What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

bluesclues

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby bluesclues » October 5th, 2016, 4:07 am

Tstt choose a kinda time to get into the prepaid creditcard business. Seems to be a hint that the online sales tax will be applied at the creditcard level.

also since its a general tax that even businesses will have to pay. This is basically government entering the retail business. Placing a markup on items they did not buy, or stock and making a profit, cutting out private business entities.

Anyway.. after this tax... colm will never get a vote again in life. So doh beat up. We just have to endure him for 4 more years(at most). Once colm in the party nobody will vote pnm for sure. I am comforted by this.

Postby gastly369 » October 5th, 2016, 4:40 pm

Anita here look my cc buy as you wish doh study uncle colms

Rgds
Shiv

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 10th, 2016, 10:22 pm

BRZ wrote:Allyuh aint hear this bald headed d1ckhead colder heart? our justice system is not fair.
Will we see his return to Trinidad now that his Guardian Angel(peeneme) is in power? will he be allowed to come and relieve us of more of our tax paying millions and then leave to MIA yet again?

Remember Rottlie say Colder Hart is he friend? And beside he is a Canadian so he cant be warmler
He kill patos and will appoint Colder to ten State Boards .............

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2016, 9:02 am

Did they decide how they applying these tax yet? At credit card or at courier.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2016, 10:42 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Did they decide how they applying these tax yet? At credit card or at courier.

I'm hearing it's for only air freight items so it would most likely be by courier.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2016, 10:57 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Did they decide how they applying these tax yet? At credit card or at courier.

I'm hearing it's for only air freight items so it would most likely be by courier.

Government just killed websource.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2016, 3:05 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

Government just killed websource.

While still not creating a single job themselves.

Postby Redman » October 11th, 2016, 3:11 pm

oh please why the drama----no one here changing their buying patterns....plenty might switch to Seaboxx ....but not ONE fcaking courier going outta biz.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2016, 3:14 pm

Redman wrote:oh please why the drama----no one here changing their buying patterns....plenty might switch to Seaboxx ....but not ONE fcaking courier going outta biz.

But prices are going to rise when the importers who air freight their items get the extra tax. T&T businesspeople are generally loathe to absorb any type of increased expense, and merely pass it on to the consumer

Postby Redman » October 11th, 2016, 3:19 pm

And the blasted consumer free to stop fcaking buying.

If its such a necessity the 7% is irrelevant-the product is needed.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2016, 3:22 pm

Redman wrote:And the blasted consumer free to stop fcaking buying.

If its such a necessity the 7% is irrelevant-the product is needed.

I'll play along. There are simply some items which you cannot get locally period. They are not always luxury, or FOREX drainers. This alone makes them necessities.

Postby Redman » October 11th, 2016, 3:31 pm

fine agreed
but no one is bussing closing or changing their purchasing patterns BECAUSE of the 7% tax.

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2016, 3:36 pm

Redman wrote:fine agreed
but no one is bussing closing or changing their purchasing patterns BECAUSE of the 7% tax.

Maybe, but if the measure fails to deliver the 70 million(IIRC), and it will, because of our already poor tax revenue collection, what is to stop Short Tunts from carrying the tax to 15 % next Budget, or even the mid- year review?

Postby Redman » October 11th, 2016, 3:43 pm

if it fails to reach 70M ent that means we paid less taxes???

Visionary.....

:D :D

Postby De Dragon » October 11th, 2016, 4:19 pm

Redman wrote:if it fails to reach 70M ent that means we paid less taxes???

Visionary.....

:D :D

No chupiddy Short Tunts and he equally dotish advisers will say that 7% obviously eh enough, and will increase it.

Postby Redman » October 11th, 2016, 4:28 pm

whats the basis for teh 1b in taxable purchases?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 11th, 2016, 5:10 pm

Yeah De Dragon is right ... 7% is a very small increase that wont make a dent in online shopping, but you dont drop a frog into boiling water or it will splash hot water all over you. Instead they boiling the frog slowly, expect an increase in that online shopping tax in the near future.

Postby sMASH » October 11th, 2016, 9:30 pm

PNM are not idiots, they just don't care about those who aren't their padnahs

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2016, 9:32 pm

drchaos wrote:Yeah De Dragon is right ... 7% is a very small increase that wont make a dent in online shopping, but you dont drop a frog into boiling water or it will splash hot water all over you. Instead they boiling the frog slowly, expect an increase in that online shopping tax in the near future.

This is exactly it. The 7% increase not bad on paper but it's the principle of the thing that is wrong. They will keep incrementally increasing it if they get away with setting a precedence.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2016, 9:42 pm

I culd wait the two weeks for sea freight. Its not a big deal.

Am i going to change my buying habits? In a way yes. Because this may be my last shipment with websource until that tax is removed. Been with them since they came out. Referred alot of ppl as well. But i refuse to pay that tax, so adjustments will be made. Regardless of wey it is. He could tax the plane, the boat or the water and the air they have to use to get here. If i have to bring in my shipments by osmosis or quantum convection to avoid that tax i doing it. The line is drawn for me at 15% vat and 15-35% duty to import something. Done paying 200% the cost of the damn item for shipping and to clear.

But ill admit is only loyalty had me with websource. I really dont care how the item comes or how long it takes as long as it reach. Brought in stuff from china and that comes by ocean alot of the time. I think imbert was severely misguided to think we use air freight because it's fast. And well $25ttd per lb is cheap and in no way luxurious. Only reason we used airfreight was because there was a good company with convenient and free delivery to your doorstep. They just happened to be in the air freight business. Now we have options that provide the same service via ocean freight so making the switch to sea is a blessing in disguise. now i'll pay even less in shipping fees. Heck i shouldve done it sooner.

Will give seabox a try with my next shipment.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 11th, 2016, 9:47 pm

Hmmmmmmmmmm...... First time I'm hearing about seabox. Feel i'll give it a try sometime

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2016, 10:14 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmmmmmmmmm...... First time I'm hearing about seabox. Feel i'll give it a try sometime

Im registering on their site right now actually. Checked out their rates..

They basically start at 10ttd per lb and gets cheaper the more pounds you ship. The part that makes them viable is that u can ship small items individually and just pay for the space/weight you use on the pallet. Unlike laparkan where ocean freight means u have to pay for a whole pallet, making it economical only for large shipments.

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2016, 5:45 am

....And then culvert invert will come and say, "ANY credit card purchases, we goh tax. We want the small man to grease up."

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 12th, 2016, 7:44 am

squeeze the guts out the middle class..... SQUEEZE IT GOOD....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 12th, 2016, 9:54 am

sMASH wrote:....And then culvert invert will come and say, "ANY credit card purchases, we goh tax. We want the small man to grease up."

I think that's what he originally wanted to do. But the banks give him the shaft. So now the imbert-side reasoning is that retailers import by ocean not air. And consumers import by air not ocean.

Doesnt seem like he did his research. We should all take a minute to thank colm for tipping us towards the cheaper alternative. Lol

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2016, 10:04 am

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Hmmmmmmmmmm...... First time I'm hearing about seabox. Feel i'll give it a try sometime

They basically start at 10ttd per lb and gets cheaper the more pounds you ship. The part that makes them viable is that u can ship small items individually and just pay for the space/weight you use on the pallet. Unlike laparkan where ocean freight means u have to pay for a whole pallet, making it economical only for large shipments.
Thanks. That's exactly what I was wondering. I know websource does sea shipping but you have to pay for a pallet which is like $1300 or something.

bluesclues

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby bluesclues » October 12th, 2016, 10:46 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Thanks. That's exactly what I was wondering. I know websource does sea shipping but you have to pay for a pallet which is like $1300 or something.

Really? Must have missed the memo on sea freight. Lol. But yeah the pallet thing is a $1500 per shipment business. i guess websource need to get their sheit together then and figure out how seabox does it for me to stay with them. Cuz seabox looking real attractive right now. If they only say they do shipment consolidation it's all over lol

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2016, 10:58 am

Last time I asked they said they do shipment consolidation (if by that you mean waiting on multiple deliveries to arrive at the Miami warehouse before putting them together on one pallet and shipping them to you). That was about two years ago so don't quote me on that.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 12th, 2016, 11:51 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Last time I asked they said they do shipment consolidation (if by that you mean waiting on multiple deliveries to arrive at the Miami warehouse before putting them together on one pallet and shipping them to you). That was about two years ago so don't quote me on that.

Websource doesnt do ocean freight lol. Just spoke to them. There is OceanIt on the same compound as websource though and they do ocean freight.

Yeah that is shipping consolidation. What i tended to do with websource is just put my account on hold for pickup. And when all my items reach and clear in trinidad i release the hold so the driver can deliver or go pick it up myself. More times than not id go myself since websource is like 10 mins drive away.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 12th, 2016, 1:03 pm

sMASH wrote:....And then culvert invert will come and say, "ANY credit card purchases, we goh tax. We want the small man to grease up."

That culvert invert was funny. Had a good laugh. I was thinking about ALL credit card purchases being taxed as a way of getting revenue. Ultimately all transactions are handled by foreign banks and the outflows can be significant as it relates to charges on said accounts.

I do not grease up. However check PNM laventillians, they real good at that.