No New Contracts

screwbash

No New Contracts

Postby screwbash » October 3rd, 2015, 5:15 am

THE approval of all new Government contracts is to cease with immediate effect, Finance Minister Colm Imbert has said.

This instruction is being blamed for dozens of employees at the Ministry of Agriculture, Lands and Fisheries being sent home and not having their employment contracts renewed, the Express has learned.

However, Imbert said yesterday his directive pertained to new contracts and that the renewal of contracts, including those for employment, would depend on the approval of the line minister.

Based on the above where the contract employees of Ministry of agriculture was sent home by contracts not being renewed, anyone have further info on this?
Was it short term contracts? Like 3 or 6 months?
What kind of positions were they?
Were the employees clerical or skilled staff?

If anyone have any further info or know anyone please let me know.

Re: No New Contracts

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 3rd, 2015, 7:31 am

Short term contracts (3-6) that expired on the 30th of September. Agri hires a lot of short term labour as Research Assistants, Technicians, IT, etc because its cheap with no benefits at all.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 4th, 2015, 4:21 am

Most govt agencies contract out positions that not in the public service laws. Hope oil jump back up to 80$ a barrel yes.

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » October 4th, 2015, 7:20 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Short term contracts (3-6) that expired on the 30th of September. Agri hires a lot of short term labour as Research Assistants, Technicians, IT, etc because its cheap with no benefits at all.

So basically a type of modern day slavery

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2015, 7:59 am

Casper23 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Short term contracts (3-6) that expired on the 30th of September. Agri hires a lot of short term labour as Research Assistants, Technicians, IT, etc because its cheap with no benefits at all.

Yes forget Dafur and the Middle East.

$6000-$8000 salary working at a desk in an air condition building is modern day slavery. O the humanity!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 4th, 2015, 8:01 am

do you all think that something should be done about contracted posts(like the 3yrs and up post)...make these people permanent....you know how much people does get brace from financial institutions with this 3 yrs thing

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » October 4th, 2015, 8:38 am

Yes 6000-8000 dollars sitting by a desk with no sick days , casual, and vacation, can't even go to the bank for a mortgage , let alone a loan. That is slavery sir

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 4th, 2015, 9:34 am

Habit7 wrote:
Casper23 wrote:

Yes forget Dafur and the Middle East.

$6000-$8000 salary working at a desk in an air condition building is modern day slavery. O the humanity!

I does usually agree with you but not this time. You talking sheit. Most of the short term people making 4000-7500, less than OJTs in some cases and these people have degrees and experience. Not everyone employed under short term doing desk jobs, there are those doing the functions of specialist officers, some doing lab and field work, research etc. They don't get sick leave, over time, casual and pay is usually a month or more late and no gratuity at the end. Most do it because its better than nothing

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 4th, 2015, 9:47 am

Casper23 wrote:Yes 6000-8000 dollars sitting by a desk with no sick days , casual, and vacation, can't even go to the bank for a mortgage , let alone a loan. That is slavery sir

Thaz not slavery.

They could leave if they want.

They could find a next wuk.

Or they could choose to stay.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 4th, 2015, 10:03 am

Its so easy for many to talk out their asses when they not in a situation.

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2015, 10:04 am

There are ppl forcibly removed from their homes, sold like chattel, work in inhumane conditions, rape by their captures, physically abused to attained productivity, stripped of their identity and given no monetary reward. That is slavery.

Short term contract is civilised work. The job market is competitive, one has to compete. No one is guaranteed a permanent, pensionable, health insured, well paying, prominent job in their field.

Deal with it.

Postby tr1ad » October 4th, 2015, 10:07 am

screwbash wrote:Most govt agencies contract out positions that not in the public service laws. Hope oil jump back up to 80$ a barrel yes.

why?

it should stay low, let people learn the value of a dollar and an honest day work

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 4th, 2015, 10:24 am

Habit7, resign your job and take a short term nah...most of those on those short term are now trying to build themselves out of university. With the current job market and high nepotism and cronyism due to politics people taking what they get because its more feasible to take a crappy job and gain some experience than stay home

Daran

Postby Daran » October 4th, 2015, 10:28 am

Oh man, the entitlement I am witnessing here.

I've seen departments of these 'slaves' , ole talking.....sorry bad talking the company, the upper management the 'entire' 9 to 3pm day, with a 2 hour lunch to Ruby Tuesday, plus a couple hours on facebook and shopping on amazon, or doing their MBA homework.

I really feel for these slaves man...

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2015, 10:33 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Habit7, resign your job and take a short term nah...most of those on those short term are now trying to build themselves out of university. With the current job market and high nepotism and cronyism due to politics people taking what they get because its more feasible to take a crappy job and gain some experience than stay home

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=641615&start=960#p8894033
Min of Labour 2013, nowhere near my field but it paid the bills.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 4th, 2015, 12:43 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Habit7, resign your job and take a short term nah...most of those on those short term are now trying to build themselves out of university. With the current job market and high nepotism and cronyism due to politics people taking what they get because its more feasible to take a crappy job and gain some experience than stay home

Right. They choose to do the work ent? Nobody holding a gun to their head.

Man could walk off the job. Or they choose to stay.

Choice iza hellofating.

When people realize they have a choice they usually stop talking stupidness.

Usually...

khandman

Postby khandman » October 4th, 2015, 1:41 pm

So because u graduate with a degree so entitled to a permanent, well paying job immediately? Utter rubbish imo. And not because u working somewhere for a few years means u should automatically become permanent. Just go into any govt institution and witness what these slaves do all day. Too much of entitlement now. Talk to someone who works in the bank or in the industry for example, they will tell u how hard they have to work for their money. Do they complain? No. Cause it is a conscious decision to remain. If u don't like the ojt job, GTFO.

Postby MaxPower » October 4th, 2015, 2:04 pm

Typical dotish Trinidadian mentality.
Oh u have a degree and you demand employment. Some of you fuks and degree cheaters in here cannot even pass an interview.....and then when allyuh get BLANK....u vex

Dream on

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » October 4th, 2015, 2:09 pm

MaxPower wrote:Typical dotish Trinidadian mentality.
Oh u have a degree and you demand employment. Some of you fuks and degree cheaters in here cannot even pass an interview.....and then when allyuh get BLANK....u vex

Dream on

Just mentioned this in another post. Degrees from our local institutions are now almost worthless given how decreased standards.

We have now created a society of mediocre, entitled 'office workers' who have poor work ethic and intelligence.

First order of business should be to eliminate GATE funding to all these fly by night tertiary education institutions......especially Business Management degrees.

Postby Chimera » October 4th, 2015, 2:21 pm

They should probably regulate the funding but why eliminate it. Why should only the well off or rich be able to access education?

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » October 4th, 2015, 2:39 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:They should probably regulate the funding but why eliminate it. Why should only the well off or rich be able to access education?

Cut it to lower tier institutions. A degree is not a degree when someone with 5 CXC can go to Sital/UTT and get one in under 3 years. At the same time, UWI needs to raise their standards instead of lowering it, and not doing this artificially, but add more rigorous content, change to 4 year programs and give more project/coursework instead of exams.

Postby tr1ad » October 4th, 2015, 4:25 pm

I would agree with the more coursework for degrees; from participating in a specialised degree I have seen that many of the modules are "fluff" just to make up courses for the degree.
I have also seen abuse of the GATE system

Postby MaxPower » October 4th, 2015, 5:47 pm

Its so funny to hear ppl with degrees and a nasty stuck up attitude complaining that they cant get a job...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 11:20 am

Casper23 wrote:Yes 6000-8000 dollars sitting by a desk with no sick days , casual, and vacation, can't even go to the bank for a mortgage , let alone a loan. That is slavery sir

So how I does survive on $150 TT a week then? allyuh have no idea what ketch ass is hoss. Try doing my kinda work for only $150 a week, no casual, no vacation etc and then talk.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 11:25 am

Azzuri wrote:Just mentioned this in another post. Degrees from our local institutions are now almost worthless given how decreased standards.

We have now created a society of mediocre, entitled 'office workers' who have poor work ethic and intelligence.

First order of business should be to eliminate GATE funding to all these fly by night tertiary education institutions......especially Business Management degrees.

I have been saying this on tuner for years now but people just don't get it.

They need to drastically cut gate permanently on 90% of degrees. Do the UKIP model, fund Science/Medicine and make them work for years locally else they have to pay it back.

Trinidad needs more doctors etc not more of the 1 trillion business degrees, not more of UTT degrees where its disguised as a degree but in reality its a glorified diploma that does not even match A levels. Check the exam papers and see for yourself.

These schools taking tax payers for a ride, Dutty Wine Degrees, Engineering Degrees with no A level requirement. Fully well knowing over 90% of them students won't even make it pass first year. Some of them private schools taking in people to do degrees who did not even make it further than primary school I have witnessed this with my own eyes. Tax payers fund year 1 and that money is gone forever.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 11:32 am

Also Dr Rowley should ban all them old people from using PTSC for free, they getting a blasted pension they can afford a ticket. Many of them riding the bus for fun everyday and taking up precious space that could have gone to someone trying to get to work or a kid trying to get to school.

They should also make PTSC free to all UTT students aswell.

Advent

Postby Advent » October 5th, 2015, 11:33 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

So how I does survive on $150 TT a week then? allyuh have no idea what ketch ass is hoss. Try doing my kinda work for only $150 a week, no casual, no vacation etc and then talk.

i was living on 5000tt a month aswell and paying rent too...

Postby Redman » October 5th, 2015, 11:56 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:They should probably regulate the funding but why eliminate it. Why should only the well off or rich be able to access education?

This...

We need enforcement of standards....means test to qualify for funding....stop the leakage in ALL social programs....

Subsidy -jam the people bunkering....
GATE-establish means test and accreditation for the institutions...I will go one step further to give priority to those disciplines that the country needs....I think ED indicated such.

Down to Petrotrin employees using the food allowances to buy non food items ....

We might find that once run efficiently we can have our cake and nibble as well.

HSA

Postby HSA » October 5th, 2015, 12:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

$150 ah week?? laad sa...yuh coda do ah lil labouring in construction for 200-300/day instead of sitting by a pc on tuner???

Postby Chimera » October 5th, 2015, 12:29 pm

HSA wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

$150 ah week?? laad sa...yuh coda do ah lil labouring in construction for 200-300/day instead of sitting by a pc on tuner???

Nah.....he can't do anything physical.