Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Should violent dancehall and rap music be banned from national airwaves?

Yes
66%
No
34%

Total votes: 77

Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 7:04 pm

I don't usually make a poll, but when I do it's for good reason.

My question is very simple:

Q - "Should violent dancehall and rap music be banned from national airwaves?"

Before the emobandits start jumpin on my back (there's space for everyone), I want you all to seriously sit and listen to this type of music. Put on your radio on weekends and after work.

Attend one of those bars on the avenue, attend a boat ride. Walk down henry street on a friday afternoon and listen to what the music pirates playing. Just go and observe the madness that you see and hear right before your eyes.

Let me draw your attention to a video clip from a recent boat ride (just an example)

Fast foward to time 3:10 of this video, listen to what the trini DJ is inciting the crowd to do. Observe the 3 young men pationately serenading each other, one even using a bottle to make gun-type gestures towards the crowd.

You may not understand what he is saying, but pioneer is from the streets so I will try to translate:

"Let me see all who say when your gun rise bottom cloth full out...sing"

"Imagine some man pose with a gun on their waist, no boy can test me with a gun on their waist...gun in bottom hand"

I cannot bring myself to watch the rest of the video as I had seen enough.

I can sit here and post videos and songs depicting and glorifying violence all night/day but that's not the point. I think every civil-minded person knows the contents of this type of music.

Before you all respond, read my question very carefully, ensure you understand the exact question being asked and respond accordingly.

If you do not understand it, and cannot contribute to this discussion, please close the thread and move onto something else.

It is a simple Yes or No question.

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop "music" be banned?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 3rd, 2013, 7:06 pm

Different strokes for different folks.
I abhor censorship in any shape or form. Let the people decide what they want (within the law of course).

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 7:46 pm

The music is an art form. No censorship else ban lady gaga too. f*q

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 8:08 pm

But lady gaga doesn't preach violence in her music?

The subject here is violence.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » September 3rd, 2013, 8:20 pm

where for tickets :?:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 3rd, 2013, 8:22 pm

Really tho. The dancehall nowadays is pure sheit. Its really disgusting and extremely violent. I mean some older stuff was violent too but its just atrocious now.

Promoting the violence yet everyone trying to get these kids from killing one another. I dont know if the singers themselves dont feel shame na.

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 8:28 pm

pioneer wrote:But lady gaga doesn't preach violence in her music?

The subject here is violence.

Dancehall music doesnt have any bearing on crime. Its art

J453

Postby J453 » September 3rd, 2013, 8:29 pm

What will banning this kind of music achieve though?

In case you haven't realised breaking/disregarding the law is the in-thing in our beautiful twin island republic. Banning this type of chit IMHO perhaps glorifies it more than ever. It really isn't going to stop anyone from listening to or promoting it.

Also, I loathe censorship as well. But that's beside the point.

So to plainly answer your question as requested... No

Just my $0.02

Postby Bizzare » September 3rd, 2013, 8:41 pm

because music kills people. weak minded phaggots

Postby Bizzare » September 3rd, 2013, 8:45 pm

violent music has nothing to do with violent behaviour else we'd all be phaggots the minute we heard justin beiber

Postby Bizzare » September 3rd, 2013, 8:48 pm

if a couple kants are influenced by violent music means that it should be banned, pitbulls should be banned too op, all because of a few careless owners. mmkay?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 3rd, 2013, 8:52 pm

I'd never condone censorship in any form.

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 8:52 pm

"Where waz the parents at?"

speedist

Postby speedist » September 3rd, 2013, 8:53 pm

It isn't my cup of tea but pointless to ban. There'll always be some gullible clowns that would actually take it literally but say what......

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 3rd, 2013, 8:55 pm

Ban violent video games too then? I agree that some of the music is absolute crap but people will still find a way to listen.

xhex

Postby xhex » September 3rd, 2013, 8:56 pm

Dancehall is sheit, plain and simple. But its not just that; the level of music all around has dropped just the same way as the level of talent has. Quality music is ignored while dotishness reigns supreme. The masses of sheep follow songs because they are being told to; just like they are with what they wear, what they should do, eat, drink and what beauty is supposed to be. Nothing is as it should be before because money reigns supreme and intelligence is no longer needed. Priorities and morals have changed to the point that fighting to survive outweighs being a better person. Or in some cases, needing to go out and live life outweighs staying home and watch children.

You can't ban music just for lyrical content because you're encroaching on the artiste's right to be creative (never-mind the level of sheit he/she is creating); that would be just as bad as saying video games, graphic novels, martial arts or even the news should also be banned because it breeds violence. There is no escaping violence, you need both dark and light to know which side of the road you as an individual should walk on. That is part of human nature.

But music... there's good taste and there is bad... know which is the one you subscribe to.

Bless.

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 9:12 pm

I guess most of did not listen to the video, and do not hear what these radio DJ's promote.

What art is there in inciting someone into shooting "any guy who diss" them????

Did I miss that history lesson or something?...is this something great philosophers wrote about?

Art?...really?...is that the best excuse?

Jamaica has banned many violent types of music from its national radio stations.

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 9:33 pm

Kartel issa rolemodel now. Argument void

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 3rd, 2013, 9:33 pm

I er have a problem with violent music, I listen to some hardcore rap and metal when I ready,
what I have a problem with, is the lack of vocabulary and repetitive lyrics boy

A woman's vagina and body shud be described with more beautiful words.
To me a pum is a fart, so a pum pum is a fart fart?
When I hear "cack it up leh meh dig out yuh pum pum", I think of abortions.
What gonna come next? They gonna start using correct medical terminology ?

And if you gonna sing bout killing somebody, at least use some better words to describe it nah. Death is as beautiful as sex.

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 9:34 pm

pioneer wrote:I guess most of did not listen to the video, and do not hear what these radio DJ's promote.

Did I miss that history lesson or something?...is this something great philosophers wrote about?

Jamaica has banned many violent types of music from its national radio stations.

Whats ur views on homosexuality?

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 9:36 pm

bumboclat - a cloth used to wipe the buttocks

bloodclat - a cloth used by women during their period to absorb blood

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby pioneer » September 3rd, 2013, 9:37 pm

rfari wrote:
pioneer wrote:I guess most of did not listen to the video, and do not hear what these radio DJ's promote.

What homosexuality have to do with art or violent music?

Postby skylinechild » September 3rd, 2013, 9:45 pm

here on page 1....#not affected#

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 9:46 pm

rfari wrote:

What homosexuality have to do with art or violent music?

Some musical artforms are also classified as homophobic music. Should that be censored as well? What about music about sloots?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 3rd, 2013, 10:03 pm

Bizzare wrote:if a couple kants are influenced by violent music means that it should be banned, pitbulls should be banned too op, all because of a few careless owners. mmkay?

mmkay!

Postby shogun » September 3rd, 2013, 10:04 pm

Vast majority of that kind of music is utter trash. Over sexualized, glorifies criminality, ignorance and meant to identify with the lowest common denominator. And though i wish we could ban it all, i'd be a bit of a hypocrite, as i sometimes listen to hip hop (don't listen to dancehall) with not the best messages. Censorship is a slippery slope.

Thing is though, there are people that can't distinguish entertainment from lifestyle and seek to live their lives according to the messages in these morons' song.... not understanding these "entertainers" only seek to make a life/living on the backs and bodies of these followers.... and are RARELY anything like the image they project in their songs.

Just imagine a self hater like Kartel, could STILL have listeners.

Wah yuh go do?

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 10:05 pm

OP
is censure of art within ur 'first world' model?

Postby rfari » September 3rd, 2013, 10:11 pm

shogun wrote:Vast majority of that kind of music is utter trash. Over sexualized, glorifies criminality, ignorance and meant to identify with the lowest common denominator. And though i wish we could ban it all, i'd be a bit of a hypocrite, as i sometimes listen to hip hop (don't listen to dancehall) with not the best messages. Censorship is a slippery slope.

Thing is though, there are people that can't distinguish entertainment from lifestyle and seek to live their lives according to the messages in these morons' song.... not understanding these "entertainers" only seek to make a life/living on the backs and bodies of these followers.... and are RARELY anything like the image they project in their songs.

Just imagine a self hater like Kartel, could STILL have listeners.

Wah yuh go do?

Well said.

Buh doh be on kartel dan. We go fite

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » September 3rd, 2013, 10:12 pm

I listen to all types off music, especially dancehall an rap, you don't see me shooting and robbing people, because of how I was raised, why ban the music if the irresponsible parents cant raise kids properly smh

Re: Should Dancehall & Hiphop

Postby shogun » September 3rd, 2013, 10:24 pm

rfari wrote:Buh doh be on kartel dan. We go fite

Scene. i know thaz your boy inno :lol: ...but i'm tellin' you, them fellas only about that dollar.