Travelling abroad with a passport due to expire April 2015

Premchand1976

Travelling abroad with a passport due to expire April 2015

Postby Premchand1976 » January 12th, 2015, 10:07 pm

Quick question yall.

If my passport expires April 15th 2015 and I was planning to travel abroad and return home before this date but close to it ( like a week or so before April 15th ). Are there any ticketing / flight restrictions re travelling so close to my passport's expiry OR, if a situation arises ( emergency ) and I am forced to return home after it expires are there any problems I may encounter ?

AutoSport

Re: Travelling abroad with a passport due to expire April 20

Postby AutoSport » January 12th, 2015, 10:11 pm

How about going and getting it renewed?
Similar expiry date, went in today, got an appointment for 30th Jan.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 12th, 2015, 10:16 pm

There is a chance the Customs you meet may see the export date as a red flag.
Most trips are planned in advance, so you have opportunity and time to renew.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:17 pm

They were taking walk ins also. Go early, walk with the documents required. Make payment and submit. Should get it in for weeks time.

lionofzion

Postby lionofzion » January 12th, 2015, 10:18 pm

U can travel with it but it depends on where you're traveling to. E.G USA won't allow as they stamp for 6 month max stay.

Risky to get it renewed at this point as this is unpredictable. It can range from 2-6 weeks depending on which immigration office u go to. But try explaining to them it's an emergency to b safe

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:20 pm

https://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&source=w ... VJlmFMnD9g

So the USA and a few countries have an agreement. Your passport expiration is automatically extended for six months. So you can safely travel to the us.you just need to print the legislation from the net about the agreement just in case you meet ppl unaware of this situation.

msg1

Postby msg1 » January 12th, 2015, 10:21 pm

U have rel belly to try that. Strongly believe you should take everyone's advice and renew. Otherwise look ur best for a new episode of locked up abroad.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:23 pm

msg1 wrote:U have rel belly to try that. Strongly believe you should take everyone's advice and renew. Otherwise look ur best for a new episode of locked up abroad.
I know people who did it. Obviously for emergency situations

msg1

Postby msg1 » January 12th, 2015, 10:27 pm

True but u really wanna put the man under the stress of hoping for the best??

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:31 pm

It's his choice and an informed decision. Wouldn't set him up. Imagine A.R. Shut down the office again and the man have an ill family member in the USA. He have an option. It's very legal. So there is no hoping for the best, there's fact.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 12th, 2015, 10:38 pm

based on my experience, it depends on the country, your travel history, and maybe the officer you get.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2015, 10:52 pm

Might as well do a walk in. When I renewed mine last year it took under 2 months and that was deep into the protest time. Grande office is more or less empty daily...you have ample time to do a renewal and be on the safe side.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 12th, 2015, 11:25 pm

Just go and renew it.
Give them the details of your trip and make it sound urgent (even if it isn't)

BTW you have your Visay?

Postby r3iXmann » January 13th, 2015, 1:56 am

there's a chance that you can get detained...less than 6 months validity is a big red flag

a former coworker of mine was detained for a few days in Peru and had to get assistance from the high commission to get home..so up to you if yuh feeling lucky :mrgreen:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 8:30 am

The time OP take to make this thread he could have filled out a form. Walk ins take less than 2 hours much less if the office is empty

Postby Dizzy28 » January 13th, 2015, 8:38 am

Chaguanas Immigration office opens at 7am, get there for 6.30 and you should be out before 9am.

The wife went the week after Christmas. The only thing is the wait to get the renewed passport according to them is 4-8 weeks which is a pretty big range to start with I find.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » January 13th, 2015, 8:51 am

Either renew or apply for an extension.

leelad

Postby leelad » January 13th, 2015, 10:29 am

OP just renew your passport.......You don't need any appointment just go early in the morning, should be in and out within 45mins

If you have a genuine emergency you can ask about expediting the renewal.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » January 13th, 2015, 10:40 am

Went in and did my renewal in November. Told me it would take 6 weeks. Got mine after Christmas. You have time depending on when you are leaving.

Postby 16 cycles » January 13th, 2015, 2:38 pm

leelad wrote:OP just renew your passport.......You don't need any appointment just go early in the morning, should be in and out within 45mins

If you have a genuine emergency you can ask about expediting the renewal.

took abt 6 minutes literally....great service @ Sangre Grande

walk with 250TT or linx to pay for renewal as well...wait time is abt 4 to 6 weeks....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2015, 3:52 pm

my advice is go an renew..I touch down in Miami september 2014...Immigration officer :" hmmm your passport expiring soon, try and sort out that soon ok".

mind you my passport expiring july 2015 eh...

basically what 16 cycles said...just reach early, full out form accordingly,walk with old passport and the $250

Postby r3iXmann » January 13th, 2015, 5:52 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:The time OP take to make this thread he could have filled out a form. Walk ins take less than 2 hours much less if the office is empty

maybe he hopes that the border control officers are on trinituner and will give him the proverbial 'bligh' :|

Postby SMc » January 13th, 2015, 5:59 pm

^^why not...he done orgainising to book in his last minute emergency trip 3 months in advance.

Postby toyolink » January 13th, 2015, 6:04 pm

Well I plan on visiting Chaguanas tomorrow morning and hope things go as other tuners experienced.
4-6 weeks ....seems like is just a fact of life and the longer you take to address this transaction aint going to help.
I hate travelling abroad with documents with tight expiry lines especially since I have observed many instances of something going wrong and foreign support just 'isn't a given'.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 13th, 2015, 8:15 pm

US Border Patrol Officer: "Sir, your passport expires in three months"
Trini: "Well I here now so I don't need it any more."

Lock Up.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » January 13th, 2015, 9:45 pm

I've entered the US with a passport expiring literally the next day...

They told me to wait while they checked to see if Trinidad exempt from the 6month rule...which we were. 'Have a nice day Mr Bacon'

That being said renewing the passport is the best option.

konartis

Postby konartis » January 23rd, 2015, 10:38 pm

i have this same issue, is the service in san fernando quick as before? or is it a wait?

Postby Team Loco » January 24th, 2015, 12:15 am

Ive tried renewal over five times at chaguanas. Up till now i cant get through. Issues range from pic is of wrong specs(although photo studio said no way) then the jext day when i went back they said they met their "quota" for the day. Last week i tried again and this time theh said my signature doesnt match. Chag is the worst. Bess place is point fortin

rookie

Postby rookie » January 24th, 2015, 5:04 am

Ok prem here goes similar experience, I travelled in July last year with a passport that was gonna expire in September no probs only Trinidad immigration told me " sir ur passport gonna expire soon" in the us not one word :D
On the other hand it takes 8 weeks an not a day sooner to get ur passport, because of the back log regardless of what anyone says :shock: .i did mine late August got it October before my November travel date
You get a text message and email telling u come to pick up ur passport :D :D :D
Best bet if u start Monday u get back ur passport before ur travel date try grande if u live on the east west corridor, oh last thing if u print ur forms at home print both sides other wise you will have to redo your forms :agrue: :angel:

Postby pete » January 24th, 2015, 5:48 am

Team Loco wrote:Ive tried renewal over five times at chaguanas. Up till now i cant get through. Issues range from pic is of wrong specs(although photo studio said no way) then the jext day when i went back they said they met their "quota" for the day. Last week i tried again and this time theh said my signature doesnt match. Chag is the worst. Bess place is point fortin

I did my renewal at Chaguanas last year. THe lady advised me to have my picture taken there and not bother with the photo I had brought in as if it had an error would take an additional 4 weeks. They didn't advise the same when you went?