Budget flooring - Tile, Laminate, Carpet?

simplejack

Budget flooring - Tile, Laminate, Carpet?

Postby simplejack » December 23rd, 2014, 11:07 am

Tuners,

Looking to renovate a few rooms and was wondering what was the most economical means of flooring? Originally the flooring had flooring paint since it was bare concrete. I intend to call around but any ideas (even outside the ones I mentioned) would be appreciated.

The living room is a 13x12feet room and the bedroom is a 18x12feet room.

Re: Budget flooring - Tile, Laminate, Carpet?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2014, 12:22 pm

Cushioned vinyl is a fairly decent look for real cheap
http://www.the2001carpethouse.com/carpet-products.html

it comes on a roll just like normal cheap vinyl flooring your grandmother used to have, glue it to the floor with evo-stick, done. But these newer ones have real wood prints that do not repeat noticeably and have wood texture - and it's also slightly padded.

looks like and feels wood

Most carpet places in T&T have in stock

looks like this when put down

I used it in an attic and many ppl think it's real wood when they first see it.

that's the cheapest you will get besides paint

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 24th, 2014, 5:55 am

I did a 12x12 room for about $600 with vinyl flooring planks...each strip is 6" wide x 3' length and comes with one helluva sticky arse backing...you can cut the plank with scissors or carving knife to fit.....peel off the paper and stick directly onto your painted concrete floor....once that backing peels off easily your job will be done quickly....but if the backing starts to rip then yuh in problems.... I had to heat up each plank (with meh wife hair dryer) and gently peel off that paper backing to put down one plank.....something which should have taken about 10 seconds to do took between 1-10mins....

So that 12x12 room took well over 10 hours for me to do....but it looks awesome...everyone thinks that it's laminated floors and are shocked when I describe what it really is....

got mine in a place in rio claro....

Details

Postby Details » December 24th, 2014, 7:04 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:I did a 12x12 room for about $600 with vinyl flooring planks...each strip is 6" wide x 3' length and comes with one helluva sticky arse backing...you can cut the plank with scissors or carving knife to fit.....peel off the paper and stick directly onto your painted concrete floor....once that backing peels off easily your job will be done quickly....but if the backing starts to rip then yuh in problems.... I had to heat up each plank (with meh wife hair dryer) and gently peel off that paper backing to put down one plank.....something which should have taken about 10 seconds to do took between 1-10mins....

So that 12x12 room took well over 10 hours for me to do....but it looks awesome...everyone thinks that it's laminated floors and are shocked when I describe what it really is....

I liking this idea you have a number for the place you got it from ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 24th, 2014, 7:43 pm

am nope....never needed a number....will try to get one....

Place name Paras...

Anton

Postby Anton » December 24th, 2014, 8:27 pm

The Home Store and Agostini Interiors has as well.

Postby ismithx » December 24th, 2014, 8:38 pm

sounds like the best option

carpeting easy but it needs the most cleaning

tiles expensive/time consuming to put down, and if not done properly will need to be redone eventually

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2014, 2:31 am

Details wrote:I liking this idea you have a number for the place you got it from ?

Persad's Variety Store
High Street, Rio Claro (opposite the recreation ground)
644-2263

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » December 31st, 2014, 4:18 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:I did a 12x12 room for about $600 with vinyl flooring planks...each strip is 6" wide x 3' length and comes with one helluva sticky arse backing...you can cut the plank with scissors or carving knife to fit.....peel off the paper and stick directly onto your painted concrete floor....once that backing peels off easily your job will be done quickly....but if the backing starts to rip then yuh in problems.... I had to heat up each plank (with meh wife hair dryer) and gently peel off that paper backing to put down one plank.....something which should have taken about 10 seconds to do took between 1-10mins....

going to definitely look into this

Postby supercharged turbo » January 1st, 2015, 1:55 am

Any pics?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 1st, 2015, 4:22 am

here's a couple

Postby supercharged turbo » January 1st, 2015, 9:06 am

Very nice.How much for an individual plank?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 1st, 2015, 9:10 am

Yeah dan a heat gun would do quick work with that.

i witnessed a guy light a cig with a heat gun already, try doing that with a hair dryer lol

JStaples

Postby JStaples » January 1st, 2015, 9:29 am

The vinyl tiles is very good. I purchased a few at the home store. Its $200 a box. Each box contains 25 pcs

Postby supercharged turbo » January 1st, 2015, 10:11 am

If the ground you're putting it on has some rough spots,do you feel it when your walking on it like regular vinyl or does it have some thickness to it?

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 1st, 2015, 10:51 am

Looks gd Vega

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » January 1st, 2015, 11:09 am

supercharged turbo wrote:If the ground you're putting it on has some rough spots,do you feel it when your walking on it like regular vinyl or does it have some thickness to it?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 1st, 2015, 7:26 pm

nah not much thickness....luckily the floor was very very smooth so I don't have any issues wrt feeling rough spots....I think that rough floor would be felt through it....

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 2nd, 2015, 10:01 am

my brother did the very same laminate flooring...what he did in the end because the floor was roough was to nail very thin sheets of ply to the floor and lay it on that ..... worked out very well and smooth in the end

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2015, 11:26 am

yeah, theat sticky vinyl thing is decent, once your floor nice and smooth....just take yuh time...if one goes down crooked, is balls to peel it back off

Postby supercharged turbo » January 2nd, 2015, 11:29 am

Where in central have?

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2015, 11:36 am

try that carpet place off Ramsaran street..2001 Carpet House or summ so
They have that cushion vinyl thing duane was talking about as well
carpet place.jpg

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » January 6th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Any suggestions as to who does laminate flooring at a reasonable price? Or where sells it at an okay price?

Anton

Postby Anton » January 6th, 2015, 1:55 pm

Metropolitan sourcing on Monroe Road has laminate flooring for $10 per sq ft installed iirc

Postby MG Man » January 6th, 2015, 3:33 pm

BlackOps2 wrote:Any suggestions as to who does laminate flooring at a reasonable price? Or where sells it at an okay price?

buy a table saw and do it yourself.....save big $$$
It's pretty easy to do, esp if you use the 'floating' laminate with the foam backing. It does not require any adhesive. Just lay down, and tap with a rubber mallet to interlock...measure twice, cut once

Bosse

Postby Bosse » June 12th, 2019, 9:49 am

Guys, what you think of these vinyl floor planks that sells all over now.

Notice some nice ones and its simple to install, just lay over any smooth surface (even existing tiles).

Don't know how durable it is but it comes with a 5 year warranty.

rambo22

Postby rambo22 » June 12th, 2019, 10:25 pm

Hi guys i am going with Laminate flooring like MG Man said do it yourself but need to find out if my floor should to be perfectly level before i start installing...

daron

Postby daron » June 13th, 2019, 5:29 am

Just shearing i am going with this one waiting to get a final quote from supplier will update you all this is 6.5mm thick
Comes with ticker undercoating than normal
IMG_20190613_052732.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 13th, 2019, 12:01 pm

rambo22 wrote:Hi guys i am going with Laminate flooring like MG Man said do it yourself but need to find out if my floor should to be perfectly level before i start installing...

Not absolutely necessary, however, if there are low spots on the floor you will feel it when the laminate sinks on that spot.

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » June 13th, 2019, 12:21 pm

daron wrote:Just shearing i am going with this one waiting to get a final quote from supplier will update you all this is 6.5mm thick
Comes with ticker undercoating than normal
IMG_20190613_052732.jpeg
Where are you purchasing this product ?