Re: ISIS in T&T?

Postby sMASH » August 3rd, 2016, 9:21 pm

So what might be their charges?

Re: RE: Re: ISIS in T&T?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 3rd, 2016, 9:33 pm

sMASH wrote:So what might be their charges?

Being douche bags

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 3rd, 2016, 10:14 pm

boxy wrote:
bluefete wrote:2 years. 2 flipping years and Nat Sec Minister still talking, talking, talking. Even if you came into office 1 year ago, you should have legislation in place by now to make these people stateless.

This cannot happen anywhere in the world. You cannot revoke someones citizenship wha yuh go do send them to Atlantis? That is why people who are charged with treason get the death penalty and it is carried out most of the time.

well the pnm did do that Stokely Carmichael....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2016, 10:57 pm

Hopefully one day we can move past this superstition of religious nonsense and embrace science and reason. We are getting there but its taking a while. The sooner we move onto renewable energy and cut ties with places like Saudi Arabia the safer the western world will be, right now the Western World is a lot more dangerous than it used to be ever since the war against the Nazis.

The American presidential election is currently the single most important thing on this planet, unless Trump wins this election we are going to be in for some serious issues with ISIS here in the west because politically correct left wing leaders are importing this ideology wholesale into the west. And the only man who have the balls to stand up to political correctness and career politicians seems to be Trump. Just look at what Merkel has done to Europe she even forced Britain to exit the EU because of her lunatic policies of open door to anybody. Making Europe more dangerous than ever before now there is mass rape against the German Women even thousands of children sexually assaulted.

Just look at the Hillary campaign it is a spitting image of the lunatic campaign by Kamla Persad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 3rd, 2016, 11:23 pm

The PNM is currently the best government we have to deal with ISIS in T&T, yes I am aware this is an incompetent government but lets all be thankful that it is not Kamla in power, she would have probably implemented a "ISIS Grant" to deal with the problem. The Baby grant was only the beginning.

boxy

Postby boxy » August 4th, 2016, 12:29 am

bluespeed wrote:
boxy wrote:
bluefete wrote:2 years. 2 flipping years and Nat Sec Minister still talking, talking, talking. Even if you came into office 1 year ago, you should have legislation in place by now to make these people stateless.

This cannot happen anywhere in the world. You cannot revoke someones citizenship wha yuh go do send them to Atlantis? That is why people who are charged with treason get the death penalty and it is carried out most of the time.

well the pnm did do that Stokely Carmichael....

Was he a dual.citizenship holder? I heard of him when I was young never knew that he was targeted by the govt

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 4th, 2016, 12:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hopefully one day we can move past this superstition of religious nonsense and embrace science and reason. We are getting there but its taking a while. The sooner we move onto renewable energy and cut ties with places like Saudi Arabia the safer the western world will be, right now the Western World is a lot more dangerous than it used to be ever since the war against the Nazis.

The American presidential election is currently the single most important thing on this planet, unless Trump wins this election we are going to be in for some serious issues with ISIS here in the west because politically correct left wing leaders are importing this ideology wholesale into the west. And the only man who have the balls to stand up to political correctness and career politicians seems to be Trump. Just look at what Merkel has done to Europe she even forced Britain to exit the EU because of her lunatic policies of open door to anybody. Making Europe more dangerous than ever before now there is mass rape against the German Women even thousands of children sexually assaulted.

Just look at the Hillary campaign it is a spitting image of the lunatic campaign by Kamla Persad.
you really different yes.

Postby Redman » August 4th, 2016, 7:31 am

Isis killing people that want to leave and them fellas on every radar in terms of airlines that might not want a jihadist flying with them.
So I doubt any of them coming back.

If he come back he should cut the mother toe nails....yuck !

Postby rspann » August 4th, 2016, 6:33 pm

It was Dr Williams that was afraid of Kwame Ture inflaming the Black Power situation in Trinidad,who banned him from returning to T&T. ANR Robinson revoked the ban and he returned to Trinidad.The Government however gave him a grant of about twelve hundred dollars monthly in his last days while he was dying from cancer.

Postby shogun » August 5th, 2016, 1:07 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hopefully one day we can move past this superstition of religious nonsense and embrace science and reason. We are getting there but its taking a while. The sooner we move onto renewable energy and cut ties with places like Saudi Arabia the safer the western world will be, right now the Western World is a lot more dangerous than it used to be ever since the war against the Nazis.

I would love to sit and have a few drinks with ED and just ask his opinions about issues of the day

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 5th, 2016, 7:17 am

ED form ah party nah!

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 5th, 2016, 7:27 am

Be careful what you ask for. ..

Postby bluefete » December 22nd, 2016, 8:37 pm

Blah blah blah blah. And still no one is doing anything about it. The FIU is a toothless bulldog. it was not given the legislative powers necessary to follow up on its findings.

I say (AGAIN) make all of them stateless. Also, those who are sending money from T&T to fund ISIS should be arrested indefinitely. But then I am just an ordinary citizen.

182 T&T citizens suspected in terrorist activity
...and more suspicious transactions are being reported

Published on Dec 22, 2016, 2:48 pm AST
By Sandhya Santoo Multimedia Desk

fighting for isis: Trinidadian fighters Shane Crawford, from left, Arshad Mohammed and three other unidentified Trinidadians pose for a photo, wearing military gear and holding assault weapons, in Syria in 2015.

THERE are 182 Trinidad and Tobago nationals suspected of being involved in terrorist activities, according to a Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) report.

This was revealed on Thursday by Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Stuart Young during the post cabinet briefing.

Young said when parliament resumes on January 6 the Minister of Finance will disclose the 2015-2016 report from the FIU, and outline several issues including financing of terrorism, money laundering, private members club and financial institutions.

He said the FIU, which is an independent international monitoring body, reported that Trinidad and Tobago has received a total of 739 suspicious transaction reports (STRs) and suspicious activity report (SARs).

There has been a 21.3 per cent increase from last year's report, said Young.

He said three sectors showed the increase in suspicious transaction reports and suspicious activity reports - banking, money value transfer services and private members clubs.

Young explained that of the 739 suspicious transaction reports and suspicious activity reports received, 670 were related to suspected money laundering while 69 were related to suspected financing of terrorism.

“For the review period the FIU completed an analysis of 533 STRs and SARs of which 490 were related to suspected money laundering activities and 43 related to the financing of terrorism. The analysis of these STRs and SARs generated 209 intelligence reports of which 170 related to suspected money laundering and 31 related to financing of terrorism. Of the 209 intelligence reports which were generated 150 were sent to local law enforcement agencies, 59 were spontaneous disclosures which were disseminated to foreign law enforcement agencies, foreign FIUs and local competent authorities,” said Young.

Young said that the total monetary value of the 739 suspicious transaction reports submitted to the FIU was $805.5 million, for 2016. There was 127 per cent increase over 2015, he said.

In relation to financing of terrorism, Young said it was a global concern which had significantly increased.

He said: “The global landscape with respect to terrorism and the financing of terrorism continues to evolve with a phenomenon of foreign terrorist fighters whose local impact was evident in a significant increase of 331.3 per cent in suspicious transaction reports. So what we found between the period last year to this year's period, we've had an increase in what appears to be the financing in foreign terrorism fighters of over 331 per cent. So it's increased from 16 into 2015 to 69 in 2016, and at the end of the 2016 reporting period FIUs intelligence has revealed 182 citizens of Trinidad and Tobago being suspected of being involved in terrorist activities.

So for the period of 2016 what the FIU has picked up in their STRs and SARs is that approximately 182 Trinidad and Tobago citizens may be involved we suspect they are involved in the financing of terrorist activities.”

Young said that anytime someone conducts a suspicious transaction this has to be reported to the FIU.

He said: “The STRs and SARs are banks, other financial institutions, private members clubs, attorneys, real estate agents, anytime there is something that draws their suspicion or anything that appears to have suspicious transactions or suspicious activity they're supposed to feed that information to the FIU.”

Growing Trend

According to the Minister, for the 2016 period, “we have an emergence of wire transfers of jurisdiction suspected of involvement of human trafficking and the use of fraudulent certificates of insurance and false documentation to support claims arising for motor vehicular accidents.”

Explain your wealth

The Minister said the Minister of Finance would be speaking on the “explain your wealth” provision, which would combat against white collar crime and sophisticated types of transactions.

Young said: “Explain your wealth would assist in combatting these types of instances because it allows you to go to those persons who have these type of lifestyle and if it seems out of sync with what official should be and you are allowed as the authority to provide proof that they are living a legitimate and lawful lifestyle.”

Postby bluefete » December 22nd, 2016, 8:38 pm

I wonder who is laughing at ED now.

Postby bluefete » December 22nd, 2016, 8:51 pm

This is from a year ago. Look at some of the Trinis fighting for ISIS. Maybe some or all are dead or still alive.

And all our police would say is that they are checking on it.

Why would we want these jihadists to come back to T&T?

http://www.express.co.uk/news/world/618 ... dad-Tobago

ISIS in the Caribbean: Islamic State in alarming call to arms to jihadis on paradise isle

ISLAMIC STATE'S feared terror network has infiltrated idyllic holiday destinations in the Caribbean popular with Britons, in the latest worrying sign that the jihadi group's self-styled Caliphate is expanding.
By Tom Batchelor
PUBLISHED: 07:00, Tue, Nov 10, 2015 | UPDATED: 08:03, Tue, Nov 10, 2015

Abu Zayd al-Muhajir and his three sons

Propaganda footage to emerge from the barbaric organisation shows a man sitting beside his three children issuing a call for Muslims on the idyllic islands of Trinidad and Tobago to rise up.

Cyber hackers linked to the Islamist group twice attacked the government computers of Jamaica and St. Vincent and Grenadines over the summer.

A top American general also warned earlier this year that 100 militants have already left Caribbean countries to fight with ISIS in Syria.

Marine Gen. John F Kelly, chief of the US Southern Command, said extremists could potentially get across the US border when they return home.

He added that small nations such as Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and Suriname were concerned about fighters returning because they didn't have the resources to deal with the threat.

In the video, a man, identified as Abu Zayd al-Muhajir, claimed he had fled his homeland because Muslims in Trinidad and Tobago were restricted in what they could do.

He said people were free to wear the hijab or other Islamic clothing but that in reality Muslims were only allowed to practice what they were told.

He said: "The only practice that you can practice is what they tell you is halal [permissible] to practice.

"The other aspects of Islam are haram [forbidden] for you.

"You cannot practice your deen [Islamic way of life] 100 per cent.

"It was yearning for me that I knew I had to leave, I had to leave this land.

"I cannot sit and watch my children grow up in this land in which they cannot practice their Islam 100 per cent."

The three boys at an ISIS-run school

Muhajir said his three young sons were now studying Maths, English and Islam at an ISIS-run school.

The video, entitled, "Those who Believe and Made the Hijra," was posted on social media.

Militants filmed in the video at a shooting range

Abu Khalid converted from Christianity to Islam

Another fighter interviewed in the 11 minute film, Abu Khalid, said he had converted to Islam because of "the way the Muslims care about themselves, how they care about themselves, their family structure".

He said he felt that he did not belong in Trinidad and that after reading sections of the Koran, he "started to understand that fighting is something that has been prescribed upon Muslims".

Abu Mansour al-Muhajir, another fighter from the twin island Caribbean country, said he had travelled to Syria to fight allies of the devil.

He said: "Allah is inciting us to fight the friends of Satan for they are weak.

"This is a time when the Prophet, Allah's peace and blessings be upon him, mentioned that there will come a time when all the nations of the world will gather around to wipe you out?

"Who? The Muslim. As we speak today, over 60 nations of this world sign on to wipe out us, but Allah, Glorified and Exalted be He, is with us.

"I hope and pray that Allah, Glorified and Exalted be He, will guide us and protect us and bring us to this land so that we will make jihad for this cause and to gain the reward of Allah, Glorified and Exalted be He."

Abu Mansour al-Muhajir, another fighter from the twin island Caribbean country

Reports of Trinidadians making the trip to Syria to fight for ISIS first emerged last year when the island republic's former national security minister, Gary Griffith, claimed around 30 citizens were now terrorist fighters.

The United Nations has also warned the country is being used as a recruiting ground for the terror group.

It is not the first threat to the relatively peaceful Caribbean states from Islamic extremism.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » December 22nd, 2016, 10:17 pm

Dem fellaz not coming back here to Trinidad...we hav bigger threats dan isis in tnt...corrupt police,politicians,businessmen n criminals doin worst dan isis if u really check....

VII

Postby VII » December 22nd, 2016, 10:38 pm

BUSHMASTER wrote:Dem fellaz not coming back here to Trinidad...we hav bigger threats dan isis in tnt...corrupt police,politicians,businessmen n criminals doin worst dan isis if u really check....

Thank you sir!!

There's hope after all!!
Last edited by VII on December 22nd, 2016, 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 22nd, 2016, 10:38 pm

It is interesting that the FIU has info of STRs and SARs, not only for suspected ISIS activities, but for others. Yet how many persons has been questioned, charged? Our institutions are failing and if you have a differing view, they call for your head. Just ask David West of the PCA .........

For the longest while the FIU has been a paper tiger. In other jurisdictions more would have been done.

Postby bluefete » February 17th, 2017, 11:29 am

Trinidad & Tobago tries to halt fighters to Islamic State
[Associated Press]
RICARDO NUNES
Associated PressFebruary 16, 2017

In this Feb. 9, 2017 photo, Umar Abdullah, head of the Islamic Front in southern Trinidad, speaks during an interview in Two Princesses Town, Trinidad and Tobago. Umar Abdullah said he has actively discouraged members from traveling to Syria to fight. He said he knew several young men who had become IS fighters, although he declined to provide specifics. (AP Photo/Ricardo Nunez)

This Feb. 9, 2017 photo, shows the ASJA Jammah Masjid Mosque in Two Princesses Town, Trinidad and Tobago. Security officials and terrorism experts believe that as many as 125 fighters and their relatives have traveled from Trinidad and Tobago to Turkey and on to IS-controlled areas over the last four years, making it the largest per-capita source of IS recruits in the Western Hemisphere.(AP Photo/Ricardo Nunes)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago (AP) — A Caribbean island nation has become an unlikely source of fighters and funding for the Islamic State militant group, prompting an internationally backed effort to stem the flow of money and recruits to Syria and Iraq.

Security officials and terrorism experts believe that as many as 125 fighters and their relatives have traveled from Trinidad and Tobago to Turkey and on to IS-controlled areas over the last four years, making the country of 1.3 million people the largest per-capita source of IS recruits in the Western Hemisphere.

The Islamic State has put out propaganda videos and magazines featuring bearded fighters with lilting Trinidadian accents training in the desert with sniper rifles and encouraging their countrymen to join them.

Alarmed, Trinidadian state security officials have launched intensive surveillance and monitoring of the country's homegrown Islamist movements, which have a history of militancy and crossover with the country's violent criminal gangs. Saying their efforts are bearing fruit, Trinidad and Tobago officials have recently proposed legislation to crack down on the flow of money to Islamic State fighters overseas by establishing criminal penalties for those sending money to the group.

"There's always a concern in terms of money leaving Trinidad and Tobago that could be involved with terrorist activities," National Security Minister Edmund Dillon said. "There is a minority in the Muslim community and there is a minority in the criminal community that is hellbent on committing these types of offenses."

U.S. officials have described themselves as deeply concerned about the combatants and funds heading out of Trinidad and Tobago. They say they are working with the islands' government on intelligence-sharing and new legislation, as well as sponsoring trips for Muslim leaders to the U.S. to meet Islamic leaders working on anti-extremism programs.

"They are certainly not the only ones worried about this phenomenon of self-radicalization and how easy it has become," said U.S. Navy Adm. Kurt Tidd, who is responsible for Department of Defense operations in Central and South America and the Caribbean. "They need to be able to understand what are the conditions that might predispose individuals to become radicalized and then to be able to take steps to try to stop that from occurring before people go down that path with the tragic results we have seen in everyplace from Paris to Brussels to Berlin to Orlando to San Bernardino."

Tidd praised Trinidad and Tobago for adopting anti-terrorism legislation and cooperating with the U.S. and other international partners.

"Trinidad is a serious country and recognizes that there is work to be done," Tidd said.

Some hard-line Muslim leaders have opposed the new efforts, instead blaming the government for failing to improve the lives of poor, largely Afro-Trinidad youth who can find themselves drawn in by IS recruiters.

An oil-rich nation just off the coast of Venezuela, Trinidad and Tobago has long been celebrated for its rich mix of cultural influences, primarily rooted in India and Africa. Its Muslim minority of Indian-descended families and Afro-Trinidadian converts includes dozens of mainstream mosques and more militant strains such as the Jamaat al Muslimeen, an organization responsible for a 1990 coup attempt classified as the Western Hemisphere's only Islamist uprising.

"I think that the indictment is on the government, past and present," said Yasin Abu Bakr, leader of the Jamaat Al Muslimeen, which has seen as least two members travel to Syria. "Why would the young people in a place like Trinidad and Tobago, the land of steel band and calypso, carnival and gaiety, chutney and all the rest of it. Why would a young person take up his family and go to a place where death is almost certain. Why would somebody do that? That is the big question that the state has to answer."

Umar Abdullah, head of the hard-line Islamic Front group in southern Trinidad, said he has actively discouraged members from traveling to Syria to fight. He said he knew several young men who had become IS fighters, although he declined to provide specifics.

"I do feel responsible in some way with some of these brothers that have left and gone to Syria and fight and so on," Abdullah said. "I felt I could have done a lot more, I felt I could have dissuaded them."

At the same time, Abdullah defended IS recruits as legitimate defenders of embattled Muslims in Syria and Iraq, comparing them favorably to Western soldiers involved in military actions in the Middle East.

"Whosoever has left and gone Syria, how can they call them terrorist," Abdullah said. "I would call my guys freedom fighters as well."

The Trump administration attempts to block travelers from seven Muslim-majority countries has raised sensitivities in Trinidad and Tobago about what some call an alarmist focus on the country's problem with IS recruiting.

But some of Trinidad's Islamist leaders say they approve of Trump's attempted crackdown on visitors from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen, and admire what they call his bold and decisive leadership style.

"I am in agreement with Donald Trump 110 percent," Abu Bakr said. "More than that, I have a lot of admiration for Donald Trump."

_____

Ben Fox in Miami, Michael Weissenstein in Havana and Tony Fraser in Port of Spain contributed to this report.

_____

Michael Weissenstein on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mweissenstein
4 reactions on Trinidad & Tobago tries to halt fighters to Islamic State
Green pigeon peas
Marvin
Marvin
yesterday
Anyone trying to run away to join the Islamic State should have their knee caps removed.
Anton
Anton
23 hours ago
" A Caribbean island nation has become an unlikely source of fighters"

Every country with Muslim populations is a "likely source"
Ralph
Ralph
47 minutes ago
Trinidad is no different than other nations that have youths that are easily brainwashed and radicalized via the internet and social media. It has nothing to do with poverty because many youths around the world who join ISIS are not poverty stricken. Some even come from well to do homes. You cannot even place radicalization on race either. All skin colors can and become radicalized into Islamic religious terrorism. They feel that they are freedom fighters, protecting their belief system that's been under assault in the Middle East and elsewhere.
jazzbooksfood
17 hours ago
No surprise that Muslim hard-liners admire Trumpolini. They know their own.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 31st, 2017, 11:59 am

US designates T&T fighter in Syria a terrorist
Published on Mar 30, 2017, 10:00 pm AST
By Camille Hunte

Trinidad and Tobago national Shane Crawford has been placed on a United States terror list, which prohibits US nationals from engaging in any transactions with him.

Crawford was identified as a Specially Designated Global Terrorist (SDGT) by the US State Department and listed as a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago who is believed to be fighting with terror group ISIS in Syria.

He was one of six persons sanctioned by the US for supporting terrorism. The sanctions include freezing of any property or property interests under US jurisdiction.

Crawford, who also goes by the name Abu Sa'd at Trinidadi, appeared in an ISIS recruitment video last year where he called for Muslims in Trinidad to commit acts of violence against “non-believers”.

He first entered the public eye after being detained during the 2011 state of emergency and was investigated for an alleged plot to kill former prime minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Despite being detained for 14 days, no charges were laid against him.

The US State Department has identified Crawford as an English language interpreter and propagandist for ISIS.

Under US law, sanctions are imposed on “foreign persons determined to have committed, or pose a significant risk of committing, acts of terrorism that threaten the security of US nationals, or the national security, foreign policy, or economy of the United States.”

Listed along with Crawford was El Shafee Elsheikh, said to be a member of an ISIS execution faction known as “The Beatles” which is accused of beheading more than 27 hostages and committing other atrocities.

Jailed British extremist Anjem Choudary, Swedish citizen Sami Bouras, said to be a member of Al Qaeda, and Mark John Taylor, a New Zealand national said to be fighting in Syria since 2014, were also listed as SDGTs and sanctioned by the US.

Locally, the Government has proposed anti-terrorism legislation that would impose significant fines and penalties for terrorism financing or joining terrorist groups.

Some 130 T&T nationals are suspected to have left this country to engage in terrorist activity overseas.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170330 ... -terrorist

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2017, 1:45 pm

^ Isn't all fighters for ISIS in Syria a terrorist?

Postby Dizzy28 » March 31st, 2017, 2:16 pm

Crawford still living??
By now I thought a drone would have exited him from this world.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2017, 11:14 am

12 deportees back home
Published on Apr 28, 2017, 11:07 pm AST
By Alexander Bruzual

Twelve nationals of Trinidad and Tobago arrived in the country yesterday afternoon after they were deported from Turkey.
This was confirmed after Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime and Support) Wayne Dick held a special news conference yesterday morning at the Police Administration Building in Port of Spain.
One of the key bits of information that the Deputy Commissioner relayed to the media was that the group comprised men, women, and children, and that, as of yesterday morning, the T&T Police Service (TTPS) had received no information from Turkish authorities which could point definitively to any members of the group having links with any terrorist or radical groups, including Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS).
“Our information is that men, women and children will be returning. We (also) have no information whatsoever linking these persons, who are expected to arrive, with Shane Crawford (a T&T national who joined ISIS forces in Syria). We also have no information as to their involvement in any aspect whatsoever as far as ISIS is concerned,” Dick told the media.
Crawford was one of the first people from this country confirmed to have left Trinidad to fight for ISIS. He was severely injured in a drone strike last October and “eventually succumbed to his injuries”.
The Deputy Commissioner, when pressed by the media, said that the TTPS had been given identities for all 12 persons, but they wished to verify the information given through interviews and background checks upon their arrival.
Dick stressed to the media that the group would not be “arrested or detained” upon their arrival, but he acknowledged that they would be questioned in detail before being released.
“Up to this point (yesterday morning), no one will be arrested. They are considered just 12 persons who have been deported from Turkey.
“As to why they have been deported, we have limited information from the Turkish authorities, but we are hoping that when they (the 12 persons as well as Turkish agents) get here, through continued efforts and investigations we will learn more as to the reasons they are deported.
“It is quite natural that when persons are deported they are interviewed with a view of ascertaining why they were deported and, therefore, seeing as they are the subjects, as deportees, along with the agents who would escort them…all will be interviewed,” Dick said.
In August 2016, Turkish newspaper Daily Sabah reported that nine Trinidad and Tobago nationals were expected to be deported back to T&T from Turkey.
Among the group were women who were said to have been pregnant.
They were held in a truck after officials received a tip-off that a group of “foreigners” were attempting to cross the country’s borders to join terrorist organisation ISIS.
The Daily Sabah reported Turkish authorities had thwarted an attempt to smuggle the nine Trinidad and Tobago nationals from southern Turkey to the ISIS terrorist organisation in Syria and that a Syrian man was held in connection with the smuggling operation.
Up to press time last night, the 12 had not yet left the airport.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2017, 8:44 pm

seeing muslims scamper through an airport the way they did was frightening as fcuk(given all the nonsense going on around the world and well the circumstances surrounding their return)

Postby The_Honourable » August 14th, 2017, 10:13 pm

'Terrorists likely to carry out attacks in T&T'

...UK updates travel advisory

Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) on Friday updated its travel advisory on Trinidad and Tobago.

The advice went from “There is a general threat from terrorism” in T&T to “Terrorists are likely to try to carry out attacks in Trinidad & Tobago.”

Acting Prime Minister and acting Head of the National Security Council Colm Imbert remained unresponsive to emails, calls and text messages on the topic yesterday.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley was in Barbados on a private trip for the weekend.

In full, the UK government's updated verbatim advice is now: “Terrorists are likely to try to carry out attacks in Trinidad & Tobago. Attacks could be indiscriminate, including in places visited by foreigners. Although there have been no recent attacks in Trinidad and Tobago, more than 100 Trinidad and Tobago nationals have travelled to Syria and Iraq to fight along with Daesh (formerly referred to as ISIL) and are likely to pose a security threat on return.

“There's also a threat from individuals who may have been inspired by terrorist groups, including Daesh and al Qaeda, to carry out so-called 'lone actor' attacks targeting public events or places. On January 30, 2017, the Ministry of National Security of Trinidad and Tobago confirmed that it works closely with international partners - especially the United States, Britain and Canada - in strategic areas such as intelligence and information sharing on people who are found to be associated with any terrorist group, whether locally or internationally.

“There's a heightened threat of terrorist attack globally against UK interests and British nationals, from groups or individuals motivated by the conflict in Iraq and Syria. You should be vigilant at this time. Find out more about the global threat from terrorism, how to minimise your risk and what to do in the event of a terrorist attack.”

The August 11 update replaced what was in effect from March 1 to August 10, under the same 'terrorism' heading, which was: “There is a general threat from terrorism. Attacks could be indiscriminate, including in places visited by foreigners. There is considered to be a heightened threat of terrorist attack globally against UK interests and British nationals, from groups or individuals motivated by the conflict in Iraq and Syria. You should be vigilant at this time. Find out more about the global threat from terrorism, how to minimise your risk and what to do in the event of a terrorist attack.”

The British also updated its section on Tobago. The March 1 advice on Tobago was: “Incidents of violent crime in Tobago are rare, but two German tourists were murdered in November 2014, on Minister's Bay in the Bacolet area. A British national was murdered in the Riseland area of Tobago in October 2015.” On August 11, it was updated to say only: “Incidents of violent crime in Tobago are rare.”

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170814 ... acks-in-tt

Postby matr1x » August 14th, 2017, 11:00 pm

Can't we just round them up and send them "home "? No big loss

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2017, 6:39 am

nah^...no money can be made by doing that

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2017, 11:16 am

The same British who missed Manchester and London predictiing an attack in Trinidad??

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The same British who missed Manchester and London predictiing an attack in Trinidad??

Ah quicker take the British seriously than Dillon.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » August 16th, 2017, 10:13 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The same British who missed Manchester and London predictiing an attack in Trinidad??

Haha so tru...white ppl jus trying to b important nuh