Amplia (formerly Massy Fibre) Internet Thread

masterkyle

Re: RE: Re: Massy Internet Thread

Postby masterkyle » November 23rd, 2016, 5:31 am

daring dragoon wrote:whats the login for the Alcaltel-lucent ont ? I want to change my wireless name from dis dam massyxxxxx.

You can't log in. You. Have to call them to change your password or SSID (MASSY-Exxx)

Cal toll free 24/7: 877-4357

PapaC

Re: Massy Internet Thread

Postby PapaC » November 23rd, 2016, 7:35 am

No switch for the lights from what I see, and yes it has the wall mount holes. You

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » November 24th, 2016, 7:01 pm

PapaC wrote:No switch for the lights from what I see, and yes it has the wall mount holes. You

OK thanks! I think I'll stick with the white one for now. Range sucks a bit tho!

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 29th, 2016, 2:34 pm

Challenging year for Massy but the following brings into question their decision to go into the consumer Internet & TV space since it appears that Digicel is eating their lunch. I saw this first hand in the my area when both came to market at the same time and for every 20 Digicel subscribers there was 1 Massy subscriber.

The Group incurred a further $31 million after tax loss, from the launch of our Internet and TV service. In spite of a 3-month delay to launch in February 2016, the service has gained substantial momentum and recognition in the highly-competitive telecommunications space. However, duplication of expensive infrastructure may require some changes to the current operating model to remain sustainable

Source: Q4 Financial Highlights 2016
http://www.massygroup.com/uploadedFiles ... lights.pdf

This year we also launched Massy Internet | TV, which developed a strong reputation for service, speed and high-quality HD TV picture quality, with a growing residential subscriber base. Our launch was delayed by three months and there were some unanticipated costs – a relative norm in the start-up phase of new projects. This was a strategic move for the Group, building on the pre-existing fibre optic network which previously serviced the commercial space, exclusively. Transitioning to the residential business has been both rewarding and challenging as the operating landscape in this business is highly competitive and may require some changes to the current operating model to remain sustainable. We are already considering a number of options and look forward to sharing those developments with our shareholders in the following year

Source: CEO Report 2016
http://www.massygroup.com/Investors/Man ... _2016.aspx

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 29th, 2016, 9:26 pm

this massey internet and tv only dropping. I have to unplug and plug the STB every day at least once.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » December 29th, 2016, 9:42 pm

screwbash wrote:this massey internet and tv only dropping. I have to unplug and plug the STB every day at least once.

What area that happening? . Haven't seen anyone complain about it recently

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 6th, 2017, 11:20 pm

Is Massy internet near Cascade or Belmont now ?.
Anyone having problems with Netflix or Kodi video?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 15th, 2017, 8:14 am

All good by me still no complaints .

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 15th, 2017, 1:01 pm

is there a way to change the time on the tv guide from 24 hours to 12 hour?

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 16th, 2017, 3:57 pm

I see Massy launch time shift now. Did the android app lunch as yet ?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 17th, 2017, 6:21 am

Considering making the switch from FLOW and I have a question for existing users.

I saw in the past you weren't able to access the massy modem and bridge or run your custom port forwarding, dmz etc. Is that still the case? I want to be able to disable the internal wifi and just use my router dmzed.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 17th, 2017, 7:49 pm

mojosodope wrote:Considering making the switch from FLOW and I have a question for existing users.

I saw in the past you weren't able to access the massy modem and bridge or run your custom port forwarding, dmz etc. Is that still the case? I want to be able to disable the internal wifi and just use my router dmzed.

Massy said they would allow a router in DMZ but they would have to configure from there end. As for there router it still won't be accessible. Digicel said they won't allow DMZ so that's a no go for me. Digi on my side now , Massy still sticking . Are they in your area yet ?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 17th, 2017, 7:54 pm

lchan485 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:Considering making the switch from FLOW and I have a question for existing users.

Massy said they would allow a router in DMZ but they would have to configure from there end. As for there router it still won't be accessible. Digicel said they won't allow DMZ so that's a no go for me. Digi on my side now , Massy still sticking . Are they in your area yet ?

I'm in Arouca I called today and they said they're right over the bus route from me (Trincity) and will be here by end of month/February. They said they'll allow me to dmz port forward and disable internal wifi so I'm good there.

I sick of FLOW for the past weak my modem 'self throttling' and has high latency. I have the 120 package and getting 2MBs and my moca guide not working and they have no idea what's causing it.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 17th, 2017, 8:04 pm

I'm in Belmont. Flow works OK on 60Mb here. Getting 55-35 Mb . ping on average below 90. Past week just having brakes in service , short but not good for streaming. Moca works good , phone as well. I have till Nov before I can make changes

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 17th, 2017, 8:18 pm

mojosodope wrote:
lchan485 wrote:

I'm in Arouca I called today and they said they're right over the bus route from me (Trincity) and will be here by end of month/February. They said they'll allow me to dmz port forward and disable internal wifi so I'm good there.

I sick of FLOW for the past weak my modem 'self throttling' and has high latency. I have the 120 package and getting 2MBs and my moca guide not working and they have no idea what's causing it.

When you get it , keep us posted on how the DMZ working. What routre you plan on useing

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 17th, 2017, 8:22 pm

I've been using a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 (R7000h for 3 years now no problems but I have my main devices hardwired through switches.

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 17th, 2017, 8:28 pm

mojosodope wrote:I've been using a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 (R7000h for 3 years now no problems but I have my main devices hardwired through switches.

Nice. I have Tp link C7 1750 and Asus 1750 as backup. Yeah wifi only for phones. Hardwired for TV and other stuff

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 17th, 2017, 8:36 pm

lchan485 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:I've been using a Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 (R7000h for 3 years now no problems but I have my main devices hardwired through switches.

Nice. I have Tp link C7 1750 and Asus 1750 as backup. Yeah wifi only for phones. Hardwired for TV and other stuff

I use my tv to stream 4K but surprisingly it doesn't have a gigabit port the wifi has more bandwidth as its internal ac is optimised for it. Even though my router has ac it's not really optimised to stream 4K so I'm considering upgrading to the X4S

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » January 17th, 2017, 8:45 pm

mojosodope wrote:
lchan485 wrote:

I use my tv to stream 4K but surprisingly it doesn't have a gigabit port the wifi has more bandwidth as its internal ac is optimised for it. Even though my router has ac it's not really optimised to stream 4K so I'm considering upgrading to the X4S

Lol. I'm not going that hight, to expensive . The two switches are gigabit connected via 100 ft cat 6. But dont noticed any big difference between cat 5 e. Just really looking forward to Massy fibre . Streaming in 1080p is still better than cable lol

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 26th, 2017, 7:32 pm

massy internet and tv is down about 5 hrs now.

Postby bushwakka » February 27th, 2017, 8:31 am

anybody know what is the default username and password for the router login ?

I reset the router when i was supposed to just unplug it and meh wifi pwd get reset now

lchan485

Postby lchan485 » March 28th, 2017, 5:19 pm

Where Massy reach now in PoS

kcgilll

Postby kcgilll » April 8th, 2017, 6:08 pm

Massy currently going through tacarigua.. mainly dinsley. Thinking about testing them out. Cause digi starting to mess up past couple months. Think it's a hardware problem I'm getting with them. But they don't seem to have a clue. Prices are same as digi... 199 for 25 down

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » April 8th, 2017, 6:10 pm

kcgilll wrote:Massy currently going through tacarigua.. mainly dinsley. Thinking about testing them out. Cause digi starting to mess up pass couple months. Think it's a hardware problem I'm getting with them. But they don't seem to have a clue. Prices are same as digi... 199 for 25 down

The customer service you get with Massy is superb. It's unheard of. You won't regret!
Last edited by masterkyle on April 9th, 2017, 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 8th, 2017, 6:24 pm

What is the Miami ping like with Massy?

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » April 9th, 2017, 1:09 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What is the Miami ping like with Massy?

38ms with Comcast MI

I have the 25 /15 package

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2017, 1:16 am

masterkyle wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What is the Miami ping like with Massy?

38ms with Comcast MI

I have the 25 /15 package

How? i find this hard to believe because Digicel is 48ms how is it possible to get 38ms at such a long distance?
And is 38ms the norm or just a one time rare thing?

Can you provide a link to the test you did? can you do a test for me to Miami and one to Washington DC please? and post results?

Much appreciated

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » April 9th, 2017, 1:26 am

Well maybe it was rare idk but it fluctuates i guess I did the test to Miami a couple of time and i got results between 50 and 58 but mostly was 51

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2017, 1:31 am

^ That is still very impressive for such a distance 82ms at more than 2200 miles is crazy good. I get like 100ms to DC on my Flow its always 20ms more than Digicel and Massy.

That connection would be great for playing Fighting Games with delay-based netcode like Guilty Gear.

This is a good time to be alive.

masterkyle

Postby masterkyle » April 9th, 2017, 1:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ That is still very impressive for such a distance 82ms at more than 2200 miles is crazy good. I get like 100ms to DC on my Flow its always 20ms more than Digicel and Massy.

That connection would be great for playing Fighting Games with delay-based netcode like Guilty Gear.

This is a good time to be alive.

Yes it is good time to be alive but in want more speed for less.... Lol