Concern about private drones ?

orangefox

Concern about private drones ?

Postby orangefox » April 6th, 2015, 6:26 pm

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,209321.html

" When contacted, the Executive Director of the NOC Commander Garvin Heerah stated, “The issue of UA and UAS’s and the threat that they pose to public safety and national security ... "

Crazy !

So video recording with mobile phones is next ?

How do drones pose a national security threat ?
Last edited by orangefox on April 6th, 2015, 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Concern about private drones ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2015, 6:28 pm

One could go and stealthily "macco" to see what minister's car is being loaded up with "food".

Minister hadda eat ah food too yuhno.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2015, 6:30 pm

On an equally serious note, I am pretty sure that a drone hitting an aeroplane or helicopter could have just as devastating effects as a bird-strike.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 6th, 2015, 6:31 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:On an equally serious note, I am pretty sure that a drone hitting an aeroplane or helicopter could have just as devastating effects as a bird-strike.

Drones do not go that high .. Or do they ?

My remote helicopter goes much higher :shock:

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » April 6th, 2015, 6:33 pm

If a drone flies into the path of an aircraft..... Who is responsible for result? National security? Maybe....

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 6th, 2015, 6:35 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:One could go and stealthily "macco" to see what minister's car is being loaded up with "food".

Minister hadda eat ah food too yuhno.

Dat the job of the Express, Guardian and ZR

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 6th, 2015, 6:41 pm

orangefox wrote:Drones do not go that high .. Or do they ?

My remote helicopter goes much higher :shock:

Aircraft have to land, don't they?

But check YouTube for some local drone aerial videos. The drones looked to be pretty high in those videos.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 6th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Some get really high. Numerous events I was present at I saw fire officials ask for the drones to be brought down and not used

They even threatened to shut down some fetes for its use

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2015, 6:56 pm

last year one crashed in crown during a carnival party
you can get serious cuts from propellor

Postby nervewrecker » April 6th, 2015, 8:48 pm

pugboy wrote:last year one crashed in crown during a carnival party
you can get serious cuts from propellor

I remember this but everyone shouldn't have to pay because of one idiot.

Was actually thinking of getting one of these for work. Cams could do a fair inspection of places difficult and time consuming to access. :(

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 6th, 2015, 11:21 pm

One hit my van in manzanilla,,,,, its still in my tray where i took it up and slowly placed it.......rel kool got a camera and track wheels...

orangefox

Postby orangefox » April 7th, 2015, 12:49 am

Ordered one from Amazon and I have to pick it up tomorrow ...
Hope the customs do not make a fuss or confiscate it ..

The one purchased is as follows:

UDI U818A 2.4GHz 4 CH 6 Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter with Camera RTF Mode 2

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » April 7th, 2015, 8:04 am

LOL

So if i walk on my roof with a camcorder in my hands? I am doing the same thing lol
Backward thinking ppl, there are much more serious threats than a "hobby" drone.

Oh and some of the mid range ones do go really high. Search Blade 350 altitude test on youtube, they reach the base of the clouds actually

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 9:36 am

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 9:49 am

^ That's what landed in Roswell ah wha??

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 10:05 am

good grief >_<
you cya be dat young

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 7th, 2015, 10:11 am

Those DJI's hexacopters can go over 1km altitude and more. Even above clouds so I can understand the concern about hitting airplanes/helicopters

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 7th, 2015, 11:37 am

check out d drone episode on southpark .....

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2015, 11:39 am

and to think PNM drone was a blimp

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 11:50 am

MG Man wrote:good grief >_<
you cya be dat young

Nah dan I eh that young...EDI from Stealth.
I grow up watching the fictional Mig 31 from Firefox. Stealth is a newb to that.

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 12:12 pm

the UCAV is pretty cool tho

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 1:22 pm

Something about being killed by a drone seems so dishonourable though!!
No mano a mano!!

DanielCW

Postby DanielCW » April 7th, 2015, 1:38 pm

I have experience with the dji phantoms and a fall because of failure from 200ft can seriously injure people below, as for flying in the path of a commercial plane I think that's far fetched, but those quadcopters are very versatile and can carry small payloads as well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 2:01 pm

DJI has limited the phantoms (by far the most popular consumer drones) to a height of 120m in their latest firmware.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 2:15 pm

120m - 393 feet....seems high enough to affect an aircraft landing into Piarco outside of the airport itself. The aircraft inclined men on this forum would know where for example a B737 would be distance wise out of Piarco to be 120m off the ground.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 2:38 pm

Of course the drone operator needs to practice safety and precaution.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Of course the drone operator needs to practice safety and precaution.

Not exactly the traits Trinis are renowned for.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2015, 2:41 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Of course the drone operator needs to practice safety and precaution.

what do you suggest then? We ban them in T&T?

Postby MG Man » April 7th, 2015, 3:25 pm

probably set some requirements for ownership: a license, membership with one of the recognized clubs, public liability insurance etc
The guys who fly RC chopers and planes in Caroni take their hobby seriously....they also have to adhere to a flight ceiling as part of their terms and conditions for use of the property where they fly

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2015, 3:35 pm

what do you suggest then? We ban them in T&T?

Not an outright ban....stricter regulations by way of a registration process at least.
That way if a drone is ever used in something nefarious or is involved in an accident we know who the owners are and who would have to stand responsibility.

Maybe even a public liability insurance dependent on the scope of use, capability of drone.
I just don't fancy a free for all where anyone can buy and operate one.