ingalook

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 10:48 am

Gladiator wrote:
ingalook wrote:
GixxerMan wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

Trinis like frico too much.

^^^you firetruck think before you type hoss?.... so what does the citizenry should get from an oil & gas producing country???

People don't seem to think that they have any claim to the Oil and Gas that we produce... it all belongs to the Government

Tort massa days done?

Ah Ha... finally a smart fella on tuner.

The original concept of the gas subsidy has nothing to do with revenue and Govt. The thinking after independence was that the oil and gas belongs to the PEOPLE of the country and they must directly benefit from the land's resources. This is why we had the subsidy in the first place. This is also why many other oil rich nations subsidize fuel.

There is a very old parliament video clip with Dr. Eric Williams explaining this.... would be nice if someone can get their hands on it.

Though they would have not been as brazen as this government the UNC was making moves to take off the subsidy as well... whoever in power just sees $$$ and forgets why they are there and who they are meant to serve

ingalook

Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 10:50 am

pete wrote:The oil and gas revenues go into all the other subsidized things we get here like garbage collection, health care, water, electricity etc etc. Subsidized fuel causes waste. Removing it will make people analyse their use of the fuel and would start to use their fuel more efficiently.

You going to have to make a major life decision every-time you about to mash the X-pedal :shock:

Pirate

Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby Pirate » April 9th, 2016, 11:10 am

pete wrote:The oil and gas revenues go into all the other subsidized things we get here like garbage collection, health care, water, electricity etc etc. Subsidized fuel causes waste. Removing it will make people analyse their use of the fuel and would start to use their fuel more efficiently.

Until a couple years ago there was no excess in the gas prices so making excess on the citizens of an oil producing nation is kinda harsh.
IMO at the very least it should be "held" at 50 to 60 per barrel pricing. Any increases should be subsidized as the government will be making money on it as well and when it drops, like the current state, it will provide a small but reasonable excess.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 9th, 2016, 11:10 am

lets hope this does not give the maxi association/ taxi association / business community to increase fees by 25 %

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 11:19 am

Bleh blah bleh, yadda yadda yadda, protest this, protest that, how many of you who are complaining are willing to stay home for a week or 2 in a formal protest against the rise in gas prices? Of course you will be doing so at your own cost and your employers will NOT pay you, but in reality how many of you are prepared to protest in this manner to make your stand REAL? Trinis will complain yet you will support their decision and you will still buy gas.Spineless vessels of noise.

Postby nemisis » April 9th, 2016, 11:26 am

BRZ wrote:Bleh blah bleh, yadda yadda yadda, protest this, protest that, how many of you who are complaining are willing to stay home for a week or 2 in a formal protest against the rise in gas prices? Of course you will be doing so at your own cost and your employers will NOT pay you, but in reality how many of you are prepared to protest in this manner to make your stand REAL? Trinis will complain yet you will support their decision and you will still buy gas.Spineless vessels of noise.

Stay home a week lmao. Stay home half the day and better have a next job waiting

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 11:36 am

Depending on who and which companies will support a formal protest against the gas prices, if you work for a company that would support such a move and at the same time you are comfortable with not being paid what's the problem?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 9th, 2016, 12:30 pm

BRZ wrote:Depending on who and which companies will support a formal protest against the gas prices, if you work for a company that would support such a move and at the same time you are comfortable with not being paid what's the problem?

You not the same guy arguing against unions? Power of employers high now and you happy? Stay home to protest and what you expect your employers to do?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 9th, 2016, 12:53 pm

Gladiator wrote:
ingalook wrote:
GixxerMan wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

Trinis like frico too much.

^^^you firetruck think before you type hoss?.... so what does the citizenry should get from an oil & gas producing country???

People don't seem to think that they have any claim to the Oil and Gas that we produce... it all belongs to the Government

Tort massa days done?

Ah Ha... finally a smart fella on tuner.

The original concept of the gas subsidy has nothing to do with revenue and Govt. The thinking after independence was that the oil and gas belongs to the PEOPLE of the country and they must directly benefit from the land's resources. This is why we had the subsidy in the first place. This is also why many other oil rich nations subsidize fuel.

There is a very old parliament video clip with Dr. Eric Williams explaining this.... would be nice if someone can get their hands on it.

The original concept for the subsidy came about when opec decided to raise global oil prices in 1973. Oil prices skyrocketed and because we import everything (like now) imported items also increased in prices.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/1973_oil_crisis

Citizens felt the brunt of this and it was this reason a subsidy was implemented (in 1974) to keep fuel prices stable (especially diesel). Stable diesel price helps ensure inflation isn't as volatile as many aspects from transport of goods to construction to public transport are affected by diesel.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/columnist/2016- ... el-subsidy

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 9th, 2016, 1:06 pm

ingalook wrote:
ShIvAm wrote:Though it was supposed to be $3.58 for super how come im seeing $3.98 at the pump?

Lord.... where you see that??? Hopefully that is a mistake...

Even @ $3.58 that is a 32.5% increase in Super and 33.3% increase in Diesel in 6 months :shock: I frighten for October :puppydogeyes:

The aim is to remove the subsidy altogether - and profit (illegally) from the sale of Gasoline and Diesel to to people of Trinidad

The price at the pump will fluctuate freely with the global oil price - If we see USD $100 a barrel for oil your liter of super will be around TTD $10

Ban your belly friends

Yea i saw $3.98 at the gas station at the top of Richmond street at about 6:30 yesterday evening.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 9th, 2016, 1:19 pm

BRZ wrote:Bleh blah bleh, yadda yadda yadda, protest this, protest that, how many of you who are complaining are willing to stay home for a week or 2 in a formal protest against the rise in gas prices? Of course you will be doing so at your own cost and your employers will NOT pay you, but in reality how many of you are prepared to protest in this manner to make your stand REAL? Trinis will complain yet you will support their decision and you will still buy gas.Spineless vessels of noise.

Who say anything about staying home and protest???
My main concern was that everyone is spewing subsidy and premium is it not even remotely close to the actual real price. It was a burden so now billions will be saved so they can reduce the premium price and still save!
And I am all for an organised protest with dialog, staying home will not do anything.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 2:07 pm

http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,167503.html

Quoting from Hansard, Howai said Imbert in his presentation on Monday referred to PricewaterhouseCoopers budget memorandum where he noted that the subsidy on premium gas was 73 cents, on super gas $1.83 and on diesel $2.71. Imbert in his calculations found that the true price of premium was $4.73

Howai said he also looked at the memorandum and found that the figures were based on a West Texas Intermediate Oil Price of $79 per barrel, which meant the figures were dated. He said using the new retail price of premium gas of $5.75 per litre and the September, 2012 ex-refinery price of $5.84 per litre excluding Value Added Tax (VAT) the true market price would be approximately $7.08 per litre, including VAT.

“This means that the subsidy on premium gasoline at present is $1.16 per litre. This means that Government continues to subsidise premium gasoline,” he said.

So at $79 a barrel The cost of super was $4.73

Now oil at $40 a barrel, how can $5.75 be justified... notice also how the government throws in VAT as part of the cost of gasoline

Howai pointed out that the price of premium increased from $3 per litre to $4 per litre in September, 2008, by the former Government. He said during the period November, 2008 to May, 2009, the average local crude oil price was $44 per barrel, and the average ex-refinery price of premium gasoline was $2.53 per litre. At these price levels, a surplus of $61.6 million was generated on premium gasoline.

So the Cost of premium is LESS than $2.53 :roll:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 2:11 pm

Lots of this was already covered in this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=640069

Where I was criticising the UNC over their plans to remove the subsidy...

Postby 1UZFE » April 9th, 2016, 3:03 pm

ingalook wrote:Lots of this was already covered in this thread:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/vie ... 4&t=640069

Where I was criticising the UNC over their plans to remove the subsidy...

Good points there.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 3:22 pm

Our gas prices are still relatively cheap in comparison to the rest of the world, so just fill up grumble and drive happy after.
I'm still very happy with diesel prices.

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2016, 4:04 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:Removal of all tax for hybrid, cng and electric vehicle import.

That wasn't removed last year?

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2016, 4:06 pm

Work colleague said she filled up at Tuna Puna gas station for the previous price this morning
Last edited by redmanjp on April 9th, 2016, 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 9th, 2016, 4:08 pm

Nah she mistaken....price Increase went into immediate effect....or prob she ah pnm supporter who just isn't bothered

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2016, 5:24 pm

BRZ wrote:Our gas prices are still relatively cheap in comparison to the rest of the world, so just fill up grumble and drive happy after.
I'm still very happy with diesel prices.

Doh worry when oil prices go back up you won't be very happy at all. When that sheit goes up and there is no subsidy then we go really feel the full force of this. And combine this with property tax next budget gonna be some hard times.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2016, 5:38 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 9th, 2016, 6:10 pm

sMASH wrote:

Context?

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Lol allyuh dotish trinis not gonna protest for nothing. Pay what ever they TELL you to pay and STFU...allyuh cant do sqwatttt about it...

The only thing yall will get on like little girls for and protest is if carnival is abolished.

Stop playing allyuh disgruntled by the raise in prices...bumpin a set of gum

It good.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2016, 6:20 pm

When the shoe is on the other foot, it not bad, but actually necessary.

But is not an attack on culvert invert. is another example of why we need to rid ourselves of ALL our present politicians.

Only bump gum and oppositional, and filling their pockets... at our expense.
Last edited by sMASH on April 9th, 2016, 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2016, 6:30 pm

What a foolish concept.... rather than teach people conservation or put an alternative in place (bike lane, electric and smart cars, carpool incentive etc) TAX the $hit out of gas so you wouldn't want to drive. DONKEY LOGIC...

Postby j.o.e » April 9th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Gladiator wrote:

What a foolish concept.... rather than teach people conservation or put an alternative in place (bike lane, electric and smart cars, carpool incentive etc) TAX the $hit out of gas so you wouldn't want to drive. DONKEY LOGIC...

Uhhh fuel is not being taxed bruh.... You're just paying closer to the actual price for it. Now that people are paying the actual price they would be more likely to be open to options. Subsidies encourage waste

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2016, 7:16 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

Uhhh fuel is not being taxed bruh.... You're just paying closer to the actual price for it. Now that people are paying the actual price they would be more likely to be open to options. Subsidies encourage waste

So what is the extra $2 per L on premium.... a donation???

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 9:11 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Context?

This was in 2012 when Kamla raised the Premium price well over the cost price which is a breach of that Petroleum act (THE LAW) and thus illegal

Part of the Petroleum act prevents government from ever making a profit on the sale of Petroleum products to the citizenry

He also outlined a bit of the rationale for the subsidy - a rationale he subsequently forgot just 4 years later

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 9th, 2016, 9:18 pm

I think it's great , hopefully this should result in much less dotish f' king retared wetman driving their piece ah sh1t Tiidas on our roads.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2016, 9:51 pm

BRZ wrote:I think it's great , hopefully this should result in much less dotish f' king retared wetman driving their piece ah sh1t Tiidas on our roads.

What wrong with Tiidas though? I more concerned about the retards with big engines and loud mufflers making a set of dotish noise having to cover your ears everytime they pass. I hoping the only benefit to come out of removal of this subsidy is they will go the way of the dodo.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 9th, 2016, 10:22 pm

What if those wetmen were running premium in their tidas all this ??

Time for some tida diesel conversions maybe