Traveling to school on the east west corridor late80s, 90s.

mark2.0

Traveling to school on the east west corridor late80s, 90s.

Postby mark2.0 » November 21st, 2015, 9:13 am

Looking back, it’s amazing how fickle things like travelling in a bess maxi made secondary school life interesting. High on the list of memories is the fun we had travelling… if you were lucky enough to be allowed to find your way home via public transportation. See, not everyone had that freedom, in the 90s, and for those who never learned or weren’t allowed to travel until after they left secondary school, there was a whole other world in maxi land that they were missing.
Survivor I, II and III. Hysteria. Boyz N D Hood. Barry Bee. Damage. Rico. Super Max. Home Boys. Khaos. Night Train. Russeman. Red Fury. Power Station. Turbo. Artical. Punisher. Kinky. These were some of the big players on the East-West, red-band maxi route. I can imagine maxi owners, drivers and conductors, sitting at a table trying to come up with a great name, because having a no-name maxi was a no-no, and L-A-M-E. You, yes you, were also lame if you jumped into a boring bread van driven by an equally boring-looking driver, who played 97.1 FM.

Those were the days… when wasting time, liming on the Main Road, was the perfect way to end a school day… when short drop was $1.50, and it cost $3 from Port of Spain to Arima… and you couldn’t fathom the thought of having to take a PTSC blue bus. You’d lime in a properly shaded area, maybe buy a ‘Massive’ (remember when Cannings had Massive?), and chill, waiting for a popular maxi to pass by.

Yes. Those were the days… when holding a wad of cash and hanging halfway out of a maxi made a young fella feel like a celebrity (remember man like Toppin?). Touts who used to full maxi for $1 even got play.

There was no bigger pips than being able to get a space in a top maxi. There was nothing like feeling the waves of hard pong pierce your chest, and blast your eardrums. And if your backside was small, it made the ride that much enjoyable, as you’d squeeze up with friends, and strangers, or even sit on someone’s lap, for the commute on the Main Road and through back roads to beat the traffic. Overloading. It was a way of life. You think squeezing up with three people in a two-seater is squeeze up? Try four people in a two-seater. Almost every school got some representation. From St. Augustine (Senior Comprehensive), to El Do (Senior Comprehensive and Secondary), St. Joseph’s Convent, Bourg Mulatresse (San Juan Senior Sec), Tunapuna Secondary, and more.

Even though you’d reach home later than you needed to, because you’d waste time liming, you knew you had to be out the road by a certain time to get in a ‘good’ maxi. And if you missed your favourite maxi, you’d wait for it to make its route and catch it on its second passing. Ent? Doh lie and say no. If the conductor said, “We heading in town” (when City Gate didn’t exist) and you were in San Juan, you’d wait for it to pass back. Some of us had it easier. Maxis would come to pick you up by the school gate.

I remember my days at St. George’s College. We’d rush outside to get a seat in ‘Justice’. You’d pack your bag, five minutes before school was about to ‘over’, and rush outside to get a seat, and not just any seat. Backseat was the best seat ever. Especially when your whole crew was there. Getting back seat was a big deal… that’s if you weren’t a bad ting who wanted to get the front seat between the driver and conductor (but more on that later).

Justice’s pull didn’t last too long, as far as I remember. See, popularity was quick to come by, and easy to fade away. What determined just how popular a maxi was were things like a bess windscreen design, dark tint and cool upholstery. Back then, people took windscreen design seriously. The ‘H’ in “Hysteria” had to be just right. All caps and lowercase were seriously considered for impact. A spiderweb on the back screen vs. the front screen was also a matter for serious consideration.
Still, the HARD pong sealed the deal with the best dub tapes courtesy the likes of Dr. Hyde, Ear Traffic Control, Nyabinghi, Howie T, Star Child and Chinese Laundry. Those tapes helped cultivate our taste in dancehall and reggae. That’s where we heard Buju’s “Boom Bye Bye” and “Batty Rider”, Shaggy’s “Oh Carolina”, Mad Cobra’s “Flex”, Terror Fabulous’ “Yaga Yaga”, Cutty Ranks’ “Limb by Limb”, Louie Rankin’s “Tyepwriter”, Lady Shabba’s “Ram Ram”, Patra’s “Queen ah d Pack”, Red Fox’s “Oh Jessica”, many a Super Cat classic, and even our local Kiskidee Karavan music with Yard Fowl Crew’s “Dan it Up”, Kindred’s “Dis Trini could Flow”, General Grant’s “D Shot Call”, Supa Chile’s “Ambush”, Edu Rankin’s “Hand inna D Air”, and the list goes on.

Remember when they had skits on the tapes, and Dr. Hyde talked too much? Remember when you’d be so bummed that you had to travel in an old bread van that didn’t play 96.1 WEFM or 98.9? And maxis would have invites for almost every party and concert stuck on their roof.

Maxis taxis in the 90s. For some of us, they were just fun to travel in. For others, they put bread on the table, and babies in young arms. As one person says: “Good memories, but poor choices by some of the females. Conductors tracking Junior Sec and Compre girls. The maxi front seat was always reserved for the bad ting who used to share pom pom for the drivers and conductors and get free ride.”

Doh feel only Junior Sec or Compre girls were in that! Bishops girls, St. Joseph’s Convent girls, Holy Name Convent girls, St. Dominic’s girls, St. Charles girls… they were all in it. If maxi men ruled the world, there’d be no discrimination, because they gave each girl fair play, from prestige to Compre to pay school – as long as she was cute enough.

Nowadays, maxis don’t have the same kind of pull, and only a few are popular (dais what d teens tell me). Word is… it’s the taxi men who run tings now. As one person said, “Who want maxi conductor when you could get man wit’ car”, and since almost anyone can afford a B14, Tiida, NZE, Lancer,Almera etc.

Reminiscing about maxi culture, it’s obvious we had fun. Some of us had clean fun. Some of us had fun that stripped us of our innocence, and made us mommies and daddies way before we were ready for it. However, it’s obvious that maxi taxis had a key place in youth culture back in the 90s, and maybe, just maybe, that’s why I still have a hard pong in my car that can be heard from miles away.

LeRobot

Re: Traveling to school on the east west corridor late80s, 9

Postby LeRobot » November 21st, 2015, 9:27 am

My mommy pickle me up from school, and she used to listen to 97.1.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 21st, 2015, 9:29 am

Back I my days them maxi is where all the bad boys gathered. The last thing u want to realize is a war cud break out anytime. SJSCS.

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

abbow

Postby abbow » November 21st, 2015, 9:39 am

the good ole days...

and we didnt turn out bad at all when compared to these little brats nowadays....

CarBrowsers

Postby CarBrowsers » November 21st, 2015, 10:56 am

Maxi names like, Impulse, Survivor 1,2 & 3, Turbo, 88, Hysteria and Chance comes to mind. Not to mention all the dred airbrush paintings on the interior and exterior of the maxis. The HOTT chicks that used to be given preference to sit in d front middle seat. Ways....Those were really the good ole days. Gone and never to return, ent!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 21st, 2015, 11:19 am

dont forget the hustler of all maxi, CNN!! that maxi was always overloaded. You forget to mention JPS, that was a mitsubishi Rosa maxi. Mad Max from Arima was the tint and airbrush man for all the Maxi Taxi. It also had the (baddest) police officer on motor bike back then, Poison was his name. good ole days.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » November 21st, 2015, 4:04 pm

Really took me down memory lane with this post Buddy, most definitely the good old days...
Georges was d bomb back then!!!

Postby X_Factor » November 21st, 2015, 4:35 pm

A couple of those small maxi had vhs and would run some porn at times
they would put 3 fellas to sit on the two seaters and 3 girls on top of us, ha...good memories there.....

I remember a short drop was $1.00 and you couldnt be caught in a "bread van" style small maxi

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2015, 4:46 pm

1988 Tunapuna, travelling from Hillview to Arima in "Turbo", a red band 24 seater maxi with hard pong and a/c

the back seat was about 3 feet off the ground with speaker box - I remember it well

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 21st, 2015, 6:51 pm

:| We used to look for the oldest rust bucket "bread van" maxi (12 seater) to travel in. You were sure to:

(1) not reach your destination at all since the maxi would shut down
(2) reach your destination quickly since no one would really want to stop to travel in the maxi so it made a limited number of stops

mark2.0 wrote:. . . and you couldn’t fathom the thought of having to take a PTSC blue bus. . . I remember my days at St. George’s College. . .

I also went St. George's College. Don't knock the Isuzu and Leyland blue limousines eh! Enough students in my time used to be running up 6th avenue to catch the blue limousine before the crowd came up.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » November 21st, 2015, 7:31 pm

Yeah, I went George's too, but I lived in San Juan so used to walk home. Remember Survivor I II III, govt banned music at sometime in maxis only radio. some of them had TV and VCR and show blues, or so I hear.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 21st, 2015, 7:45 pm

Oh yeah remember Hysteria well. level St Agustine Jr. Sec girls early 90's and real best thing. Not them guntress thing it have now.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » November 21st, 2015, 9:08 pm

Hysteria I think had like 3 maxis and nobody cudda talk more than black chariot in a mix tape, u bring back rel memories they boy op

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » November 21st, 2015, 10:17 pm

lostboys crew wrote:Oh yeah remember Hysteria well. level St Agustine Jr. Sec girls early 90's and real best thing. Not them guntress thing it have now.

So right there ah, we had some real baddess in we times, but certainly not like deez guntresses there are now...

I lived Bridge Road, walked to n from school n home mostly, got a pal who lived on 1st Street, Barataria, so we used to link up with some others n walk...

But in the earlier days with Bus Pass, waiting for d Blue Whales in d Croissee, remember d Jnr Sec rides? D Galants, Charmants, Sunnys, some 120Y & 180B, a MS 80 Crown even...
All dem drivers equipped with dey K40 antenna, dish or bullet hole rims, BF Goodrich tyres, Rasta Stick Incense spread across d front windshield, purple egg shaped lights on d door post, Red/Yellow n Green cloth across d dash, back of d ride higher than d front, gas tank painted inna different colour & oh, d hard pong off course...

Postby supercharged turbo » November 22nd, 2015, 12:45 am

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:
lostboys crew wrote:Oh yeah remember Hysteria well. level St Agustine Jr. Sec girls early 90's and real best thing. Not them guntress thing it have now.

So right there ah, we had some real baddess in we times, but certainly not like deez guntresses there are now...

I lived Bridge Road, walked to n from school n home mostly, got a pal who lived on 1st Street, Barataria, so we used to link up with some others n walk...

But in the earlier days with Bus Pass, waiting for d Blue Whales in d Croissee, remember d Jnr Sec rides? D Galants, Charmants, Sunnys, some 120Y & 180B, a MS 80 Crown even...
All dem drivers equipped with dey K40 antenna, dish or bullet hole rims, BF Goodrich tyres, Rasta Stick Incense spread across d front windshield, purple egg shaped lights on d door post, Red/Yellow n Green cloth across d dash, back of d ride higher than d front, gas tank painted inna different colour & oh, d hard pong off course...
I still know ah good few people like this including meh father and uncle.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 23rd, 2015, 6:31 am

indeed fond memories travelling from San Juan / St. Augustine. RICO was the boss i.m.o. in quality music and Top Secret had the baddest bassline.

I remember them fellas used to kill all they bass and vocals when they jump on de bus route and all you would hear is the tweeters playin, chicks galore too

Fun time, safe and clean fun for most of us.. no trouble makers etc ( only a minority ).

Sad how times have changed the past 10-12 years tho....children nowadays need licks, plain talk, bad manners......belt and tamarind and guava whips we got sometimes and we turned out fairly ok....lol

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 23rd, 2015, 6:48 am

You brought back some great memories OP...I went to Barataria Snr. Comp and in those days we would drop off at 2nd avenue and catch one of the many PH cars with Hard Pong to reach to school...front seats were reserved for d bad tings

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » November 23rd, 2015, 7:15 am

for those in the west like Diego Martin Secondary and Mucorapo Senior Comp would remember small maxi with hard pong and conductor tracking all dem bad ting. Big maxi was never a thing in the west. Only when i started lessons in the east then i realize is both big and small maxi runnin that route.

Good ole days!

Advent

Postby Advent » November 23rd, 2015, 8:29 am

TRD12 wrote:for those in the west like Diego Martin Secondary and Mucorapo Senior Comp would remember small maxi with hard pong and conductor tracking all dem bad ting. Big maxi was never a thing in the west. Only when i started lessons in the east then i realize is both big and small maxi runnin that route.

Good ole days!

yeah boi, players, junglist and them :lol:

Postby Habit7 » November 23rd, 2015, 9:40 am

My most memorable story of hard pound days was waiting for a maxi from Arima and shortly after he told me he have to run an errand in Maloney...half an hour later we left Maloney and I dropped off in Arouca.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 23rd, 2015, 9:50 am

inside for memories

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 23rd, 2015, 10:10 am

how old allyuh so is bai

Postby Country_Bookie » November 23rd, 2015, 10:44 am

I went to a boys school so them maxi rides was the best part of the day. Survival 3 and Damage was the realest back in them days, yuh had to tell yuh friends in school the next day when u got a ride in one of those. Survival 2 was decent too, best part was the conductor always tried to ensure each boy got a girl on his lap! Sometimes when it stop by 5 rivers to pick up/drop off and u have to get up, girls arguing becos they want back that same seat on yuh lap! Good times.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 23rd, 2015, 10:52 am

San Juan taxi stand had some bess 280c taxis, cant remember the names but those days were papa rocky and Dr Hyde cassette.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » November 23rd, 2015, 11:48 am

How many people remember officer "smiley"?

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » November 23rd, 2015, 1:52 pm

pablo_tt wrote:How many people remember officer "smiley"?

Use to hear stories of this man parting fight and putting u in any maxi he feel to

I believe he was shot in Curepe when he wlked in on a robbery and intervened. Survived but was badly wounded tho....

Postby 1UZFE » November 23rd, 2015, 2:34 pm

pablo_tt wrote:How many people remember officer "smiley"?

Man had on a Army Helmet n tall boots. He used to be in Arouca junction.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » November 23rd, 2015, 3:16 pm

From the sidewalk at Fatima , Checkers was the maxi to take , the hustle was with Compre you and your crew or them and theirs.

In POS to head east was the real hustle , man climbing through window and blocking door . My neighbor owned two popular big maxis . New Generation and another , every year the upholstery was re done and the music modified , we were part of the work and knew the family , my second mom since we knew ourselves . So when there was work to be done , music sounds to be adjusted and tape releases to be played , we were all a part of it . Approving sounds and helping upgrades. We always had a space in these maxis if we needed it . Roof and Baby were the conductors , doh test them .

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 23rd, 2015, 3:20 pm

Grande, Arima route had some small bus with some pong giving plenty big bus competition.... Firecracker, small ABC (a bad creation), Ninja, Hammer, Principle, Boss, Bad Boss, Bad Boss 3, Touch Down...

Postby rfari » November 23rd, 2015, 3:47 pm

Brain damage and baby damage were the ELDO maxis running in the day. Overload was a must. Maxis used to run double capacity. ELDO gyal on yuh lap and u getting a grind everytime the maxi pull a hard brakes. Plus maxi taking longest route to school. Had lock dat off by four 4 tho