The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby maj. tom » May 25th, 2019, 7:11 pm

oh dear wireman, please tell me you didn't reply at all to that email and just reported it as a phishing scam.
No secure business or bank will ever ask you for these details via email.

You can help us resolve this issue by replying to this message with the billing name, address, and phone number registered to your card. Please reply from the email address registered to your Amazon.com account.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 27th, 2019, 5:35 pm

Doh use SeaboxTT unless you absolutely have too and if you do take their insurance and make sure you make their staff open the packages before paying a cent.

Worst possible experience, somewhere along d line meh TV get mashup, dey tief d remote, power cable, manual, down to d packing slips an invoices gone but given the TV was rel big to fit it i jus unbox it and put it in my car with all the bubble wrap and styrofoam without checking as i say it inside is when ah reach home ah get the surprise.

Two, three proof pics and 5 minutes later talking to original seller and bam money back for item and for freight forwarding by seabox. Seabox as all local crooks take d low path and say dem eh know nothing about da I accept the package, them eh see. They went as far as to discredit the seller, who mind you i by TVs from already and ship here via them.

Thank god for US sellers who at least have some understanding.

Anyone else had an experience like this? Who do you use to bring in LARGE TVs?

Postby hydroep » May 27th, 2019, 5:42 pm

^Sorry to hear, glad you got your money back.

Only brought down robust things like tools but never had a problem with them. I prefer to ship delicate items like televisions via air. Yes you pay more but the item spends less time in their hands...less chance for something to go wrong...:|

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 27th, 2019, 5:52 pm

hydroep wrote:^Sorry to hear, glad you got your money back.

Only brought down robust things like tools but never had a problem with them. I prefer to ship delicate items like televisions a courier who ships via air. Yes you pay more but the item spends less time in their hands...less chance for something to go wrong...:|

Boy ah check d price with Websource, meh lawd is like 2-3k extra with all the extra handling and insurance for TV with them. How much you does pay with ur provider to bring in ah TV?
D last few with seabox was like between 900-1600 depending on size. As ah said me eh know wa gwan normally dey normal, guess everything in this place jus gettin crappy...

Postby hydroep » May 27th, 2019, 6:08 pm

^Try Aeropost. On the last unit we brought in local charges (freight, duties, taxes, insurance etc.) were about TT 2K.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 27th, 2019, 8:19 pm

Something similar happened to me a few years ago. My account was locked out and I received an email from Amazon requesting similar information and a passport to confirm proof of identity. I had to fax the info to them.

All this raises my suspicions especially the fax.

For about one week I contacted Amazon via email and eventually got a response from a supervisor who confirmed it was legitimate.

I sent the information to them via fax and within two days my account was reinstated.

I also received email confirmation from Amazon that the fax was received.
wireman wrote:There was a problem processing your order. You will not be able to access your account or place orders with us until we confirm your information.

You can help us resolve this issue by replying to this message with the billing name, address, and phone number registered to your card. Please reply from the email address registered to your Amazon.com account.

Once we have this information, we will reply within 12-24 hours.

If needed, update your information with the card issuer. 

For your security, we restrict access to your billing details to a team of account specialists. Our Customer Service team cannot access these details or provide you with more information on this issue. They can only verify that we sent this request.

We ask that you not open new accounts as any order you place may be delayed, and your customer experience may be adversely affected.

Sincerely,

Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com

Postby bluefete » June 27th, 2019, 8:57 am

WebSource is saying that a new Customs ASYCUDA tax of $10.00 per package takes effect from 1/7/2019.

Meanwhile Impsbutt and Kamala and dem fix up demselves nice, nice with pension.

Happy online shopping.

https://shipwebsource.com/new-customs-f ... iNIz7t_Qis

Additional Customs Fee
Date Published: June 26th 2019

Effective July 1st 2019, each package imported via all "skybox" services such as ours will be subject to an additional TT$10 fee.

This fee is a legal requirement by the Customs and Excise Division of Trinidad and Tobago. Customs will be collecting this fee on behalf of the Ministry of Finance.

We know you have questions. Here are the answers we can provide:

Q: Will this fee be shown on my invoices?
A: Yes. Here are sample invoices showing the fees for 3 commonly-purchased items: Clothing, Computer Monitor, Wheel Chair.

Q: What happens if I ship several items?
A: Customs will apply the $10 fee to each package we ship and it will be added to each invoice you receive.

Q: Why is Customs charging this fee?
A: Our local Customs and Excise Division uses an electronic system named ASYCUDA to record and analyse all imports for several reasons e.g. ensuring import taxes are collected, stopping prohibited items etc. All courier companies such as ours must record all shipments in this system to allow Customs to verify our imports. This $10 fee per package is required by law as our usage fee of this mandatory electronic system.

Q: What happens if ship my package with you but wish to clear it with Customs myself?
A: Customs will collect this fee at the time of clearance. Once an item is bonded, you can visit our office to pay our shipping fees and collect the proof of payment and other relevant documents, after which you can proceed to the Customs Bond to pay the applicable taxes and this new fee.

Our online shipping calculator will be updated shortly to reflect this added fee. However, unless otherwise advised by Customs, it will only be applied to packages being cleared through Customs beginning July 1st 2019.

We shop online ourselves and we know first-hand the convenience, savings and even the necessity of buying items online. Still, we always urge everyone to make the best purchasing decisions when shopping online.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 27th, 2019, 9:38 am

even though the shipping cost is constantly o the rise prices are still cheaper than most local places.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 27th, 2019, 1:00 pm

daxt0r wrote:Doh use SeaboxTT unless you absolutely have too and if you do take their insurance and make sure you make their staff open the packages before paying a cent.

Worst possible experience, somewhere along d line meh TV get mashup, dey tief d remote, power cable, manual, down to d packing slips an invoices gone but given the TV was rel big to fit it i jus unbox it and put it in my car with all the bubble wrap and styrofoam without checking as i say it inside is when ah reach home ah get the surprise.

Two, three proof pics and 5 minutes later talking to original seller and bam money back for item and for freight forwarding by seabox. Seabox as all local crooks take d low path and say dem eh know nothing about da I accept the package, them eh see. They went as far as to discredit the seller, who mind you i by TVs from already and ship here via them.

I brought in several items with seaboxtt. A alloy/carbon bicycle with tons of small additional parts, clothing, supplements, shoes, and never had an issue. All items received in proper condition and everything was all there.
I guess ymmv

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 27th, 2019, 1:09 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
daxt0r wrote:Doh use SeaboxTT unless you absolutely have too and if you do take their insurance and make sure you make their staff open the packages before paying a cent.

I brought in several items with seaboxtt. A alloy/carbon bicycle with tons of small additional parts, clothing, supplements, shoes, and never had an issue. All items received in proper condition and everything was all there.
I guess ymmv

Same here. I’ve been shipping everything i buy online (except stuff i need urgently which i send via air) thru seabox for about a year now and no issues yet.

android79

Postby android79 » June 27th, 2019, 9:26 pm

Anyone here have any experience importing an engine from the US? what is the best sky box/sea box to use and approximate cost?

car

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby car » June 27th, 2019, 9:33 pm

android79 wrote:Anyone here have any experience importing an engine from the US? what is the best sky box/sea box to use and approximate cost?

Bought 2 49cc engines already. Skybox. No issues. Both shipped from Canada. It was only about 10 pounds.
One got damage where the air intake connects to the engine. But it was an easy fix.

android79

Postby android79 » June 28th, 2019, 9:47 am

car wrote:
android79 wrote:Anyone here have any experience importing an engine from the US? what is the best sky box/sea box to use and approximate cost?

Bought 2 49cc engines already. Skybox. No issues. Both shipped from Canada. It was only about 10 pounds.
One got damage where the air intake connects to the engine. But it was an easy fix.
:D :D Kool, but I talking about a complete car engine, more like 500 pounds, $1000 US.

Chris3432

Postby Chris3432 » July 16th, 2019, 7:21 pm

I have been using tropical express for one year.
South branch. My experiience thus far was fair however they have lost one of my package.
This is how you can determine how good or bad a business when you have a problem.Customer service is very poor I realized as they did not respond to my email in a timely manner and the representative indicated that they will call me in 10mins ...that took all day. They still have not found my package and told me that they sent an email to their warehouse in Miami so as soon as they get a response, they will let me know the position.
It seems like the I have to wait on them; no timeframe was provided so could be a day or a year. How am I supposed to know??
Im paying for this service yet I am being treated as I am asking for a favor. So based on my experience I certainly will NOT recomend them nor will I do business with them in the future!

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » July 17th, 2019, 1:38 pm

I've been with them for about a year as well and they lost one of my packages in April. The customer service is terrible and no resolution was given. They said they would call me back and never got a call to this day.
The package was delivered by USPS but it never showed up on tropical's system, and the lady said since no one signed for it they couldn't do anything. I personally think someone at the warehouse is stealing small unsigned packages such as cellphones that arrive late in the afternoon, anywhoo..
Another issue I'm having lately is waiting 9 plus days for packages that arrive in their warehouse to be delivered to me, I highly doubt this is normal.
I only went with them because of their lower prices and close proximity to me, but it seems like I'm paying for that now. I'll be trying CSF on my next orders.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2019, 1:59 pm

I saw a customer of theirs order a phone and only the charget was in the box

I was like WTF

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » July 17th, 2019, 2:43 pm

I was with them for some months last year. Went with them for the cheaper rates. However I started to notice the charges were going up and up, sometimes higher than they should've have been. Mentioned the high charges to the CSR when I went to pick up my packages in person. He didn't even acknowledge my issue, just push out his hand for my card. Gave him a good look, paid for my stuff and never used them again.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 21st, 2019, 3:06 pm

What the best way to bring in heavy stuff? I want to bring in items that weight 35lbs and i was quoted a whooole mc TT$900PLUS :x

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 21st, 2019, 3:39 pm

eurotuner wrote:What the best way to bring in heavy stuff? I want to bring in items that weight 35lbs and i was quoted a whooole mc TT$900PLUS :x

Laparkan

what are the dimensions?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 21st, 2019, 3:53 pm

Chris3432 wrote:I have been using tropical express for one year.
South branch. My experiience thus far was fair however they have lost one of my package.
This is how you can determine how good or bad a business when you have a problem.Customer service is very poor I realized as they did not respond to my email in a timely manner and the representative indicated that they will call me in 10mins ...that took all day. They still have not found my package and told me that they sent an email to their warehouse in Miami so as soon as they get a response, they will let me know the position.
It seems like the I have to wait on them; no timeframe was provided so could be a day or a year. How am I supposed to know??
Im paying for this service yet I am being treated as I am asking for a favor. So based on my experience I certainly will NOT recomend them nor will I do business with them in the future!

correct, the seabox manager was very distasteful and refused any form of accepting liability despite my item was damaged in their possession.
Look i order another item that reach since Jun 29th and only TODAY August 21st i received it and like dey more vex dan me when i calling for updates. SeaboxTT is the worst, just don't hope for them to lose or damage your stuff.

Postby Kenjo » August 21st, 2019, 4:01 pm

daxt0r wrote:
Chris3432 wrote:I have been using tropical express for one year.

correct, the seabox manager was very distasteful and refused any form of accepting liability despite my item was damaged in their possession.
Look i order another item that reach since Jun 29th and only TODAY August 21st i received it and like dey more vex dan me when i calling for updates. SeaboxTT is the worst, just don't hope for them to lose or damage your stuff.

This person seems to be talking about tropical express ? SeaBox emailed out that there is a delay and they opened last week Saturday . A lot of my stuff from amazon day came in last week and some stuff I ordered week before cleared yesterday . I wasn’t actually surprised at the delay since amazon day was overwhelming , home people order for Christmas and thanksgiving early

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2019, 4:04 pm

There's too much competition in the sector to put up with shoddy service. Most sign ups these days free, so register with a few of them and do a couple of test shipments to see who gives the best service.

Generally cheap t'ing eh good and good t'ing eh cheap. Sometimes expensive t'ing eh good either...:|

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 21st, 2019, 4:59 pm

eurotuner wrote:What the best way to bring in heavy stuff? I want to bring in items that weight 35lbs and i was quoted a whooole mc TT$900PLUS :x

Laparkan

what are the dimensions?
56x6x6. Thin long box.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2019, 8:35 am

Fellaz

Hear this

If i bought something from amazon, and it was defective, so i send it back, they agreed to ship me a new 1, would i have to pay all fees? (Customs, duties etc) i know i will have to pay freight.

How that does work?

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2019, 9:33 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

Hear this

If i bought something from amazon, and it was defective, so i send it back, they agreed to ship me a new 1, would i have to pay all fees? (Customs, duties etc) i know i will have to pay freight.

How that does work?

I have returned items for warranty replacement and was required to pay VAT and duty on the invoice amount each time. Customs informed me that a "no cost invoice" will cause them to impute invoiced value.

I believe that someone in the tool thread had a defective item reshipped from Tektron Tools with the same VAT + duty extra costs.

Postby maj. tom » September 7th, 2019, 9:42 am

How it's supposed to work is that the package would be issued a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number by the seller/skybox company and they should fill out the invoice stating it was a warranty return item, therefore duties have already been paid. The customs officer should be able to scan the number to verify it has been issued.

butttttttt....... it's TT customs occifers, so....

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2019, 10:09 am

maj. tom wrote:How it's supposed to work is that the package would be issued a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number by the seller/skybox company and they should fill out the invoice stating it was a warranty return item, therefore duties have already been paid. The customs officer should be able to scan the number to verify it has been issued.

butttttttt....... it's TT customs occifers, so....
My warranty exchange for a Seagate hard disk for example:

The original request, RMA number and paperwork from the manufacturer was submitted. The US shipper is the Seagate Warranty Repair Center and their invoice was "Total $0."

VAT was charged on the assigned value of the drive plus shipping.

On a different note:

There is a subtle, though sometimes painful, difference between sales tax and value added tax. Sales tax is paid at the retail level while VAT is charged as the goods change hands. Duty (0% in the case of the hard disk) is charged each time goods cross a border.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2019, 4:25 pm

So basically, i gonna get shaft twice?

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2019, 11:17 pm

Sorry but yes, more than likely.