The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Re: The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Postby pete » December 28th, 2013, 8:49 am

Reports is one thing but the software itself seems to calculate the traffic speed so the more people using it the better that side should work.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » December 28th, 2013, 9:54 am

M_2NR wrote:^yup. Even try quoting the "speed" which is generally inaccurate. I wished they'd at least give credit though.

Not defending them, and they should definitely give credit every time, but I'm sure I heard them (not sure which station) say that they were using Waze on their tablet, lol. Just once though.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » December 28th, 2013, 9:58 am

I realise that you can't type in vauge terms, like "San Fernando" etc. I type in "La Brea" the other day and it was sending me Fyzabad!

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » December 28th, 2013, 10:05 am

ingalook wrote:I realise that you can't type in vauge terms, like "San Fernando" etc. I type in "La Brea" the other day and it was sending me Fyzabad!

Yeah, it generally works better with street names and place names, like "Park St" or "Movie Towne" - just make sure you pick the right one from the search list! And you can check the different pages of search results if it's not on the default one (Google, Bing, etc). If it's not there, you can add it in using the online map editor http://world.waze.com/ (same login as your app) or you can make a post here and maybe someone will do it #crowdsourcing. Takes a couple days to actually show up in the app I think though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2013, 1:47 pm

ingalook wrote:I realise that you can't type in vauge terms, like "San Fernando" etc. I type in "La Brea" the other day and it was sending me Fyzabad!
It is difficult for a specific search to work with user-populated system since there is no standard in setting names unless it incorporates some of the techniques that Google has pioneered in it's own search engine. As it is, someone can name a street "Ana Street" and it may not find it if you search for "Ana St"

However since Google now owns Waze, hopefully the search functions will match those of Google's smarter search in the near future.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » December 28th, 2013, 6:23 pm

^^ I don't type in the words "street" or "road" etc when typing in a street name.

For example if I looking for Sutton street, San Fernando, i just type in "Sutton" and select from the results. Most effective for me, as results say where in trinidad all the "Suttons" are

Shazaden

Re: Google MapMaker/OpenStreetMaps/Waze Map Editor | Mapping

Postby Shazaden » January 18th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Just a note here. Google maps are always being constantly updated by people like us. Most of the edits for Trinidad and Tobago are done by people with Local Expert knowledge, therefore any and all help to improve the detail and accuracy of the map will go along way to enrich all our lives. Since Waze was earlier acquired by Google, expect to see a lot more integration of the two. Also Google have began rolling out voice guided navigation in some Caribbean countries, and expects to include Trinidad and Tobago so long as we can get the roads as up-to-date as possible. Again all help is needed. SRASC was a major contributor, hope to have you back too. Thanks

SRASC

Google MapMaker/OpenStreetMaps/Waze Map Editor | Mapping T&T

Postby SRASC » January 21st, 2014, 10:22 am

One could only hope the satellite imagery would be someday. Lord knows how many times I've mentioned it to them. Even their site states that it should be 3 years. As we are in 2014 it would be now 8 years since.

On a side note could hope that Apple develops a similar tool to Google MapMaker and Waze Map Editor (well technically they use OpenStreetMaps but making edits and seeing them reflected is another story in itself).

Your work was much appreciated as well Shazaden.

mars

Postby mars » March 4th, 2014, 11:55 am

For some reason Waze seems to think I'm in Kenya. How do I set it to Trinidad?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 4th, 2014, 12:24 pm

mars wrote:For some reason Waze seems to think I'm in Kenya. How do I set it to Trinidad?

isn't it suppose to select your country automatically, have you uninstall then re-install

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2014, 5:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:is there a special version of waze for the BB Q5? normal one doesn't work

Postby stev » March 4th, 2014, 6:09 pm

mars wrote:For some reason Waze seems to think I'm in Kenya. How do I set it to Trinidad?

silly question.....is your GPS on?

Anotrin

Postby Anotrin » March 4th, 2014, 6:37 pm

flipswitch5point wrote:^
Both - I didn't know there was a built in notification, so I made one with Tasker when I saw that it had the option (why not right?). When it happened, phone went crazy! lol (both notifications fired off at the same time).

EDIT: The phone behaved in a normal manner, and notified me simultaneously via two applications that the battery was overheating.

PS: I think the overheat temp on an S3 is about 50C from when I've seen it overheat. Anyone wanting to check their Android temps can use Battery Monitor Widget - I use it because it puts an icon in the notification bar with the temperature.

Didnt realize there was a waze community in tuner nice. For overheating probs using waze you guys can set the default to night mode. It uses significantly less battery and does nit heat up as much. Having the screen on non stop causes the heating. My s3 barely gets warm and I have snug fit insulated case as well as the charger plugged in. Also set display to auto or lowest and enable.power saving for even lower heat.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » March 4th, 2014, 7:05 pm

Eeenside

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » March 5th, 2014, 5:04 am

Anotrin wrote:For overheating probs using waze you guys can set the default to night mode. It uses significantly less battery and does nit heat up as much. Having the screen on non stop causes the heating. My s3 barely gets warm and I have snug fit insulated case as well as the charger plugged in. Also set display to auto or lowest and enable.power saving for even lower heat.

Can't see it well when driving if the brightness is less than 50%, auto works, but only sometimes. That night mode tip is ingenious though. Thanks! I'll try it today. I use tasker to switch it (the brightness) to auto when waze isn't running.

tallman1986

In Car Navigation

Postby tallman1986 » March 26th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Yeah pple. Came across a very useful app. 'Be on road'. Is an in car navigation app. Works very well.

fouljuice

Re: In Car Navigation

Postby fouljuice » March 26th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Inside.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 26th, 2014, 11:48 pm

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » March 27th, 2014, 1:21 pm

not as intuitive as waze

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » March 27th, 2014, 3:40 pm

Iz a Wazer to meh heart

Postby joker » March 27th, 2014, 5:49 pm

I use waze... endorsed...especially wen it have popo...

Daran

Postby Daran » March 27th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Garmin NUVI FTW

check morasystems.co.tt

tallman1986

Postby tallman1986 » March 27th, 2014, 8:06 pm

Doesn't waze require data connection? Be on road downloads d map onto your fone. Den u don't need internet

Postby DVSTT » March 27th, 2014, 8:40 pm

drunkenscorpion wrote:Iz a Wazer to meh heart

LOLOL

Postby gastly369 » March 27th, 2014, 10:05 pm

waze+pioneer appradio.. pew pew

utamramnanan

Postby utamramnanan » March 27th, 2014, 11:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:waze+pioneer appradio.. pew pew

Have this in my car with avh 4500bt for iphone 4/4s but can't use it any more cuz I changed my phone to iphone 5 [DISAPPOINTED FACE]

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2014, 11:24 pm

tallman1986 wrote:Doesn't waze require data connection? Be on road downloads d map onto your fone. Den u don't need internet

#sufferer

kdere

Postby kdere » March 27th, 2014, 11:29 pm

tallman1986 wrote:Doesn't waze require data connection? Be on road downloads d map onto your fone. Den u don't need internet

#sufferer

The epitome....

tallman1986

Postby tallman1986 » March 31st, 2014, 7:28 am

#sufferer
so because u choose to download a app free instead of using one with data, u suffering. Lol. Cool.

Postby gastly369 » March 31st, 2014, 9:47 am

Mapfactor navigator
Uses osm no data required alllllll roads and has turn by turn directions with poi all offline. Anywhere in to world.. used it may Times when traveling just download map and data before hand and that's it