Possible food shortage in 3 months due to forex shortage

TriniAutoMart

Possible food shortage in 3 months due to forex shortage

Postby TriniAutoMart » March 15th, 2016, 11:01 am

Supermarket owners and local importers/suppliers are having problems getting US$ to pay their foreign suppliers.

Re: Possible food shortage in 3 months due to forex shortage

Postby Mark! » March 15th, 2016, 11:11 am

Brb knifing someone for a gyro

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2016, 11:15 am

Yeah I have a supplier friend who is saying that they are going to call on govt to stop importing cars so that more forex can go into importing food. But then the car importers from new to RORO will cry out.

But we need to stop importing grapes, apples, pears and other things we have alternatives to here.We might want to have a free market but govt has to come in and influence the habits of their citizens.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » March 15th, 2016, 11:26 am

Jwala strikes again ...smh

roadhog

Postby roadhog » March 15th, 2016, 11:56 am

I see Venezuela

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 15th, 2016, 11:59 am

Time to start back planting rice,tomatoes,bodi and all those stuff

BRZ

Postby BRZ » March 15th, 2016, 12:08 pm

BUY LOCAL!

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » March 15th, 2016, 12:23 pm

Wel if price mart takin/shipping out all d US.......

Postby S_2NR » March 15th, 2016, 12:24 pm

TurboSingh12 wrote:Time to start back planting rice,tomatoes,bodi and all those stuff

aaaaandddddd...its stolen

killercow

Postby killercow » March 15th, 2016, 12:32 pm

BRZ wrote:BUY LOCAL!

S_2NR wrote:
TurboSingh12 wrote:Time to start back planting rice,tomatoes,bodi and all those stuff

aaaaandddddd...its stolen

Quoted for truth!

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2016, 1:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah I have a supplier friend who is saying that they are going to call on govt to stop importing cars so that more forex can go into importing food. But then the car importers from new to RORO will cry out.

But we need to stop importing grapes, apples, pears and other things we have alternatives to here.We might want to have a free market but govt has to come in and influence the habits of their citizens.

Will never happen PNM financiers are new car dealers , while supermarkets onwers are considered perceive anti PNM.

Postby tr1ad » March 15th, 2016, 1:21 pm

remember when people flying in brought with them fsancy tuna and pink salmon, now it available locally... and apples and grapes used to be only available at christmas, yeah could do with those times again

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2016, 1:21 pm

Should have never stopped....when people was bawling ohhh agriculture is slave wuk...look what we reach to...

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2016, 1:25 pm

more market and less supermarket, support local farmers.... conversely local farmers should resist price gouging

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » March 15th, 2016, 1:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:Yeah I have a supplier friend who is saying that they are going to call on govt to stop importing cars so that more forex can go into importing food. But then the car importers from new to RORO will cry out.

Will never happen PNM financiers are new car dealers , while supermarkets onwers are considered perceive anti PNM.

Massy, Brydens, Agostinis, VEMCO, Hadco and all them other importers/ wholesalers is anti PNM ? Never knew that.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2016, 1:36 pm

which legit place he paying TT7 to 1US? (end of vid)

Postby De Dragon » March 15th, 2016, 2:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:more market and less supermarket, support local farmers.... conversely local farmers should resist price gouging

Agreed, some local produce sellers really overdo it when they know that they are in an advantageous position.

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2016, 2:07 pm

EmilioA wrote:

Massy, Brydens, Agostinis, VEMCO, Hadco and all them other importers/ wholesalers is anti PNM ? Never knew that.
Hahaha you beat me to it.

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2016, 2:32 pm

not to mention them foreign owned casinos shipping money out

Postby Country_Bookie » March 15th, 2016, 3:12 pm

Time for Exchange Controls to be put in place. Priority should be given to essential food supplies, medicine and imports of raw materials for manufacturing companies.

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2016, 3:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:more market and less supermarket, support local farmers.... conversely local farmers should resist price gouging

Agreed, some local produce sellers really overdo it when they know that they are in an advantageous position.

local produce sellers alone..??? or you also including the local business ppl who have "authorized dealer'' sign in their shop window....just cause they is the authorized dealer that gives them the right to call over 200% profit on an item cause they deal in it.

go figure. :?

Postby supercharged turbo » March 15th, 2016, 3:33 pm

tr1ad wrote:remember when people flying in brought with them fsancy tuna and pink salmon, now it available locally... and apples and grapes used to be only available at christmas, yeah could do with those times again

Reez100

Postby Reez100 » March 15th, 2016, 3:57 pm

Kalisnakov wrote:Wel if price mart takin/shipping out all d US.......

pricesmart doesn't spend any money here, besides salaries and regular expenses i did a job for them a while ago and they brought in all the materials from the US

Postby desifemlove » March 15th, 2016, 4:05 pm

so less flour, pizza, ice cream, fried chicken, and ready cook macaroni in the stores...and less obesity...yep, we sad.. :?

Postby desifemlove » March 15th, 2016, 4:07 pm

and we grow or can grow enough dasheen or yam or eddoes or bananas. we have the land.
maybe it's a blessing, less fat people around yay!!

Postby De Dragon » March 15th, 2016, 4:40 pm

skylinechild wrote:

local produce sellers alone..??? or you also including the local business ppl who have "authorized dealer'' sign in their shop window....just cause they is the authorized dealer that gives them the right to call over 200% profit on an item cause they deal in it.

go figure. :?

There are some things that simply don't make sense to purchase from local dealers. A tricky path to go down would be to try to regulate profit margins for these items. I'm talking clothes, car parts which we know are ridiculously over-priced.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 15th, 2016, 5:22 pm

As long as Cobeau in the skies who needs chicken. :)

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 15th, 2016, 7:36 pm

coated from 2013.. that four site
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=522673&hilit=economic+famine&start=30#p7345483

rocknrolla wrote:we need more farming and agriculture running to supply ourselves and reduce import. ive said that here since last budget or before that.......

food security is very important in these times. we and the world run the risk of economic famine. where goods are too expensive to pay for and the vendors refusing to sell it at a lower cost.. stalemate to starvation.

liono is that you?

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2016, 7:42 pm

bluesclues wrote:coated from 2013.. that four site
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=522673&hilit=economic+famine&start=30#p7345483

rocknrolla wrote:we need more farming and agriculture running to supply ourselves and reduce import. ive said that here since last budget or before that.......

food security is very important in these times. we and the world run the risk of economic famine. where goods are too expensive to pay for and the vendors refusing to sell it at a lower cost.. stalemate to starvation.

liono is that you?

Coated from nervewrecker everytime it have "gas shortage"

I'll just full up fuel in the morning after the panic buying eases up. It not going to have any lines anyways.

Hommuh yuh wanna bet groceries ram out from this weekend with people who stocking up before the "food shortage" hits? Grocery owners win from using the forex shortage to cause panic buying.

Also, you still a kant.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 15th, 2016, 7:46 pm

Hommuh yuh wanna bet groceries ram out from this weekend with people who stocking up before the "food shortage" hits? Grocery owners win from using the forex shortage to cause panic buying.

Also, you still a kant.

well is whether everyone confident like you that trinidad wont become like venezuela by june.

look pressure in this place nah boy. i sorry allyuh. i sorry i wasnt ready and in position to be your prime minister last election. i really sorry. but this looking real bad now.