Income Tax Refunds

shiv2111

Re: Income Tax Refunds

Postby shiv2111 » October 4th, 2018, 11:30 am

Still waiting on my return. Filed since May 2018.

Support services say once it is over 7k, it needs to be audited. Time frame is between 6mths to a year.

You guys got your returns as yet?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » October 4th, 2018, 12:23 pm

Filed about the 3rd of September online, got it before the month finished. Filed for three years, got back $7.3k total.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » October 10th, 2018, 6:09 am

Hey. Anyone know if it's possible to check on the progress of your tax return? Some coworkers of mine who I filed with received their returns some months back. But I've yet to receive anything.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 10th, 2018, 6:38 am

i owing dem. wah go happen if i doh pay ?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 10th, 2018, 7:58 am

screwbash wrote:i owing dem. wah go happen if i doh pay ?
Interest is added to the owing balance

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 10th, 2018, 9:54 am

Is there any lawyer to assist with refunds received ? Scenario is I received a refund and then got audited and was told I owe them a few thousands back....they added over 100% Interest too.......over a 3-4 yr period without replying to my objection........

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » October 10th, 2018, 7:04 pm

Kronik wrote:
screwbash wrote:i owing dem. wah go happen if i doh pay ?
Interest is added to the owing balance

Correct.
To the other question, you can call the etax number or bir and they can check the status over the phone with you. Have your bir # ready as they will ask for it.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 11th, 2018, 7:26 am

Similar situation to myself Prem but I didn't make an issue out of it. I just did not want my name to be blacklisted within so I let that slide.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 11th, 2018, 8:09 am

Cool. Thanks

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2018, 11:45 am

Finally got around to filing 2016 and 2017.
Hopefully if the 8-12 weeks period for processing holds as some of you all experienced I can get a little something for Christmas.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » November 2nd, 2018, 2:14 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Is there any lawyer to assist with refunds received ? Scenario is I received a refund and then got audited and was told I owe them a few thousands back....they added over 100% Interest too.......over a 3-4 yr period without replying to my objection........

You can contact the objections department and request a meeting with one of the officers. Sometimes the notices or letters they forward to you may have a name of someone to contact. I recently had an issue with my taxes and had it rectified with one of the officers earlier this year. Seems as though they were owing me yet they had charged me interest for several years. In my case, I was right and had no outstanding balances but was still being charged interest for no reason. However, if you are in the wrong then you may not have any option but to pay the interest fees.

Still haven't received my refund for 2016 though (possibly due to audits or them rectifying the matter) but got 2017 instead (since this one likely had no issues).

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » November 11th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Got my cheque on Friday.. Sometime in August I dropped it

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » December 5th, 2018, 12:40 pm

I've never filed any returns. How many years back can I go? My biggest item would be a mortgage I took out in 2011, that i'd like to get back. I believe i'm entitled to $18,000 allowance per year for the first 5 years.

Postby pete » December 5th, 2018, 2:44 pm

From 2015 was 25000 for first time home owner too

Postby Dave » December 5th, 2018, 2:58 pm

Six years of records are what you are required to keep. After that it is statue barred.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » January 1st, 2019, 8:49 pm

Guys, so just need a little info plz.. I was working with a company and I switched later down in 2018, I paid taxes with both company.
How do I go about filing tax return? Do I have to do 2 separate forms?

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » January 1st, 2019, 9:06 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:Guys, so just need a little info plz.. I was working with a company and I switched later down in 2018, I paid taxes with both company.
How do I go about filing tax return? Do I have to do 2 separate forms?
No just one return to fill out (2018). Simple add/subtract td4s.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 26th, 2019, 2:41 pm

Filling out a TD1 for 2019 which I normally don't do preferring to just get a refund. But IRD is taking so long with refunds now I rather pay less taxes to start with.

Checked the online system where I filed 2016 and 2017 and no new info r.e. status of those two years.
All the previous returns I did online were processed in pretty fast time however those two sure have become stuck.

Postby Kenjo » February 26th, 2019, 3:43 pm

You sure there aren’t issues ? I did 2017 in December 2018 and got me refund check within 5 weeks if so long

Postby Dizzy28 » February 26th, 2019, 4:20 pm

Kenjo wrote:You sure there aren’t issues ? I did 2017 in December 2018 and got me refund check within 5 weeks if so long

Not seeing any issues identified online.

shiv2111

Postby shiv2111 » February 26th, 2019, 4:39 pm

Yeah they sticking.

I submitted online since May 2018 (for 2017). Still waiting for it to be processed as of right now.

Called the e-tax office, they said once it crosses a certain amount, it needs to be approved. Of course you cannot talk to anyone who approves them though. :roll:

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » February 26th, 2019, 9:43 pm

shiv2111 wrote:Yeah they sticking.

I submitted online since May 2018 (for 2017). Still waiting for it to be processed as of right now.

Called the e-tax office, they said once it crosses a certain amount, it needs to be approved. Of course you cannot talk to anyone who approves them though. :roll:
I'm in the same boat as you, I am contemplating going into the office in port of Spain and find out what's the holdup. I kinda need that money all now.

quietdevil

Postby quietdevil » February 27th, 2019, 6:53 am

Kenjo wrote:You sure there aren’t issues ? I did 2017 in December 2018 and got me refund check within 5 weeks if so long

Did my 2018 April last year, ain’t get my refund yet. When I called they said it on a supervisor desk for approval and they can’t say how long it will take. Also found out from Inland Revenue Sando that when you want to modify your with holding by submitting a new TD1 that you need to submit within the same year. Such as Tertiary education need to be submitted within 7days after making the payment within the same year.

Postby Kenjo » February 27th, 2019, 7:01 am

quietdevil wrote:

Did my 2018 April last year, ain’t get my refund yet. When I called they said it on a supervisor desk for approval and they can’t say how long it will take. Also found out from Inland Revenue Sando that when you want to modify your with holding by submitting a new TD1 that you need to submit within the same year. Such as Tertiary education need to be submitted within 7days after making the payment within the same year.

Tertiary education is only for foreign universities right ? When people do local based foreign courses do they get back money on taxes ?

eitech

Postby eitech » February 27th, 2019, 9:05 pm

So i will be able to claim for first time home owner for last year. Anyone familiar with the documents required for filing and how that goes?

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » March 24th, 2019, 8:46 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Filling out a TD1 for 2019 which I normally don't do preferring to just get a refund. But IRD is taking so long with refunds now I rather pay less taxes to start with.

Checked the online system where I filed 2016 and 2017 and no new info r.e. status of those two years.
All the previous returns I did online were processed in pretty fast time however those two sure have become stuck.

Could have possibly been sent for auditing. Had a similar situation for my 2016 refund. Never showed up on the e-tax online system and only now it's being shown as "approved" after roughly a 1yr or more. However, I had an issue with the calculation of mine which was only rectified recently and then they were able to send through the request to have the cheque processed asap.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 26th, 2019, 11:27 pm

got 2016 and 2017 within 2 weeks apart. Came in a few weeks after submitting my 2017.

Already submitted my 2018 this week, so we'll see how it goes.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » April 2nd, 2019, 2:31 pm

Submitted my 2018 today. Will advise on how soon it is processed etc.

Update:
02/04/2019 - 2018 filed
03/04/2019 - Checked E-tax and the return has been approved
08/04/2019 - Checked E-Tax and the refund has been issued
15/04/2019 - Cheque received in mail
Last edited by SLVR1 on April 15th, 2019, 10:20 am, edited 3 times in total.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 2nd, 2019, 3:11 pm

Submit my 2017 end of November... still waiting...

Postby noshownogo » April 3rd, 2019, 9:42 am

eitech wrote:So i will be able to claim for first time home owner for last year. Anyone familiar with the documents required for filing and how that goes?

Get a letter from the bank you have your mortgage with called Letter of Interest paid.

You will use that figure along with a scanned copy to add to your filing in the E-tax GUI.