Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Advent

Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Postby Advent » July 28th, 2014, 6:22 am

Just curious to whats you guys think is a good salary in trinidad 8-)

Re: Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 28th, 2014, 6:25 am

That's a very vague question. What profession/field of work are we talking about?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 28th, 2014, 6:26 am

A good salary is only based on your money management skills.

Advent

Postby Advent » July 28th, 2014, 6:29 am

@Rory good point, i guess in the sense that a person can live comfortably, and maybe have a car ? so field shouldnt really make a difference here right ?

@cherry thats a great point also.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » July 28th, 2014, 6:51 am

if you have wife / kids $20,000

with out both $8,000

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » July 28th, 2014, 7:00 am

Xplode wrote:if you have wife / kids $20,000

with out both $8,000

I know someone, who used to send 3 kids to school plus buyin groceries wit d extras and is living comfortably with $800 a week.

Postby nemisis » July 28th, 2014, 7:03 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:
Xplode wrote:if you have wife / kids $20,000

with out both $8,000

I know someone, who used to send 3 kids to school plus buyin groceries wit d extras and is living comfortably with $800 a week.
define living comfortably, having a home you don't have to worry getting evicted from, or access to money in case of emergencies doesn't sound doable on 800 a week or do you mean comfortable is food on table and rent paid?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 28th, 2014, 7:27 am

feye dolla

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 28th, 2014, 7:27 am

delete
Last edited by agent007 on January 3rd, 2016, 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » July 28th, 2014, 7:31 am

^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

Postby brams112 » July 28th, 2014, 7:38 am

agent007 wrote:Well if you want to own a car and house, with expenditure for utilities, subscriptions, insurance, groceries, misc. items and maintenance and mandatory statutory deductions and save something reasonable at the end of the month you need to have at least a $25k gross salary. If you have a house wife and a kid and perhaps a second car then that figure is passing $30k a month. You may not have a benz or a boat or money to travel over seas every summer but you can live a very comfortable middle class life.

If you still living with parents and you have no debts to pay and your success is judged by what car you drive at the school reunion then as little as $8k a month gross can land you a brand new car from sparky to versa with a 10% dp. or you can easily buy a roro march/tiida/wingroad/corolla/axela with a 20% dp and still have money to lime.

One can save a lot of cash if they bring their home cooked food to work instead of buying a $30k-$40k lunch on a daily basis plus buy breakfast. That is $1,000. wasted on avg per month. Just a tip.

Plenty k's in your reply pappie,people who know about banning their belly does live within their means.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 28th, 2014, 7:41 am

lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

Do tell more about your company...

freshlexus2006

Postby freshlexus2006 » July 28th, 2014, 7:48 am

lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

Where do i sign up?

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » July 28th, 2014, 8:03 am

One of the guys is a fellow tuner here....The company is a typical EPCM, locals start at around 30k and move up from there.

Brandon101

Postby Brandon101 » July 28th, 2014, 8:04 am

link up ah boi na

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 28th, 2014, 8:06 am

ther is nothing like a "Good Salary " its what kinda life style u live will be based on the income you need

, i know people who work for less than $1500 a week , they have 2 kids wife doesn't work and the family is very happy , they are simple people no excessive spending , no ray band , clarks , armani , etc

And i know people who work for $20 000 a month , driving a benz ,renting a town house , always in a club on fri / sat , always has the bess clothes , shoes , eating in the most popular restaurants etc and begging for a $500 borrow b4 month end , cuz salary not enough , everyday buying lunch .

Simple life style less money to spend greater savings
exotic life style more money to spend , no savings cuz u always want the best

but i think the average salary to survive in trini is about $15 k as a single person to live a comfortable life

Postby Les Bain » July 28th, 2014, 8:26 am

Seems like ban belly does help out plenty.

Getting along decent enough personally without having to supplement the income but nearly everyone I know making extra on the side is using that money to pay of ridiculously huge debts they go out courting.

Postby pete » July 28th, 2014, 8:30 am

Brandon101 wrote:

link up ah boi na

How many fire trucks to pull out of the bush type assignments it takes to make that?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 8:33 am

hmm I does work for about $500 a week and does live comfortable on that.

Soon will be living on $150 a week when school starts. But I have it all figured out, will take PTSC bus to go POS for just $4 and walk the other 4 miles.

My big concern is paying my electric bill on that because this AC and computer does use atleast $300 per light bill cycle. So I will have to cut down on it, set timer to shut off the AC after i fall asleep and keep the fan going.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » July 28th, 2014, 8:58 am

lalloboy101 wrote:One of the guys is a fellow tuner here....The company is a typical EPCM, locals start at around 30k and move up from there.

Ok, NMWG.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 28th, 2014, 8:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hmm I does work for about $500 a week and does live comfortable on that.

Soon will be living on $150 a week when school starts.

Lived for 3 years on 3500 a month.. renting, working and studying some years back. Still had $$ to save and lime. Ban yuh belly does work.

As said before your lifestyle is a major factor. If you want to be living out and bling dong $15 - 25k easily. Salary ranges are vast and people like to fluff their feathers often (over exaggeration) I have employee's making $4k a month with children, car, house... they are doing it and still going on vacation, going "boat ride", playing mas...

You want to live in "tong" pay "tong price", I hear people renting $7 - 15k a month... that's mortgage payments! But instead its now dead money to you. Roof over your head in a 1/2 arse apartment in a "decent" area... I good, leave me on the outskirts of a populated area with water, power and internet. (still looking for the right place in gran couva though :mrgreen: )

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 28th, 2014, 9:12 am

Sabriel wrote:minimum gross wage $15,000...if an employee has a degree..
Skilled labourers/construction workers - $450 a day minimum

This may sometimes not apply to people with degrees who are employed in the Public Service

and the most a construction worker can get from my pov is 300 - 400 max.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 28th, 2014, 9:18 am

10k take home is a good start..

@ 007 I know several families who have all the things you listed and there salaries was not what you said,they had priorities and well ban belly thing nuh.

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 9:24 am

$38 million is good starting salary for a minister.
When you get big, you can increase to 300 million.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 9:25 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Lived for 3 years on 3500 a month.. renting, working and studying some years back. Still had $$ to save and lime. Ban yuh belly does work.

As said before your lifestyle is a major factor. If you want to be living out and bling dong $15 - 25k easily. Salary ranges are vast and people like to fluff their feathers often (over exaggeration) I have employee's making $4k a month with children, car, house... they are doing it and still going on vacation, going "boat ride", playing mas...

You want to live in "tong" pay "tong price", I hear people renting $7 - 15k a month... that's mortgage payments! But instead its now dead money to you. Roof over your head in a 1/2 arse apartment in a "decent" area... I good, leave me on the outskirts of a populated area with water, power and internet. (still looking for the right place in gran couva though :mrgreen: )

lol yeah this is so true.

At $2k sometimes a bit more per month it has done me well. I don't rent because I have my own place well its my mom's place but its a big house, yeah it a lil way in the bush you could say, but its fine by me, I have my high speed internet and everything heck my room has air conditioning aswell so I live quite comfortable, living rent free and just have to pay for myself $2k a month is more than enough and I can still save from it. lol

when I told my boss I could work just 1 day a week he taught I was smoking crack. He say nah something wrong with me, so because he feel I up to something like I have another Job he won't give me 1 day per week he rather I quit the Job. lol
I say nah I switching to fulltime classes and hence only have 1 day for work since I need the sunday for projects and homework etc. I tell the man if Gandhi could do it then so an I, he still in shock because he say he can't see anyone living on less than $4k a month.

You know simple things like in the night if you drink down boiled quick oats with just water it healthy and super cheap. A girl advise me on some dhal and roti. lol I never eat it but will try it, I could end up losing a lot of fat in this process aswell. I spent plenty years buying fast food and stuff eating my ass full, so its about time I compensate my body with some Gandhi living.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 28th, 2014, 9:31 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:hmm I does work for about $500 a week and does live comfortable on that.

Soon will be living on $150 a week when school starts. But I have it all figured out, will take PTSC bus to go POS for just $4 and walk the other 4 miles.

My big concern is paying my electric bill on that because this AC and computer does use atleast $300 per light bill cycle. So I will have to cut down on it, set timer to shut off the AC after i fall asleep and keep the fan going.
do you pay rent or mortgage with that $500 per week?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 9:37 am

^ No i do not.

I live with my mom still, but was given my own place as it was a big house. I just pay my portion of electric bill, internet, phone, food etc. The only heavy killer is electric due to a 12,000 BTU AC. Other than that I live comfortable. Sure I could use more money but you know its not an absolute necessity to survive.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 28th, 2014, 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 9:38 am

$500 a week? allyuh men does eat crix everyday or what?

Postby teems1 » July 28th, 2014, 9:42 am

All depends on housing and cooking situation. If you're eating out every meal, you'd be surprised how much money you could save.

Living with parents, you should earn enough to contribute to the bills/food while building your savings. Hard to put a figure here.

Renting a studio and living alone, 10k.

Renting an apartment with wife/sig other while looking for something more permanent, 15-20k min combined.

Full proper mortgage, 25k min combined.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 28th, 2014, 9:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ No i do not.

I live with my mom still, but was given my own place as it was a big house. I just pay my portion of electric bill, internet, phone, food etc. The only heavy killer is electric due to a 12,000 BTU AC. Other than that I live comfortable. Sure I could use more money but you know its not an absolute necessity to survive.

u have a car?