600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

djaggs

Re: 600 lose jobs at Arcelor Mital

Postby djaggs » December 10th, 2015, 3:43 pm

BRZ wrote:Maybe we should look at Importing someone to Run CARNIVAL so it can actually HELP the economy, rather than the Usual village idiots locally.

Can we import somebody to run the country too ???

Victory_Specification

Postby Victory_Specification » December 10th, 2015, 3:53 pm

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 10th, 2015, 4:52 pm

djaggs wrote:
BRZ wrote:Maybe we should look at Importing someone to Run CARNIVAL so it can actually HELP the economy, rather than the Usual village idiots locally.

Can we import somebody to run the country too ???

We just had that with the last administration and as you saw those secret Guyanese almost tief out the whole ah Trinidad.

Postby De Dragon » December 10th, 2015, 5:37 pm

desifemlove wrote:so you have good financial management...cool for you, eh? thing is to link how a big global industry operates to a PM in a small country is bull. these job losses are part of this firm's global retrenchment, little else. I only responding in dis thread cos it funny to see de UNCs and them cite economic illiteracy.

the general trend is dis is symptomatic of a bad PNM econonmic management...no lol. http://www.meps.co.uk/World%20Carbon%20Price.htm leh Dr. Keith tek the blame, cos UNCs tink he should.

If you did not know it was first ISCOTT an all owned PNM government steel plant, built with tax payers money.
That went bust in the mid 1980s and then it was leased by NAR to ISPATT that made huge profits that leaped frogged Mittal to where he is today. Its was the Trinidad Plant that part built his fortune with cheap Trini labour and a weak trade union.
Mittal later brought the Plant lock stock and barrel in the mid 1990s

So in reality it was the PNM and the lazy workforce that bust ISCOTT . There was always a market for steel.

There is also one other Iron plant in Pt Lisas and they to my knowledge are still up and running with no Job cuts. This plant normally ships its good workers abroad to other plants to work.

WTF you get dat from?

My former workmates have been working abroad ( Louisiana) with that same company. I once worked in three different iron plants in Trinidad bro. In case you did not now there was 3 DR iron plants in Trin or you could say four depending how you look at it.
Even ISPATT shipped it's trini workers to run their Mexican plant in the late 1980s

Well thank you for that, that was a weight orf me mind! Exactly FOUR workers left to go to 'Weezy', one of whom has since resigned. I know plenty guys who currently work there BTW, and even though those guys were good guys, they'd hardly label them the best.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 10th, 2015, 6:08 pm

Union were offered the option of workers taking all their accumulated vacation now and the company would hold on laying off workers. They would consider restarting the plant next year if there was sufficient demand.
Union declined this option and the company said fcuk off. #owtuforever

Postby pete » December 10th, 2015, 6:24 pm

Let them go work in the union.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby desifemlove » December 10th, 2015, 8:05 pm

BRZ wrote:
Problem is the " trade unions " in this country quick to jump up and bawl unfair bullsh1t, they quick to support workers and camp outside , dance beat bottle and sing to make a frigging spectacle of themselves. They are so full of sh1t.

Yuh notice that too. Trade unions here generally speaking have little to no use, particularly in the private sector.
What ppl here fail to understand is that for a trade/workers union to have any kind of clout to be an effective negotiator the employer has to acknowledge their existence and their efforts and feel the union is a threat. And no privately owned local company feels threatened by the antics of these comic book union leaders.

there must have been some collective agreement, ent? so what the problem? Mittal said they laying off around the world. global steel demand is falling... and the union for whatever reason stalled.

thing is, people can join a union any time, and use the union for whatever reason. even if it ent registered or recognised. I get the suspicion that this union screwed up....and some unscrupulous UNC soon or current ex-employee told the press and how "PNM mash up economy and mek we lose we wuk!!"

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2015, 9:25 pm

After the plant close up shop lewwe see how many owtu goin and find jobs for.
Ppl out here real have faith in dey onion. Like dem eh aware if d company funds run low enough and unpaid expenses high enough they might not even get severance when it close up shop. And as long as the onion pushin the company will be spending

Let dem keep pushin. Jus now yh

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2015, 9:33 pm

After the plant close up shop lewwe see how many owtu goin and find jobs for.
Ppl out here real have faith in dey onion. Like dem eh aware if d company funds run low enough and unpaid expenses high enough they might not even get severance when it close up shop. And as long as the onion pushin the company will be spending especially if they want to take this to the industrial court.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 11th, 2015, 12:11 am

How can you say that "dat iz we cultyah".
Just for so does Pantrinbago have a home/headquarters yet?

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2015, 6:50 am

88sins wrote:After the plant close up shop lewwe see how many owtu goin and find jobs for.
Ppl out here real have faith in dey onion. Like dem eh aware if d company funds run low enough and unpaid expenses high enough they might not even get severance when it close up shop. And as long as the onion pushin the company will be spending

Let dem keep pushin. Jus now yh

The plant will most likely be mothballed.

It's a win win for Mittal. Get rid of old and tired workers and when steel goes up hire new workers. Old workers cost more new workers are cheap and are eager to learn

Postby 88sins » December 11th, 2015, 8:00 am

nah doh say dat. d onion doesnt want to tink bout dem ting. all dey kno is gimme gimme mentality & everybody owe them everyting

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 11th, 2015, 8:20 am

Management never does anything wrong. Never. Management is gawd.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 11th, 2015, 8:23 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Management never does anything wrong. Never. Management is gawd.

And the Unions are always JUSTIFIED and really Honestly want to help its members :roll: :roll: :roll: - YEAh Riiiiighttttt.!!!!!!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 11th, 2015, 8:29 am

BRZ wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Management never does anything wrong. Never. Management is gawd.

And the Unions are always JUSTIFIED and really Honestly want to help its members :roll: :roll: :roll: - YEAh Riiiiighttttt.!!!!!!!

I wasn't even remotely implying that. It is very much less black and white than you posters allude to.

Postby 88sins » December 11th, 2015, 9:17 am

nobody saying it's black & white, but it aint 50 shades a grey either.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 11th, 2015, 9:23 am

Unions in Trinidad are like Insurance companies, they only out to take your hard earned money and they couldn't give 2 shi1ts about you, as long as they getting their cut for their rhyme and songs......

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 11th, 2015, 12:12 pm

Can anyone confirm of NGC letting go more workers?
Last edited by Numb3r4 on December 12th, 2015, 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 12th, 2015, 1:50 pm

Redman wrote:Some one indicate how the GORTT is able to prevent Mittal from hiring and firing as they see fit.

On one hand we happy that we had Ispat here to run the plant and keep people employed...cuz the GORTT ballz it up. Yay free market,globalization,etc etc etc.

Now globalization giving China the same access to the same markets as us and China dumping steel we feeling the hurt...the GORTT is still responsible????

At what point do we take individual responsibility for our lives.....
How many of that 600 looked at preparing themselves for the other side of the economic cycle???

WTI cut in half over a year now....like us as individuals, the entire country has to adjust to new income levels.

no Party or govt can avoid this.

Preparation on an individual level is what was needed.

Im sorry for those that lost jobs ...but in this day and age you cannot say that any one didnt know this was coming.

what? every day is sunday. money cah done. ah rich for lyfe. ah even gettin free vip tickets.. ah safe. time to buy a prado bmw and benz. also let meh buy that 50 acres down brazil. ah in d game. savings is for chumps who cant make 5 digits a day lol

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 12th, 2015, 5:37 pm

TriP wrote:i see dis..salaries of Arcelormittal mittal management

Do expect some one to contact you or Duane with regards to your posting of what should be confidential information, I forwarded it to the some of the people that should by right know that their personal information is being broadcasted on a website.

Postby K74T » December 12th, 2015, 8:32 pm

Boo hoo, it was posted on Facebook by a Mittal worker.

allrotor

Postby allrotor » December 14th, 2015, 11:53 am

Number of workers right now gathering outside Tower C of the Waterfront Centre

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2015, 7:00 pm

allrotor wrote:Number of workers right now gathering outside Tower C of the Waterfront Centre

Waste of time, the government can't do Jack chit in this matter.
The Unions sold out.

Postby sMASH » December 14th, 2015, 7:10 pm

50bn$ hadda spend, doggie!
lewwe spend

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2015, 6:57 am

sMASH wrote:50bn$ hadda spend, doggie!
lewwe spend

That 50 billion is for this government financiers not for ppl that voted for them

Postby K74T » December 15th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Can anyone confirm of NGC letting go more workers?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1450213333.519150.jpg

antlind

Postby antlind » December 15th, 2015, 6:47 pm

I guess that termination notice would have wiped the smile off his face.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 15th, 2015, 7:08 pm

antlind wrote:I guess that termination notice would have wiped the smile off his face.

Don't bank on it. He probably got a golden parachute we could all retire on.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 15th, 2015, 7:59 pm

K74T wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Can anyone confirm of NGC letting go more workers?

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1450213333.519150.jpg

Heh heh! Good one.

Postby desifemlove » December 15th, 2015, 8:57 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Union were offered the option of workers taking all their accumulated vacation now and the company would hold on laying off workers. They would consider restarting the plant next year if there was sufficient demand.
Union declined this option and the company said fcuk off. #owtuforever

so what de issue? oh..i forgot..iz Rowley's fault...he needs to control the global steel industry or gtfo and call elections..