Re: HAPPY INDIAN ARRIVAL DAY

Postby kerwinishere » May 30th, 2014, 6:00 am

And happy birthday to me :grin:

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » May 30th, 2014, 6:26 am

kerwinishere wrote:And happy birthday to me :grin:

Happy birthday bro! best wishes and God bless!!!

Happy Indian arrival day!!

Postby Ted_v2 » May 30th, 2014, 6:28 am

Happy Indian arrival day.

Making a few old Indian recipes today on a fireside

TriP

Postby TriP » May 30th, 2014, 6:37 am

Celebrating More than Doubles, Curry, and Dhal

http://tobagopolicyforum.org/2014/05/

May 30 we celebrate Indian Arrival Day in Trinidad and Tobago. At the Tobago Policy Forum we welcome celebrations like these that reflect on people and their history and the significant contribution made to the Republic. We would like to extend sincere greetings to the national community as we celebrate Indian Arrival Day 2014.

Coming from one of the greatest civilizations in the world, the children of India arrived as indentured servants in Trinidad and Tobago in 1845. With the ending of slavery a labour gap became evident and the system of indentured servitude sought to fill this gap and East Indians continued to arrive until 1917. These East Indian labourers brought with them the totality of culture inclusive of religion, food, music, dance, language and the multitude of elements that make up culture. It is this culture and influence that over descending generations has contributed to our cosmopolitan national Trinbago culture.

In a nation like Trinidad and Tobago that evolved out of the forging of the interest of European nations as they sought to colonize the world, a mass global movement and displacement of people began. First, was the displacement of the indigenous people of the Americas by powerful European property owning interests who replaced the First Peoples with African slaves as a labour source. While the concept of indentured servitude was not new, it existed before 17th century, the ancestors of those today who claim East Indians heritage were seeking ways and means out of poverty and indentured servitude became an option, many of whom thought they would return, but often never did.

Little did these indentured servants know the impact that their future generations would have on an emerging post-colonial order that also affected India from which they came where independence of many former colonies were granted after World War II. Nevertheless we do not have to look to far to see the influence and impact that East Indians have in our society without diminishing the impact of other ethnic groups but in recognizing this we see a nation that continues to become integrated while bringing out of the best in every citizen.

At times with a media that appears to be based on sensationalism dominating the national conversation, hovering about our heads is a political culture that simply distracts us from real issues of national development and importance of working together. Indian Arrival Day in 2014 should have a new meaning for all right thinking citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. Yes, it is about celebrating the contributions, but too often for average citizens holidays likes these lose their focus to the big beach or river lime rather than reflecting on the true meaning and how it affects our lives today and our nation tomorrow.

Trinidad and Tobago is on a development trajectory. More development is expected, but economic development of a nation is not only hinged on its financial, natural resources and building buildings but inclusive of its human resource and capacity. The interaction of people of all ethnic groups and cultures is a natural part of this process. It is here where holidays and national celebrations like these should taking on a new meaning and focus on educating, informing and engaging. It is on this level that we can take a step back and find avenue to engage others and get over the hype that our nation is bad and on a path towards destruction and racial division.

Together we must navigate this space where we believe in the principle of an equal place. In light of recent national events of a negative nature, Indian Arrival Day gives us an opportunity to reflect and turn a page. When we don’t know it is easy to assume and make stereotypes often based on misinformation, but it is our obligation to learn.

TriP

Postby TriP » May 30th, 2014, 7:02 am

Indian Arrival rare photos

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/photos/I ... &img=0&c=y

Newly arrived East Indian indentured labourers quarantined at Nelson Island.

Working among the Cocoa Beans at La Soledad, at the foot of the Mountains.

Some indentured workers sit outside their housing accommodations at Nelson Island

A traditional potter at work producing deyas

The Mersey which brought immigrants to Trinidad.

The Arno which brought immigrants to Trinidad.

Basketmaker

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2014, 7:04 am

cool pics and vids.

TriP

Postby TriP » May 30th, 2014, 7:07 am

Greetings from the Management and Staff of Petrotrin on the occasion of Indian Arrival Day
pe.jpg

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 30th, 2014, 7:19 am

The bhaji dryyyyyyyy

Postby K74T » May 30th, 2014, 7:33 am

Kumayah Zindawey Ayayo

Seeker

Postby Seeker » May 30th, 2014, 8:17 am

Happy Indian Arrival Day to my indian brothers and sisters.

Even though we came to this country under different times and circumstances, your
contribution to this nation is tremendous. May you continue to grow from strength to
strength. God Bless.

Postby shogun » May 30th, 2014, 8:22 am

Great pics there Trip.

Postby DFC » May 30th, 2014, 8:43 am

Well the woman have rice and dhal and curry duck on the stove cooking. My radio locked on to 103, playing all the best of sundar .

I finish a nip of puncheon already and done rough up the woman , break up some plate etc.

Gonna watch my indian movie and eat lunch then go by the bar and drink and cry and then come home and beat the woman and then go back by the bar and drink.

Come back home and cry and say sorry then pick up the bottle of gramoxone and go by the duck pen.

Got my day planned out perfect.

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » May 30th, 2014, 8:47 am

DFC wrote:Well the woman have rice and dhal and curry duck on the stove cooking. My radio locked on to 103, playing all the best of sundar .

I finish a nip of puncheon already and done rough up the woman , break up some plate etc.

Gonna watch my indian movie and eat lunch then go by the bar and drink and cry and then come home and beat the woman and then go back by the bar and drink.

Come back home and cry and say sorry then pick up the bottle of gramoxone and go by the duck pen.

Got my day planned out perfect.
:-o:shock::lol::grin::???:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 30th, 2014, 8:53 am

Why injun people need a holiday for fleeing their homeland, jumping on a boat to come to Trinidad, making up a set of names for themselves (actually titles, e.g, Maharaj(a), Rajkumar, etc.) when they reach here to supposedly impress the negro slaves, and then go and cut cane as "indentured" labourers?

At least it is easier to justify Emancipation Day being a holiday.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » May 30th, 2014, 9:54 am

When is kidnapping day since afro-trini's were nabbed and shipped here :|

Postby javishm » May 30th, 2014, 10:14 am

Steups I working today

Happy arrival day

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 30th, 2014, 10:42 am

Where have buss up shot still? Everywhey i check done.

Postby 1UZFE » May 30th, 2014, 10:45 am

Strength and Powers...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 30th, 2014, 11:06 am

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 30th, 2014, 11:14 am

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Where have buss up shot still? Everywhey i check done.

Have you checked by the Jamaat mosque close to Wilkee's bar in Cocoyea? There's a muslim guy and his wife/woman who sell roti skins out of the back of a station wagon.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 30th, 2014, 11:33 am

No roti in Hilo...teh horrorz

dtrinishy

Postby dtrinishy » May 30th, 2014, 6:04 pm

The intelligence level of some amazes me

Postby rollingstock » May 30th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Why injun people need a holiday for fleeing their homeland, jumping on a boat to come to Trinidad, making up a set of names for themselves (actually titles, e.g, Maharaj(a), Rajkumar, etc.) when they reach here to supposedly impress the negro slaves, and then go and cut cane as "indentured" labourers?

Appears you didn't know. Now hush yuh kant!

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » May 30th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
de_dougla_smurf wrote:Where have buss up shot still? Everywhey i check done.

Have you checked by the Jamaat mosque close to Wilkee's bar in Cocoyea? There's a muslim guy and his wife/woman who sell roti skins out of the back of a station wagon.

Talkin bout. Thanks.

Postby S_2NR » May 30th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Why injun people need a holiday for fleeing their homeland, jumping on a boat to come to Trinidad, making up a set of names for themselves (actually titles, e.g, Maharaj(a), Rajkumar, etc.) when they reach here to supposedly impress the negro slaves, and then go and cut cane as "indentured" labourers?

Lmao

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 31st, 2014, 12:54 am

today we should celebrate the positive contributions made by the east indian community in trinidad.

Postby desifemlove » May 31st, 2014, 1:10 am

Wish ah had some buss up shut today, but meh, no scene.. 8-)

I used to tink "but i'z afro, i just sleeping in til noon for dis" but to me now it's chance to learn about different cultures. And I does have some Indo friends who does invite me to dey celebrations, so i doh mind. I invite them to some Emancipation day tings too, what wrong in dat? I say keep both days. Or if people want a singular day, have a day called a "Trinidad Peoples Day" so not just Afro or Indo but celebrating Syrian, Chinese, well everybody.

And Indo labourers came to impress black slaves......yuh realise 1838 is before 1847, ent?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 31st, 2014, 2:13 am

lol @ yur ignorance

but who cares, lets jus celebrate d the arrival of a great ppl who worked honestly & build this nation into the great empire it is!!