Current state of BWIA TriStar Aircraft at Chaguaramas

link

Re: Current state of BWIA TriStar Aircraft at Chaguaramas

Postby link » January 13th, 2014, 7:04 am

worksux101 wrote:well why don't you enlighten us?

you'll have to give him a moment. he's savoring this.
https://www.facebook.com/ZorceMagazine/posts/10150351718184981?comment_id=14444036&offset=0&total_comments=13&notif_t=feed_comment_reply

do YOU think that disgusting scenario is something to 'savor' ..........
it just shows that petty, favor-mongering & underhanded tactics are alive & well.......
after being villified by all of you on the forums & victimised / discriminated against by 'others' , it's a sad day that people still insist on 'toting'........
no wonder T&T motor racing is stuck in a morass.........

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 13th, 2014, 9:17 am

link wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Hoss where is the Landing Gear for that plane? There is a whole hydraulic bay with arms and wheels etc.

LOL they prop up the thing on some pvc pipes with cement in it?

How does a $140 Million US dollar plane reach in that state? The government did donate that free or something?
If you feel so strongly about it why don't you go help out the guy with running the display? Work with him to raise funds to bring the display to a standard that you feel the aircraft deserves.

if that is the former N3140D....first find out what the deal was, & with whom, that locked this aircraft into service with BWIA :idea:

That's not N3140D... probably scrapped in Mojave right about now. It still had the old paint scheme on it.

"TGN" is what is at the museum now. Really is a shame to se the condition of it.

Postby wagonrunner » January 13th, 2014, 1:20 pm

link wrote:do YOU think that disgusting scenario is something to 'savor' ..........
it just shows that petty, favor-mongering & underhanded tactics are alive & well.......
after being villified by all of you on the forums & victimised / discriminated against by 'others' , it's a sad day that people still insist on 'toting'........
no wonder T&T motor racing is stuck in a morass.........
:roll: indeed. your best response is truly ..................................
click below and go change them to that as is your usual
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/search.php?keywords=prix&terms=all&author=link&sc=1&sf=all&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search

link

Postby link » January 13th, 2014, 1:27 pm

you will soon get an opportunity to utilise that vast energy in a positive, CONSTRUCTIVE manner....
patience & perseverence ...
Best regards
Link

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » January 14th, 2014, 10:58 am

Hearing that a reallll long time now - seems you forgot who put the racers in the current position in the first place.

Still waiting to hear about the aircraft

Postby wagonrunner » January 14th, 2014, 3:15 pm

worksux101 wrote:Still waiting to hear about the aircraft

got 40 or so odd years for more promises? :|

annandtotheworld

Postby annandtotheworld » January 14th, 2014, 5:32 pm

what really happened to this plane for it to end up there??

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 7:09 pm

^ Apparently manning donate it to them. Have no idea if it could fly at the time, most likely it could and they phased out these model planes and it was donated but what we do know is its rat / vulture infested now.

CAL does only use Boeing aircraft now. One set of 737 and two 767

Boy even American and United does use Boeing. The only plane that comes in this airport that isn't boeing is probably the Antonov. I still say the Antonov should have tossed that BWIA plane from the sky, would have been in better condition that what is is now since they chop it up in 12 pieces.

for your convenience this is the Antonov

3 Stage VTEC rofl

Postby Top » January 14th, 2014, 7:31 pm

Thats not a plane thats a island with wings

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 7:51 pm

LOL I hear yuh

hold this

Postby eliteauto » January 14th, 2014, 8:05 pm

those Antonovs that are in Piarco often come from where?...why?

Postby wagonrunner » January 14th, 2014, 8:08 pm

eliteauto wrote:those Antonovs that are in Piarco often come from where?...why?

oh boy.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 8:14 pm

Europe.

I heard they transport Oil Rigs and stuff for the oil industry in Trinidad. I can't imagine a private man hiring that plane for anything.

The 4 Engine antonov that comes here takes 100,000 liters of Fuel. Thats about 1 million TT dollars to give it enough fuel to make a trip.

SInce the 6 Engine takes 400,000 max capacity we looking at what 4 million TT in gas just to make 1 flight?

Them Russians can build thing. Boeing eh ready.

You should see the American Airlines pilots faces when they doing their inspection and they turn around and see the Antonov pack up right next to gate 5. The admiration for that majestic bird most can't help but take a picture of it.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 14th, 2014, 8:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » January 14th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Really? Which company? Enlighten me because it's way cheaper to ocean freight the items in (that are used by offshore companies / industry)

Let's pick some sense from this now, with the frequency of these visits is the entire country an oil / gas rig?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 8:24 pm

So I heard cargo agents say when I ask them what the heck the Antonov does have inside it when it land in Piarco. They claim its oil rigs, Massive Generators etc.

I can't imagine anything else, who would transport a car or a truck with this thing? the company paying 1 million TT in fuel alone just to operate the aircraft. You can imagine the costs to hire this plane.

It often remains in Piarco for weeks sometimes waiting in cargo to go back and they paying $20,000 a day to park it up here. And like that don't even bother them its like chicken feed money for them.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 8:36 pm

It also transports trains weighing over 200 tonnes.

yeah one would argue there are better ways and way cheaper to transport a train but I guess when you want something immediately it can be done for the right price.

Postby wagonrunner » January 14th, 2014, 9:00 pm

http://jetphotos.net/showphotos.php?userid=8819

Think OP might realise where the tristar got dissecte?.
Last edited by wagonrunner on January 14th, 2014, 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » January 14th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Like I said id like to know which company.... Because none that I know of have used this not bp, bg, eog, atlantic etc

4 turbines are coming in from Nuevo Pignone over the weekend... These things are huge a$$ and guess what it's ocean

Rigs are also shipped in via ocean or tugged to Trini

I believe the "was told" was just giving you a run around to hide what really comes in them

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2014, 9:43 pm

^ thats a possibility

so even more interesting to find out whats being transported by air with antonov.

Will verify by next week what exactly they ship to Trinidad with that thing cause its here pretty often

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » January 15th, 2014, 3:44 am

FYI The Antonov that comes to Trinidad isn't the massive 225, it's the 124. It's smaller, but still fairly massive for an airplane. Also notice it only sports 4 engines.

Last time I was in Trinidad I shot some images of the Tristar in it's rather sad state. Shame, as there's only a handful of airworthy L-1011's left in the world.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 15th, 2014, 11:12 am

great photos there man.

wing looks in terribad condition.

annandtotheworld

Postby annandtotheworld » January 15th, 2014, 3:50 pm

heard the biggest antonov was used in fast6

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 15th, 2014, 4:15 pm

Talked to a friend who works at NP who fuels the antonov

He confirmed that any antonov that comes to Piarco only does so to rest and buy fuel. It comes empty and leaves empty. It is usually in the middle east and europe then South America but since rent here is so cheap hotel expenses so cheap and fuel they relax here and wait for another job. They then go whenever they get a call. Seems fuel so expensive for that it cheaper to leave that here than fly back to where it comes from LOL

Also heard they fly with their own Mechanic because nobody down here can speak Russian lol

Postby tr1ad » January 15th, 2014, 5:34 pm

That mechanic talk.... Is that the same place you hear they bring in rigs and other equipment ?

Stop posting up what yuh hear na

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 15th, 2014, 6:07 pm

No

A Caribbean Airline mechanic told me that one. LoL

He said all writings inside the plane is in Russian that's why

That's why they don't go cheap contract

Postby ronsin1 » January 15th, 2014, 6:17 pm

been reading this thread and I have to say the State does not give a damn
and you would also see this on the derelict units at Airport (Air Caribbean and the white plane next to the CAL Hanger)

that is the exit and entry point into Trinidad and the first thing you see when entering the country and last when you leave are these two wrecks and the building that used to have a roof on it (I think it was painted with a PENTA Sign).

we should not have it this was but the state (All Governments Past and Present) will never direct AATT to do anything

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2014, 7:47 pm

on a somewhat related matter

what kind of car is that on a ramp rottening down near the fence in the old airport?

after you pass ttpost and take the right to head to the old airport

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 16th, 2014, 5:48 am

^ I know where u talking about.

Bristow has their new helli hanger there now.

It looks super tiny like a lost version of a R7 I go ask the guys who building the new police station opposite the hanger if they know what kind of car it is. But in its current state that could never bring back.

On another note there is a plane covered in moss right after there by the katerserv corner. It missing a tale, wonder whats the story behind that?

Postby pete » January 16th, 2014, 8:03 am

The tail is in the roundabout now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 16th, 2014, 10:16 am

Ow ho so thats where it end up ROFL

One of the nice things about we Airport is foreigners can have a look at what a airport junk yard looks like I think its a nice new experience compared to all the clean fancy first world airport they does be seeing elsewhere.