Company Name change.

Postby Redman » February 23rd, 2016, 8:59 pm

So the company was incorporated with a spelling mistake(long story) and as such we need to change the name from ACD Ltd to ABCD Ltd....yes 1 letter was omitted-nobody looked until we reached the bank.

Which forms off the website should I use to change the name ?
I can down load from legal affairs and get it done before goods reach and need to be cleared.

http://www.legalaffairs.gov.tt/companiesForms.htm

Thanks

Sumana.00

Re: Company Name change.

Postby Sumana.00 » February 24th, 2016, 3:39 pm

You have to do a Special Resolution to change the name and attach to Articles of Amendment Form 5.

Articles have to be approved by Companies Registry first then you can file them, what time period are you working with?

Postby Redman » February 24th, 2016, 4:17 pm

Filed them today...Resolution and the Form 5.

Thank you for the response.

I dloaded the form 5 and when i tried to print it it spazzd out the printer...just that form.
I took a screenshot then printed.

I just have days really.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 25th, 2016, 2:03 pm

Redman wrote:Filed them today...Resolution and the Form 5.

Thank you for the response.

I dloaded the form 5 and when i tried to print it it spazzd out the printer...just that form.
I took a screenshot then printed.

I just have days really.

Start chasing them up after 5 working days, there are a number of inordinate delays down at Registry.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 25th, 2016, 9:08 pm

You can start the bank account with the current name and when the resolution is filed you just send it to the bank for them to change the name. Did you file in North or South?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » February 25th, 2016, 9:24 pm

You need to do a name approval for the name you want to change it too. When it is approved submit the special resolution and articles of amendment to be pre checked. When you receive approval then you can file to do the change. If you want faster service go to the arima branch of registrar general.

Postby Redman » February 25th, 2016, 9:48 pm

..the name approval also went in yesterday...a friend who is a lawyer and has his peeps in POS handling it..so he said he started it I assumed it was the form 5 and res.

Based on jefe's post I will get the old docs tomorrow to get going with the bank.

Thanks guys.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 25th, 2016, 10:31 pm

how long does the process take for an initial company name? im currently filling out the forms and its a nice coincidence this thread is here lol

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 26th, 2016, 9:40 am

Arima and San Fernando Offices have been closed down, everything is being processed in POS hence the inordinate delays.

Initial Company name - 3-5 days to get the name - but I've been waiting over 5 days for some names and no responses yet
After the forms are sorted out 5-7 days to get certificate.

@Redman if the name approval has only just got in you have some time to go.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 26th, 2016, 10:06 am

Thanks dude that's not too bad

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 26th, 2016, 7:14 pm

Sumana, your info is wrong. Both offices, Arima and San Fernando are open, they have been since February 1st. The process for name approval use to take 5 days in San Fernando but has returned to 3 days.
Redman, you CAN start the bank account with the name you have incorporated already and when the resolution is complete, go to the bank to change it.

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2016, 9:05 pm

Correct, it's open in south

Postby De Dragon » February 27th, 2016, 11:20 am

Giddem Redman! WTN! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2016, 7:31 pm

Dragon
I really not sure why Im cracking up now....but I am.

but I was told to expect this to be done by Monday...The lawyer wrote a letter to expedite the process...and it worked...

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » February 28th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Let me know if it works @ Redman

& if South and Arima are back open some Clerks have some explaining to do tomorrow.

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2016, 5:02 pm

Back open?
I have been doing stuff there in south for the past 8 months

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 28th, 2016, 5:55 pm

tr1ad wrote:Back open?
I have been doing stuff there in south for the past 8 months

They closed for a while to help Port of Spain with some backlog. They reopened on the 1st Feb. What the heck you doing at companies reg that taking 8 months [FLUSHED FACE][FLUSHED FACE][FLUSHED FACE]

Postby tr1ad » February 28th, 2016, 7:44 pm

Doh mind meh bizness bigman....

But at least once a week over that time frame I met no closed doors

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 28th, 2016, 7:47 pm

tr1ad wrote:Doh mind meh bizness bigman....

But at least once a week over that time frame I met no closed doors

Doors were never closed, they were just not transacting any companies business there, just land.

Postby Redman » February 29th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Still waiting to hear from the lawyer...

can I just say its fcukery to pay $1800 penalty for being 6 months late on a 40 TTD return

muddacrunt.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » February 29th, 2016, 8:37 pm

Redman wrote:Still waiting to hear from the lawyer...

can I just say its fcukery to pay $1800 penalty for being 6 months late on a 40 TTD return

muddacrunt.

Bai, no one use to take on filing those returns so that's why they attached the hefty penalty. Study the people that had to pay over 90k for the same thing.

Postby cinco » March 1st, 2016, 12:56 am

Penalty is 300 a month no way around y hat

Postby Redman » March 1st, 2016, 5:11 pm

Well It was done yesterday.
Collected it this am.....Wed to Mon-I aint mad at all.
BIR in the am.

Thankfully neither shipment ready to collect-so we still have some time.

like dragon musbe right

:D

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » March 13th, 2016, 9:12 pm

Arima office opened on the 1st of february. I know because i work in companies department

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » March 17th, 2016, 12:20 am

hey fellas i want to incorporate a profit company but im not sure what to select in terms of liability of members :
limited by shares
limited by guarantee
limited by shares and guarantee

its a small company, my wife and I am starting
any relevant advice would be welcomed.thanks

Postby Redman » March 17th, 2016, 6:54 am

I would.say limited by shares....

I would also.say to sit with an accountant and or a.lawyer. and set it up the way you want and compliant...one time.
Get your questions answered.

Get professional advice on the correct way...

And check the spelling ....twice