RX8

Skyline007

RX8

Postby Skyline007 » November 28th, 2014, 11:33 pm

Why do they have so many rx8 for sale and you can get one RORO for 90-120k similar price as a Sylphy, Fortis, BMW 1 series etc... Is everyone afraid of the rotary engines, its that costly?

Would you buy an RX8 or Syphy, Galant Fortis etc at the same price why / why not
Last edited by Skyline007 on November 28th, 2014, 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RX8

Postby Mark! » November 28th, 2014, 11:35 pm

cuz is chit

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » November 29th, 2014, 12:47 am

i have 1 FS $200K

Postby zoom rader » November 29th, 2014, 2:50 am

RX8 will go up in value soon, they don't make RX8s anymore.

Lance

Postby Lance » November 29th, 2014, 6:39 am

zoom rader wrote:RX8 will go up in value soon, they don't make RX8s anymore.

Lol

Postby Kenjo » November 29th, 2014, 7:08 am

Maintenance maintenance maintenance

Postby Mark! » November 29th, 2014, 11:19 am

RX8 cover down in men yard throughout trinidad. Nuh even jiving it.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 29th, 2014, 11:27 am

says no to mazda

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » November 29th, 2014, 12:38 pm

Doubt it they made these up to 2012 in a few years BRZ's and GT86's will be the new RX8's.

RX8's I think besides the rotary engine (note maintenance, maintenance, maintenance) have several others going against it ... 2 doors those suicide doors dont really count imho ... underpowered (non - type s only ), small read impractical, thirsty on gas&oil and last but not least ugly when compared to the rx7 3rd gen.

Most of these count against the GT86/BRZ as well except engine which apparently reliable still under powered and hard to get more power out of.

But because of the engine the RX8 is cheap to import as well so alot were bought in.

All of that said let the prices slide when i get some cash together i wont let rx8 r3 type s escape me at all ... rx8 is alot of car for the money.

Postby j.o.e » November 29th, 2014, 12:55 pm

have plenty rx-8 selling cheap because they ARE cheap cars firstly due to low engine tax and alot of people bought them who had no idea of how a rotary worked and its maintenance... add to that their finicky drive by wire systems..lots of sensors.
Broken engines...failing sensors..idiots using synthetic (because Mobil 1 is d bess fadda)..thirsty on gas..and u have ppl just trying to sell off

zulu atomic

Postby zulu atomic » November 29th, 2014, 1:22 pm

Lance wrote:

Lol[/quote
so does the b14 ent?

Lance

Postby Lance » November 29th, 2014, 1:33 pm

The Renesis in the RX8 is such a load of arse.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 29th, 2014, 2:57 pm

I was interested in getting one myself, but after some heavy researching.
Its not worth getting unless you have plans for it.... 8)

konartis

Postby konartis » November 29th, 2014, 3:02 pm

basically its not a family car...

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » November 29th, 2014, 3:16 pm

its a chitty ride. buy mines for $200K

Postby j.o.e » November 29th, 2014, 3:45 pm

but wait, wait...hold on..the car is not sheit. Just its not for someone who's not knowledgable, doesn't do maintenance, or wants a daily driver. Handling is amazing and it's fun ...once it's a manual Type-S.
232hp,9000rpm red line, 5.9s 0-60 is not shoddy performcance...I agree it doesn't compare to Rx-7...but with emissions laws its as good as a rotary could do

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » November 29th, 2014, 4:00 pm

Its a great car - type S, but requires a lot of maintenance. The rear doors is not an issues as I use it for my family.

The engine needs alot of babying, so the typical trini doesn't know how to take care of it.

If you are a "jump in car and drive " person, this is not the car for you.

Postby Kenjo » November 29th, 2014, 4:14 pm

What exactly is the extra maintenance besides the oil and for the price it seems as a good secondary hobby car

Postby j.o.e » November 29th, 2014, 5:01 pm

Kenjo wrote:What exactly is the extra maintenance besides the oil and for the price it seems as a good secondary hobby car

-Oil changes/ top ups
-Coil packs are a regular maintenance part because they fail so often (bad placement by manufacturer)
-Car needs to be driven regularly and hard(revved) carbon build up causes premature failure of apex seals
-Finicky sensors (not maintenance but can get costly as even the steering is drive by wire)

But I agree it's a very nice second car...has decent performance but is still very comfy.

Postby DVSTT » November 29th, 2014, 5:43 pm

Lance wrote:

Lol

vipervega

Postby vipervega » November 29th, 2014, 6:14 pm

Sigh....anyone here even had an rx8? I had 2 alr.....one i had for almost a year and was daily driven....jus simple things u need to know and it will be an easy maintenence reliable daily driver.....the guy i sold it to has it for more than a yr now and have had no issues with it and its his only car that drives from grande to santa rosa everyday......only issue i had was power steering use to act up and it was a matter of moisture build up on sensor which was a matter of jus cleaning with contact cleaner and that was it.....if you need to know anything about these cars you can pm me and i will assist as much as i can

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 29th, 2014, 6:19 pm

Men buying RX8 and think is a tiida.....
Car is a sports car not a saloon.
So why complain about backseats and the rear doors.

Rotary engines require regular maintainance and most ppl feel you can treat it like a b14 engine.

Lol at most of the comments in here.

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » November 29th, 2014, 6:59 pm

agree with vipervega.. excellent car... just came up from gulf city and passed everything!!! nice acceleration and speed... the manual IS the way to go to properly enjoy the car.. maintenance is minimal... I would only sell mine because of not having the time to drive it constantly... sigh... prefer to see someone else enjoy it... had a first and second gen and this car far surpasses those...

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » November 29th, 2014, 7:33 pm

but maybe I'm biased.. let's hear what Jeremy says...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5FNjyaLfC8

(sorry.. I can't embed...)

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 29th, 2014, 11:31 pm

Meh brother has one with a 13b from a 3rd gen,$hit modified, it wokkin...afmrkt turbo, water met and ting, but I don't like the shape of the car.

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 30th, 2014, 3:09 am

Rotary the biggest piece of wankel apex shyt engine i ever owned, had a 1st 2 second gen and third.....money grabbing pieces of shyt....as for the rx8...ppl love to foold themselves renesis shyt cant even make over 30, 000km comfortably without worry or most probable failure .......if you have cash to waste, why, buy a roTARY??? I got rel parts to sell lol

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 30th, 2014, 3:10 am

I a m looking for a third tgough, minus that pos of an engine..the car is awesome

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 30th, 2014, 4:01 am

I a m looking for a third tgough, minus that pos of an engine..the car is awesome

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » November 30th, 2014, 4:49 am

j.o.e wrote:
Kenjo wrote:What exactly is the extra maintenance besides the oil and for the price it seems as a good secondary hobby car

-Oil changes/ top ups
-Coil packs are a regular maintenance part because they fail so often (bad placement by manufacturer)
-Car needs to be driven regularly and hard(revved) carbon build up causes premature failure of apex seals
-Finicky sensors (not maintenance but can get costly as even the steering is drive by wire)

But I agree it's a very nice second car...has decent performance but is still very comfy.

you know what you're saying.
an rx8 with a series 5/6 13b engine is the way to go. men who want to treat these engines like an SR better off with an SR.

tdavies

Postby tdavies » November 30th, 2014, 6:19 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Rotary the biggest piece of wankel apex shyt engine i ever owned, had a 1st 2 second gen and third.....money grabbing pieces of shyt....as for the rx8...ppl love to foold themselves renesis shyt cant even make over 30, 000km comfortably without worry or most probable failure .......if you have cash to waste, why, buy a roTARY??? I got rel parts to sell lol

Pal dont fool ppl......
Is not the car or the engine is you.
Mine has done over 50k without trouble
But i also have a b14 for daily driving and a Navara.
I have serviced regularly and have had no problems. So your first gen was costing u money ....so you decide to buy a second gen, then that was costing you money........so you decide to buy a third gen, then that too was costing you money.......so you decide to buy a rx8??

What utter f@ckery i hearing.....lol!!
I hope everyone else reading this.....really understands what you are saying.
Rotary aint no ga15 engine pal....