JetBlue, is it worth it?

Nexus

JetBlue, is it worth it?

Postby Nexus » January 13th, 2016, 5:28 am

Morning guys,

Planning a florida trip. From all the pricing, Jetblue fares coming up the cheapest. But there are terrible user reviews online that talk about delays, bad service and how they go charge you for everything including the air you breathe! But i know sometimes the only persons that report something are those with a complaint.
So was wondering if anyone has experience? I don't mind a very basic flight or even limitations on baggage cause not planning to shop too much, but is the delays or any big surcharges i go can't handle.
My alternatives is CAL which falls in the middle of the round and the also have a direct to MCO, which although more expensive will save me on car rental and travel time. I have air miles with AA but as their hub is MIA i dont want to make that drive, plus the hassle of MIA.

Thanks, any other advice welcomed

Daran

Re: JetBlue, is it worth it?

Postby Daran » January 13th, 2016, 5:47 am

It nah bad

Postby De Dragon » January 13th, 2016, 6:30 am

JetBlue was excellent when I went to Ft Lauderdale last year. They advertise as no frills, but when people actually experience no frills, well complaints abound.

Postby pete » January 13th, 2016, 6:51 am

My 2c - Jet blue is great if you're going to the Miami or Fort Lauderdale area to stay. The hours of their flight if you're going to Orlando would mean either overnighting in FLL or doing your whole drive to Orlando in the dark. If you've never driven in the US that might be a bit of a task. Also you'd probably have to overnight in FLL to come back as their flight back to Trinidad is early in the morning.

Car rental in Miami right now is very cheap. Like $100US a week and gas is also very cheap so if it's a group of people then the cost difference on the airfare would probably mean a big savings if you drive.

I would use AA and drive up if my miles only allowed AA.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 13th, 2016, 6:51 am

No frills, but decent legroom.

Only major complaint was check-in at their FLL counter being a very long process. Their section was very small considering that all passengers for alllll their flights had to check in in the same area.

Also because they are the cheapest option, expect to see some real characters

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2016, 7:04 am

the only sheity thing with jet blue compared to CAL....with CAL you can choose which seat you want with no additional cost...with jet blue, each seat has a different price...

AA is the same thing as well.

konartis

Postby konartis » January 13th, 2016, 7:59 am

The flight is good, u can pay for leg room, no snacks as advertised, but overall a ok flight for the lower price.

Postby SR » January 13th, 2016, 8:12 am

If you looking to be pampered its not for you....... if you looking to get from one place to another cheap its a good deal.

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » January 13th, 2016, 9:08 am

Pete's right about jb's flight time if your going to MCO, you'll need to drive if you use AA or JB. if you've never driven in the US or not used to it, you'll need to be very careful on the free way, and your looking at a solid 3 1/2 - 4 hours of driving, non stop, rest assured there are rest stops along the way for bath room breaks and food.

As for jb, i use them weekly for POS to FLL and then other domestic connections in the US, you do not pay for every seat and someone said above, there are a few selected seats with additional leg room, priority boarding that you pay $40 USD extra for, all other seats carry no extra cost.

it is a no frills airline, you get unlimited complimentary drinks (a whole drink not some in a cup) and snacks to munch on, (cookies, Doritos, potato chips, etc. not much help if your a big eater), you pay for alcohol, head phones and you blanket if you want one which is just $5 usd. their service is exceptional, from traveling with them as often as i do, the delays are less frequent as you'd think, its actually less than cal, as i used them before.

I prefer to fly jetblue, they've upgraded their fll hub as well, so check in takes about 10 mins, i use them as they're more efficient, better customer services and their points can be used for other US connections should you ever want to go to any other states. Lastly, i switched from cal as after 6 years of being forced to use them, i got sickened by their continuous "dig out yuh eye prices"

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » January 13th, 2016, 9:14 am

Yea make sure and buy yuh kfc and thing before boarding JB, the woman sitting next to my wife was a little on the ghetto side saying but AA i pay so much (uh huh) and these people don't provide no food. I dead yes. But it gets you from point A to point B.

Postby j.o.e » January 13th, 2016, 9:24 am

Once you realize it's a PTSC bus for the sky you will be fine

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 9:58 am

I always thought JetBlue was a budget airline because of their lower prices but I flew this them with the family to FLL for Christmas and it was really good!!!
Service was good, their mobile app is awesome!
Check in at FLL was a breeze with curbside check in.
Got points toward our next flight too.

Seats were good, the kids got unlimited snacks. The 3:45pm flight time from POS meant it was between lunch and dinner so no need to carry food on the plane.

Will definitely fly with JetBlue again.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2016, 10:06 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I always thought JetBlue was a budget airline because of their lower prices but I flew this them with the family to FLL for Christmas and it was really good!!!

Seats were good, the kids got unlimited snacks. The 3:45pm flight time from POS meant it was between lunch and dinner so no need to carry food on the plane.

Will definitely fly without th JetBlue again.

typo right??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 10:22 am

^ yes, bad autocorrect

Nexus

Postby Nexus » January 13th, 2016, 1:09 pm

Aite cool,
thanks for the replies. I willing to go through with the Jetblue. With the direct to orlando on CAL ill have to take an extra day from work. AA miles I will save for somewhere else (really didnt know they doh feed you for that price)

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2016, 1:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I always thought JetBlue was a budget airline because of their lower prices but I flew this them with the family to FLL for Christmas and it was really good!!!

Will definitely fly with JetBlue again.

Dammit I wasn't gonna chime in and let them all think it's a crap airline so the flights won't always be booked.

After flying jetblue I will never fly cal or aa ever again. Service is exceptional seats are spacious tv screen on each seat in air wifi and cable over the continental us.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 3:37 pm

quietdevil wrote:If you flying jet blue I have $606 in points. You can save some additional money on your flight
you giving it away?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 3:38 pm

cinco wrote: in air wifi and cable over the continental us.
oh yeah forgot to mention that!

wifi is fast too!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 13th, 2016, 4:03 pm

Usually the best value or one of them for flights . Used them a few times and are my preferred carrier for the US . Leg room better than economy in CAL and AA. Free Wifi and movies , unlike AA . In Florida their main hub is out of Ft. Lauderdale , AA has the major control of MIA . Rent a car and take a stop over in Ft. Lauderdale ,Hollywood on the drive down to MIA . Most of us have grown up on BWIA CAL , however competing with the pricing and service from Jet Blue is hard to do .

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2016, 4:27 pm

Jet blue have a lounge in miami?

konartis

Postby konartis » January 13th, 2016, 4:49 pm

Just off topic here, anyone can recommend is good low budget place there? Nothing too fancy but not to bad also

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 6:52 pm

quietdevil wrote:
quietdevil wrote:If you flying jet blue I have $606 in points. You can save some additional money on your flight
you giving it away?

Santa Claus already left... I am selling it.
for less than JetBlue sells them for? Why not buy it from them?

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2016, 6:58 pm

AA Airbus > CAL > JetBlue and all other economical US carriers imo
British Airways for UK
WIfi was free when i went to MIA December. Business class, not sure about econ
travelocity is your friend

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 13th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Jet blue is really bess..used them to fly to and from JFK already
Check in was a breeze and their terminal in JFK is the best one.
Only get snacks but big whoop..airline food is usually crap anyway. For free WiFi and way more comfortable seats they are my airline of choice

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » January 13th, 2016, 7:45 pm

JetBlue is currently ranked in the world's top 10 safest economy / low cost airline. This must account for something.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » January 13th, 2016, 8:23 pm

^ Thanks, I feel allyuh sell it dey. I was just concerned with all them bad ratings I read.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2016, 8:30 pm

quietdevil wrote:
you giving it away?

Santa Claus already left... I am selling it.
for less than JetBlue sells them for? Why not buy it from them?

The points I have are from a cancelled flight where I was given these points in lieu of a refund. Its worth $606.20U.S. I am selling them at a conversion of $1U.S. to $6TT. So $3600 for the points which you can apply to your booking.
so it's around 20,500 points?

Sully

Postby Sully » January 14th, 2016, 12:30 pm

Another advantage of Jet Blue is if the flight is delayed beyond a certain time, you get some credit back towards your next flight, no questions asked. The longer it's delayed, the more you get back.