What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Habit7 » June 27th, 2016, 11:22 pm

This wicked PNM govt

Giving their financiers too much business and too much USD sales.

Don't they know we in a recession? Recovery is supposed to be slow.

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2016, 12:13 am

Well done. Let's hope the manufacturers and distributors can ramp up production to take advantage of the demand

Postby Redman » June 28th, 2016, 4:12 am

The PP musbe faint....they never leave money on the table...they dunno how..they never even leave the table.
They teifing dat

Lance

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Lance » June 28th, 2016, 5:58 am

eliteauto wrote:Well done. Let's hope the manufacturers and distributors can ramp up production to take advantage of the demand

Does anyone have specifics of the agreement?

From the video it doesn't seem to be an issue of supply shortage only.

It appears that some manufacturers are withholding business.

All we are exposed to is the sum of 50million USD. I haven't seen any information regarding the terms of trade.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 7:58 am

Great is the PNM! The Economy is Saved!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 9:15 am

Lance wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Well done. Let's hope the manufacturers and distributors can ramp up production to take advantage of the demand

All we are exposed to is the sum of 50million USD. I haven't seen any information regarding the terms of trade.

I seriously wonder if the manufacturers will be will to scale up production to meet demand. Venezuela is sort of on the verge of political collapse. Do we want to spend money on increasing capacity when we have no idea how long this trade deal will last?

What happens if Maduro's gov folds up next month?

Also alot of the goods/raw materials sent over are imported to T&T so to scale up production we need access to more USD which is a major problem.

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2016, 9:20 am

^^^yup that's a valid consideration indeed, we really need to get the specifics of the trade deal

Postby Habit7 » June 28th, 2016, 9:59 am

Of course manufacturers will scale up production. They were sceptical of whether Venezuela could afford the fund but now they see they mean business, even to airlift products, they will scale up production. Venezuela got what was readily available in inventory now, but the manufacturers will fulfill their requirements. Venezuela not dumb, they sent officials to tour the factories to see if the production capacity can match demand.

If the Maduro govt fall tomorrow they still need food and the likely new govt would be more capitalistic and free market than the socialists. We would already have our foot in the door so trade with their closest neighbours are a plus for them.

Manufacturers are mostly exporters and are net foreign cash users, meaning that they get more foreign cash than they access locally. They sell foreign to the bank, not buy. Buying more ingredients for their product with redound to much more in foreign profit with the sale of the product.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 10:11 am

I doubt that boy Habit, once the government falls in Vene that means the socialist revolutions ends. Which means socialist food distribution ends. Which means our arrangement falls apart. Once a free market sets back up, South American and North American goods will start back flooding in which will push us out we won't be able to compete.

You have any info on the payment system boy Habit? If the USD goes directly to the manufacturers or does it go the central bank and then manufacturers are paid in TTD?

Postby Habit7 » June 28th, 2016, 10:27 am

That’s not all. The association pointed out that many leading manufacturers are net earners of foreign exchange “and those who are not, still contribute significantly to the preservation of foreign exchange through import substitution.” 

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,205862.html

If SM Jameel gets a wholesaler in Jamaica to buy their Chubby, the wholesaler wires the USD to SM Jameel, and they send the shipment. That USD is SM Jameel's own, they can chose to save some, buy new equipment or sell some to a bank for TTD to pay salaries.

Central bank have nothing to do with that so far.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 28th, 2016, 10:37 am

drchaos wrote:
Lance wrote:

I seriously wonder if the manufacturers will be will to scale up production to meet demand. Venezuela is sort of on the verge of political collapse. Do we want to spend money on increasing capacity when we have no idea how long this trade deal will last?

What happens if Maduro's gov folds up next month?

Has the Venezuelan government settled it debt with CAL? - Coincidentally also 50M USD

It is in their best interest to honor the food payment arrangement in the short term. But firms are likely to think about the recurring possibility and the uncertainty that lies in that regard.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 12:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:
That’s not all. The association pointed out that many leading manufacturers are net earners of foreign exchange “and those who are not, still contribute significantly to the preservation of foreign exchange through import substitution.” 

If SM Jameel gets a wholesaler in Jamaica to buy their Chubby, the wholesaler wires the USD to SM Jameel, and they send the shipment. That USD is SM Jameel's own, they can chose to save some, buy new equipment or sell some to a bank for TTD to pay salaries.

Yes but that is manufacturer to distributor sales.

Asking if you have details on this deal, on the surface sounds like a government to government agreement. So does the T&T government get paid and distribute the money or is the money wired from the Maduro's gov straight to the in USD. manufacturers.

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2016, 12:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:And you do realize that the ACGME is a accreditation for American styled residencies?

Habit you remind me of that quote from Albert on insanity. Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting the same result.
You blindly place your faith in the PNM expecting a difference/for them to get it right since 1962.

There is a track record of the PNM and the PP doing nothing for the healthcare system but increasing infrastructure. That is my evidence of their incompetence ... all you have to go on is hope/faith in your party.

So what? Not every specialist is running off to UK and US as you are making it out to be.

Blind faith is when you keep saying this and that cant happen and I show you clear examples contradicting what you said but remain unresolved. Blind faith is saying the strides from 1962 in us going from only getting doctors from England, to only getting them from Jamaica, to us training our own doctors, to us having our own specialist programs and research. We and Cuba are the only countries in region offering free med school, but in your view our healthcare is the same since 1962.

Thank God there are ppl who know better.

Free medical schools, nursing schools don't mean sheit if the personnel cannot be retained to our benefit. Are you really claiming that our healthcare system "evolved" from 1962? People still sleeping in corridors, and waiting for heart care medication is "evolved"?. Doctors who can't be found when they are supposed to be covering wards is "evolved" Poor attitude nurses operating in abominable conditions is "evolved"?. Your persistent argument about scaling up hospitals is once again impractical. We have two general hospitals and over DECADES, they still cannot be staffed appropriately, yet here you are advocating for two more? Quoting someone who didn't do nearly enough to address this( Khan) still doesn't make it any less of a foolish idea. Contracts can be gotten out of, or deferred, so never mind who signed what. You don't HAVE to build them, at least not yet, you don't HAVE to take loans just because we can, you don't have to try to one-up every single person in every single discussion because, believe me, you CANNOT!

Postby Habit7 » June 28th, 2016, 3:06 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Asking if you have details on this deal, on the surface sounds like a government to government agreement. So does the T&T government get paid and distribute the money or is the money wired from the Maduro's gov straight to the in USD. manufacturers.

According to TTMA head and all other voices, it seems the USD going directly to manufacturers. Min. of Trade is just a facilitator

Dr. Balgobin told them don't lapse on the deal and then complain about not have USD access.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 3:30 pm

I don't understand though,why they say it's a revolving fund. I've heard more than one person refer to it as that.

Postby Redman » June 28th, 2016, 3:31 pm

It would be great to have the details on the gross mechanics of the deal.
I gathered its a revolving line so that its repeat business to some extent.

I am sure that the manufacturers would have put safe guards in place in order to manage the payment risk.

Also the deal must address the manufacturers need for USD- So Im pretty sure the manufacturers dealt with that.

If the GORTT were smart they should enable people to tender for the supply.

Let Vene send a want list as at x date
Locals pre qualify and bid through open reverse tender...
Who wins delivers as agreed on Y date.
Get paid from the fund
Go again.

Postby Redman » June 28th, 2016, 3:32 pm

rspann wrote:I don't understand though,why they say it's a revolving fund. I've heard more than one person refer to it as that.

CNC3 stated that its revolving last night.

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2016, 4:31 pm

When you read this chead it shows that PNM have no plan for the economy and are hoping for a vaps or Oil to be at $200US a barrel.

Lance

Postby Lance » June 28th, 2016, 4:35 pm

zoom rader wrote:When you read this chead it shows that PNM have no plan for the economy and are hoping for a vaps or Oil to be at $200US a barrel.

Not everyone is fortunate as the PP to have benefited from such a vaps.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 4:41 pm

zoom rader wrote:When you read this chead it shows that PNM have no plan for the economy and are hoping for a vaps or Oil to be at $200US a barrel.

Wha you saying, right now the plan is to stop cutting grass in the median on the highway ,when it grow big enough, is wood for export.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 5:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

According to TTMA head and all other voices, it seems the USD going directly to manufacturers. Min. of Trade is just a facilitator

Dr. Balgobin told them don't lapse on the deal and then complain about not have USD access.

Cool thanks for the info!

I wonder if Jeremy got on board? He was complaining on the news a few weeks ago that the deal sounded fishy.

Postby De Dragon » June 28th, 2016, 5:52 pm

Redman wrote:It would be great to have the details on the gross mechanics of the deal.
I gathered its a revolving line so that its repeat business to some extent.

I am sure that the manufacturers would have put safe guards in place in order to manage the payment risk.

Also the deal must address the manufacturers need for USD- So Im pretty sure the manufacturers dealt with that.

If the GORTT were smart they should enable people to tender for the supply.

Let Vene send a want list as at x date
Locals pre qualify and bid through open reverse tender...
Who wins delivers as agreed on Y date.
Get paid from the fund
Go again.

No, that would be forward, progressive type thinking that politicians are deathly allergic to. Instead I suspect that as usual, a chosen few will benefit greatly.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 6:00 pm

Jeremy make a big sale, voice get so quiet you could barely hear him.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 8:05 pm

rspann wrote:Jeremy make a big sale, voice get so quiet you could barely hear him.

HAHAHAHA he might upgrade from that M3 now.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 8:07 pm

He has a audi A5 fully modded too.If he upgrading ,I could do with that.

Postby eliteauto » June 28th, 2016, 8:31 pm

rspann wrote:He has a audi A5 fully modded too.If he upgrading ,I could do with that.

He didn't put that up for sale?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 8:43 pm

I thought it was S5 and he knock down a beetham man who decided to cross in the middle of the night.

Had brains and sheit on the fine leather, but I heard he sold it.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2016, 8:43 pm

When ? After the incident on the Beetham? I don't know.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 28th, 2016, 8:46 pm

Yeah his wife made him do it. She didn't like the idea of sitting where there was pieces of someone's head.

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2016, 1:48 am

Is there a PNM plan for the economy or is this government working on vaps