The official tropical weather thread - 2012

eekipoo

The official tropical weather thread - 2012

Postby eekipoo » March 2nd, 2012, 6:24 am

That was some heavy rainfall this morning. An as usual i ask the man himself "hook" what's the cause for this amount of rain this year? To the normal man like myself this seems strange based on previous years.

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby shogun » March 2nd, 2012, 6:29 am

I heard since January, they were expecting a wetter than usual "dry season."

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 2nd, 2012, 8:00 am

La Nina

The official tropical weather thread: image updates on pg 1

Postby Hook » March 2nd, 2012, 9:16 am

You believe just yesterday I had to field questions abt this in the bakery? D friggin bakery inno! Like ah shuda change mih juzzy to go buy hops after work :(

Anyway, Jan was 147% of the average, which is VERY significant, but got no fanfare. I haven't had the Feb figures in front of me yet, but I know it's slightly higher than the average...not enough to sound the Horn of Gondor, however..

Now, I'm not in the office 2day to access the data, and I hope I don't sound as though I'm talking down to anybody, but I don't see the point of getting worked up over one day of rain on the first day of the mth when we have 30 more days of March to ask "why we getting so much rain?"...now I hadda go to anodda bakery *steups*

Postby cinco » March 2nd, 2012, 9:20 am

people does get on like rain fallin is some act of god oui
IZ FORKIN RAIN IT DUZ FALL NOW AN DEN
if it was snowin den i wudda say yeh dat odd but oh shite man is just rain we grow up wid rain

Postby crazybalhead » March 2nd, 2012, 9:21 am

Trinituner Forums
868 Internet Lane,
Trinidad and Tobago.
2nd March 2012

Dear Mr. Hookly Hookington III,

It is with great displeasure that I have had to write this letter. In this, the dry season, we have had entirely too much rain. While this has allowed me to water plants and wash the car as I feel like, it has put a damper on other activities, such as work to be done on the house, and feting in a dry and water free manner.

Please be aware that this is the first strike on a three strike system of warning letters. I fully expect tempering of this rainy weather in time for Solodex on Sunday or further action against yourself will have to be taken.

Please be advised accordingly.

Yours Bossily,

C.B.Head

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » March 2nd, 2012, 9:22 am

Thanks but does it have a particular reason that the rainfall is actually that higher than usual? Just curious!

Postby cinco » March 2nd, 2012, 9:25 am

eekipoo wrote:Thanks but does it have a particular reason that the rainfall is actually that higher than usual? Just curious!

cloud in sky make um water
cloud get heavy
cloud cry
rain fall

Postby K74T » March 2nd, 2012, 9:32 am

lol @ cbh

Postby crazybalhead » March 6th, 2012, 8:38 am

Mr. Hookington.

You are really trying my patience.

Postby Hook » March 6th, 2012, 9:36 am

devil ting

Postby crazybalhead » March 6th, 2012, 9:39 am

The only reason youhave not received another warning letter YET is that I thoroughly enjoyed powersliding the car on Sunday. But my good nature should not be taken advantage of sir.

Postby toyolink » March 8th, 2012, 7:37 pm

Rain in Mc Bean for a while now and falling in a manner much like the middle of the rainy season.
The amount of rain that has fallen in this area over the last week plus is way above average and the ground is now saturated to the extent that if this continues for a couple more days flooding is the next event.
This takes me back to the 2004-2005 period when things weather wise were really dicey.
Really not looking forward to the scheduled rainy season.
Take my advice.....in preparation for the rainy season fix yuh roof,windows,guttering and clear and cut drains you have not paid attention to.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » March 9th, 2012, 8:02 am

rain from tableland straight to POS this morning

shoulda stay home and cover up :(

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2012, 8:39 am

Excellent Video showing all stages of hurricane development a overview of the inner mechanics and external forces that control its movements, strengths an death
Last edited by xtech on August 22nd, 2012, 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 9th, 2012, 8:47 am

damn it and i haz about 1000 plants ready to put down and the land ent prep yet
i know i should have build the damn green house,

with this rain it will be atleast 2 weeks before i can get a tractor in the back there again

Postby Habit7 » March 9th, 2012, 10:21 am

marijuana is illegal

Postby toyolink » March 9th, 2012, 10:34 am

Now is the time you start to see money going down the drain.
Construction related activities seeing real hell as if everything that could go wrong just coming together and the prognosis for latter in the year is even more troubling.

Postby Hook » March 9th, 2012, 11:53 am

what'd they say was gonna happen later this year?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 9th, 2012, 11:59 am

The end of the world!!!!

Postby crazybalhead » March 9th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Hook wrote:what'd they say was gonna happen later this year?

I heard a mild Hurricane season, with 10-12 moderate storms.

Postby Hook » March 9th, 2012, 12:48 pm

^^^ same thing I heard...doesn't seem troubling to me *shrugs*

Postby wagonrunner » March 9th, 2012, 12:54 pm

http://www.odpm.gov.tt/node/493
PUBLIC ADVISORY-Showery activity accompanied by occasional gusty winds to persist for at least the next 4-6 hours.
Fri, 2012-03-09 12:17 | kmaurice
Friday March 9, 2012- 12:00 p.m.

At 10:15 A.M., the TT Meteorological Service advised that periods of rain will continue to persist for at least the next 4-6 hours over Trinidad and Tobago owing to strong low level convergence. Of primary concern is the strength of gusty winds which will accompany these showers. Winds could gust in excess of 55km/hr and pose some level of threat to domestic infrastructure.

The rainfall overnight into today has swollen some river courses particularly in southern and central districts. There are reports of street/flash flooding in isolated areas of South Trinidad. Additional rainfall would most probably threaten flood prone areas within the Caroni and Naparima plains.

Citizens are advised to be vigilant and cautious as they conduct their activities. Be particularly aware of strong gusty winds and any accompanying debris that may have become airborne. Adopt measures which would preserve life and property.

The ODPM, as the lead coordinator of emergency management, has put the first responder agencies (TT Fire Service, TT Defence Force and the municipal corporations) on alert so that immediate assistance can be rendered if any adverse impact occurs. The ODPM reminds all citizens that if they have been affected by this inclement weather, they must contact their municipal corporation or 800 6376.

Consequently, we continue to underscore the following:-

• After heavy rainfall, stay inside until water levels have subsided and it is safe to venture outside.

• Do not walk / drive through flood waters.

• Be cautious when walking /driving along hillsides or landslide prone areas.

Trinidad and Tobago is NOT currently under any Tropical Storm threat, Watch or Warning. The TT Meteorological Services is monitoring this weather condition and will advise the ODPM if there are any noteworthy changes.

Postby Hook » March 9th, 2012, 12:57 pm

[is troubled]

Postby wagonrunner » March 9th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Is from the last line we can tell it's false. eh hookington?
What you monitoring, beside tuner on your computer monitor? :poke:

Postby Hook » March 9th, 2012, 1:14 pm

I not even in work 2day hoss :lol:

Postby toyolink » March 9th, 2012, 3:08 pm

The problem with weather in T&T has not been wind damages so much but rainfall.
I hope the 'home owners on the hill' took note from lasts years experience when hurricanes weren't much of a threat.
If nothing significant has been done anticipate more of maraval an environs to be slipping in all kinds of directions.
Hopefully,people ain't waiting on the gov't to come in and do the obvious.

link

Postby link » March 9th, 2012, 3:54 pm

cut dong more hillside nah.......one good earthquake & all dem hillside SLIDE DOWN.......no rain needed

geodude

Postby geodude » March 10th, 2012, 7:24 am

look at water!!!! all i can see is water!!!!!!!!

Postby toyolink » March 10th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Well another day is drawing to a close and there appears to be no let-up.