Great Race 2015 photos

paparazzi

Re: Great Race 2015 photos

Postby paparazzi » August 25th, 2015, 5:45 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
killercow wrote:I remember back in the day when the only other catamaran apart from Solo was Gulf Warrior.
Anyone knows what happened to them?

:cry: I must be real old then. I remember when the other catamaran was Checkmate.

The present solo is not the first cat the bore the mr solo name. Ken Charles had a cat in the eighties, years before he bought the present Randy Scism MTI hull

The former was eventually converted from i/o to outboards and painted in the Solo Bentley livery. Hayden Charles then ran the boat for several years

killercow

Postby killercow » August 25th, 2015, 5:54 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote: :cry: I must be real old then. I remember when the other catamaran was Checkmate.

Solo wasn't always a catamaran though.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 25th, 2015, 5:55 pm

killercow wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote: :cry: I must be real old then. I remember when the other catamaran was Checkmate.

If he remembers the checkmate cat the I'm pretty sure he's well aware of that! Lol

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2015, 6:11 pm

paparazzi wrote:
killercow wrote:

If he remembers the checkmate cat the I'm pretty sure he's well aware of that! Lol

Also, Checkmate wasn't always a catamaran. I think the Checkmate cat was called Checkmate Too. My memory is failing me.

paparazzi

Great Race 2015 photos

Postby paparazzi » August 25th, 2015, 6:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
killercow wrote:

Also, Checkmate wasn't always a catamaran. I think the Checkmate cat was called Checkmate Too. My memory is failing me.

Your memory is spot on. Original checkers was a 28 bowen. Then the cat then the big Bowen v

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2015, 6:15 pm

paparazzi wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:
killercow wrote:I remember back in the day when the only other catamaran apart from Solo was Gulf Warrior.

:cry: I must be real old then. I remember when the other catamaran was Checkmate.

The present solo is not the first cat the bore the mr solo name. Ken Charles had a cat in the eighties, years before he bought the present Randy Scism MTI hull

The former was eventually converted from i/o to outboards and painted in the Solo Bentley livery. Hayden Charles then ran the boat for several years

What happened to the boat that got into the accident where two of Ken Charles' sons died? Is that the Mr. Solo from the 80s?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 25th, 2015, 6:19 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

What happened to the boat that got into the accident where two of Ken Charles' sons died? Is that the Mr. Solo from the 80s?

No. The solo that was destroyed in Antigua was a V that was built after Brian died and Penny was running the factory. After the boat crashed there was a lot of finger pointing as to quality and Ken never bought another Bowen ever again. He instead commissioned a brand new Formula 3 40' V which he campaigned for several years before buying the MTI cat

TriP

Postby TriP » August 25th, 2015, 9:28 pm

dredman1 wrote:Just came up on my FB feed. Thought I'd post it here.

Interesting viewpoint, but action galore.

saw tis on sunday ..those boats were going 100-120 miles per hour

and these aholes were drunk and were in the race lanes

a disaster waiting to happen

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 25th, 2015, 9:30 pm

TriP wrote:

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

and now any moron could buy a wave runner. You could image heading toward boca at 80+ and a wave runner pull out from behind a boat?

TriP

Postby TriP » August 25th, 2015, 9:30 pm

great info above posts ..paparazzi

The boats race through the First Boca on its way to Tobago.

Postby pete » August 25th, 2015, 9:53 pm

A lot of boat owners in Trinidad have no idea how to be responsible on the water. Fact that solo started turning to go into the Boca pushing vortex into the pirogue made it even worse.

If that crap continues one day the news will be that 10 killed in great race crash and that will be the end of that.

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2015, 10:03 pm

Dotish spectating.....

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1440554578.999699.jpg

Postby tr1ad » August 25th, 2015, 10:05 pm

TriP wrote:

And at the time, no it wasn't 100mph

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2015, 10:07 pm

Tang yuk had one of the earlynnes, called top cat

TriP

Postby TriP » August 25th, 2015, 10:08 pm

check where this DJI Phantom 2 drone (white speck) was and how low the copter was flying close to the boats..some people were arguing whether the copter are permitted or not permitted to fly that low ..?
2.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » August 25th, 2015, 10:22 pm

this was an awesum shot too from MarcusG
6.jpg

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 26th, 2015, 12:35 am

Would love to see that drone footage of the boats going thru first bocas

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 26th, 2015, 12:36 am

dredman1 wrote:Would love to see that drone footage of the boats going thru first bocas

You might be taking in the footage and see a helicopter pass UNDER de drone

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 26th, 2015, 5:59 am

pugboy wrote:Tang yuk had one of the earlynnes, called top cat

I forgot about Top cat.

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 26th, 2015, 7:59 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Fierce competitor too!
Gave Mr. Solo a quite a run

HSA

Postby HSA » August 26th, 2015, 8:56 am

where do we get the footage?? willing to pay...flow has in the ppv but its old ones...i rememeber long time they use to show it on tv a couple of weeks later...

Postby noshownogo » August 26th, 2015, 9:13 am

tr1ad wrote:Dotish spectating.....

This is a real problem the event organizers need to look into, imagine Monster passed on the inside of this spectating boat. Leads me to wonder if there is any real race line?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 26th, 2015, 10:49 am

noshownogo wrote:
tr1ad wrote:Dotish spectating.....

This is a real problem the event organizers need to look into, imagine Monster passed on the inside of this spectating boat. Leads me to wonder if there is any real race line?

There was an incident a couple years back when checkmate and solo were pelting round Cannings point only to find an awkwardly placed coast guard boat round the corner. One of the race boats ended up having to take some evasive action.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2015, 2:12 pm

Marcus G Productions are doing the video. They posted that the video will be available soon.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » August 26th, 2015, 6:15 pm

front video from monster.

killercow

Postby killercow » August 26th, 2015, 8:55 pm

Somebody tell meh wha happen to Vortex and Paramount na?
I not seeing dem in d results list :|

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 26th, 2015, 9:39 pm

killercow wrote:Somebody tell meh wha happen to Vortex and Paramount na?

vortex was disqualified

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2015, 9:41 pm

Vortex break engine or exhaust mount on the way to tobago
Was supposedly doing om speedwise

Postby tr1ad » August 26th, 2015, 11:22 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:
killercow wrote:Somebody tell meh wha happen to Vortex and Paramount na?

vortex was disqualified

The engine mount broke on one of the turbines....
DNF

killercow

Postby killercow » August 29th, 2015, 2:32 pm

tr1ad wrote:The engine mount broke on one of the turbines....
DNF

I'm guessing Paramount was DQ or DNF as well for some reason.