Connecting 2 WLANs

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2015, 3:43 pm

I'm wondering if it's possible to connect my wireless network to my neighbours own using a WRT54G router. Firstly, using the original firmware, can it act as a client, using the 'Router' mode instead of 'Gateway'?

Also as the neighbour's house is about 40-50 feet away, what type of antenna would I need and is one at my end sufficient for the distance or do i need one at his end as well?

I still want to keep my network separate so i would use my other wireless router (TP-LINK) to wirelessly connect all my devices as it is connected now.

Kronik

Re: Connecting 2 WLANs

Postby Kronik » October 15th, 2015, 4:23 pm

So you want to connect to his network but prevent his network from connecting to yours?
VLANs might be what you need

Sent from my SM900 Note 3

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2015, 5:58 pm

if the wrt54g can do it- main reason i want is because our internet too slow for streaming netflix (blink on d go) so i want to connect to his internet to do it (i think he has flow- saw a flow box on his house)

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 15th, 2015, 6:01 pm

If your houses side by side, why not run a cable from his modem to you WRT54G and plug it in the internet port that way your networks will be separate.

Also you would need a switch

i.e FLOW modem > switch > [your router], [his router] > networks

Postby black start » October 15th, 2015, 6:41 pm

Why not pay for the same internet that the neighbour has??

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » October 15th, 2015, 6:46 pm

So if I understand correctly.. Do you want a repeater??

Postby redmanjp » October 15th, 2015, 11:12 pm

src1983 wrote:If your houses side by side, why not run a cable from his modem to you WRT54G and plug it in the internet port that way your networks will be separate.

Also you would need a switch

i.e FLOW modem > switch > [your router], [his router] > networks

no it's diagonally opposite- 40-50 feet so i need a high gain antenna

black start wrote:Why not pay for the same internet that the neighbour has??

I'm in Cleaver Heights which don't even have overhead lines/t&tec poles, and nothing was ever ran underground (years ago there was some fiasco about this development- not sure if that's the reason we doh have lines)

So if I understand correctly.. Do you want a repeater??

i think it's more like a wireless bridge?

Postby stev » October 16th, 2015, 12:45 am

confused as hell. lol

what are you trying to accomplish? are you trying to merge your network with your neighbor's network?

are you trying to use your neighbor's network (wireless) as a gateway to the internet?

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2015, 9:41 am

stev wrote:confused as hell. lol

what are you trying to accomplish? are you trying to merge your network with your neighbor's network?

are you trying to use your neighbor's network (wireless) as a gateway to the internet?

I'm trying to bridge it in order to use his internet so yes

something like this
Home wifi idea.png

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 10:18 am

why don't you use a wifi extender? They're very cheap, like $30us.

It seems as if you want to do some point-to-point type relay type. A wifi extender serves the same purpose (albeit at a lower speeds to the MS connected to it).

Note some if not most Wifi extenders allow separate SSID and QoS controls.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZJ29J7O/ref ... UTF8&psc=1

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 16th, 2015, 10:53 am

At 50 ft you just need a good wireless router at his end.

That is minor distance for any respectable dual band router.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Daran wrote:why don't you use a wifi extender? They're very cheap, like $30us.

It seems as if you want to do some point-to-point type relay type. A wifi extender serves the same purpose (albeit at a lower speeds to the MS connected to it).

yeah i could, but i was wondering if it's possible with what i already have which is a WRT54G, and with the stock firmware, or would it work with open source firmware

it's 50 ft but it's also going through my & his walls

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » October 16th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Just use a range extender...Sheesh!

Daran

Postby Daran » October 16th, 2015, 12:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Daran wrote:why don't you use a wifi extender? They're very cheap, like $30us.

yeah i could, but i was wondering if it's possible with what i already have which is a WRT54G, and with the stock firmware, or would it work with open source firmware

it's 50 ft but it's also going through my & his walls

Should work regardless of firmware, it operates on standardized IEEE protocols. You should be safe, but have a read through the reviews to see if there were any issues with that router.

Your issue with using this will be placement of the wifi repeater.

It needs to be somewhere that can pick up your neighbors wifi properly and also distribute signal to you properly. This isn't always easy and it may involve you placing it outside or near one of your windows.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » October 16th, 2015, 1:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:I'm wondering if it's possible to connect my wireless network to my neighbours own using a WRT54G router. Firstly, using the original firmware, can it act as a client, using the 'Router' mode instead of 'Gateway'?

Also as the neighbour's house is about 40-50 feet away, what type of antenna would I need and is one at my end sufficient for the distance or do i need one at his end as well?

I still want to keep my network separate so i would use my other wireless router (TP-LINK) to wirelessly connect all my devices as it is connected now.

Install DDWRT on the 54G. Set it up as a repeater (all instruction on DDWRT site) once you are receiving your neighbor's signal. Then broadcast from the 54G another SSID different from the TP-LINK. Now you will have both strong wifi signals in your house.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 16th, 2015, 7:03 pm

pay me a money and i go sort it out for u

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 17th, 2015, 7:31 am

what u want/need to do if supported on the router is configure WDS which allows multiple access points to function as one big virtual SSID. Think like how a cell network with all the towers for a mesh and still show as 37412[TSTT] and 37413[Digicel] regardless where you are, which is the GSM/UMTS equivalent of a SSID.

Look into WDS, you would need configuration access to all devices though...

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2015, 11:43 am

daxt0r wrote:what u want/need to do if supported on the router is configure WDS which allows multiple access points to function as one big virtual SSID. Think like how a cell network with all the towers for a mesh and still show as 37412[TSTT] and 37413[Digicel] regardless where you are, which is the GSM/UMTS equivalent of a SSID.

Look into WDS, you would need configuration access to all devices though...

u mean i would have to re-configure the neighbour's router as well? i think configuring my router as a client/bridge without having to mess with his own would be better

Postby stev » October 17th, 2015, 11:51 am

edit: assuming you're using DDWRT or Tomato...

leave neighbour's IP as is....eg. 192.168.1.1

make sure your router is on the same subnet , eg: 192.168.1.2

set your gateway and one DNS server as your neighbour's IP

set the SSID and Password to the same as your neighbour (not necessary but can be convenient if your neighbour wants to use your AP)

on your router...set the wireless mode to 'Wireless Ethernet Bridge'

under advance / routing, make sure your mode is set to 'Gateway', RIP is disabled and DHCP routes is enabled.

NAT Loopbackback mode under firewall section should be set to 'Forward only' and SYN Cookies checked if still an option.

Postby stev » October 17th, 2015, 12:19 pm

wait...your neighbour even know that you doing this? :lol:

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2015, 12:29 pm

stev wrote:wait...your neighbour even know that you doing this? :lol:

lol not yet :mrgreen: still have to ask but was just trying to see how it would work first

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2015, 1:44 pm

i have the hardware version 6, which only supports DD-WRT micro -can this do wireless client mode or bridge mode?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » October 17th, 2015, 2:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:i have the hardware version 6, which only supports DD-WRT micro -can this do wireless client mode or bridge mode?

u doh wah pay me to set it up for u?

xtech

Connecting 2 WLANs

Postby xtech » October 17th, 2015, 3:15 pm

I got this exact setup
going at my place but I
Used a pair of linksys running ddwrt.

But u will run into a major problem. The first linksys can't run wifi security. So everybody will get free net. There are work arounds.

An each time u do a wifi hop the signal rate cuts in half.

First hop is 200ft second hop is about 150ft

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2015, 4:15 pm

why can't it have security? what firmware u using? the original? that would be a no go as it's not just my network involved

i came accross some setups online and it seems that for stock firmware only WEP is possible but at least that better than nothing
Last edited by redmanjp on October 17th, 2015, 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 17th, 2015, 4:23 pm

If u enable security the 1st linksys will not connect to the source router

webmaster1233

Postby webmaster1233 » October 17th, 2015, 5:21 pm

Yes, you can connect to WLANs wirelessly. It is "wireless bridge". But the firmware has to support such option.

Postby desifemlove » October 17th, 2015, 7:34 pm

few options. first, buy him or share costs for a router with large enough range. You both set a range of static IPs, say you tek 30 from the 255 node range as yours. second, buy a new router together and set two SSIDs. He has his password and you yours. third, run a cable from his house to yours (most Ethernet should cover that distance) and buy yuhself an access point. whichever is most cost and time effective you implement. I don't think you need a wireless bridge

Postby desifemlove » October 17th, 2015, 7:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:
stev wrote:confused as hell. lol

I'm trying to bridge it in order to use his internet so yes

something like this

you dont need a router, just an access point or repeater. i'd advise separate SSIDs for you and he, don't want him hacking yuh phone or laptop.....

Postby redmanjp » October 18th, 2015, 12:55 pm

desifemlove wrote:few options. first, buy him or share costs for a router with large enough range. You both set a range of static IPs, say you tek 30 from the 255 node range as yours. second, buy a new router together and set two SSIDs. He has his password and you yours. third, run a cable from his house to yours (most Ethernet should cover that distance) and buy yuhself an access point. whichever is most cost and time effective you implement. I don't think you need a wireless bridge

d man house diagonally across d street, NOT next to me