Anyone Missing An Osprey?

Michael Knight...

Anyone Missing An Osprey?

Postby Michael Knight... » February 14th, 2014, 11:30 am

Saw this thing and was wondering what it was doing here.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Osprey

Re: Anyone Missing An Osprey?

Postby turbosingh » February 14th, 2014, 11:48 am

Boi curry that eh!

Xplode

Postby Xplode » February 14th, 2014, 12:12 pm

that not a chicken hawk ?

Postby SMc » February 14th, 2014, 12:18 pm

Some Ospreys over-winter in Trinidad and some stay year round (usually yonger males). They have them DDI (down de islands for the sake of the south people), Nariva, Caroni even in Trincity sewage ponds by the golf course...pretty much anywhere with a good supply of fish and they there. I doubt people have them as pets and if they do well I hope it bites thier penis off one day.

Chickenhawk is a generic term for some birds of prey, dunno where that name came from though.

BTW where you took that picture?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2014, 12:21 pm

That is an Ospery , during the northern winter months many birds of prey ,temporarily migrate to our shores. There are some breeding locally as well .

What is a Chicken Hawk ? Is that a species of bird or raptor?

I have attempted to find the Chicken Hawk , maybe its a Caracara.

Postby SMc » February 14th, 2014, 12:23 pm

I swear I type in invisible ink oui.....

Postby meccalli » February 14th, 2014, 12:25 pm

There's a local few, one is always around the caroni swamp, there's another that hangs out by the dockyard in chaguaramas. eats all those pigeons, absolute feathery mess he makes.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » February 14th, 2014, 12:26 pm

SMc wrote:Some Ospreys over-winter in Trinidad and some stay year round (usually yonger males). They have them DDI (down de islands for the sake of the south people), Nariva, Caroni even in Trincity sewage ponds by the golf course...pretty much anywhere with a good supply of fish and they there. I doubt people have them as pets and if they do well I hope it bites thier penis off one day.

Chickenhawk is a generic term for some birds of prey, dunno where that name came from though.

It was sitting on top of a pole in the Fernandes Compound.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2014, 12:28 pm

Glad to hear it eats those pigeons , more of these raptors needed.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2014, 12:30 pm

SMc wrote:I swear I type in invisible ink oui.....

You were posting from knowledge at 12:18pm .

I was reading Kenefick, Restall and Hayes at 12:18 and posted at 12:22pm .

Postby SMc » February 14th, 2014, 12:33 pm

^^cool..it seems to happen quite often to me with refernce to bird related posts though...I got the new (green)one for Christmas with the updated plates improvemnet over the blue one..yet to use it though :(

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 14th, 2014, 12:37 pm

I have the green one as well , got it covered that in clear plastic like and expensive school book.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 14th, 2014, 12:53 pm

SMc wrote:Some Ospreys over-winter in Trinidad and some stay year round (usually yonger males). They have them DDI (down de islands for the sake of the south people), Nariva, Caroni even in Trincity sewage ponds by the golf course...pretty much anywhere with a good supply of fish and they there. I doubt people have them as pets and if they do well I hope it bites thier penis off one day.

Chickenhawk is a generic term for some birds of prey, dunno where that name camefrom though.

The name comes from the fact that it tastes damn good currystew.

brickman

Postby brickman » February 14th, 2014, 1:12 pm

Came in ched excited hoping to see one of these in trini,not de bird.1 dissapoint

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » February 14th, 2014, 1:59 pm

I came in here expecting

I has a disappoint

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2014, 2:22 pm

SMc wrote:Chickenhawk is a generic term for some birds of prey, dunno where that name came from though.

Dis is what most ppl see when they talk about chicken hawk in T&T

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Buteo ... idad_1.jpg

Try keeping yard fowl wit a few of these in yuh area & yuh will know exactly where the name come from. Had 3 of them used to lime on my long mango tree & mark my neighbor yardies.

Postby sharkman121 » February 14th, 2014, 4:17 pm

brickman wrote:Came in ched excited hoping to see one of these in trini,not de bird.1 dissapoint

this was the first thing came to my mind as well before opening le ched... I too was disappoint.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » February 14th, 2014, 6:34 pm

Been seeing these black hawks around the bird sanctuary lately...they luv talipia.

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » February 15th, 2014, 7:56 am

There is a breeding pair at Fernandez compound. Always hanging around the water tank tower on the 1st road.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 15th, 2014, 8:22 am

There are a lot of brown feathered hawks around, what breed are those?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 15th, 2014, 9:14 am

lostboys crew wrote:Been seeing these black hawks around the bird sanctuary lately...they luv talipia.

These common down the islands too. One in Scotland Bay does respond to fish thrown for him, he has a real high pictched shriek.

Postby SMc » February 15th, 2014, 9:54 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:There are a lot of brown feathered hawks around, what breed are those?

If they are on the ground feeding and are 'lighter' brown they are likely to be YH Caracaras...alot along the Nariva stretch. If 'darker' brown harder to tell without seeing as they are likely to be a juvenile somthing or the other.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 15th, 2014, 10:15 am

SMc wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:There are a lot of brown feathered hawks around, what breed are those?

If they are on the ground feeding and are 'lighter' brown they are likely to be YH Caracaras...alot along the Nariva stretch. If 'darker' brown harder to tell without seeing as they are likely to be a juvenile somthing or the other.

8-) First spotted them on the Manzan/Mayaro stretch and now seeing a lot of them in work, never tried to get close to take a pic though

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » February 15th, 2014, 9:25 pm

Hyperion wrote:
lostboys crew wrote:Been seeing these black hawks around the bird sanctuary lately...they luv talipia.

These common down the islands too. One in Scotland Bay does respond to fish thrown for him, he has a real high pictched shriek.

Believe I may have caught one in flight. Graceful creatures.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » February 16th, 2014, 10:59 am

Saw this bird in blanchi. Not sure what species it was.

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2014, 4:44 pm

TURBOT wrote:Saw this bird in blanchi. Not sure what species it was.

Pic to small to make out properly, but it looks be on coconut tree so that puts some scale to it... other than that i couldnt say

Postby Spitfir3 » February 16th, 2014, 5:59 pm

upsized 8-)

Postby nervewrecker » April 10th, 2019, 8:07 pm

sorry to bump an old thread, I having an issue with a bird of prey hanging around. Folks said it came by today, the roof shake like if the cats jump on it. Both cats were on the ground. Had a heavy foot when walking as the noise was very distinct. When it flew off they saw it. Black bird with some white on it. About the size of a corbeaux.
Can a bird this size pose a threat to a mid sized cat?

Size of cat.

VII

Postby VII » April 10th, 2019, 8:34 pm

nervewrecker wrote:sorry to bump an old thread, I having an issue with a bird of prey hanging around. Folks said it came by today, the roof shake like if the cats jump on it. Both cats were on the ground. Had a heavy foot when walking as the noise was very distinct. When it flew off they saw it. Black bird with some white on it. About the size of a corbeaux.
Can a bird this size pose a threat to a mid sized cat?

Size of cat.

Sounds like a black hawk-eagle,or a great black hawk,yep both will take cats and other small mammals,love snakes and iguanas too..
Last edited by VII on April 10th, 2019, 9:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby nervewrecker » April 10th, 2019, 8:42 pm

Are they known to hang around one area and / or stalk prey? The cats usually frequent the roof (especially the smaller one) to wait for birds coming to get water from the spout.

A lot of animals got displaced from the recent forest fires so I hoping its just a passer by.