hunting ban

davymaraj

hunting ban

Postby davymaraj » September 19th, 2013, 9:36 am

i would like to know what study was conducted and statistic presented to prove animals are going extinct in Trinidad. Although it may be good to have a ban placed for a period, you need to present facts on the matter because right know, you are saying that wildlife stock may be depleting so lets put a ban and let uwi see if its true, that's putting the cart before the horse. This study should have been done a long time ago, do you think a hunter gets up one day during the hunting season and decide to hunt. They have to prepare to do so, that's what I think making them angry. Dialog is needed.

Re: hunting ban

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2013, 9:36 am

dey cud say wat they want men still gona be selling all the wild meat yuh cud think about for xmas..

moti

Postby moti » September 19th, 2013, 9:41 am

davymaraj wrote:i would like to know what study was conducted and statistic presented to prove animals are going extinct in Trinidad. Although it may be good to have a ban placed for a period, you need to present facts on the matter because right know, you are saying that wildlife stock may be depleting so lets put a ban and let uwi see if its true, that's putting the cart before the horse. This study should have been done a long time ago, do you think a hunter gets up one day during the hunting season and decide to hunt. They have to prepare to do so, that's what I think making them angry. Dialog is needed.

Ok, so lets pretend you are making a point here (not that you are).

When would you have done the study?
When the "stock" was thriving?
Or when they (the animals) are all gone?

It is better to have the ban implemented now, than when hunters have hunted the last prey.
As far as I am concerned, this ban should be for at least three years :wink:
There are other dead carcasses for you to enjoy on your plate during that time.

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » September 19th, 2013, 9:48 am

so moti if i am not making a point why did you comment I did mention the study should have been conducted a long time a go learn to read man.
Last edited by davymaraj on September 19th, 2013, 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

moti

Postby moti » September 19th, 2013, 9:50 am

To let you know dumbass, why else would I?

davymaraj

Postby davymaraj » September 19th, 2013, 9:52 am

it takes one to know one

Postby j.o.e » September 19th, 2013, 9:57 am

davymaraj wrote:it takes one to know one

:| last time i heard that comeback I was in primary school

Postby turbosingh » September 19th, 2013, 10:00 am

Im glad for the 2yr ban because hunters over doin it now!Up to the babies the killing out,long time you used to see wild life all around now yuh lucky if yuh see a manicou,iguana,lappe,agouti etc...

Postby pete » September 19th, 2013, 10:02 am

The argument that the study should have been done before can't really be used. YES it should have been done but it hasn't. Before things get even worse, let them do the study and see what's going on.

How much does the permit cost normally?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 19th, 2013, 10:14 am

The same issue of a few people making it bad for all. Some hunters follow the rules while others don't and hunt all year round.
Wild meat go be like gold now!

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2013, 10:18 am

If they don't want a ban, charge $100,000 for a permit

lock up anyone who hunts without a permit

win-win situation.

I agree they should totally stop hunting for a 2-3 years though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2013, 10:32 am

men going and start hunting manicou like fuss time

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 10:40 am

Excellent, I hope they jail and heavily fine people caught hunting.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 19th, 2013, 10:50 am

wasnt this issue discussed already ?

ppl over hunting d damn wild life too much , some of them going every wk end or whenever they get bored & shooting more than they need to put in d freezer or give to family\padnas

i fully agree with 2-3yrs ban too .... :|

ckavsinba

Postby ckavsinba » September 19th, 2013, 11:00 am

Pete - A permit cost $20 (i.e - Lizards $20, Agouti $20, Alligator $20 ect ).

ADONI ur correct....some making bad for the rest.....killing even baby agouti and lappe. Plus they want to hunt all year around. These persons metaphorically "rape" the forest because of the demand for wild meat.

I honestly think that the fines and charges should also be reviewed and increased.

Law breakers only have to pay a couple hundred dollars and get a slap on the risk.

grad

Postby grad » September 19th, 2013, 11:05 am

the problem is not so much the hunting, but no thought by many hunters as to the sustainability of the sport. men would bring home very small animals or kill pregnant mothers or mothers with babies/eggs. apart from this, a ban is good for the species to repopulate, but no sense having a ban and game wardens in their office sitting in air conditioned rooms. they should be patrolling the area. rules like anything else must be enforced.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 11:09 am

Not effected, have me own bush just have to make me own cook on the land with me bros.

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 11:12 am

Revoke all those gun permits to "hunters" for starters.

They won't be needing it.

Postby zoom rader » September 19th, 2013, 11:14 am

pioneer wrote:Revoke all those gun permits to "hunters" for starters.

They won't be needing it.

Not effected, pellet gun for manicoo tail

Postby 88sins » September 19th, 2013, 11:17 am

With the game warden shortage as serious as it is all they're doing is wasting time. Poachers will still poach & with the black market a temporary ban will create just brace yourself for some real enthusiasm from these fellas.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 19th, 2013, 11:20 am

Don't confuffle the legal hunters with the poachers folks, the ban only affects the legal hunters. The poachers will continue to hunt unabated as usual since no one checks on them and the 14 game wardens we have prefer to think they don't exist. I'm not saying all legal hunters are perfect but there is a difference. Most of the opinions coming from anti-hunting groups/people are also emotionally charged. Seems that the normal chicken and beef you get from the grocery was always in a vacuum sealed package that grows on trees. Those animals weren't killed now were they? And before someone says "well they were bred to be killed" many hunters comments to the draft policy indicate the need for wildlife farming to ensure sustainability. The ban will be a waste if not for the lack of planning and vision but just for the mere fact that it cannot be enforced.
See if you can find sense with this excerpt from the SE Trinidad Hunting Association fb page. Think about it logically:

"THE HUNTING DIFFERENCE

LEGAL HUNTERS
They await the opening of the hunting season

They hunt mainly on Saturdays and Sundays approximately 20 hunting expeditions per season

They hunt with guns and dogs and enjoy the hunting expeditions, comradery, sounds of the hounds

They use legal shotguns , owners being very careful to keep their licenses

They do not use trap guns, they pursue one animal at a time

The effectiveness of their guns in capturing an animal is dependent on the skill and endurance of the hunter.

The hunter is also subject to human fragilities e.g, tiredness, cold, rain, insect bites, injury etc.

Hunting is well known, forest users are aware of hunter’s presence

Anti – hunting sentiments are directed towards the hunter because they are visible

POACHERS
They hunt throughout the year open and close season

They hunt three hundred and sixty five days of the year

They hunt with a combination of techniques, legal and illegal

They use unlicensed firearms, this is illegal so their engagement in illegal activity is considered compatible

They use trap guns , one poacher can set and manage thirty trap guns at anyone time. This means that a poacher can hunt thirty different animals AT ANY ONE TIME

Trap guns are very effective, they do not tire, they do not fall ill they are not subject to cold, rain, insect bites, injury. They sit and await anything touching the line, beast, man even the person who places the trap gun in position, if he forgets and touches the line, the gun fires injuring or killing whatever in its path.

Many persons have been killed or injured by trap guns with no one being held

Hunting is secretive, the kill is greater. Many persons have been killed or injured by trap guns ,no one has ever being held by the police for setting trap guns.

Little or no anti hunting sentiments is directed to the poacher and they hunt throughout the year

Poaching is thieving of a natural recourse (wildlife )"

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 11:36 am

Poachers make things bad for all of you all, you all know who the poachers are but do nothing.

Peter paying for paul.

Postby Habit7 » September 19th, 2013, 11:44 am

The moratorium on hunting is good in principle, just unworkable in practice. The forest of T&T remains mostly unregulated and enforcement would have to rely on ppl's consciences because there is not nearly enough patrols catch anyone.

There is need to beef up the enforcers, do a detail population survey and then warn the hunter a year or two before. Otherwise chaos will ensue.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2013, 11:47 am

a nice $100,000 fine on one or two illegal hunters will deter other brave/stupid souls

Postby DVSTT » September 19th, 2013, 11:52 am

j.o.e wrote:
davymaraj wrote:it takes one to know one

:| last time i heard that comeback I was in primary school

me too lol.
OP you really not making a point here.
As far as I'm concerned hunters are taking too much of our local wildlife and it's not sustainable. Hopefully the study does serve as a precedent for the implementation of regulative laws.
The fishermen need to be regulated next because they use nets that strip the sea bare.

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2013, 11:56 am

DVSTT wrote:The fishermen need to be regulated next because they use nets that strip the sea bare.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/500 ... 70731.html

Two weeks ago, Maharaj announced restrictions on trawling in local waters, in the face of declining seafood stocks and environmental damage caused by wide-range dragnets.

Maharaj disclosed in a media release that he has mandated a ban on trawling for non-artisanal trawlers; the implementation of a closed season for trawling activities; an amendment of regulations governing the Fisheries Act; and the appointment of a multi-sectorial committee to consider a relief package which can be offered to displaced fishers who will be affected by the change in legislation and the ban on trawling.

Trawling has earned a reputation for being vastly destructive and has been the subject of calls for it to be banned, locally and internationally.
The practice has been banned or restricted in several countries, including Australia, Brazil, Canada and Malaysia.

they are taking some steps in the right direction.

Postby pete » September 19th, 2013, 12:02 pm

Make it open season on poachers.. problem solved :D

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 19th, 2013, 12:16 pm

pioneer wrote:Poachers make things bad for all of you all, you all know who the poachers are but do nothing.

Peter paying for paul.

Speak for yourself when you say we do nothing. We do more than the people who get paid to deal with poachers and thats just voluntary.

Peter pay for paul is classic beethamite logic:D

Postby pioneer » September 19th, 2013, 12:17 pm

Why allyuh huntin de helpless animals for?

Go hunt beethamites, they will shoot back.

Postby Team Loco » September 19th, 2013, 12:30 pm

pioneer wrote:Why allyuh huntin de helpless animals for?

Go hunt beethamites, they will shoot back.

best advice for the day

hunting ban =thumbs up