Re: Concern about private drones ?

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 3:36 pm

I said it better

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 3:36 pm

Now saw MG's comment after I posted mine. More or less I echoed his thoughts.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 3:59 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I just don't fancy a free for all where anyone can buy and operate one.
no one said that's what they should do.

enforcement is also a major issue in T&T. Take cell phone use while driving or seatbelts or speed limits.

Even consumer drones have a lot of technology in them. Most of the popular ones use GPS to maintain stable flight position and can easily be limited by the manufacturer to certain heights in areas close to most major airports.

Laws made by people with no appreciation or proper understanding for things and an inflated sense of power quick to yield a heavy hand often end up to the disadvantage of an entire industry e.g. paintball and motorsport using road courses

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 4:07 pm

so what's your solution Duane?

Postby cinco » April 7th, 2015, 4:19 pm

Ban dem

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 4:22 pm

ban Duane

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 4:22 pm

MG Man wrote:so what's your solution Duane?
reading
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Most of the popular ones use GPS to maintain stable flight position and can easily be limited by the manufacturer to certain heights in areas close to most major airports.

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 4:23 pm

who's gonna limit them? Who's gonna ensure that the manufacturer calibrates them for Trinidad? Airports are not the only areas where drones pose a threat / risk to public...you gonna ask the manufacturer to calibrate them to limit altitude near QPS and every possible event venue too?Suppose I buy it in Miami? What about the ones without GPS?

Postby Redman » April 7th, 2015, 4:35 pm

Well IMHO if it is that the CA feels its a threat why cant they just ban them along the route and fine/jail publish the first idiot to get caught breaking the rule.
Automatic confiscation and fine.
And make the fines asinine-like 500,000.

Frankly I think the likelihood of an accidental collision between a drone and a commercial plane is small
Plenty money to spend and lose because I playing bad/stupid

-it would be intentional.
If its intentional then they will find a way to make it happen.

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 4:42 pm

I think politicians just fraid they get ketch doin dotishness / people mackoing dey homes

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 4:49 pm

MG Man wrote:who's gonna limit them? Who's gonna ensure that the manufacturer calibrates them for Trinidad? Airports are not the only areas where drones pose a threat / risk to public...you gonna ask the manufacturer to calibrate them to limit altitude near QPS and every possible event venue too?Suppose I buy it in Miami? What about the ones without GPS?
You offer a useful suggestion then.

You don't have to calibrate for Trinidad! GPS is GPS. Include all major airports and you done. It may not be easy, but it sure beats getting banned outright all over the world.

The first model Phantom from DJI, their oldest model, has GPS and requires a link to at least 5 GPS satellites before it signals that it is ready to fly. There is a lot the manufacturers can do to limit these things and extend their safety.

The FAA loosened their rules on commercial drone flight in March 2015 stating "Operators are free to fly their vehicles anywhere in the US if they go no higher than 200 ft (61 m), only do so during daylight hours, keep the drones within line of sight of the pilots, and if they weigh less than 55 lb (24 kg). This of course excludes restricted airspace, such as airports, the White House and in major major cities where UAV flights are prohibited." Most if not all of these limitations can be hard coded into RTF drones for sale rather than depending on local pilots or law enforcement.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » April 7th, 2015, 5:13 pm

I hope they make an educated decision rather than the normal foolish one they tend to make. Next thing they ban all remote control devices because it's a threat to national security .

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 6:01 pm

roadhog wrote:I hope they make an educated decision rather than the normal foolish one they tend to make. Next thing they ban all remote control devices because it's a threat to national security .

Agree ! People can get so WTF foolish at times.

"Paint guns" ban is so much nonsense. The sport is so fantastic !

Drones at airport or near Piarco ? Who saying dat ?

No ! .. for all those anal law makers and people who stay inside their homes with barb wire and pit bull dog and a gov't laptop and ... the non athletic homo type nah .. 8-)

Talking about using them as a hobby at the recreational grounds .. or on a golf course :shock:

Or at the beach or on a Paria hike .. :P

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 7:26 pm

Anybody here own a drone ?

Any problems with the Law ?

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2015, 8:26 pm

I wanna see somebody fly one from Savannah and go over the us embassy

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 8:29 pm

pugboy wrote:I wanna see somebody fly one from Savannah and go over the us embassy

Why ? You muslim.

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2015, 8:38 pm

Lol, fyi u should ask the guys who used to fly helis on that side.
Definitely issues with RF near the road.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 8:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Lol, fyi u should ask the guys who used to fly helis on that side.
Definitely issues with RF near the road.

Lol ..

Americans send Drones all over the World and spy on everything ..

It would be interesting to see how they would react to a drone in their backyard ..

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 9:06 pm

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » April 7th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Just recently they had an issue with a dji phantom flying over the whitehouse, I agree with some sort of license and registration, along with restrictions placed on the onboard gps of the high end models, anything flying without Gps and that kind of technology is nothing more than a toy and harmless iMhO

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 10:00 pm

DanielCW wrote:Just recently they had an issue with a dji phantom flying over the whitehouse, I agree with some sort of license and registration, along with restrictions placed on the onboard gps of the high end models, anything flying without Gps and that kind of technology is nothing more than a toy and harmless iMhO

Lol ... WhiteHouse only complains .. You never hear the Canadians or the Europeans complain.

What the fuss ?

People never hear bout the RF planes ?

Like we must ONLY fly kite .. :shock:

Postby 1UZFE » April 7th, 2015, 10:08 pm

Its kinda strange this pose a problem owing to our archaic privacy laws.
What legislation wud they use to prevent this.? Does this mean we must have a review of our privacy laws??
Also i dont think we have a private air space limit for private property? If we do then,cud one can then legally take the operator of the craft to court for trespassing.??

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 10:14 pm

1UZFE wrote:Its kinda strange this pose a problem owing to our archaic privacy laws.
What legislation wud they use to prevent this.? Does this mean we must have a review of our privacy laws??
Also i dont think we have a private air space limit for private property? If we do then,cud one can then legally take the operator of the craft to court for trespassing.??

Not talking about the privacy of individuals .. and de " maco stuff " :roll:

Drones for a car rally view ..
Drones on a Hike to see the Landscape ..
Drones at the Beach ..

Drone usage as a popular hobby ..

Instead of flying " mad bull " ..

Attach a camera to ah mad bull .. I wonder if that will threaten National Security ?

Cid

Postby Cid » April 8th, 2015, 12:07 am

flew my p2v+ last month in tobago....., got up to around 800ft, the view was awesome...., this drone uses gps and cannot take off or fly around any restricted areas, airports Navy base etc.. to bypass this would be to disable the gps, once you do this u loose all stabilization, flight correction and return home functions, any slight breeze would cause it to drift excessively..... its very unlikely someone would go near an airport and crash into a plane using these. However the props are very dangerous and can cause serious harm... this really isnt a toy.

ImageImage

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 12:14 am

p2v+ is a DJI Phantom 2 Vision + for those reading that didn't know.

Great pics!!!!

Two questions though, are you sure you got up to 800 feet? and are you sure that the GPS won't work near an airport?

I have a regular Phantom 1 and I don't get issues anywhere for acquiring multiple GPS satellites other than the usual issues of being in the Caribbean.

And yes, these things are insanely more difficult to fly if you don't let it use GPS to maintain it's position in even a slight wind.

Cid

Postby Cid » April 8th, 2015, 1:16 am

out of the box its restricted to something like 300m, i adjusted the remote (from CE to FCC) as well as the software via pc to go above that....,I also installed some upgrades, a thicker gps module for better satellite reception, a diy gps shielding to prevent interference from the wifi and camera signal ... and a stage 2 antenata upgrade (pilot side) which takes the range from 2000ft to around 4 - 8000ft. The live view app on my phone always has the vertical height so im pretty sure i hit 800 ft, i haven't upgrade the software for about a month so im not sure if they placed any additional restrictions on height... Ive never attempted to take off near an airport so ive never seen the no fly zone warning..... For gps flight you must lock on to a minimum of 6 sats.... the gps will connect regardless of where you are but the phantom software will not allow the bird to leave the ground if you are in a restricted zone.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 8:06 am

Cool!!!
The antenna upgrade includes extending the FPV range too?

Cid

Postby Cid » April 8th, 2015, 12:33 pm

yup.... the wifi booster gets an antena.... as well as the 5.8 ghz rc.......... fpvlr.com , dji antenna kits

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 9:14 pm

DJI Phantom 3
US$999 for 1080p version and US$1295 for 4K version

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 9:20 pm