DPF filter???

Rota fan

DPF filter???

Postby Rota fan » October 19th, 2015, 4:39 pm

Has anyone here had issues with a clogged dpf (diesel particulate filter) and if so, how did you fix it. I have a new model e25 and the filter is clogged. The dpf light remains on and it has gone into fail safe mode so loss of power etc. anyone knows if the filter can be removed and replaced with a straight pipe or if it can be cleaned? Any suggestion is welcomed.

Re: DPF filter???

Postby 88sins » October 19th, 2015, 5:38 pm

Simple fix
Buy new filter & replace

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » October 19th, 2015, 5:56 pm

Im not sure its that simple 88sins. This is the filter attached to the exhaust of the vehicle. Ive looked extensively online but im wondering if other diesel vehicle owners have had this issue and what solutions they found locally

Postby SMc » October 20th, 2015, 8:28 am

My car burns off the crap from the filter when it gets blocked, I get a warning light come on then you supposed to drive above 50 MPH until the process is done (around 20 mins)... have you tried doing that or been advised this may be a possibility?

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » October 20th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Yeah smc. I hit the highway regularly. So today i went to the muffler shop. They removed the catalyst /dpf. They soaked it with purple blaster for two hours then washed it out. It took all day and then when they put it back up, and tested it, was still getting a backpressure. So tomm, they gonna remove and guts out the internals of the dpf. Also did a diagnostic by autoboss in penal to clear the dpf light. So crossing my fingers and hope it works. Other than that, there is something that autoboss uses to fool the computer and you can eliminate the dpf for good. But it costs $4000. So will have to wait and see

make meh care

Postby make meh care » October 21st, 2015, 1:44 pm

that is not a wise thing to remove the filter causes more problems.

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » October 22nd, 2015, 9:09 am

Too late. Dpf was gutted. Van runs perfectly now. Took it up the highway for a test run. Waiting to see if any issues arise but for now, its all systems clear.

The Raven

Postby The Raven » October 22nd, 2015, 10:01 am

The diesel Sportage has that as well.
It supposed to regenerate its self/clean. Once a week it need a north south run on the high way. Traffic driving with out the AC on clogs it up. With the ac on it keeps the rpm above the low rpm that cause the buildup.

Postby sliderz1 » October 22nd, 2015, 2:47 pm

YD25 NV350?

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » October 23rd, 2015, 12:26 pm

2010 E25 caravan roro sliderz.
Day 2 update. Engine check light came on at start up. Took van in for a full service. All fluids and filters changed. Light came off. Vehicle working fine. Fingers crossed. Will update if anything changes

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 21st, 2015, 4:20 pm

Any feed back on this

Postby Team Loco » December 21st, 2015, 8:37 pm

My cous had the issue with a toyota dyna. He had it removed and installed a dpf modulator. Cost was $6500. Van works well now

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » December 22nd, 2015, 5:59 am

I have to get a emulator as well. The van went into limp mode meaning Its driving and everything but it has a loss of power so steep hills and overtaking are an issue. Other than that, its working fine. Will have to see about that after xmas though
Last edited by Rota fan on December 23rd, 2015, 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 22nd, 2015, 6:29 am

Mine in limp mode as we speak. I brought in an Emulator. Now to put it on and see how it works.

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » December 23rd, 2015, 6:45 am

Nice topshotta. Plz keep us updated on your progress. If it works, plz share

bossmann

Postby bossmann » December 23rd, 2015, 7:35 am

What light is the dpf light in the e25?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » December 23rd, 2015, 8:06 am

This is a serious case with the local vs fu market not only the dpf filter what about the egr valves that
gives trouble ,south dealers know about excessive smoke loss of power that don't come under warranty , then the Local dealers that blank off these units and are problem free to avoid costly recalls. My option local all the way.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 23rd, 2015, 9:41 am

what happens when the DPF filter burns off the excess stuff?
does it smoke white?

mine randomly smokes white while driving on the highway, if i drive faster it stops
it happens for about half a minute

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » December 23rd, 2015, 10:17 pm

It usually releases the white smoke when the vehicle comes to a stop. Ive never seen it occur whilst driving so im not sure how that is happening. The dpf light is an amber light and the symbol looks like a gas cloud bossmann. You should see it blinking on the dash when the vehicle is purging

thatlife

Postby thatlife » December 24th, 2015, 9:22 am

^ ok actually it did that too, release white smoke when i came to a stop
but it also occurred while driving too for a couple secs

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » January 1st, 2016, 5:27 pm

There is a man that installs the emulator, it's a piggy back system for the ecu to trick the ecu that the dpf is functioning properly, I'll post his number later, else this problem will haunt u till your vehicle dies.

Led

Postby Led » September 9th, 2016, 11:43 am

Whats the number for the guy with the emulator

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » September 9th, 2016, 6:53 pm

Autoboss in penal. Ask for paul. 353-1317

mad

Postby mad » September 9th, 2016, 11:22 pm

My Hiace usually emit the white smoke after a good run up the highway. Usually last a little less than a minute, when driving, then all is good. I also have the DPF regeneration switch but not too sure if it does work (brought it down with that). I myself have to get the emulator installed soon.
Rota fan you mentioned that you removed the DPF filter and Catalyst converter and you went into limp mode. (Is that all the time, because I myself want to remove both from my van). Also where did you remove it?

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 13th, 2016, 11:47 am

When u go into limp mode the engine light n DPF light remains on.
No kickdown van drives normal so far but I still have to get the Emulator installed

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » November 17th, 2016, 6:59 am

Who is willing to help me out with a dpf sensor. Need to check and see if mine is bad as the computer says before I buy one which cost 400usd

Postby eliteauto » November 17th, 2016, 7:04 am

question cause I honestly don't know, can the DPF be gutted or removed? Will that cause check lights or affect performance? I ask because given our standard of fuel would bad DPFs be a norm?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » November 17th, 2016, 10:21 am

eliteauto wrote:question cause I honestly don't know, can the DPF be gutted or removed? Will that cause check lights or affect performance? I ask because given our standard of fuel would bad DPFs be a norm?

Gutting or removing the DPF will put the vehicle into limp mode. It will bog down and underperform.

I believe AutoBoss in penal sells and installs an emulator that tricks the ECU into thinking the dpf is fine. After installation, you can remove the DPF. (i think it costs $7000)

I'm currently working on a solution to get a DPF delete done on the ECU, after which the DPF can be removed along with its sensors.(wont be available till February, no idea on cost yet)

south69

Postby south69 » November 20th, 2016, 2:57 pm

Call me in you get through I have a 2009 Mitsubishi canter with dpf problem 3472299

topshotta20

Re: RE: Re: DPF filter???

Postby topshotta20 » December 8th, 2016, 7:37 am

FullStop wrote:
eliteauto wrote:question cause I honestly don't know, can the DPF be gutted or removed? Will that cause check lights or affect performance? I ask because given our standard of fuel would bad DPFs be a norm?

Gutting or removing the DPF will put the vehicle into limp mode. It will bog down and underperform.

I believe AutoBoss in penal sells and installs an emulator that tricks the ECU into thinking the dpf is fine. After installation, you can remove the DPF. (i think it costs $7000)

I'm currently working on a solution to get a DPF delete done on the ECU, after which the DPF can be removed along with its sensors.(wont be available till February, no idea on cost yet)

Where you located. I would like to do this once it is available.