WTK: Car Alarm not locking doors

redman2k8

WTK: Car Alarm not locking doors

Postby redman2k8 » March 6th, 2015, 2:00 pm

I have those prestige car alarms...

All of a sudden when arm the vehicle, I hear the "single chirp sound" BUT my doors (central locking) would not lock. I have to lock the doors with the key after. The exact opposite when I want to disarm. I hear the double chirp sound, but the car is still locked i have to unlocked the doors with the key

Any solutions?

uncle sam

Re: WTK: Car Alarm not locking doors

Postby uncle sam » March 6th, 2015, 2:05 pm

do you hear buzzing? as if it is attempting to lock?... could be a stuck actuator on the driver's door...

otherwise it could be your relay..

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » March 6th, 2015, 2:16 pm

nah didn't pay attention to any buzzing nah... When i go to the car later, I would listen for it...

Oh and another thing... Normally when i start the car, when all doors closed, a couple seconds after i start, the door automatically locks, now it doesnt...

it could very well be a stuck actuator on the driver's door ent?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2015, 2:18 pm

yep, sounds like a stuck actuator or an issue with the central locking mechanism itself.

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » March 6th, 2015, 2:45 pm

So, there's issue with the alarm but the car's central locking, right?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2015, 2:47 pm

depends on the car.
with some car/ alarm systems they have to install a third party actuator.
any electrician could tell ya what's the deal

redman2k8

Postby redman2k8 » March 6th, 2015, 2:56 pm

Thanx VexXx Dogg

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Is this an almera by chance?....Had the exact same issue with one a few years ago....

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2015, 6:49 pm

If it's happening with all the doors it could be either a relay or programming issue

See the installer

konartis

Postby konartis » March 6th, 2015, 7:40 pm

this same thing is happening to me with a nze corolla, the door locks isnt locking with the alarm anymore, the auto lock when u start isnt locking and the lock/unlock on the driver door isnt locking the doors also

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 7th, 2015, 12:48 am

When I took off my door panel on the almera , drivers door, noticed a small thin metal part on the lock mechanism was loose.....put it back in place and everything went back to normal.....

Postby Gem_in_i » March 7th, 2015, 3:19 am

This same thing happened to me. The actuator was the problem. I just lock drivers side with key.
My alarm stopped making sound to arm and disarm though.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 7th, 2015, 10:09 am

My Drivers side Actuator makes a Loud buzzing sound ( Frightens old Ladies ) all doors lock but the Drivers side .

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 7th, 2015, 10:33 am

Gem_in_i wrote:This same thing happened to me. The actuator was the problem. I just lock drivers side with key.
My alarm stopped making sound to arm and disarm though.

You do realise that all this time the alarm was not engaged right since you were only lo king the doors and by passing the alarm

Postby Gem_in_i » March 7th, 2015, 11:29 am

The alarm goes off as normal if a door is opened. I need to get it checked out when I get some time.