Question to fellow tuners

toyota2nr

Re: Question to fellow tuners

Postby toyota2nr » February 21st, 2014, 10:23 am

No one is born racist. We are taught by those around us. Each right thinking adult must make a conscious decision to exam their words and behaviour and how it impacts on others.

I believe everyone is racist to some point and that needs to change.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2014, 10:30 am

as long as SAT MARAJ and KEITH ROWLEY around,there is no hope.

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 10:32 am

what is racism? how is sat racist?

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 21st, 2014, 10:33 am

javishm wrote:

Saw this too but I must ask how much of it is racism? If the black man was in a jacket and tie and carrying a briefcase and was well shaved with a neat haircut would the response have been the same?

airuma

Postby airuma » February 21st, 2014, 10:37 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:
Fearless wrote:
TrinbagoMan wrote:

Morgan Freeman talking foolishness. Talking about racism does not cause racism, infact talking sensibly about race and racism is an important way for it to be addressed towards people being aware of their own racism. Secondly, identifying people by their race is not racist not does it necessary contribute towards racism. People being of different racial groups or being different is not the source of racism, but moreso, it is the attitudes, values and false racial preferences that cause racism.

Thirdly, people way well think they could be colour blind or race blind, but that is just their own delusions. They could not call someone white, black or indian and still be very racist. Racial hierarchies and preferences whether stemming from European colonialism, Hindu religious roots or Islamic conquest activities are too deeply embedded in the human psyche to be easily dismissed or overcome.

I think people have to move past seeing racism as overt hostile acts and see it as something that is deeply imbedded in most people through conditioning. The rampant racism often expressed on this forum is a testament to what we are dealing with.

This makes a lot of sense also. Only thing I would object to, Mr Freeman isn't talking foolishness, he is just expressing his opinion, just as you did. Not everyone would have the same opinion but doesn't mean it's wrong because it doesn't support yours 8-)

One thing I wanted to ask you, is what you think causes these ideals to be embedded into the psyche?

Of course, he is expressing his opinion: i am saying his opinion is foolish because it is not realistic for reasons i mentioned. And he is not wrong because his views does not support mine, he is wrong because his views not well reasoned or thought out.

It is a complex process of historical processes that manifest today in a global and national mechanisms of ignorance and poor racial ideas. The historical domination of white males added to their contemporary domination and control of media and information, means that they have imposed their racial hierarchies, ignorance on others. They have put themselves as the bringers of civilisation, as well as the most attractive and beautiful phenotype. Most people [exposed to Christianity and the white deities, exposed to media, exposed to colonised families who have those same values] internalise very poor values and ways of thinking. When a child growing up surrounded by white and light images on tv, billboards, storybooks, cartoon, when he going to church, God himself white, of course he or she will have negative attitudes towards dark complexions as well as a general ignorance of non-mainstream cultures. No wonder the brothels with the Spanish women In Trinidad are well subscribed.... because that is the fantasies most people have, it is towards lighter complexioned people and European features.

In our Christian society there is much ignorance and biases about non Christian worldviews and religions such as Hinduism, Orisha and Rastafari. This can be understood in wider context of general ignorance of history and different groups that make up our space.

Most Indians have special issues with Racism, as they not only have to contend with the effects of white male supremacy, but also the deep racism present in Hinduism, where many religious texts spring from the conqueror's side of the story. so it is nothing more than a very aryan Brahminical narrative with a deep aversion to blackness and lower -class-ness as reflected with the Dalit struggles in India.

I would recommend : Racism through Advaita Philosophy: http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=7976

Nice contribution! Is your first name Morgan?

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 10:43 am

toyota2nr wrote:
javishm wrote:

Saw this too but I must ask how much of it is racism? If the black man was in a jacket and tie and carrying a briefcase and was well shaved with a neat haircut would the response have been the same?

true. the premise of the social experiment is flawed but good idea nevertheless. one can easily say that the aesthetics of the black dude to the white dude prompted the stereotyping by the bystanders

Fearless

Postby Fearless » February 21st, 2014, 10:55 am

dougla_boy wrote:douglarize the nation.

8-)

2nd person to say something like that in the post.

rfari wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:
javishm wrote:

true. the premise of the social experiment is flawed but good idea nevertheless. one can easily say that the aesthetics of the black dude to the white dude prompted the stereotyping by the bystanders

stereotyping has a large part to play with racism. Even dressed properly the outcome "may" still be the same.
Last edited by Fearless on February 21st, 2014, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 21st, 2014, 10:59 am

Op what race are you? I'll need it for my racist comment

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2014, 11:02 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Op what race are you? I'll need it for my racist comment

Fearless

Postby Fearless » February 21st, 2014, 11:05 am

Trinibagonian

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » February 21st, 2014, 11:07 am

Fearless wrote:

Trinibagonian

Trinbagonian refers to your nationality, not your race or phenotype.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 21st, 2014, 11:08 am

Fearless wrote:

Trinibagonian

And you name fearless? that's a new race?

Fearless

Postby Fearless » February 21st, 2014, 11:09 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:
Fearless wrote:

Trinibagonian

Trinbagonian refers to your nationality, not your race or phenotype.

I know, but his comment seemed like an attempt to be a troll. So hence my reply

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 21st, 2014, 11:24 am

Fearless wrote:So it raised the question in my head, that i sure many of you probably thought of also (not sure if this is a topic already) but anyone think that there is a way for racism to be eradicated from our country?
If so post your opinions or thoughts on the topic whether it's possible or not.

Please no trolls.

My opinion is that it's a stupid question. The answer is no. You deserve to be trolled.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2014, 11:25 am

rfari wrote:what is racism? how is sat racist?

yuh serious?

Postby MG Man » February 21st, 2014, 11:30 am

wagonrunner wrote:Oh for the day all "the races" are so interbred they'd be unable to tell each other apart, and we'd finally have one race - human.

utopia brah
humans will always find ways to segregate and control
You gonna have your light douglas, your dark douglas, nappyhead douglas, flat nose douglas, douglas of dubious lineage...........

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 21st, 2014, 11:40 am

Don't forget the douglas that feel they know everything too...

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 11:50 am

yuh serious?

like a heartattack. u can answer the question?

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2014, 12:28 pm

had the displeasure of interacting wit d individual a few years ago, during which he revealed this aspect of his perspective.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 21st, 2014, 12:31 pm

win

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 12:37 pm

88sins wrote:had the displeasure of interacting wit d individual a few years ago, during which he revealed this aspect of his perspective.

do share. no need to go into specifics

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2014, 1:04 pm

yuh ever hear somebody describe someone as "late fuh school"

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2014, 1:07 pm

yeah........das when u doh take care ah yuh hair and does spend more time combin yuh hair than getting dress...........

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 1:24 pm

88sins wrote:yuh ever hear somebody describe someone as "late fuh school"

yeah. dais for ppl with nappy head.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2014, 1:25 pm

actually, in old times it was used to refer to afro trini children hair taking long to comb due to texture, & they always late to school as a result

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2014, 1:37 pm

88sins wrote:actually, in old times it was used to refer to afro trini children hair taking long to comb due to texture, & they always late to school as a result

same ting. did sat say this?

Fearless

Postby Fearless » February 21st, 2014, 2:11 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
Fearless wrote:So it raised the question in my head, that i sure many of you probably thought of also (not sure if this is a topic already) but anyone think that there is a way for racism to be eradicated from our country?
If so post your opinions or thoughts on the topic whether it's possible or not.

Please no trolls.

My opinion is that it's a stupid question. The answer is no. You deserve to be trolled.

Thanks for your input, was greatly appreciated. I still don't understand why i deserve to be trolled, as I was just asking for opinions.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2014, 2:15 pm

on this forum Fearless, you need to develop a thick skin.
certain things ppl might post is not to waste your time thinking about too much

Postby Sky » February 21st, 2014, 3:24 pm

That late for school thing is funny sheit :lol: :lol:

Hey TrinbagoMan, Morgan Freeman isn't speaking foolishness just because YOU didn't understand him.
You put labels and stigmas can be tied to them, that's all he's saying.

Anyway, there's a funny side to racism. And call me racist if you want, but better laugh about it than gramble. Like the late for school thing. Like the side part crew comment trac made the other day, GOLD haha.