reasonable kitchen sink basin

simplejack

reasonable kitchen sink basin

Postby simplejack » December 31st, 2014, 8:56 am

Hi Tuners,

Did anyone recently renovate their kitchen counter/sink or purchased one recently at a reasonable price? Most single kitchen basin sink I found are a little over $1,000 (bhagwansinghs, ramlagan hardware) and I was wondering if that was the general price or if there is somewhere else that sells it more reasonable.

It's a starter kitchen, so no need for any huge industrial/commercial size. Just for plates and the average stovetop pots.

Thanks.

Re: reasonable kitchen sink basin

Postby sliderz1 » December 31st, 2014, 9:20 am

Southern Wholesale Stores

jcrew

Postby jcrew » December 31st, 2014, 10:00 am

simplejack wrote:Hi Tuners,

Did anyone recently renovate their kitchen counter/sink or purchased one recently at a reasonable price? Most single kitchen basin sink I found are a little over $1,000 (bhagwansinghs, ramlagan hardware) and I was wondering if that was the general price or if there is somewhere else that sells it more reasonable.

It's a starter kitchen, so no need for any huge industrial/commercial size. Just for plates and the average stovetop pots.

Thanks.

I have a Twyford bathroom sink and faucet for sale if you interested. Price is $300

Postby SMc » December 31st, 2014, 10:10 am

^^will pots and pans fit in it so he can wash up?

jcrew

Postby jcrew » December 31st, 2014, 10:21 am

SMc wrote:^^will pots and pans fit in it so he can wash up?

Dont know, are you his wife?
Last edited by jcrew on December 31st, 2014, 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » December 31st, 2014, 11:39 am

R. Maye in Chase village. I got a double bowl double drainboard with all the fittings for around $600( cannot remember the actual price at the moment)

simplejack

Postby simplejack » December 31st, 2014, 11:48 am

Thanks guys, i'll check out both places. Maye on the Chase Village main road or in the side street?

Postby SMc » December 31st, 2014, 12:45 pm

jcrew wrote:

Not that I am aware of.

Simple, he asked for a Kitchen sink and you offer to sell him a bathroom sink which though may be similar in many ways are also very different and not suitable for what he wants it for...that's it.

Postby De Dragon » December 31st, 2014, 2:57 pm

jcrew wrote:

Kuntism rears its ugly head once again............

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 31st, 2014, 3:50 pm

doh buy single....double I have found to be way more convenient.....

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2014, 6:16 pm

Buy deep enough also,

Abc dist has also

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 1st, 2015, 1:21 am

desai hardware longdenville had sone reasonably priced ones...

simplejack

Postby simplejack » January 1st, 2015, 11:56 am

Thanks for the advice peeps, I live in Central so i'll check those spots you recommended. Happy New Year

driveshaft

Postby driveshaft » January 3rd, 2015, 12:01 am

check SWS southern whole sale stores ,,i bought a double for around $365
or Enfix Southern Mn road cunupia not too far fro Home land gardens
or Rockeys plumbing Southern mn road Curepe

simplejack

Postby simplejack » January 3rd, 2015, 10:37 am

I got it this morning at Maye Hardware, a stainless steel double sink with the waste etc for $425. Looks decent enough and durable.

They have relatively competitive prices since I priced a Bi-Fold door for under $400 and Tyford Toilets for under $700.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 4th, 2017, 7:06 am

i find ramlagan hardware in balmaine couva has the same double sink a few dollars cheaper, i buy a single really big bowl sink that could hold a 14 inch trinidian pot comfortably. i pay $250 or so for it saw it in roopnarine for $575

Postby X2 » March 4th, 2017, 10:46 am

screwbash wrote:i find ramlagan hardware in balmaine couva has the same double sink a few dollars cheaper, i buy a single really big bowl sink that could hold a 14 inch trinidian pot comfortably. i pay $250 or so for it saw it in roopnarine for $575

WOuld be interested in how this sink holds up... content of the stainless steel, etc... that price is crazy low.

Average

Postby Average » March 4th, 2017, 10:54 am

OP if you looking for cheap, then pull up to any small hardware. You sure to get through,

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2017, 11:33 am

X2 wrote:
screwbash wrote:i find ramlagan hardware in balmaine couva has the same double sink a few dollars cheaper, i buy a single really big bowl sink that could hold a 14 inch trinidian pot comfortably. i pay $250 or so for it saw it in roopnarine for $575

WOuld be interested in how this sink holds up... content of the stainless steel, etc... that price is crazy low.

X2 is correct. There are Chinese and other cheap brands where the quality of the stainless is low, they rust and stain in no time at all. Better to buy Teka or some other good brand for a little more.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 4th, 2017, 12:39 pm

^ yup. And then the whole job will cost more than the expensive sink to remove and replace.

Buying the cheapest can result in costing you far more in the long run.

matix

Postby matix » March 4th, 2017, 1:08 pm

A genuinely good stainless steel sink costs a couple thousand dollars. Those cheaper ones are just Rip offs.

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2017, 1:44 pm

Not necessarily, Teka is a good German brand and the price is less than a grand for a double drain single bowl or single drain single bowl. Most hardwares have them . Bhags have another one that I bought ,but I can't remember the name right now. Once it's not Chinese I feel you good to go. Another thing to watch out for is the traps.There are some that crack open when you use hot water or drain boiled rice in the sink. I got a lot of problems with those ,and they come with the sinks. Best to use a regular P-trap .

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2017, 1:47 pm

Another good choice is a quartz sink. They are around $1500 and no headache .

Nissan12

Postby Nissan12 » March 4th, 2017, 3:27 pm

Check the gauge of the material. The cheap ones are usually 22 and more, the quality stuff are 18 and less. A good quality single bowl SS in 16G measuring 33 X 22 costs about $4k

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 4th, 2017, 8:31 pm

Silly rabbit

Kitchen sink basins cannot be reasoned with

everyone knows this

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 5th, 2017, 6:48 am

rspann wrote:
X2 wrote:

X2 is correct. There are Chinese and other cheap brands where the quality of the stainless is low, they rust and stain in no time at all. Better to buy Teka or some other good brand for a little more.

Is only 5 months it in use but no issues so far. This is the stainless steel bowl only no drain board, it sitting in a granite counter top in ah island. I put hot pot in it but wat i like about it is that it can hold those cast iron or big aluminum pot that people take by the river tuh cook.

matix

Postby matix » March 6th, 2017, 12:28 pm

ImageImage

Average

Postby Average » March 6th, 2017, 5:52 pm

Visited Tile Warehouse today and OP you can check them out for some great sinks at a good price. As someone stated before, it's best you buy something good to last longer than a piece of sh|t.

It's opposite Rich Gold Ho House, drive down a 2 mins and you will see a sign, turn right.