Emergency Car Cigarette Lighter Jump Starter

pluggie

Emergency Car Cigarette Lighter Jump Starter

Postby pluggie » January 22nd, 2014, 6:29 am

Have any of you guys used this before ? Do you think it worked well ?

Connected directly to the cigarette lighter charger, the car jump starter is a simple and safe operation that charges dead batteries quicker than Frankenstein’s creation coming to life. Compact and portable, the device is a drivers dream in road related nightmares.

Jump-start a car without opening the bonnet
Connect two vehicles between the cigarette lighter charger
Charges quickly
Simple and safe operation
Plug and charge simplicity
Green and red LED indicators display battery status
Convenient cable storage mechanism
Compact and portable
Fits in car boot or glove compartment
Connect two vehicles between the 12V sockets

154509_130222151457_boost2.jpg
154509_130222151457_boost2.jpg (26.95 KiB) Viewed 5301 times

Re: Emergency Car Cigarette Lighter Jump Starter

Postby Rainman » January 22nd, 2014, 6:48 am

It's crap

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 22nd, 2014, 7:30 am

excellent review lol

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 22nd, 2014, 8:07 am

:lol: I watchin this thing with my eyes open big and wondering how the hellllll this thing could work properly.
The pricemart jumpstart kits are much bigger than this and I have been through about 4. Until I got wise and got a Schumacher.
For diesel engines that I usually work with this thing aint have a prayer in the world :lol:

Postby javishm » January 22nd, 2014, 9:27 am

same the money

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 22nd, 2014, 12:08 pm

Not off Topic , any Car battery chargers available ?

Looking at a Battery Tender on Amazon but there must be some locally

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 22nd, 2014, 12:56 pm

with most cig. lighters being fused about 20amps max i really dont see this working properly

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 22nd, 2014, 1:45 pm

This was developed for non brain box.obc vehicles like old skool v8s, 4 cylinder carbs etc..do not use this on any ecu controlled vehicle

Postby *KRONIK* » January 22nd, 2014, 2:06 pm

cornfused wrote:Not off Topic , any Car battery chargers available ?

Looking at a Battery Tender on Amazon but there must be some locally

Home mart in el soccoro has the battery tender

6xx for it...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 22nd, 2014, 2:13 pm

Much Thanks Kronik

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 22nd, 2014, 2:37 pm

KiD wrote:with most cig. lighters being fused about 20amps max i really dont see this working properly

It does take a flockload of current to start a car eh. Yuh doh want that current passing thru flimsy wire (cig lighters wasnt intended for high current devices), if you lucky the fuse will blow before the wire burn.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 22nd, 2014, 3:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
KiD wrote:with most cig. lighters being fused about 20amps max i really dont see this working properly

It does take a flockload of current to start a car eh. Yuh doh want that current passing thru flimsy wire (cig lighters wasnt intended for high current devices), if you lucky the fuse will blow before the wire burn.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 22nd, 2014, 5:37 pm

Got the Schumacher SE-82-6 6 Amp battery charger for $450 at Home Mart . They have a variety of battery chargers ,jump start units and cables.

pluggie

Postby pluggie » January 23rd, 2014, 1:03 am

thanks fellas , some well appreciated tips

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 23rd, 2014, 9:51 am

This!!!!!

Always in my trunk....no other car needed.
I've helped countless people with their tires...dead batteries...no batteries...I give it a boost charge maybe twice a year. Some of the best coin I ever spent.

http://mobile.walmart.com/ip/Stanley-50 ... r/13035281

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2014, 4:27 pm

you guys are so negative
This is an AWESOME product!!! Last week, my car wouldn't start in the mall. I simply plugged this baby into my cigarette lighter, and then opened my car's bonnet and connected the cables to the battery. Turned the key, and instant jump start!!!!! All from something as simple as my cigarette lighter! I carry this wherever I go. I mean, what could be cooler that jump starting your car from the cigarette lighter!!!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 23rd, 2014, 6:25 pm

MG Man wrote:I mean, what could be cooler that jump starting your car from the cigarette lighter!!!

Lighting your cigarette with your car battery. :|

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » January 23rd, 2014, 8:15 pm

most I've seen is 10A and few 15A

streetbeastINC. wrote:This was developed for non brain box.obc vehicles like old skool v8s, 4 cylinder carbs etc..do not use this on any ecu controlled vehicle

EFI has nothing to do with a dead battery.
Majority of the current draw during a the crank goes to the starter.. EFI or Carb
Fuel and spark won't do nothing without compression.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2014, 8:21 pm

they use magic wires at the back of the cigarette lighters
thin but can carry 120amps etc

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » January 23rd, 2014, 9:42 pm

Is it really worth it to be carrying around an extra spare battery for the rare instance you may need a jump start? Unless you take care to top up the spare battery charge regularly, it's going to deteriorate and lose its ability to recharge. What are the chances you're going to remember to keep topping up? After one or two years of negligence, or a few more years with proper maintenance, you'll have to buy another one. That sounds like wasting money to me. Suppose that spare battery died due to negligence, you wouldn't know until you need it and it fails.

Jumper cables are maintenance free, lasts a lifetime, and very reliable. Unless you driving off in remote country by yourself, someone will always be around to lend assistance with a jump start. I have jumper cables from PriceSmart. They very long so they can reach someone parked behind you, they very thick to handle good current, and have sturdy locking clamps. I maintain my car battery and make sure the water level is good. I never needed jump start assistance from anyone, but helped out friends and strangers already. There were times I needed a jump start in the morning when starting from home. For that, I used a 13.8 V power supply, attached it to the car battery and left it about 10 minutes to charge. There was once I used a regular wall mount adaptor on the 12 V setting (before I had the 13.8 V supply), but left that charging longer. Was able to start up normally.

I say go with jumper cables in your car and keep a cheap small battery charger powered by AC power at home for when the battery dies overnight at home. Make sure to get top quality jumper cables with very thick wire and good clamps. Don't cheap out on them.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 30th, 2014, 10:10 am

Good advice here pseudorandom

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2014, 10:22 am

2nd. I doubt all that juice can leave the lighter circuit anyway.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 30th, 2014, 12:05 pm

pseudorandom wrote:Is it really worth it to be carrying around an extra spare battery for the rare instance you may need a jump start? Unless you take care to top up the spare battery charge regularly, it's going to deteriorate and lose its ability to recharge. What are the chances you're going to remember to keep topping up? After one or two years of negligence, or a few more years with proper maintenance, you'll have to buy another one. That sounds like wasting money to me. Suppose that spare battery died due to negligence, you wouldn't know until you need it and it fails.

Jumper cables are maintenance free, lasts a lifetime, and very reliable. Unless you driving off in remote country by yourself, someone will always be around to lend assistance with a jump start. I have jumper cables from PriceSmart. They very long so they can reach someone parked behind you, they very thick to handle good current, and have sturdy locking clamps. I maintain my car battery and make sure the water level is good. I never needed jump start assistance from anyone, but helped out friends and strangers already. There were times I needed a jump start in the morning when starting from home. For that, I used a 13.8 V power supply, attached it to the car battery and left it about 10 minutes to charge. There was once I used a regular wall mount adaptor on the 12 V setting (before I had the 13.8 V supply), but left that charging longer. Was able to start up normally.

I say go with jumper cables in your car and keep a cheap small battery charger powered by AC power at home for when the battery dies overnight at home. Make sure to get top quality jumper cables with very thick wire and good clamps. Don't cheap out on them.

Good Advice. Just cant see pricesmart selling good gauge wire for jumper cables. Don't be fooled by the insulation. The norm is to use a thick insulation to give the impression that the wire itself is thick. Look where it joins the clamp for the real picture.
I myself bought zero gauge wire from farfan and got heavy duty clamps from my partner Jerry (St Augustine) and soldered them together. Use these on heavy duty diesel equipment. The clamps are great also just btw. The outside is coated so even if they touch while connecting no issue at all. No electrical spark. The metal surface is only inside the clamp.
My 2c

Postby Ted_v2 » February 2nd, 2014, 3:01 am

Might need to make one of those soon yes. What price you paid for a yard of zero gauge wires?

Might buy a jump starter one time

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 2nd, 2014, 6:26 pm

crash dummy have the rightest idea

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » February 3rd, 2014, 9:36 am

Uhmmm price of zero gauge.. Cant remember for sure prob about 350? 400?

The connectors were about 60 for one (if I remember correctly also lol)