Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Numb3r4

Re: Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Postby Numb3r4 » December 9th, 2015, 10:20 pm

What can be said about corn fuel is that we do have the expertise to run the industrial processes that would be needed to produce the fuel, as we have a large amount of folks trained in the workings of industrial fuel production. Who knows we might be able to salvage the Pointe-A-Pierre refinery, maybe scale it down to make it make self sufficient on local oil, and still be able to process some corn fuel.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 9th, 2015, 10:24 pm

EmilioA wrote:DOMA cant even innovate enough to build some parking towers for they customers . Instead they begging the POS Council to stop wrecking .

I quite agree the parking situation in PoS is terrible and so true my sentiments exactly why can someone anyone build a multistory carpark in PoS. Really no one can see the potential in that?

What I also thought was why not put the Torouba stadium money to build that much in parking garages in PoS. That is pratical infrastructure that serves and would be a great legacy.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 9th, 2015, 10:43 pm

bluesclues mentioned it above that we need inventors true I agree, but it does not need to be we could be progressive adopters of smart technology. We are a small country proper forward thinking technology should be able to infiltrate the society, with little expenditure when it comes to R&D, my case is for subsidised solar cells for homeowners. If their is a smart, efficient relationship between public and private forces this could benefit homeowners and maybe help the environment.

What you are saying with invention labs is very similar to the maker movement in the states and even 3D printing that is making its way into the retail market. The issue is that we haven't even gotten around to building traditional libraries.....sigh......

Not to mention the general fact that the population is largely illiterate and has a terrible attitude to and ideas about technology. In this instance the educational institutions have failed not because they don't teach kids how to code but because they haven't come to terms with the basic reality of who they are teaching.

Put simply our idea of new technology is "When de new iPhone comin' out?".

Oh this one is true, a guy I know was working for Samsung Engineering at the PaP refinery and had a Samsung shirt, and when he was filling up at the gas station a guy asked him "What new phone allyuh hav'?"

The height of our ideas and knowledge about technology can't be cell phones.

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2015, 10:55 pm

Numb3r4 wrote: Hell why not tap into the east coast sea breeze and set up a small wind farm. True battery technology is a ways off but we can effectively buy into the ground floor of a new technology so that when it does take off in greater measure the technological jump won't be so hard to make.

This the age of lithium ion's. Something might happen.

Wrt to corn, this is Trinidad:

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 9th, 2015, 11:32 pm

This the age of lithium ion's. Something might happen.

All the more reason to invest now.

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2015, 5:57 am

Meanwhile Oil is still big business in Trin

McDermott Wins Sizeable Award for Offshore Development in Trinidad
By GlobeNewswire,  December 08, 2015, 08:30:00 AM EDT
Vote up AAA

HOUSTON, Dec. 08, 2015 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- McDermott International, Inc., (NYSE:MDR) today announced it has been awarded a sizeable transport and installation contract by an upstream oil and gas operator for a project offshore Trinidad, West Indies.
The contract award includes the transport and installation of a 1,000-ton deck and 1,600-ton jacket. It also covers the onshore fabrication, reel-lay and pre-commissioning of 14,000 feet of 14-inch pipeline that includes the pull-in of a 12-inch riser at an existing offshore platform scheduled to be completed using McDermott vessels, Derrick Barge 50 (DB50) and the North Ocean 105 (NO105).
Project completion is expected to be in the third quarter of 2016. The pipeline will be welded at McDermott's new Gulfport, Mississippi, spoolbase.
"McDermott's customer-focused approach, in combination with project execution expertise, best-in-class assets and alignment with the client on project objectives set us apart," said Scott Munro, Vice President for Americas, Europe and Africa. "We're pleased to be able to provide an integrated approach involving our new spoolbase in Gulfport, the NO105 and the DB50 that addresses all project drivers to deliver the best overall solution."
Revenue from the award will be included in McDermott's fourth quarter 2015 backlog.
Forward-looking statement

In accordance with the Safe Harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, McDermott cautions that statements in this press release which are forward-looking, and provide other than historical information, involve risks, contingencies and uncertainties that may impact McDermott's actual results of operations. These forward-looking statements include, among other things, statements about backlog, to the extent backlog may be viewed as an indicator of future revenues, and the expected value, scope, execution and timing associated with the project discussed in this press release. Although we believe that the expectations reflected in those forward-looking statements are reasonable, we can give no assurance that those expectations will prove to have been correct. Those statements are made by using various underlying assumptions and are subject to numerous risks, contingencies and uncertainties, including, among others: our inability to successfully execute on contracts in backlog, changes in project design or schedules, the availability of qualified personnel, changes in the terms, scope or timing of contracts, contract cancellations, change orders and other modifications and actions by our customers and business partners, difficulties executing on the project and changes in industry norms. If one or more of these risks materialize, or if underlying assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially from those expected. For a more complete discussion of these and other risk factors, please see McDermott's annual and quarterly filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2014 and subsequent quarterly reports on Form 10-Q. This press release reflects management's views as of the date hereof. Except to the extent required by applicable law, McDermott undertakes no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statement.
About McDermott

McDermott is a leading provider of integrated engineering, procurement, construction and installation (EPCI) services for upstream field developments worldwide. The Company delivers fixed and floating production facilities, pipelines and subsea systems from concept to commissioning for complex Offshore and Subsea oil and gas projects to help oil companies safely produce and transport hydrocarbons. Our clients include national and major energy companies. Operating in more than 20 countries across the world, our locally focused and globally integrated resources include approximately 10,300 employees, a diversified fleet of specialty marine construction vessels, fabrication facilities and engineering offices. We are renowned for our extensive knowledge and experience, technological advancements, performance records, superior safety and commitment to deliver. McDermott has served the energy industry since 1923 and is listed on the New York Stock Exchange.  As used in this press release, McDermott includes McDermott International, Inc. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. To learn more, please visit our website at www.mcdermott.com.
McDermott International, Inc
Investor Relations
Darcey Matthews, 281.870.5147
Vice President, Investor Relations
dmatthews@mcdermott.com

Media Relations
Richard Goins, 281.870.5932
Director, Global Communicationsrgoins@mcdermott.com

Source: McDermott International, Inc.

This article appears in: News Headlines
Referenced Stocks: MDR

Latest News Video

North Face Founder Douglas Tompkins...
Russia Trial of Ukrainian Pilot Beg...
German Neo-Nazi Trial Suspect Denie...
We Had a Good Year for Growth: IKEA...

Related stocks Articles
Subscribe
3 Stocks to Hold for 20 Years
12/09/2015 07:16 PM
Signs Say Fitbit's Future Is Bright, But I'm Not Buying... Yet
12/09/2015 07:11 PM
15 Signs You Have a Debt-Management Problem
12/09/2015 07:03 PM
Highest Rated Articles of Last Week

Benitec''s Hepatitis B Therapeutic Shows Positive Preclinical Results
Smith & Wesson Holding Corporation Reports Second Quarter Fiscal 2016...
View All Highest Rated

Most Active by Volume
Company Last Sale Change Net / %
KMI $ 16.81 1.09 ▲ 6.93%
SUNE $ 3.96 0.51 ▲ 14.78%
BAC $ 17.10 0.09 ▼ 0.52%
FCX $ 6.99 0.25 ▲ 3.71%
DOW $ 56.97 6.07 ▲ 11.93%
GE $ 30.47 0.28 ▲ 0.93%
PBR $ 5 0.24 ▲ 5.04%
ETE $ 14.90 1.70 ▲ 12.88%

As of 12/9/2015, 04:15 PM More Most Active

Read more: http://www.nasdaq.com/press-release/mcd ... z3tuVTs6Gv

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 10th, 2015, 11:47 am

lithium ion's is almost dated technology already.. next up is carbon graphite cells. super fast recharge, high capacity, small form factor.

Postby The_Honourable » December 22nd, 2015, 10:49 am

A Future without Oil? Diversifying Options for Trinidad and Tobago

T&T can be characterized as a dual economy. With a gross national income (GNI) per capita of US$14,710 in 2012, the country is a high-income country, rich in natural resources, with a well-developed globally competitive oil and gas industry. The nonenergy sector is relatively underdeveloped, attracting little investment and, to a significant extent, depends on government subsidies and transfers. T&T’s economy has also been historically quite volatile and particularly susceptible to commodity price shocks.

As with most natural resource rich economies, the issue of economic diversification has been extensively debated in T&T since the 1950s. This discussion has taken on a new sense of urgency given recent revelations that the country’s largest industry, the oil and gas industry (45 percent of GDP), could disappear within 15 years unless new reserves
are found. In conjunction with exploration efforts, the government has been aggressively pushing for answers to the question of how best to diversify the country's economic base.

Source (pdf document): http://documents.worldbank.org/curated/ ... dad-tobago

Postby Redman » December 22nd, 2015, 3:58 pm

he oil and gas industry (45 percent of GDP), could disappear within 15 years unless new reserves
are found.

Im asking what the smarter people here think....

The article below written in 2012 indicates that we have at least 3.5B of recoverable.
Current production is about 80,000BOPD-Refinery throughput is 165,000
At 165,000 BOPD -thats 58 years of local producible oil.From 2012.
How credible is this information

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 79561.html

How much crude do you think is judged to be remaining in the thousands of existing reservoirs in the southern basin of Trinidad that can be retrieved by EOR?

No less than 3.5 billion barrels, according to our leading geologist, Dr Krishna Persad. Primary recovery has already yielded 3.5 billion during the 104 years of commercial oil production.

So if 3.5 billion barrels are still underground (and only a small part of that has traditionally been included in estimates for existing reserves, which have to meet the Society of Petroleum Engineers – SPE – test of commercial recoverability) then the country can hardly be described as "running out of oil."

Total expenditure of the 2013 Budget is $58.4 billion compared to last year’s $54.6 billion budget. Total projected revenue,at $50.7 billion
oil revenue $20 billion
and non oil revenue $30 .7 billion.

Now this budget states that Oil Rev is about 5B-

This number includes the Nat Gas Revenue stream???

If so arent we better off with low oil prices?

Based on the volume of imports and the price drop...we saving more on the imports than we lost from the fall in Oil Revenue.....

If so why the panic???

Postby zoom rader » December 22nd, 2015, 6:46 pm

No panic as Rowley juss say the country not in a recession .

Greatest back peddling ever by this illegal government

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 23rd, 2015, 12:07 am

zoom rader wrote:No panic as Rowley juss say the country not in a recession .

lol @ illegal government. that is not a tabangcar u have dey that is a tabangtruck lol

unfortunately as the coocoo cookin it seems that imbert and rowley are clueless as to not only how to address the situation. but how to approach it also. if this government fails vote for me and i will raise trinidad out of the ashes of uncertainty to the prosperity you know we were always capable of achieving. though if i was already in power id be close to paying off the entire deficit by now based on the return of the plans i had and their current rate of return. but, water under the bridge. economy crash or fail my regular income will be stable and i will deliver that same kind of resillience to the trinidad and tobago economy. also ill put an end to this nonsense where tobago want to seperate from us once and for all. our sister cannot divorce us when we have work to do that benefits us both mutually. its too bad that our leaders seem to be so overwhelmed by the job. Lord alone knows why they apply for it. theyre obviously not meant to be there when all they do is the work of a computer that could be programmed with all the contingencies recommended in the books they read. no outside the box thinking so theres no difference in my view.

i say this because i see billions of untapped investment returns available to be taken advantage of and like i alone seeing them. ill reform the entire country, tourism sector will be given special attention. and completely revive the desire to visit trinidad around the world. i will generate income for this country from multiple major global sources and control niche markets. and of course, do my best to fix the deplorable state of our 'manufacturing' sector to accommodate and foster an inventive culture.

so much more i can do but i aint mean to be campaignin. right now i supposed to be sleepin but continuum goin real good lel

Postby zoom rader » December 23rd, 2015, 12:34 pm

^^^ Imbert say we in recession and his Prime Minister say we not in recession.

Seems we have an illegal bipolar government.

Maybe some good herbs would help them

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » December 23rd, 2015, 12:37 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Imbert say we in recession and his Prime Minister say we not in recession.

We should askthe UNC leader, as it seems she specializes in herbs

Postby zoom rader » December 23rd, 2015, 12:42 pm

Casper23 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Imbert say we in recession and his Prime Minister say we not in recession.

We should askthe UNC leader, as it seems she specializes in herbs

Nothing wrong with herbs.
It is indian after all

Postby Redman » December 23rd, 2015, 1:06 pm

When he said that???-provide a link nah
or is this one of you confederate flag lobs that have little bearing on reality?

Postby zoom rader » December 23rd, 2015, 6:26 pm

Redman wrote:

or is this one of you confederate flag lobs that have little bearing on reality?

That was on yesterday news while he was on a radio talk show.

He basically said their are no figures to show that Trin is in a recession.

On the otherhand Imbert did say we are in a recession.

Postby 1UZFE » December 23rd, 2015, 6:34 pm

Redman wrote:

Redman y u want a link? Isnt a general statement good enough for u? Why d sudden change?

Postby zoom rader » December 23rd, 2015, 6:36 pm

The PNM Prime Minister goes to Barbados to play golf for the weekend and then comes back to tell his people that they not in recession.

Interesting

Postby Redman » December 23rd, 2015, 6:49 pm

1UZFE wrote:
Redman wrote:

Redman y u want a link? Isnt a general statement good enough for u? Why d sudden change?

Cuz Im learning from ZR lack of evidence.

Cuz you were confused by my last general statement...even though it was stated.
Cuz Im learning from..your hypocrisy

untie yuh panty and relax nah

Postby 1UZFE » December 23rd, 2015, 7:14 pm

Redman wrote:
1UZFE wrote:
Redman wrote:

Hahahahhahaha....
D irony of d emprical redman n general statement redman n hypocrisy n panty redman in d same sentence.
:-D:-D:-D
Is allyuh so does really make this d ole talk forum...:-D

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 23rd, 2015, 7:38 pm

No government thinks long term.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 24th, 2015, 12:47 am

5 year election mentality.

I believe the PM will address the nation next Tuesday. Hopefully this address will cover some of the expected government plans for the new year and not be a recap of what we already know (we are in a recession and we should tighten our belts).

A trip to Barbados for a wedding is hardly a belt tightening exercise.

Recently economists Sageewan-Ali and Brown said that the government needs to go public with a plan.....which I agree with. The whole point of voting them into power was based on the fact that they said they have a plan....well that and Kamla's spending habits.

Postby zoom rader » December 24th, 2015, 11:43 am

Numb3r4 wrote:5 year election mentality.

I believe the PM will address the nation next Tuesday. Hopefully this address will cover some of the expected government plans for the new year and not be a recap of what we already know (we are in a recession and we should tighten our belts).

A trip to Barbados for a wedding is hardly a belt tightening exercise.

Recently economists Sageewan-Ali and Brown said that the government needs to go public with a plan.....which I agree with. The whole point of voting them into power was based on the fact that they said they have a plan....well that and Kamla's spending habits.

This government never goes public, everything is done behind closed doors.

Remember the secret gas deal for the aluminium smelting plant. They refuse to tell the tax paying public of the price offered to them .

Postby Redman » December 24th, 2015, 12:18 pm

1UZFE wrote:
Redman wrote:
1UZFE wrote:
Redman wrote:

Hahahahhahaha....
D irony of d emprical redman n general statement redman n hypocrisy n panty redman in d same sentence.
:-D:-D:-D
Is allyuh so does really make this d ole talk forum...:-D

The real irony is that it isn't ONE sentence.
Google use of full stops.

Postby K74T » January 21st, 2016, 4:39 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1453408745.817740.jpg

Via CNC3

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 5:28 pm

^^^ that's just to an excuse to get rid of useless workers.
Oil on the up today

Postby nervewrecker » January 21st, 2016, 5:44 pm

OIl is not $27.00 or somethign so today zoom?

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 6:44 pm

nervewrecker wrote:OIl is not $27.00 or somethign so today zoom?

Eh no, London oil prices today was $30 today and some oil stocks rose

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » February 2nd, 2016, 3:13 pm

Oil price is actually at around $35/barrel today.