Suicide on Maracas Beach

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2015, 11:09 pm

http://www.ttonline.org/2015/04/08/man- ... cas-beach/

A 29-year-old environmental engineer employed by CARIRI committed suicide today.

Brent Ottley of Hope Place, Mt Dor Road, Champ Fleur, went to Maracas beach today and shortly before midday, lifeguards on duty say they saw Ottley walking into the sea.

He kept going further and further and although they called out to him he failed to heed their calls.
The lifeguards dived into the water after him but he disappeared.

By the time he was located and fished out of the water, he was not unresponsive.

Ottley was taken to the Port-of-Spain General Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.
Sergeant Maharaj and Corporal Acres of the Maracas Bay police visited the scene and later found a suicide note his the vehicle.

An autopsy was ordered on the corpse to be performed at the National Forensic Centre tomorrow.

nos_specialist

Re: Suicide on Maracas Beach

Postby nos_specialist » April 8th, 2015, 11:36 pm

Wat d jail jed...

that sad

Postby skylinechild » April 9th, 2015, 12:04 am

hmmm...interesting....only two questions how far did he actually walk in..and what did the note say....

Postby RBphoto » April 9th, 2015, 12:09 am

What did the note say?

gurmuk

Postby gurmuk » April 9th, 2015, 12:33 am

wdmc!

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 9th, 2015, 12:35 am

Really sad. Interesting to knw why he chose to take his life.

Postby De Dragon » April 9th, 2015, 1:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:http://www.ttonline.org/2015/04/08/man-kills-himself-at-maracas-beach/

A 29-year-old environmental engineer employed by CARIRI committed suicide today.

Brent Ottley of Hope Place, Mt Dor Road, Champ Fleur, went to Maracas beach today and shortly before midday, lifeguards on duty say they saw Ottley walking into the sea.

He kept going further and further and although they called out to him he failed to heed their calls.
The lifeguards dived into the water after him but he disappeared.

By the time he was located and fished out of the water, he was not unresponsive.

Ottley was taken to the Port-of-Spain General Hospital where he was pronounced dead on arrival.
Sergeant Maharaj and Corporal Acres of the Maracas Bay police visited the scene and later found a suicide note his the vehicle.

An autopsy was ordered on the corpse to be performed at the National Forensic Centre tomorrow.

:? :? :?

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2015, 2:13 am

Government is not doing enough for mental health.

M@nnie

Postby M@nnie » April 9th, 2015, 7:26 am

So commiting suicide and all u wanna blame the governnent for? Interesting... really interesting...

Postby pete » April 9th, 2015, 7:43 am

Why did the lifeguards suspect something was wrong? Guy was in full work clothes or what?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2015, 7:47 am

sad news....becoming an engineer takes alot of work....to end your young life just like this....nothing is worth taking your life...sad

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 9th, 2015, 7:51 am

look d brenty....

Postby dougla_boy » April 9th, 2015, 8:32 am

sad yes

but real talk.....people real like to end dey life in pain yes.....
me, i rather siddong in a car full of carbon monoxide yes.......

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2015, 8:34 am

M@nnie wrote:So commiting suicide and all u wanna blame the governnent for? Interesting... really interesting...

In develop countries the moment you show signs of mental health issues social services come knocking on your door. Here in trini you cant find social services officers .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 9th, 2015, 8:52 am

dougla_boy wrote:sad yes

Yeah jed. I dunno bout this drowning ting. Guy from Golconda killed himself last week by Hyatt also drowned himself in the night. Knew the guy. Didn't expect that at all.

Postby cinco » April 9th, 2015, 9:02 am

Ent Yuh car engine wukkin? Do we a favour nuh

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2015, 9:03 am

Would a mix of super and premium provide proper results ?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 9th, 2015, 9:09 am

cinco wrote:

bwahahahaha! :lol:

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 9th, 2015, 9:13 am

tr1ad wrote:Would a mix of super and premium provide proper results ?

so when people aks meh how u ded ah go tell dem yuh geh smoke out.

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2015, 9:14 am

Boom

Postby dougla_boy » April 9th, 2015, 10:10 am

cinco wrote:

lolol...fok....

Postby 88sins » April 9th, 2015, 10:45 am

daiz a hard way to go out.
2 handful a valium woulda be the easier less dramatic way out. just get real relaxed & take a nap & forget to wake up

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 9th, 2015, 10:49 am

88sins wrote:daiz a hard way to go out.
2 handful a valium woulda be the easier less dramatic way out. just get real relaxed & take a nap & forget to wake up

Link ah scene for d valium nah dan, pm tr1ad and myself.

suicide club ftw.....who een?

[injun tonic] :drinking: [injun tonic]

PBZ Wingroad

Postby PBZ Wingroad » April 9th, 2015, 10:55 am

RIP Brent. I had known this guy personally in UWI. To me he used to look sort of sad most of the time but when I asked his close friends they would say that's just his personality. This is a sad way to go for such as young brilliant guy. I really wish that people with such problems could seek help.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » April 9th, 2015, 10:59 am

Hmm d pressures of school...

Daz why I is a dropout

Failure ftw..

konartis

Postby konartis » April 9th, 2015, 12:25 pm

just came from a funeral of a friend that commited suicide last week, this make about three persons that commited suicide in the past few weeks or so....

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » April 9th, 2015, 12:45 pm

Anybody consider that this fella wasn't himself? To casually walk into the sea and drown is not something I would imagine is easy to do. What if he wasn't even aware of what he was doing? Tis place full of envy, jealousy and hatred. Suppose somebody was jealous d man make it and wuk someting on him jedd??? Wdmc I now really read boi?

sarh__r

Postby sarh__r » April 9th, 2015, 12:50 pm

Very sad...I worked with him for a bit at CARIRI, was a cool friendly dude........RIP buddy!!

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2015, 12:53 pm

sarh__r wrote:Very sad...I worked with him for a bit at CARIRI, was a cool friendly dude........RIP buddy!!

Did you ever notice any mental health issues he may have had at that time .

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2015, 1:03 pm

zoom rader wrote:Government is not doing enough for mental health.

Your government working for you. 8-)