Finds $100m in bank account - What would you do?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 26th, 2015, 11:52 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sol ... 36791.html

Soldier finds $100m in bank account
By Mark Bassant CCN Senior Multimedia Investigative Journalist
Story Created: Mar 26, 2015 at 9:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 26, 2015 at 9:58 PM ECT
WHAT would you do if you woke up one morning and found $100 million in your account?

That’s the reality facing Trini­dad and Tobago Defence Force(TTDF) soldier Jason St John, who says he has no clue how the money ended up in his account.

St John, 34, said he got the surprise of his life on March 19, upon checking his account balance at the RBC Royal Bank ATM (automated teller machine) in Chaguanas.

The balance read ninety-nine million, nine hundred and ninety-nine thousand, nine hun­dred and ninety-nine dollars and ninety-nine cents ($99,999,999.99).

John said only the day before, his balance read zero on his account. He explained: “I had a $20,000 credit-card limit which I am trying to clear, and my RBC branch in Cha­gua­ramas suggested I take a loan to clear the amount owed while they held my salary from the previ­ous month (February) until I got it sorted

out, and as far as I knew, when I checked the account that day (March 18), there was a zero balance.”

He said to make sure his eyes were not deceiving him, on March 19, he checked his balance at not only the RBC Royal Bank ATM in Chaguanas but also at the Republic Bank, First Citizens and Scotiabank ATMs, all with the same result.

After a week elapsed, John visited an ATM in Chaguanas and then RBC Royal Bank, Inde­pendence Square, Port of Spain, yesterday, hoping the jackpot money would have gone away, presu­ming it might have been a glitch or bank error, but things became even more perplexing to him. The money was still sitting in his account.

“When I got my slip, I didn’t know exactly what to do so I held it and wait until this month-end, and I went to the ATM to get an update to see if the salary is there and get an update on my salary, and this was my salary for this month that remain there, so the one from last month not even in the account, and then the balance here is 99 million, 993 thousand and 400 hundred and eight dollars and 84 cents ($99,993,408.94),” he explained.

St John said after all his loan payments are deducted from his main branch at Chaguaramas, he is entitled to the $6,591 he has at his disposal.

“I had spoken to somebody at the bank and they say the available balance is money I can’t touch in the account and, basically, I can’t touch...but I never had this amount of money or even dream about having this amount of money in my account, ever,” he said.

He said he needs the rele­vant banking authorities to look into his account.

“I just need answers and cla­rifi­cation because I have a family to feed and this is cau­sing undue financial stress to me and them,” he said.

St John, who has been banking with the RBC Chaguaramas branch for close to ten years, says: “Several years ago, $5,000 went missing from my account and the bank blamed my wife but later decided to pay me back the $5,000 after discovering it was an error.”

He said he was made to come to the bank and sign an agreement in which he was paid the $5,000, and he explained later that month, the $5,000 was deducted from his account although the bank had made an arrangement to settle the outstanding amount.

The Express yesterday contacted regional manager of employee communications for RBC Royal Bank Nicole Duke-Westfield, who expressed shock upon hearing about the matter and later contacted the branch manager at Chaguaramas about St John’s case.

“The information as it regards to the client (St John) is confidential but the branch manager said that she was not aware of his situation. There are some issues regarding the account, not of our making,” explained Duke-Westfield.

Pressed further, Duke-West­field said she was not in a posi­tion to divulge any further details.

She however urged John to go in and speak face to face with the Chaguaramas branch manager.

Bozorotty

Re: Finds $100m in bank account - What would you do?

Postby Bozorotty » March 27th, 2015, 12:03 am

That man stupid !!

Postby Trini Hookah » March 27th, 2015, 12:13 am

Buy 2nr, duh.

Postby The_Honourable » March 27th, 2015, 12:15 am

So... dey bandit he $5000, now he get a million and want to query?

Wire transfer asap.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 27th, 2015, 12:26 am

boy.....no one suppose to know about this...withdraw, wiretransfer into other accounts.....

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » March 27th, 2015, 12:31 am

A Nigerian prince mubbe send he dat

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 27th, 2015, 12:36 am

The soldier in question is a humble and honest fella so trust me he would of notified them no matter what.

hondablood

Postby hondablood » March 27th, 2015, 12:54 am

He should have seen a lawyer first,happened to a government employee last year and immediately moved the money,lol,and he still has the money.I won't post the loophole here but some of you will know.

Postby black start » March 27th, 2015, 1:04 am

imagine when the sharks come back for it....

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » March 27th, 2015, 1:44 am

You would be arrested and charged when caught seen this happen before he is a wise man

killercow

Postby killercow » March 27th, 2015, 1:54 am

Nissian for life wrote:You would be arrested and charged when caught seen this happen before he is a wise man

#1. As hondablood said, there is a loophole that will work (actually there's more than one but...).
#2. I thought you would have taken the money and bought a 'nissan for life'. But then again...
#3. A wise man will not get caught.
#4. A wise man will not spell nissan "nissian".

Postby zoom rader » March 27th, 2015, 2:54 am

This is nothing new.
Banks have been known to throw launder money in to ppls dormant accounts untill they ready to move the money again. Plus there are incompetent bank staff that really do crap.

clone101

Postby clone101 » March 27th, 2015, 4:07 am

there is something called fishing going on with internet banking so as dumb as he may look he did the rite thing the money ent his so do not spend it .

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 27th, 2015, 4:56 am

Happened to me with RBC twice.
Once for 20,000, and once for 2 Mil.

The money entered my account one day...and a few days later just disappeared. No banking official could explain what went on...nor was willing to provide me with any documentation.

My accountant however wasn't pleased.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » March 27th, 2015, 5:31 am

Withdraw all and fall off the grid!
Change meh name kram3.0 ...

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 27th, 2015, 6:18 am

The next morning i was goin and build my dream garage.

Postby desifemlove » March 27th, 2015, 6:19 am

erm....change my identity and live in Monaco or the Isle of Man.....

no, turn it in. I ent risking jail for dat.

Postby skylinechild » March 27th, 2015, 6:54 am

build tony stark suit of armour Mk7..powered by gel batteries...cyah figure out the damn arc reactor nuh.... :lol:

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » March 27th, 2015, 6:59 am

Why dat couldnt be me dread..wire transfer an plane ticket out d country one time.. chillin in hawaiii 8-)8-)8-)8-)

droppa

Postby droppa » March 27th, 2015, 7:19 am

he shud tell his boss F off and knock out his bredrins teeth for sexing his gyul, den start looking for Morgan and try to catch the needle.................

Postby Redman » March 27th, 2015, 7:32 am

The kick is that based on what an employee of another bank says...in a situation like this the bank cannot move the funds out of his account without his permission.

Postby zoom rader » March 27th, 2015, 7:42 am

crazychinee wrote:Happened to me with RBC twice.
Once for 20,000, and once for 2 Mil.

The money entered my account one day...and a few days later just disappeared. No banking official could explain what went on...nor was willing to provide me with any documentation.

My accountant however wasn't pleased.

That's how they shift laundered money, they keep moving it around on dormant accounts.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » March 27th, 2015, 8:28 am

obviously there'll is fine print stating that in the even of bank error if money is withdrawn it must be paid back in full

a friend told me that the bank can apply interest as well...

otherwise it is straightforward theft and you can be charged... steupsss at loophole

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 27th, 2015, 8:41 am

No way in hell I keeping <name removed by admin> dirty money

Postby zoom rader » March 27th, 2015, 8:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:No way in hell I keeping <name removed by admin> dirty money

The banks will wash your money for you.
You put a $1 and get back 80cent

Postby Chimera » March 27th, 2015, 9:02 am

Jah put that 100million dey for me. Giving fifty million to charity. Living life nice with the next 50. Paying off all family loans. Buying 100 maxi. Hiring the best lawyers to draw out the case for as long as possible when the bank ask back for money. After ten, twenty years, offer to give them back 25 mil. They cant ask back for the 50 million from charity.

Postby rfari » March 27th, 2015, 9:03 am

Postby Chimera » March 27th, 2015, 9:08 am

I also opening a nuts factory for Rfari. Flooding the market with 50cents honey roasted and $1 cashew nuts

Postby rfari » March 27th, 2015, 9:09 am

:D f*q the market up

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2015, 9:20 am

mmmm rfari salty nuts