us to keep it. I told her and my father i dont want any damn cat. I eh have no time to see about that. My father said he will keep it home by him and mind it. But my mom allergic to cats, so it end up by us. So i decide to look for someone to take her.
Being good people, we had to feed her while she was at home. Then put a sand box.
I couldnt let her out the house as my aunt's rapist tom was marking her.
So eventually, cardboard sand box turn to a proper plastic litterbox with cat litter and a scoop.
Cat chow start to buy, cat get a feeding spot in the house and cat get comfortable.
I never bothered to name her as i didnt want to get attached. So we just called her "kitty".
When she was 6months old i took her to get spayed as she always wanted to go outside. She used to spend hours at the windows looking out and screeching at the birds. After she healed up i starred letting her out. Around that same time my aunt's tom died/disappeared so she took control of the whole house.
She used to leave with me on mornings and spend the day outside my dad's office on a chair chilling and greeting customers, chasing stray dogs and eating grass.
After almost a year...she took a real liking to me. She was never very social as a kitten, she used to hide from us and only come out to eat. But eventually she became the centre of our lives and even the vet said she was one of the most social and attached cats that came thru her office.
She was so easy to thief. She would go by anyone and try to make friends and go in people's cars if the door open.
Even on sundays, when there is church, the people who park near our house will stop and pet her before they go to church.
I will miss her so much.

I dont think getting another cat right now will make the situation any better. But when the time is right, i will know and i will definitely check out spann's selection before looking elsewhere...

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2017, 7:23 pm

sorry to hear this,
that was a real nice social cat you had.

btw there is a vaccine for the feline leukemia, somebody I know with young cats told me about it.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 28th, 2017, 7:29 pm

Yuh wah make d man cry more owah?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 28th, 2017, 8:13 pm

pugboy wrote:sorry to hear this,
that was a real nice social cat you had.

btw there is a vaccine for the feline leukemia, somebody I know with young cats told me about it.

Yea bro.
I know you pet/met her just a few weeks ago.

I found out about the vaccine the 1st time she got sick.
They said when she recovers we can bring her in.
However, they were treating for poison the 1st time.
They said that they didnt consider the feline leukemia as her symptoms were mainly from poisoning.

The vets at mt. hope told us that she had the virus inside her for too long and she still wont have had a healthy life after this. She most likely would have died from an secondary infection or some cancer related complication.

My advice to you guys....get your cats vaccinated for the feline leukemia virus as early as possible.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 28th, 2017, 8:14 pm

Zetski wrote:Yuh wah make d man cry more owah?

Nah bro...
I good.

Sad....but good

Postby Rovin » October 28th, 2017, 8:20 pm

ooooohhh dem feels when u lose a pet , some u never forget certain moments & ur mind still feel like its around , times does ease d feels though

take a few days to mourn & maybe by next wk end get another , id say a pair like 2 sisters from same litter & have them fixed when their age is safe to do so ... i had cats since i was a child & imo female cats are nicer all round than d males , also a cat with a companion is always more active friendlier than 1 with nobody to hang with especially when owner\s not at home ....