Digicel Internet Thread

R-H-D

Re: Digicel 100 down 30 up fibre optic internet.

Postby R-H-D » January 20th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Flow 30MBS normally gets 1.5-3.6 on 2wire.com pace so Digicel looks promising

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » May 31st, 2015, 9:10 pm

Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

Here is a test from my 200/50 package, to Garden City, NY.

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4399855667

If you are a business owner, and your home is within the business fibre area, you can sign up for a circuit at home, but pay the same rates as your business location.

mattu

Postby mattu » June 4th, 2015, 10:35 am

who ever is interested in Digi fibre feel free to pm me.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 4th, 2015, 7:11 pm

Caribnomad wrote:Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

If you are a business owner, and your home is within the business fibre area, you can sign up for a circuit at home, but pay the same rates as your business location.

This is impressive.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » June 4th, 2015, 8:34 pm

Caribnomad wrote:Someone asked recently for a speedtest to a Foreign destination:

how much u paying for this ?

Postby rfari » June 4th, 2015, 8:37 pm

sweet mother mary. :shock:
man have the equivalent of st. vincent bandwidth allocation dey yes

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » June 5th, 2015, 12:00 am

It's amazingly fast!

Speedhunterzz

Postby Speedhunterzz » June 5th, 2015, 10:20 am

Here are the current prices and packages
Capturehbjn.PNG

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » June 7th, 2015, 1:39 am

I'd be happy with flow except for their absolutely horrific service response times. My internet is more important to me than the T&TEC and WASA supply I can't afford to go without an internet connection for 5 minutes. (I could buy a generator and catch rain water I cyah create internet). I want a company that has a solid connection 25 out of 24 hrs per day. Further to that I also want a company that does same day service calls. I need a guarantee that if the net should go down that it will be back up the same day. I am 100% certain that digicel and flow are on a level playing field with regard to this and that's why I wouldn't waste the time trying digicel.

Speedhunterzz

Postby Speedhunterzz » June 7th, 2015, 3:04 pm

TESTED performance wrote:I'd be happy with flow except for their absolutely horrific service response times. My internet is more important to me than the T&TEC and WASA supply I can't afford to go without an internet connection for 5 minutes. (I could buy a generator and catch rain water I cyah create internet). I want a company that has a solid connection 25 out of 24 hrs per day. Further to that I also want a company that does same day service calls. I need a guarantee that if the net should go down that it will be back up the same day. I am 100% certain that digicel and flow are on a level playing field with regard to this and that's why I wouldn't waste the time trying digicel.

..so my fren whose internet do u have?TSTT?

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » June 22nd, 2015, 9:08 pm

tested performance, sounds like you need dedicated Fiber Internet to me.
Flow has that as well.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 22nd, 2015, 9:14 pm

If only Digicel offered residential internet.

They are missing out on so much customers, they have that line infront my house literally is just to apply but I doh need business package. I rather take 10MB for $200 from flow, such a no brainer really

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 22nd, 2015, 10:06 pm

Actually its a pretty smart business plan for them...if they can get most businesses to leave flow and tstt....they gonna make those companies suffer a bit and then roll out residential and cripple them

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 22nd, 2015, 10:11 pm

right now they have a survey going on about internet and cable so hopefully that means they'll be ready to launch both services to residential customers soon

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 22nd, 2015, 10:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:If only Digicel offered residential internet.

They are missing out on so much customers, they have that line infront my house literally is just to apply but I doh need business package. I rather take 10MB for $200 from flow, such a no brainer really
residential packages coming soon, maybe in a few weeks

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 22nd, 2015, 10:37 pm

wow this is great. So its confirmed Digicel using their own undersea fibre line right?
Wonders if they gonna offer packages cheaper than Flow?

This means there is little to worry about if C&W buys over flow. hmmm. But still would love competition from 3 ISP really didn't want Blink to Become Flow. But TSTT is really irrelevant at this point, dunno how they gonna survive the coming years. Flow is already in most areas that TSTT is in, I dunno nah, I heard TATT wants to force C&W to sell their 49% stake in TSTT. Ok this is good but realistically TSTT is dead when this happens.

After seeing those incredibly low pings on Flow service, I realize TSTT is a waste now with this copper DSL lines. If is one thing manning do good was open up the telecom market to competition yes.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 23rd, 2015, 4:19 am

Flow was already bought eh....just saying...

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2015, 10:43 am

I need a business connection bad, where my business located all we have is TSTT which is very unreliable, Flow has a cable and doesn't even know why there is no "junction points", spoke to Digicel and they said they might be coming July. I'm hoping for the best

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » June 23rd, 2015, 10:50 am

Pretty sure they would use all the assets they can: They acquired this undersea cable a long time ago:
http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2014 ... ine-assets

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:wow this is great. So its confirmed Digicel using their own undersea fibre line right?

Speedhunterzz

Postby Speedhunterzz » July 6th, 2015, 5:07 pm

If you guys need info on Digicel Fibre internet PM me.
We have reach in Diego---->POS----San Juan---->Macoya----->Piarco---->Cunupia--->Monroe rd---->Chaguanas

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » July 6th, 2015, 9:40 pm

Business package is a two year contract but speeds and uptime is very impressive. Residential is supposed to roll out in full by year's end.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 11th, 2015, 9:07 pm

Cable run last week in Princes Town.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » July 23rd, 2015, 1:20 pm

problems with Digicel internet some fibre issue

abbow

Postby abbow » July 23rd, 2015, 1:37 pm

fibre damaged between st vincent and grenada....all ISP's affected....

not sure if this was due to seismic activity.....

ModMania

Postby ModMania » July 23rd, 2015, 3:22 pm

Between ARCOS, Americas 2, SCF, Fibralink, things pretty legit for one stupid volcano to destroy the whole internet

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 4:31 pm

So is the fiber buried under the sand? still amazed how man achieved this. submarine fiber

What could be worse case scenario if the volcano goes ape sh!t?

RB34

Postby RB34 » July 23rd, 2015, 7:42 pm

From what I hear Digicel and TSTT got hit hardest because they have no redundancy. FLOW/Columbus/CW whatever you want to call them just moved traffic to their ARCOS links.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 23rd, 2015, 8:27 pm

How is 73ms to Garden City even possible from this location?

Can someone with flow please do a test to garden city aswell? and another test to New York City

thanks

RB34

Postby RB34 » July 23rd, 2015, 8:33 pm

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4527291767

That is my home connection from flow, cable modem, not fibre

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 23rd, 2015, 8:41 pm

Saw they reached Williamsville, can't wait to sign up