Medicine in Trinidad

Kewell35

Medicine in Trinidad

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 2:44 am

Everyone and they dog getting accepted to do MBBS in Mt Hope now. Is there any prestige in it again? Any opportunities to go abroad (to specialize after)? or we all stuck here...anyone know thanks.

cincuanta

Re: Medicine in Trinidad

Postby cincuanta » June 20th, 2015, 3:10 am

Lol at "prestige" talk and practicing medicine. You in for a surprise when you get to internship.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 3:11 am

cincuanta wrote:Lol at "prestige" talk and practicing medicine. You in for a surprise when you get to internship.

Why you say that? (Serious talk - Explain Pls)

Daran

Postby Daran » June 20th, 2015, 6:05 am

Lol fake prestige. But it's a good program. Do it, do well and try to get s scholarship to specialize afterward.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 6:28 am

Daran wrote:Lol fake prestige. But it's a good program. Do it, do well and try to get s scholarship to specialize afterward.

Why you say fake prestige? and how hard is it to get a scholarship?

Lance

Postby Lance » June 20th, 2015, 7:07 am

So people pursue a career in medicine solely based on prestige?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 20th, 2015, 7:48 am

Kewell35 wrote:Everyone and they dog getting accepted to do MBBS in Mt Hope now. Is there any prestige in it again? Any opportunities to go abroad (to specialize after)? or we all stuck here...anyone know thanks.

since when doing a MBBS in Mt Hope is prestigious :lol:

man u have to get your head out of ya Arse and face reality ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 20th, 2015, 7:56 am

Kewell35 wrote:Everyone and they dog getting accepted to do MBBS in Mt Hope now. Is there any prestige in it again? Any opportunities to go abroad (to specialize after)? or we all stuck here...anyone know thanks.

Because everyone and they dog smart AF now.

Postby 1UZFE » June 20th, 2015, 8:11 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Because everyone and they dog smart AF now.

If everyone and dey dog doin it it cannot be prestigious. :|

Postby rspann » June 20th, 2015, 8:26 am

OP. based on your opening statement, I get that you are doing medicine. You said" we " so I take it that you are doing medicine. You say everyone and their dog, do you think that some of those that were accepted are lower than you? They were accepted based on their qualifications and have an equal right to an education as you do.

Prestige,that's what you are in it for? Well I suggest you look for something else to do. Medicine is a field where you should genuinely care for people , not something that should be looked on as a prestige job, or a means of getting rich.

I understand why you created this thread( to let us know that you are in a prestigious field) but in trying to cry down others ,you make yourself look like an ass. You are in this prestigious field and you come on Trinituner ole talk to get advice on your options? Can't you do research on your own to find out what you want to know?

BTW, are you an everybody or are you their dog?, seeing you are there too.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 20th, 2015, 8:29 am

wel said ^^^^^^

Postby 1UZFE » June 20th, 2015, 8:36 am

Op have just opened up himself to be trolled..

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » June 20th, 2015, 8:54 am

The unspoken mission of the medical board is to protect doctors from market competition under the guise of protecting the patient. That's why they restrict the supply of medical school students and professionals. Less supply the more doctors can charge.

That's how the system is set up to screw the patient and grant doctors a financial advantage. No "prestige" there just historical political cronyism by way of the Medical Board Act.

Trinbagoviews.com

pj15

Postby pj15 » June 20th, 2015, 9:07 am

Trinbagoviews wrote:The unspoken mission of the medical board is to protect doctors from market competition under the guise of protecting the patient. That's why they restrict the supply of medical school students and professionals. Less supply the more doctors can charge.

That's how the system is set up to screw the patient and grant doctors a financial advantage. No "prestige" there just historical political cronyism by way of the Medical Board Act.

Trinbagoviews.com

How exactly does the MBTT "restrict the supply of medical school students and professionalsl" ?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 20th, 2015, 9:23 am

pj15 wrote:
Trinbagoviews wrote:The unspoken mission of the medical board is to protect doctors from market competition under the guise of protecting the patient. That's why they restrict the supply of medical school students and professionals. Less supply the more doctors can charge.

Trinbagoviews.com

How exactly does the MBTT "restrict the supply of medical school students and professionalsl" ?

Limiting the number of doctors entering and leaving each year.

Postby DVSTT » June 20th, 2015, 9:27 am

They're more lenient with admissions for this year, I spoke to some who were differred last year and they had 4 and 5 ones, 2 years ago 7 ones would have gotten you a differal.
But it's not as prestigious as you think, patients are hard to deal with some times, there was a patient a few months ago that stood in paeds car park and terrorized doctors and interns as they came and left.
If you go in with that mentality you'll have a bad time, you have to enjoy the profession and realise you there to help people not to be above anyone.

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » June 20th, 2015, 9:39 am

They place a yearly cap on the number of new med students and limit the number of licenses granted to foreign docs etc.

pj15

Postby pj15 » June 20th, 2015, 10:00 am

Trinbagoviews wrote:
They place a yearly cap on the number of new med students
and limit the number of licenses granted to foreign docs etc.

Couldn't this be construed as a quality control measure? Does UWI presently have the resources (clinical placement sites, clinical faculty, etc) to facilitate an increased number of medical students?

Regarding limiting the number of licenses granted to foreign docs; as far as I'm aware once you've met the requirements for registration with the MBTT you'll be granted a license ...unless of course the requirements themselves are meant to serve as the impediment to registration?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 2:18 pm

Last edited by Kewell35 on November 30th, 2020, 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby DVSTT » June 20th, 2015, 2:27 pm

OP one day you'll learn that cxc grades don't equal intelligence.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 2:37 pm

DVSTT wrote:OP one day you'll learn that cxc grades don't equal intelligence.

One day, when I banging yuh woman as a surgeon, you'll learn that it does

Postby Trini Hookah » June 20th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Tsk tsk, OP needs to get off this high horse.

Postby rollingstock » June 20th, 2015, 3:17 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

You should worry yourself with what going on home by you, ask yuh gyul, I fcuked her! Long Dick Style

Btw thanks for only using the first four inches , she was a virgin after that ;)

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 3:18 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

You should worry yourself with what going on home by you, ask yuh gyul, I fcuked her! [i]Long Dick Style[i]

Btw thanks for only using the first four inches , she was a virgin after that ;)

I eh have no gyul.

I does be brushing everyone else one by me here. So if you claim to brush my girl, you must be brush yuh own woman by me. No scene, as long as we sharing your woman.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 3:19 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Tsk tsk, OP needs to get off this high horse.

Try telling yuh woman to get off my high horse. It big and long and hard and she like to ride it.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 20th, 2015, 3:21 pm

Inside...for action

Postby 1UZFE » June 20th, 2015, 3:22 pm

I feel op prolly a poor black boy in class n dem indian n dem who driving dey fada benz prolly make fun of him cuz he takes bus.
Jus d mere fact that u mentioned u do better than them in yuh class n u are fighting for prestige by becomin a surgeon n wah bull Dvstt n d types of posts u make in d GE ched shows your insecurities n your black.
Tell me i lie.:evil:

Postby rollingstock » June 20th, 2015, 3:25 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

You should worry yourself with what going on home by you, ask yuh gyul, I fcuked her! [i]Long Dick Style[i]

I eh have no gyul.

I does be brushing everyone else one by me here. So if you claim to brush my girl, you must be brush yuh own woman by me. No scene, as long as we sharing your woman.

Shims my bad , must have been your moms then :oops:

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 3:26 pm

1UZFE wrote:I feel op prolly a poor black boy in class n dem indian n dem who driving dey fada benz prolly make fun of him cuz he takes bus.
Jus d mere fact that u mentioned u do better than them in yuh class n u are fighting for prestige by becomin a surgeon n wah bull Dvstt n d types of posts u make in d GE ched shows your insecurities n your black.
Tell me i lie.:evil:

I could tell you....you get one thing right.
Meh dick black and yuh mother like it so.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 20th, 2015, 3:28 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

I eh have no gyul.

Shims my bad , must have been your moms then :oops:

Doh bring meh mother in this. I never meet my mother nah. Why you hadda be so insulting dred?