Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2014

TriniAutoMart

Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2014

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 28th, 2013, 2:04 pm

Divali for the year 2014 will be celebrated on Thursday, 23rd October.

According to Google, the official day for Divali celebrations for this year is Sunday 3rd November.
However, an article I just read in the express newspaper states that:
The by-election will take place just two days after the Divali holiday, which will be observed on November 2.

Can someone shed some light on this?
Last edited by TriniAutoMart on October 18th, 2014, 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2013

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 28th, 2013, 2:31 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:
Can someone shed some light on this?

eehehehehehee

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 28th, 2013, 2:31 pm

afaik its the 3rd

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 28th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Afaik it's the 3rd, but apparently what SDMS says is gold, I called my Pundit and asked and he asked what did Sat say and he said that would be right..

Postby Gem_in_i » September 28th, 2013, 2:47 pm

Was a day declared the PH yet?
The US calenders have it as the 3rd too. I don't know what he talking abt the time zone.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 28th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Was a day declared the PH yet?
The US calenders have it as the 3rd too. I don't know what he talking abt the time zone.

That time zone thing is a debate yearly, I remember one year my friends from India celebrated a day after me because of the "auspicious time" as marked in India but since then the date online has been accurate...suppose the Dharmacharya knows best

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 28th, 2013, 3:05 pm

sat maharaj is a fool and does his own thing.

urabus

Postby urabus » September 28th, 2013, 3:55 pm

If it fall on the 3rd which is a Sunday, then we get the Monday off as a holiday I guess the bi-election would take place on the Tuesday, hence the PM saying 2 days after divali, let's just wait and see

But wud the Hindus who would be fasting during the weeks leading up to elections now be partaking in the mud slinging that usually goes along with the campaigning etc.

Postby DFC » September 28th, 2013, 3:58 pm

Sat and maha Sabha does want to do they own thing. But its all good. Hindu gods don't really care , more flowers and parsad for them.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 28th, 2013, 4:07 pm

So no Holiday :(
People will stay home Friday if it is Saturday.

team 394

Postby team 394 » September 28th, 2013, 4:51 pm

Hi peeps, deepavali is supposed to be celebrated on the darkest night of the lunar moon, since the new moon is on the 3rd of November as on calendar in T&T, the darkest night will be November 2nd. Subject for correction from the people who knows better than me and I know there are a lot of scholars who are versed in hinduism on this forum.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 28th, 2013, 4:58 pm

so...whats the official word, if any?

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2013, 5:06 pm

Tis the season to ghee.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2013, 5:25 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:sat maharaj is a fool and does his own thing.

Time to bun Rawan

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 28th, 2013, 7:28 pm

lol@avatar

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 28th, 2013, 8:48 pm

Think it's the 2nd

Postby sliderz1 » September 29th, 2013, 3:13 pm

long weekend or not dammit..>

Postby K74T » September 29th, 2013, 7:37 pm

Heard that it's confirmed for the 2nd.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » September 29th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Where u heard from K74T?

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 29th, 2013, 9:29 pm

lol @ Maha Sabha haters

demented

Postby demented » September 29th, 2013, 10:28 pm

Maha Sabha declared Divali in T&T as the 2nd November. It will be on the 3rd November in India.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 29th, 2013, 10:35 pm

pioneer wrote:Tis the season to ghee.

Rofl

Postby rfari » September 29th, 2013, 10:48 pm

Parsad on lock. Last year my friend link me with some sikh wholewheat parsad. Bessness.

Postby pioneer » September 29th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Guess I have to pepper for the racist/stereotype comments at work from now.

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2013, 12:05 am

I tort de yute leave de wuk? It have more of them dey?

Postby AllTrac » September 30th, 2013, 7:48 am

pioneer wrote:Guess I have to pepper for the racist/stereotype comments at work from now.

where de kumar dan? happy alla or ackbar, yuh do yuh prayers for modda lahshimi? yuh does make de round yellow ball? ah like dat round yellow ball thing. Allyuh doh take de parasad thing, dem hindu does use that to wuk obeah on allyuh, dai devil thing doh eat it throw it away in de de bin when he not watching. How come u eh wearing de long sleeve shirt with de shiney sequins and thing today with yuh ali baba shoes?

pluggie

Postby pluggie » September 30th, 2013, 7:59 am

pioneer wrote:Tis the season to ghee.

hahahaha

alyuh is real forking slackers yes !!!

Postby pioneer » September 30th, 2013, 8:35 am

rfari wrote:I tort de yute leave de wuk? It have more of them dey?

Dem public servant dunno nun else but race

But issa man does fight back...does hadda make sure dey HDC rent payment up to date and tell dem when it have weave on sale an ting.

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2013, 8:47 am

AllTrac wrote:
pioneer wrote:Guess I have to pepper for the racist/stereotype comments at work from now.

where de kumar dan? happy alla or ackbar, yuh do yuh prayers for modda lahshimi? yuh does make de round yellow ball? ah like dat round yellow ball thing. Allyuh doh take de parasad thing, dem hindu does use that to wuk obeah on allyuh, dai devil thing doh eat it throw it away in de de bin when he not watching. How come u eh wearing de long sleeve shirt with de shiney sequins and thing today with yuh ali baba shoes?

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Devil ting

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2013, 8:49 am

rfari wrote:I tort de yute leave de wuk? It have more of them dey?

Dem public servant dunno nun else but race

But issa man does fight back...does hadda make sure dey HDC rent payment up to date and tell dem when it have weave on sale an ting.

And court date and when child payments hadda make