All Things US Politics Related: Trump indicted.

Re: All Things US Politics Related in a Trump run White House.

Postby matr1x » November 6th, 2018, 11:22 pm

Democrats favorite election strategy, voter pad

Postby The_Honourable » November 6th, 2018, 11:26 pm

Senate: Rep in the lead with 50 and Dems 40. Need 51 to win.

House: Rep in the lead with 118, Dems 108. Need 218 to win

Postby redmanjp » November 6th, 2018, 11:30 pm

House is projected to go to Dems while Reps taking Senate

Postby The_Honourable » November 6th, 2018, 11:51 pm

So far there is no blue wave, more like a blue drip as dems gained seats.

You would think with what happened for the past 2 years, Republicans were going to get killed with a supposed anti-trump wave. We have to see how much of the electorate turned out for the mid-terms since historically, people take the Presidential election much more seriously.

House: Rep in the lead with 136, Dems 126. Need 218 to win.

Postby redmanjp » November 6th, 2018, 11:56 pm

so why are they saying dems taking control of the House? on Google's results its only 269/435 seats declared

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 12:00 am

redmanjp wrote:House is projected to go to Dems while Reps taking Senate

Nice.

Where'd you hear this?

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 12:03 am

The_Honourable wrote:So far there is no blue wave, more like a blue drip as dems gained seats.

You would think with what happened for the past 2 years, Republicans were going to get killed with a supposed anti-trump wave. We have to see how much of the electorate turned out for the mid-terms since historically, people take the Presidential election much more seriously.

House: Rep in the lead with 136, Dems 126. Need 218 to win.

Lmao. Drip? Yuh sure? Is that the official "The Honourable" analysis?

Beto within striking distance in Texas and Gillum too close in Florida is a "drip?" Aight then.

Postby redmanjp » November 7th, 2018, 12:03 am

shogun wrote:
redmanjp wrote:House is projected to go to Dems while Reps taking Senate

Nice.

Where'd you hear this?

NBC live stream

Postby matr1x » November 7th, 2018, 12:04 am

Democrats already crybabying

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2018, 12:07 am

redmanjp wrote:so why are they saying dems taking control of the House? on Google's results its only 269/435 seats declared

Guessing from projections as Dems took away 15 seats so far from republicans who only gained 3 from democrats.

Senate: Rep in the lead with 51 and Dems 43. So far Republicans won the senate.

House: Rep in the lead with 145, Dems 136. Need 218 to win.

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 12:14 am

matr1x wrote:Democrats already crybabying

Still looking for this "cry babying" you speak of. Projection?

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2018, 12:27 am

TYT pissed off Republicans held on to Texas and Florida.

Some news sites who updating real time just became cautions on Dems taking the house changing the word "will" to "likely", "projected" and "on track".

Senate: Rep in the lead with 51 and Dems 44. So far Republicans won the senate.

House: Rep in the lead with 152, Dems 146. Dems seem to be closing the gap again. Need 218 to win.

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 12:32 am

Lol. But Texas and Florida voted overwhelmingly for Trump?

Obviously they'd want it to go left, but Trump seems to have lost 15/20 points nationwide. He's only 2 years into his term :lol: I just watched Van Jones gloating about turnout for the left (who never turn out for midterms, btw.) Should I have my TV checked out?

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2018, 12:40 am

shogun wrote:Lol. But Texas and Florida voted overwhelmingly for Trump?

Obviously they'd want it to go left, but Trump seems to have lost 15/20 points nationwide. I just watched Van Jones gloating about turnout for the left (who never turn out for midterms, btw.) Should I have my TV checked out?

It's still red no matter how you slice it.

As i mentioned earlier, we have to wait and see how much of the electorate turned out for the midterms and then we can do a comparison to see if there was a surge in dem and rep turnout compared to past elections.

One thing for sure, this astronomical blue wave did not happen. More like some beach water washing across your feet, it was pretty modest.

House: Dems closed the gap. Rep 157, Dems 156.

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 12:54 am

The_Honourable wrote:It's still red no matter how you slice it.

As i mentioned earlier, we have to wait and see how much of the electorate turned out for the midterms and then we can do a comparison to see if there was a surge in dem and rep turnout compared to past elections.

One thing for sure, this astronomical blue wave did not happen. More like some beach water washing across your feet, it was pretty modest.

House: Dems closed the gap. Rep 157, Dems 156.

No no. YOU have to "wait and see." :lol: I'm no math genius, but the FACT that states that Trump won comfortably just two years ago are now back in the lefts hands, and/or were now close races was all the proof I needed. Of course "Trumpy" states would remain unchanged, or pickup for Republicans if they had Democratic senators. Not surprising to me at least. The fact is that it looks like a branch of government could be in the hands of the left. But I guess we'll see who's right?

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 1:06 am

Still can't stand Pelosi though. She and Schumer are awful. Not Trump rubberstamp awful, but the left could/should do better

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2018, 1:07 am

I did state higher up that Trump lost support. So far he lost the house.

Dems are in the lead with 175. Rep 168.

Postby maj. tom » November 7th, 2018, 6:41 am

House › (218 for control)
222 Democrats Gained 26 seats 50,425,184 votes (51.0%)

193 Republicans Lost 26 seats 46,711,865 votes (47.3%)
https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/201 ... -live.html

Still a very close result. It means that the population is still split almost in half wrt to Trump's leadership. Everyone was expecting more of a landslide in favor of the Democrats because everyone's fed of Trump's insanity right?
Plus there are claims that there were a lot of voting machine and registration ploys by the GOP.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 7th, 2018, 7:13 am

Same thing happened to Obama in his second term, it always happens like this.

So where is this so called blue wave them was talking about anyways? at this rate they can't even beat Trump in 2020. And just think the Dems had the entire mainstream media on their side spreading lies and more lies

Postby adnj » November 7th, 2018, 8:05 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Same thing happened to Obama in his second term, it always happens like this.

If you were to do a bit more digging, you will find that mid-term wins/losses follow the presidential job approval rating and national economic well being.

maj. tom wrote:Still a very close result. It means that the population is still split almost in half wrt to Trump's leadership. Everyone was expecting more of a landslide in favor of the Democrats because everyone's fed of Trump's insanity right?
Plus there are claims that there were a lot of voting machine and registration ploys by the GOP.

Take a look at the results from Pennsylvania. Seats flipped because the courts forced the redrawing of the election boundaries.

The US census is in 2020 and redistricting will take place before the 2022 elections. The congressional district boundaries will affect the electoral college districts which will affect the presidential elections. Gerrymandering typically favors the party in charge of the state legislatures.

Population in rural areas is decreasing while cities are growing. Congressional seats in 2022 are expected to shift to the most populous states in the US.

There have been some party changes for governors and state legislatures, too. That will have an effect who is elected to the both House and the presidency for 10 years and have no effect on how the Senate is elected.

You are likely to see a US Senate majority that is different from the House majority for years to come.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 7th, 2018, 12:09 pm

Apart from House, Senate and gubernatorial elections some states had amendments and propositions in theirs.
Florida voted to reinstate voting rights to ex cons (one of the few states that took it away without giving it back). A positive move which impacts over 1m persons. Really once you have served your time you shouldn't be punished in perpetuity i.e. never be allowed to vote again.

I was stunned to learn that that amendment would impact 40% of the adult black population in Florida. :shock:

Postby toyolink » November 7th, 2018, 12:21 pm

Well the Trump presidency is about to enter a new phase of its term in office.
How President Trump manages this new level of scrutiny and checks could be quite messy.
Bipartisan approach to such things like immigration, health care and other issues is the only way forward and a war between the parties could hurt them both and yield pressure for the average citizen.
…...Democracy is a funny thing.

Postby adnj » November 7th, 2018, 2:28 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Apart from House, Senate and gubernatorial elections some states had amendments and propositions in theirs.
Florida voted to reinstate voting rights to ex cons (one of the few states that took it away without giving it back). A positive move which impacts over 1m persons. Really once you have served your time you shouldn't be punished in perpetuity i.e. never be allowed to vote again.

I was stunned to learn that that amendment would impact 40% of the adult black population in Florida. :shock:

That number is actually 21% of adult blacks in Florida. But also consider who those convicted felons are likely to vote for and how that can impact close elections.

Now consider that the outgoing Florida governor worked to eliminate this proposal from the ballot and refused all voting rights reinstatement requests presented to him during his two terms.

That same governor endorsed a candidate that won the election by less than 60,000 votes.

Postby hydroep » November 7th, 2018, 3:19 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 7th, 2018, 5:10 pm

Van Jones still crying why is this?

I eh know who worse him, Jake Tapeworm or Don LemmonHead.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 7th, 2018, 5:39 pm

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gone with yuh c#nt from here, old fool holding back the legalization of weed with ah set of dotish anti science nonsense. This has to be the best news of 2018 that this man is finally gone.

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 11:31 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Same thing happened to Obama in his second term, it always happens like this.

No.

The left is notorious for not showing up for midterm elections and the right is equally notorious for showing up in full force. Last night is proof of what happens when many do. The ONE thing I thank Trump for. The "Tea party" protesters made sure to energize their base against Obama. Nice try though.

The 2018 midterms are a massive victory for Democrats, who managed to flip enough Republican-held congressional seats to take back control of the House.

But in a year Democrats had a record-breaking fundraising haul, a heightened level of voter enthusiasm, a strong candidate field and were running against the party of a deeply unpopular president, it’s fair to ask: Why wasn’t the so-called blue wave bigger?

Democrats this year won the popular vote over the Republicans in House races by a 7.1 percent margin, but that didn’t translate to massive gains in actual seats. So far, Democrats have won 28 GOP-held seats for a net gain of 26 seats (they lost two seats previously held by Democrats in Minnesota and Pennsylvania).

Democrats are expected to pick up a handful more seats as votes continue to be counted, but the numbers pale in comparison to the last wave, when Republicans won 63 House seats in 2010. This year, in an election billed as a referendum on President Donald Trump, Trump lost — but only barely. The Republican Party’s fear-mongering about the perils of a liberal America, the explicitly racist ads, and the lies about protecting patients with preexisting conditions all came very close to keeping them in power.

But it’s important to note the result is not because Trump’s agenda has widespread support. Time and time again, the American public has rankled at Trump’s hardline immigration agenda, the GOP’s attempts to cut Medicaid funding and repeal Obamacare, and historically unpopular Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh. The only reason many lawmakers who back these ideas were able to maintain power is because these are the voices most protected in the electoral process.

For years, Republicans, with their hands on the levers in state legislatures and governors’ mansions, have made it incredibly hard for Democrats to make gains in Congress, redrawing congressional boundaries to favor Republicans and passing laws that make it harder for Americans to vote.

Why a massive blue wave was almost impossible
Democrats had a lot going for them this year. Historically, the party in the White House is disadvantaged in the midterms — and Trump, being as unpopular as he is, gave Democrats an edge on enthusiasm.

But Democrats were always taking on a difficult challenge in 2018. At the end of the day, all the talk of a blue wave boiled down to some simple math: Democrats had to gain 23 Republican-held seats to get back in power, and to do that, it meant they had to win in conservative districts.

Put another way: Winning every single House district that Hillary Clinton won or that Trump won by less than 3 percentage points in 2016, Democrats would have still fallen short of the House majority, as Dave Wasserman of the Cook Political Report wrote for FiveThirtyEight.

For example, take a look at the races Democrats were targeting this year — and even came very close to winning. In Kentucky, Democrat Amy McGrath, an air force veteran with a strong national profile came within 4 points of incumbent Republican Rep. Andy Barr in an urban-rural district that trends toward Republicans by 90 percentage points more than the national average. In Kansas, a similar story; state legislator Democrat Paul Davis came in a close second to a Republican newcomer, army veteran Steve Watkins, in a district Trump won by 19 points in 2016. That’s what Democrats were up against.

https://www.vox.com/2018/11/7/18041006/ ... errymander

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/201 ... lysis.html

The left is still racking up seats even today.

https://www.thestate.com/news/business/ ... 01875.html

Postby shogun » November 7th, 2018, 11:33 pm

Lmao. I see the YouTube Alt-Right pundits busy handing out opinions to it's Tuner fold? Nice. :lol:

Trump made sure to fire Sessions the VERY NEXT DAY (so subtle) and override ALL normal practice of the #2 guy taking the helm, to install a known sycophant, that was all over the media for MONTHS, calling for Mueller's investigation to be stopped. How convenient. Resigned my arse.

If anyone says they don't smell a cover-up, then I've got some more damaging Hillary emails to sell you. PM for details. Have cash ready.

On an unrelated note, my YouTube account has racked up 5 attempted hacks in the last four months. Twice from "Burgas" in Bulgaria and three more times from the US.... the last attempt happening three days ago. Someone is not a fan of my YouTube posts, I gather. *shrugs* :lol:
Last edited by shogun on November 8th, 2018, 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » November 8th, 2018, 12:22 am

shogun wrote:Lmao. I see the YouTube Alt-Right pundits busy handing out opinions to it's Tuner fold? Nice. :lol:

Trump made sure to fire Sessions the VERY NEXT DAY (so subtle) and override ALL normal practice of the #2 guy taking the helm, to install a known sycophant, that was all over the media for MONTHS, calling for Mueller's investigation to be stopped. How convenient. Resigned my arse.

If anyone says they don't smell a cover-up, then I've got some more damaging Hillary emails to sell you. PM for details. Have cash ready.

Sessions's first line in the resignation letter is "At your request" :lol: :lol: